paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann A-5 / Tippmann A-5 / Tippmann A-5 / Tippmann A-5

Tippmann A-5 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann A-5

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann A-5
[ View Photos (246) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 1376
Average Rating: 9.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $272

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The All New Tippmann A-5 is a high performance paintball marker with the patented Cyclone Feed System. The Cyclone Feed System Links the Feeder Sprocket to the Air System. The Faster you shoot, the faster the Tippmann A-5 feeds. Pull the Trigger 15 times a second, and the Tippmann A-5 feeds 15 balls per second. The Tippmann A-5 is also easy to clean and maintain with its no tool field strip feature. Innovative technology, maximum firepower, unsurpassed accuracy and Tippmann durability are the core foundations of the all new Tippmann A-5.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann A-5 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (138):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
crawler200 Monday, September 13th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
custom 98- no cyclone
Marker Setup: i have a car collapsable stock.
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel
shroud-looks
mag-looks
holographic sight
folding stock
Strengths: LOUD
intimidating
upgradable
cheap
light
Weaknesses: LOUD
not accurate with stock barrel
Review: I shot this at my friends house in colorado springs I went up there and there dad said I could try my new gun there I did and it put holes in cardbord from 20 yards wut I aimed in my sights and it missed by abt 3 inches.Im also going to use it to play with 2 other friends this weekend
Conclusion: GETIT but if you do invest in a new barrel
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

saladfingers Wednesday, September 8th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Compact 2000
Tippmann 98/flatline
Spyder EM1
2003 Impulse
Spyder MR2
Marker Setup: A-5
Expansion Chamber
JT 24oz
14" Battle Stikxx
New Designz X7 / A-5 Power Tube with Delrin Bolt
E-Grip
12"Lapco Big Shot Apex
Riochet Low Profile Hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
Expansion chamber
Longer/good quality barrel (12"-14")
Low profile hopper
Strengths: DURABLE
Accuracy
Price
Reliable
Weaknesses: Loud
Gas Hog
Review: I would Like to start off by saying that this is by far the best marker I ever owned. This is the second A-5 I have owned, I bought it back in December 2009. My old A-5 lasted me about 5 years, after I bought the new one, I gave the old one to my younger brother because he was showing alot of interest in the sport.

This paintball marker is built to last. It preforms awesome out of the box, its consistant, the cyclone feed system is great.

When I got my new A-5 i also ordered a expansion chamber, and a new barrel with it. If you are running CO2 you should consider buying one. as most of us know the stock A5 barrel is ok but its not great. I bought a 12" Lapco Bigshot Apex, and a 14" battlestikxx hammer head. I also own a Flatline barrel but I haven't used it in a long time. The flatline is a great upgrade for the A5 but I now prefer the APEX over it.

As for the expansion chamber, it is a must for CO2 users. The expansion chamber will keep your A5's shots more consistant, and you will also be able to get more shots per tank. It will also be easier on the internals of you marker because you wont be getting any liquid CO2 in you marker thus extending the life of you A5.

The cyclone feed system is great. Tippmann claims it can reach 15BPS which it does, I have heard that the paddles in the cyclone can break paint in the winter due to the cold air making the paintballs brittle. I haven't had this problem but you can buy softer paddles from action village for $15. other then that it seem to be of good quality and I dont foresee any problems with it.

I like the push pin system for the A5, It makes it so much easier to field strip, and to clean the marker. I do remember the push pins would break after a year or 2 of use, you can order a parts kit from tippmann which include the pins, or you can get them on action village cheap.

This marker is loud and has a very distinct sound, I personally like this but if you dont the only things you can do is get a new barrel, even then it really doesn't make a huge difference.

I often refer to the A5 as the "AK-47" of paintball guns... Its durable, accurate, reliable, and in the right hands it will last a very long time. Im sure alot of people will argue this but this is hands down the best woodsball gun ever.
Conclusion: If you are looking for a reliable, and up-gradable marker, well then this is the one for you. If you are a scenario or just a regular joe woodsballer its a must have marker.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

wacaca Monday, September 6th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Bravo one
Tippmann 98
Marker Setup: Tippmann a5
14" smart parts progressive barrel
tac cap
double trigger
HE E-GRIP
Red hot power tube
X7 hopper
Vortex mod
lightning rod
squishy paddles
Vented Cyclone piston housing
12 gram co2 adapter
remote line
CAR stock
pure energy 48/3000 HPA
Offset hopper adapter
red dot
lapco rail offset
apex barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Tac cap
E-Grip
14-16 inche barrel
anything tech t
Strengths: Strong built
Cyclone feed
lots of upgrades
good fire rate
push pin field strip feature
Weaknesses: Stock barrel
Bad on air
Review: I bought this gun and thought it would be decent and it was it was. I was surprised how good it was. I brought mine to my local paintball feild and surprised how it did playing woods ball, the marker has a nice fire rate and is perfect for mid range shooting. The stock barrel however is bad. It is loud and inaccurate so I would recomend buying a new barrel. This gun is really bad on gas I was using a 9oz and getting only 350 shots(in 20 degree celcius weather). But when you try out this gun all of the problems seem pretty minor because the gun has a good rate of fire, you will not need a electric hopper and there are many availible upgrades, this is a good marker. I give this marker a 9 because there is always room to improve. I would reccomend tech-t upgrades because they are good parts that are built to last and do what they say. I would also recomend a barrel. I would get apex or flatline.
Conclusion: Its a good gun I would recomend this gun. This is a good marker for the begginer to intermidiate player. You will not be disapointed.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, December 9th, 2010 at 2:23 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Tank00 Thursday, August 19th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Mr1, Tippman 98 custm pro ACT, Spyder Shudder.
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5, Smart parts 14" Barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel...cosmetic stuff up to you.
Strengths: Well built, rate of fire,as accurate as they come.
Weaknesses: Higher C02 use due to cyclone feed. Not bad though.
Review: After Paintballing for the last four years and Lots of on-line reserchas well as talking to other players. trying diffrent makers . I purchased my own tippmann A-5. There is a reason why these makers have such a loyal following. IT JUST PLAIN WORKS!! I'm not a kid i am a full grown adult who will tell you if you are going to put down your hard earned money on a marker this is the way to go. I have watched friends / other players play with alot of diffrent markers in all sorts of weather, most of the time they spent there time working on there markers instead of playing. I have been there myself before I bought the A-5 and that gets old fast. The Cyclone feed is great, the A-5 is designed around this incrediable feed system and your rate of fire will amaze you. I shoot with a purpose not just spray and pray. Upgrade the barrel and as far as im concerned performance wise you are good to go.
Conclusion: This is the last marker you will buy if you are a woodsballer!! It is the AK 47 of the paintball world. Allways works tough as nails. Deadly!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Zerolen Thursday, August 19th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
delta elite. brass eagle. the delta elite in my opinion has nothing on the A5 and is due for a remodeling where the brass eagle is just idiotic for a gun. the A5 is the best gun I've used so far.
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
Tippmann 20 inch sniper barrel
Tippmann composite commando stock
Tippmann remote line
extreme energy 20 ounce c02 tank
daisy 30x scope
Recommended
Upgrades:
a shroud and get multiple barrels of multiple length.
Strengths: durable
little to no maintenance
powerful and long range
Automatic
accurate
Weaknesses: Hard to find accessories at local shops.
Review: this is a great marker for scenario players or people who play woodsball on a large field. my first marker had it for 3 years and loving it. haven't bought another marker yet. don't see the need for multiple markers. Best if customized with your own combat flair.
Conclusion: I would and have recommended this product to everyone I know. great if you have money to spend and like high quality low maintenance gear.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

DeathAce Saturday, July 31st, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Triton 2
Pirahnna
MR1
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
Stock Barrel
20oz CO2 tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
stock
remote line
flatline barrel(not necessary but adds like 100 yards range and better accuracy)
Strengths: Cyclone feed
Trigger pull
Accuracy
looks
durability
Weaknesses: All i can think of is the weight really
Review: OK, so I went to a paintball camp last week and my gun broke so one guy let me use his A5 while he wasnt playing and let me just say: THIS GUN IS AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! trigger pull is perfect i love the single trigger cyclone feed system can feed 15 bps which is awesome u dont need an electric hopper and the accuracy w/the stock barrel is amazing!! I had so much fun playing woodsball with this gun.
Conclusion: it doesnt rlly matter wut ur skill level is,this gun is amazing! U definately need 2 get itfor PB!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

rippervox Tuesday, July 27th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
2 years3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
kingman spyder (nothing compared to this.. although pretty good)
Planet eclipse Etek 3
tippmann 98
tippmann 98C
Dye DM9
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5
hammerhead sharktooth 8.5 inch rifled barrel
Response trigger
filed down sights and top
polished internals
HPA tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
change the barrell... it is pretty good to start with but i would consider changing it if your thinking of a modification.. and switch to an HPA rather then a CO2.... IF U CAN AFFORD IT.
Strengths: Durability
Reliability
No breaks
Speed
Wide range of modifications
Customer service
Adaptability
Weaknesses: Air hog
B rrel isnt very consistent
Review: tippmann A5.. one of their best products ever made.. it is legendary and an absolutely fierce marker.. but i must say, tippmann has sacrificed a lot for durability, but it still is one of the best marker out there.


the tippmann A5 is matte black, i like matte black and it doesnt feel cheap at all, even the plastic trigger. but dont be put off by the thought of a plastic trigger because it is highly durable, unlike the ones that you see on incredibly cheap markers which sometimes break after a few pulls. one of the best features of this gun is the cyclone feed, not many gun has this, but it is phenomenal. the amount of paint you can shoot without breaking with this feed system is incredible. instead of the loader having to keep up with you, YOU have to keep up WITH THE loader, it shoots as fast as you can pull the trigger. another thing i like about this gun is its adaptibility, you can use this gun for almost any scenarios... you need to snipe? switch to a longer barrel or rifled one.. going assault? put a shorter one on..need to be a heavy gunner? slap on a RT trigger and blat away! and speakin of rt triggers.. this is one of the best upgrades you can get for your A5! who needs electro? this beast of an upgrade will allow you to shoot up to 15 rounds a second.. WITH NO ELECTRICS.. its all air assisted, thus less prone to breaking down and is as reliable as the gun itself.. and the only way u cant use an rt is wen u have no gas at all!!!.. it can also go beyond 15BPS if you fit a bigger hosing and banjo then the stock one... the barrell however, let me down a little... it was quite accurate but not consistent enough... you cant blame the tank for this one cause i used a HPA tank which is very consistent from 1 bar onwards.. and i was sure i had more then 1 bar.. so i recommend you change the barrell... now ppl might telll you to get a flatline barrel if you have an A5, but i whole heartedly disagree.. to me personally.. i find it horrible.. i do like its range but in the heat of a battle.. a barrel break in the barrel of a flatline is absolutely horrible to clean.. maintaining it can be tough also..and it is quite picky on which paintballs you use.. so beware.. but honestly its up to u.. another good feature about the A5 is its fear factor.. you have two choices of modification.. performance or the looks (cosmetics) i personally went to performance.. both does scare the guys in one way or another.. but me.. i have performance.. so basically outside it looks like a normal A5, but dont underestimate it cause the inside.. well.its got some serious beef... set it up with an RT ttrigger and a hammerhead sharktooth barrel as well as a squegee paddle with a lightning rod system with a quick exhaust as well as a polished internals.. makes a formidable gun in the field.. guys might think *ahh just another rental, i can totally own him* but wen ur in the game BAM!! u run around taking guys out.. which is what i love doing... a complain that i have about this gun is.. that it is a comlpete air hog.. i have to gas up my marker after every game, (i shot around 450 rounds in one round) but who cares!!! it might be gas hog but i still love it!! another good reason to get this gun is that it has endless possibilities of modifications, you can make it look like any gun on the planet.. a G36? no problem!! a AK47? piece of cake!! a M107 sniper rifle? you kiddin me??!!! you can even mix and match.. like hae a little of a M4.. a lil of an AK47 a lil of a niper rifle... and make it look completely awesome! however.. i must enforce one thing.. and that is that this gun.. is not for everyone.. some ppl might find the weight a bit off putting.. and sometimes even the looks... but to me.. why should i care about the weight? it makes it all the more realistic!!
Conclusion: this marker is completely reliable.. i have used it for 2 years and i have never had a break in those two years... i love this gun.. however.. its not for everyone.. go to ur local shop.. take a feel of it.. and see whether you like it or not.... cause all in all.. i wont be using the gun u chose... u will... and also.. keep a track of the amount of money u spend for this gun.. cause it can get out of control.. ive seen a 3000$ A5 which was completely pimped out.. so be careful.. and at the end.. .last but not least...play safe and have fun.. thats what matters...!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

maverickdy Thursday, July 22nd, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Rap4 T68 (Magazine Fed)
Tippmann X7
Project Salvo
Marker Setup: A-5
-J&J Ceramic Barrel
-R/T
-Carbine Buttstock (or SAW Buttstock depending on mood)
-SOCOM Shroud
Recommended
Upgrades:
Upgraded barrel is essential

You can't go wrong with adding a buttstock
Strengths: Milsim look with even better mods
Loud
Durable
Weaknesses: BPS is low out of the box but can be improved
Loud
Review: This marker was made for woodsball. It doesn't have the BPS for speedball but that's not what its meant for.

The only thing that matters for a woodsball marker is durability, dependability, and accuracy.

In the 2 years I've used it, I haven't broken a thing on it. I broke 2 remote lines in that time though.

This thing fires no matter what I do it. I've dragged it on the ground, I've banged it against trees, I even dropped it in mud. As long as you can pull the trigger, it'll shoot. Other markers are worried any time they drop paintballs on the ground. You can't use those anymore! Not with a Tippmann. It'll shoot rocks if you ask it to. (Don't ask it to)

Accuracy, not all too bad. Your playing woodsball, you don't need to shoot all too far. A better barrel to get those far shots though would be nice. I got a cheap J&J ceramic one and I can shoot 50+ feet with accuracy. Anything more than that I wouldn't bother shooting anyways.
Conclusion: Its good at what it does, woodsball.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

The_RGNL_Kanman Thursday, July 22nd, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann Pro/Carbine, Sheridan JTX both very reliable first markers.
Marker Setup: SpecOps Dogleg Stock, Opsgear 416 Body Kit, Tippmann Folding Foregrip, BT Bipod, 14" Barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
12" or 14" Tippmann Barrel, SpecOps Dogleg Stock
Strengths: Accurate
Great Feed
Durable
Easy-to-upgrade
Light
Weaknesses: Stock Barrel not accurate beyond 75ft
Review: A must for woodsballers. The A5 is very dependable and easy to upgrade. The stock barrel is not accurate at long range, but a small purchase of the 12" or 14" barrels will fix this problem. I've never had a paintball break while feeding into the barrel.

I must say, the Dogleg stock is another upgrade people should look into if they don't run into close quarters. The reason being is the design of the stock lets the player look down the sights of the marker while wearing a face mask. It is hard to with other stocks because of the way the mask rests against the stock.
Conclusion: I easily recommend a ten for the A5. Even with newer paintball guns that should have this out of date, it still rocks and has never let me down in the two years I've owned it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

PBtothedeath Friday, July 16th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5, SP tactical barrel, Ncstar red dot sight, 9 0z co2 tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Response Trigger, After market barrel, new powertube.
Strengths: fairly Accurate, effecient, iron sights, mil-sim look, sturdy. Cool upgrades
Weaknesses: Heavy? Loud. Stock barrel sucks.
Review: only one problem i had with the tippmann a5, Took it out to the field and had no problems, no chops or breaks. go home and take it apart to clean and oil it, after i took out all the push pins and took out the tombstone , my rear bolt and everything that comes after that, wouldn't come out. so i called redcell paintball and asked them about it, they said to loosen up some reciever screws and it should come out, so i loosended them up and everything came out like it should, not a big problem, just more screws to take out everytime i clean it.
Conclusion: Overall, great gun, needs a new barrel ( DW is good one ), kinda loud, i guess, its heavy but i don't complain.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, July 16th, 2010 at 12:39 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (138):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media