paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann A-5 / Tippmann A-5 / Tippmann A-5 / Tippmann A-5

Tippmann A-5 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann A-5

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann A-5
[ View Photos (246) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 1376
Average Rating: 9.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $272

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The All New Tippmann A-5 is a high performance paintball marker with the patented Cyclone Feed System. The Cyclone Feed System Links the Feeder Sprocket to the Air System. The Faster you shoot, the faster the Tippmann A-5 feeds. Pull the Trigger 15 times a second, and the Tippmann A-5 feeds 15 balls per second. The Tippmann A-5 is also easy to clean and maintain with its no tool field strip feature. Innovative technology, maximum firepower, unsurpassed accuracy and Tippmann durability are the core foundations of the all new Tippmann A-5.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann A-5 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (138):  First  |  16  |  17  |  18  |  19  |  20  |  21  |  22  |  Last
        Next Page
pbman1992 Saturday, April 7th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
none- this is my first marker
Marker Setup: A-5 with response trigger and double trigger, smart parts 14" barrel, and reverse drop forward system
Recommended
Upgrades:
Bigger barrel, New trigger (easier for finding "sweet spot" with response trigger).
Strengths: Cyclone Feed System, weight, design.
Weaknesses: Stock barrel isnt the greatest.
Review: The Tippmann A-5 is a great starter gun. It shoots plenty fast, and it has a great design. It is definetly worth the money, which isnt too bad if you buy online. The cyclone feeding system on this gun is phenominal. It feeds the balls just like an electric hopper, without having to mess with batteries. I LOVE THIS GUN!!!!
Conclusion: I fully recomend this product to anyone who is first getting into paintball. It is an exellent gun, and a great buy.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, May 13th, 2007 at 6:08 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

michael 3000 Wednesday, April 4th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
98 custom
Marker Setup: A-5, e grip, cut down stock barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
e grip, stock, new barrel
Strengths: Cyclone feed system, durability, customizable, low profile,
Weaknesses: The price
Review: this is the best gun you can buy!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! the a-5 is a great gun for woods ball (scenario). It does not have the reliability of a 98 custom but it is Way better. the only bad part is the price (around 250 dolla). if you want accuracy, low profile and customizability buy this gun.
Conclusion: If you have the money buy it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

tippa_5 Monday, April 2nd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Piranha 2K3
Marker Setup: I have a:
Tippmann A5
W.A.S. E-Grip
14" Smartparts progressive 2006 series
Tapco SAW Stock
Crossfire 68/4000 hpa tank
32 degrees remote line w/ slide check
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel.....
GET A HPA TANK! DON'T USE CO2!!!!
Strengths: Great woodsball gun. If you have the e-grip it is quite fast.
Weaknesses: GAS HOG!!! A little heavy, but with the right muscles, that don't matter
Review: This gun is great. I have used it a few times in the past month and it has been a great work horse. There are a ton of mods for it including AK-47 mods, M-16 mods and basically anything you can think of. It is an accurate gun if you got some half-way decent paint and a barrel that is anything but stock. The sights on the gun are pretty much useless unless you are using the stock barrel, but then you wouldn't be hitting much anyway. The cyclone feed system is great. If you pull the trigger 8 times, it will feed 8 balls. If you pull the trigger 18 times, it will feed 18 balls. If you plan on shooting 20 bps or so with this gun then get the vortex mod for this, but i don't see the point of shooting that much paint. Do not use co2 with this gun. Especially if you don't have an expansion chamber or a remote of some sort. The co2 will just tear apart your internals. Try to get a HPA tank as soon as possible. The compressed air will make your gun more accurate and it will be very nice on the internals. The only downside to this gun is it is a serious gas hog. So another reason to get the HPA tank with a good gauge on it to see when you are almost out of air.
Conclusion: Great gun. Good for the noobs or experienced players who just want to go out and have a little bit of fun.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintsplattery Saturday, March 31st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
I used a friends Viewloader once, now I'm not saying there's anything wrong with Viewloaders but I like my A-5 alot more.
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
ProSeal Bolt
Recommended
Upgrades:
I recommend the new bolt, I was playing and the paintballs were doing all these crazy spins and curves so I opened 'er up and the Bolt was cracked.
Strengths: Fast
Fast
Doesn't Break Paint
Weaknesses: As I mentioned, the bolt.
Review: When I started Paintballing I didn't want to have to be one of those people who have to stop the game and fix their gun and everyone complains when they're on the team. So I looked around at reviews and sites and stuff like that and came up with my gun. The Tippmann A-5.

So, we got a game together and we picked teams. I sprinted to a forward bunker laid low and.....someone called timeout. Their gun was jammed. And mine wasn't HA!! So when they got off the course i stuck the gun and my head over my wall, bunker thing and took aim at someone. I missed. But then I kept pulling the trigger and pelted every exposed part of them. What it lacks with a short barrel (which can be replaced) it makes up for in sheer mass of paintballs flying at you.
Conclusion: The only reason I can't give this a ten is because if you pay a $1000 you could get a better one.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, April 1st, 2007 at 4:20 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

briangg Wednesday, March 28th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
None that are really similar
Marker Setup: flatline, remote air
Recommended
Upgrades:
flatlline
Strengths: Rugged
Dependable
Accurate
Weaknesses: Paint on body flakes
Review: Why, oh why, is this listed with the "low-ends?"
This marker can *easily* compete with markers at twice, or three times the price. The only difference between them and the A-5 is that with the A-5 you don't need to continually tweak it and you don't have a billion small parts to keep track of. At the end of the day, all you need to do is clean it up and store it until next time. If you are a neat-freak like me, you can easily take it apart and oil it without too much trouble.
Unfortunately, Tippmann kept the cost down by using some less expensive components, like the body, which is not metal, and the black coating starts to flake off after a while. This doesn't compromise the performance, but it is a drawback.
Conclusion: The best marker for the money.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

zhelldog Sunday, March 25th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
6 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
PMI pirahna r6- horrid gun that is uncomparible to the A5
Viewloader Orion- still cant stand up to the A5
98 custom- this is the little brother of the A5 but its still kickass
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5
m4 stock
egrip with W.A.S board
PMI remote hose
Special ops C-series Blackcell barrel 16" with suppressor tip
Recommended
Upgrades:
Tippmann Egrip
Any durable stock
Remote line(attach it to the tombstone latch and use it to replace the bottomline adapter on the grip)
A better barrel, prefferably a Special Ops C-series Blackcell barrel
Strengths: Cyclone feed
accurate
very durable
very reliable
best gun for woodsball
Weaknesses: It is a b i t c h to clean the cyclone.
Review: I got this gun 6 months ago after being tired of using low quality wal mart guns. And after putting a stock on it and replacing the original remote line attached to the grip with a remote hose attached directly to the tombstone, I will never buy another gun again. With those upgrades, the A5 has a very ergonomic feel to it and is easily the best marker out there for woodsball and scenarioball. The Cyclone feed can easily keep up with most electro hoppers, and with a $25 upgrade, it can keep up with a halo hopper easily. So the cyclone feed is basically a great electric hopper without a battery. I have had no chops with my A5 yet, even while using low quality paint. This marker is very good right out of the box, and it easily crowns itself as the king of the woodsball field. The gun is very easy to field-strip and clean, and is the most upgradable paintball gun yet. It is also very easy to install the upgrades. With a tippmann A5, you may be outsmarted but you will very rarely be outgunned, that is, unless you are still usin the mechanical trigger lol.
Conclusion: If you are a woodsball or scenarioballer, and you're looking for a good gun, check this one out. I highly recommend that you get this gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, April 13th, 2007 at 2:27 pm PST
I found this review  
8 Comments - Add Comment

alexsharpe Sunday, March 25th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann C98, and I feel this is much better.
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5, 20oz CO2, 200 Round Hopper, 4x20 Scope, 10in. Fluted Barrel, MP5 Stock.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, stock.
Strengths: Cyclone Feed, foregrip, weight, stripping ability.
Weaknesses: Loud, valve.
Review: I previously wrote a review for this marker, but I wanted to re-write now that it is upgraded.

First things first. When I bought it, gas flew out the barrel! I was like JBNFhuksabvgkiasb no! So I returned it. Turns out I didn't have to. I got a new one, and that one worked fine for a while. Then after a bit I put the gas on, and it started again. Wow I was pissed. So I called up Tippmann Service. And it was the best service I've ever had!! I called and a guy picked right up and I told him about the gas. He knew immediatly that it was the valve (which means they probably get that problem a lot). So he said the warrenty covered it, and he sent me a free valve just like that! I was amazed.

So I've got my new valve, MP5 stock, and ten inch barrel. And I took it out for test before I went out. AH! It was amazing. It shot so smoothly and it was more accurate. I went out a few days later for a faw matches. Oh baby! Twas an amazing day. Was out for about four hours on a 20oz tank. I was nailing shots left and right. It was all around a great day with amazing preformance! Yeah it was a little loud. but for what I do, that's alright. I'm not a sniper so I'm alright with that. My opponents said it was intimidating.
Conclusion: I reccomend this marker to anyone looking for a good upgradeable gun for a decent price.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintble Saturday, March 24th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
brass eagle: eradicator
viewloader: triad
tippmann: 98 custom
Marker Setup: Tippmann a-5
stock hopper
all american barrel
(hopefully soon a stock)
Recommended
Upgrades:
all american barrel
stock (i have used one)
Strengths: Durable
Accurate
Good feel
Looks deadly
Weaknesses: Somewhat of an air hog (cyclone system but who cares)
Review: even though i haven't had my own a-5 for a while I know that they are good, because i have used my friends a-5 in a couple of games. I can say that it is very durable, very good feel to it, accurate and shoots smooth, and the cyclone feed system is a very very help full thing to have. The only thing that is not great about it is that it is kind of an air hog, but i don't really care because the over all gun is amazing (especially with an all-american barrel, and a stock.) The only thing that i would change right out of the box is the stock barrel, because it is not that great. If you can't afford to get a new barrel right away the stock barrel isn't bad you can still get your fair share of people out with it.
Conclusion: i say get the a-5 (their only like $200 now) so go buy one, you won't regret it I promise you. Also i hoped that my review helpe out people.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

prosspa1 Thursday, March 22nd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Custom 98
Custom Pro
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
Tech-T Vortex Mod (Cyclone)
E-Grip (W.A.S. Board)
JCS Double Trigger
APEX Barrel or 14" Trinity Barrel
BT-4 Velocity Spring
Drop Forward
Magazine
CP 68ci 4500psi Tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Tech-T Vortex Mod (Cyclone)
APEX Barrel
E-Grip (Speedball)
Double Trigger With E-Grip (Speedball)
Strengths: Strong Body
Durability
Looks
Cyclone System
Nice Kick
Keeps up with speedball guns

Weaknesses: Chopped Paint when Stock Rachet broke (Cyclone)
Somewhat Heavy when compared to other guns
Review: In my opinion, a great gun overall. The only problem that I've had with the A-5 was the rachet that turns the cyclone. The stock rachet is weak and fragile but once I put the Vortex Mod I have NOT had a single problem with the cyclone at all. No chops at all.
Conclusion: If you're looking for realism. Get an A-5, because you can upgrade it to look like almost any real gun.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, March 27th, 2007 at 11:09 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

coltlacrosse Sunday, March 11th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Fenix- horrible
Tippmann 98- great beginner gun but A-5 is better
Spyder Victor II- best gun for the 50-80 price range
A-5 Flatline- I thought it was horrible but I may of gotten a defected one
Mines- very cool but unless you play in the woods they're hard to hide and when you do put them in the woods noone seems to trip them because the woods are big.
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 with 14" werks, 68ci 4500 psi HP tank, low pressure system (very helpful), E-grip, m16 style stock, remote hose, upgraded internals, scope ( a cheap wal-mart scope mostly for looks but it does help if you use it as a monocular when playing in the woods, although you need to take off your mask)
Recommended
Upgrades:
14" Werks barrel- Best barrel curently out there (better than Flatline)
Comp. air tank- you can fill them from a scuba tank at home, not affected by weather, possible to get 1100-1200 shots from a good tank.
Low-pressure system- a must if you get a Comp. air tank
Upgraded internals- you can buy bolts from a seller but I had someone replace all the plastic internals with custom titanium parts (very expensive and hard to find)
Strengths: Durability
Looks
Easy to strip
Fast for a semi
Cyclone feed eliminates chops
Weaknesses: Weight (if your're weak)
Noise (louder unless you upgrade it)
Review: So far this is the best gun I ever bought (I've shot Angels). Out of the box its fine for games with your friends but you need to upgrade if your going to play skirmish games or speedball tourtaments without getting shot early on. The stock barrel is the best stock I ever used. My favorite thing about it is the cyclone feed, this never chops a ball unless you use old paint and it eliminates the need for a electronic hopper. The gun is louder than your average gun but this can be fixed with the Werks barrel. The gun is heavy espicially with a full hopper and a tank so I use a remote hose to take some weight and the rest I deal with my amazing muscles :-) Overall this gun is great unless you need light and very fast gun (such as an Angel) but if you do need a gun like that you would'nt be reading this review.
Conclusion: Overall, this gun is great for a rich beginner or experienced player thats not yet a pro.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (138):  First  |  16  |  17  |  18  |  19  |  20  |  21  |  22  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media