paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann A-5 / Tippmann A-5 / Tippmann A-5 / Tippmann A-5

Tippmann A-5 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann A-5

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann A-5
[ View Photos (246) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 1376
Average Rating: 9.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $272

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The All New Tippmann A-5 is a high performance paintball marker with the patented Cyclone Feed System. The Cyclone Feed System Links the Feeder Sprocket to the Air System. The Faster you shoot, the faster the Tippmann A-5 feeds. Pull the Trigger 15 times a second, and the Tippmann A-5 feeds 15 balls per second. The Tippmann A-5 is also easy to clean and maintain with its no tool field strip feature. Innovative technology, maximum firepower, unsurpassed accuracy and Tippmann durability are the core foundations of the all new Tippmann A-5.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann A-5 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (138):  First  |  26  |  27  |  28  |  29  |  30  |  31  |  32  |  Last
        Next Page
Fragmasta_Fong Tuesday, September 12th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Pro/Carbine
Spyder of some kind ('twas crud)
Uber-timmy (High end electro, so not really comparible, Scary ROF)
Wrath (Again electro but similar price bracket to the A5)
Marker Setup: -Tippmann A-5 with R/T
-Double Trigger
-Lapco Bigshot - 14" Bead Blasted
-Palmers Stab.
-Stock with RVA

QCB Setup:
+Remote Line
+Tac Cap
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel, stock is.... well, stock. Maybe a R/T or Egrip if you need mass ROF
Strengths: Realiability, affordability, Cyclone, Solid and damn near Indestructable, Looks like a MP5
Weaknesses: Gas hog, tad heavy
Review: This was my first paintball gun, I bought a fair amount for it initially because I live in New Zealand and shippings a B****. I have since added a few things like the Palmers, and the stock etc. I primarily play woodsball and thus was the Only gun for me.

Now I have been putting off writing this review till I played with this gun enough to feel like I am giving a fair and reasonable review about it... plus I'm one hell of a procrastinator =)
When it turned up I was out at my local field within the hour, keen to go melt some faces. I have had since some experience with electros and how tempramental some of them can be, and theres almost nothing that you can do to an A5 that will cause it to stop completely. It just keeps going and going and going, you can fall down a hill, take a face plant into a mound of dirt, clip a bunker as you run past... nothing fazes it.

My friend went to the tourney last weekend with his wrath shooting 20bps ropes, but had solenoid problems and it stopped working. So taking his trusty A5 and turned some heads and actually held his own against some shockers and timmys spraying down the field like it was on fire. A5s might be a little bulky which does hamper some tournament moves but it can hold its own.

Now on to the main good points:
The cyclone is great in that it is waterproof, doesn't need batteries and means that you dont have to go lightening your wallet on reasonable loader. As far as things go the A5 is quite cheap, all that gun for that little pile-o-cash. As I mentioned earlier the A5 is damn near indestructable, this can work against the gun in that for those of smaller frames it can be quite the brute in ways of weight and bulkiness.
One last thing is that it looks like an MP5 and is so upgradable, you can do so much with it and there is alot of ups available for it.

Somewhere in between:
Its loud, you never really will get an A5 quiet, but WHO CARES? People at my field know its me when they hear the big booming cannon thats blasting at them. The bigshot helps with this alot. I don't really believe in quiet shooting from one place, repositioning and shooting again. Scare the be-jeebus out of them and confusion and mayhem ensues, it works rather well for me.

The bad points:
Theres not really any here... As I said earlier it is a little heavy, but who cares? Man up and get sum muss. Now A5s do like to eat that gas, its not horrific but it can make a fair dent on a 12oz. I fixed this with my palmers stabilizer and get around 750+ shots out of a 12oz depending on the temp. I am going to be upgrading to air soon, but at least the palmers works both CO2 and HPA.
Conclusion: The A5 is all that and a case of paint. Its damn near indestructable, reliable and shoots great, keeps up with most people you are going to come across in woodsball and some speedball fullas too. I even had two for a while XD

I give it a 9.6/10... so chuck that up to a 10 and its rounded.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, September 12th, 2006 at 3:14 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Tweakedld Monday, September 11th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann 98 custom/ phantom vertical stock class
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5: 16" armson ssr barel (rifled), response trigger, 6 stage expansion chamber, rufus dawg bolt
Recommended
Upgrades:
your going to need a barrel... recommended: Flatline/ Armson stealth or SSR/ Dye Boomy... all are going to run you about 100 bucks the boomy is more but the ssr is a personal favorite. also for distance and accuracy go for a longer barrel like a 12 - 16 maybe even a 18
Strengths: Shoots hard and The Cyclone feed is the best feeding system around...
Weaknesses: Hopper is big and is an easy spot to hit,
Review: The A-5 is an exellent gun for begginers and veterans alike... it is durrible and a great buy the best thing about it is no need for hopper upgrades and the stock barrel isnt bad. the only part that is a little bit of a downfall is the cyclone feed system uses co2 so it is kindof a co2 hog. you might need to get an expansion chamber to conserve on the co2 usage. With a good barrel the gun is amazingly accurate
Conclusion: This product is great and i recommend it for anyone who is looking for a stronge woodsball gun and a begginer speed ball gun... it has power and speed stock. VERY NICE GUN
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

^_^ Saturday, September 9th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
- Spyder Rodeo
- WGP Trilogy Competetion Autococker (tested)
- Rental 98 Custom
- Some kind of Shocker (tested)
Marker Setup: - Spyder Rodeo
- Dye Sticky Grips
- Kingman Spyder Straight elbow
- Viewloader Quantum
- 20oz CO2

- Tippmann A-5
- 12oz CO2
Recommended
Upgrades:
- Flatline barrel
- Double Trigger
Strengths: - Cyclone Feed System
- Looks
- Durability
- Accurate
Weaknesses: - Can't change grips without changing the trigger frame
- hard to take apart
Review: The Tippmann A-5 is a great marker! It's very accurate, looks cool, is very durable, and amazingly fast for a mechanical gun! First off is it's accuracy! It has better accuracy than many guns "tricked out" guns I have seen ,and that's just using the stock barrel (it's insane with a Flatline barrel)! Second it looks cool, it is modeled after the H&K MP5 (a real SMG) and even has sights like the MP5, which actually do matter with this gun. Third it's very durable, you can drop this thing all you want it's not going to break! Fourth it's amazingly fast for a mechanical gun, this is because it has the Cyclone Feed System! It uses gas from your gun to make your hopper feed like an electric hopper (just no batteries!), you can get 15 BPS (with an E-Trigger Frame)! Also this gun has very few negative things to write about it! Only two in fact! The first one is you can't change the grips without changing the entire trigger frame, which doesn't really bother me a whole lot but it might bother other people. Second it's hard to take apart, but then again so are all Tippmanns...but this also isn't a big deal because Tippmanns are quite low maitenence (but if you do need to take it apart DON'T do it yourself get someone at your local paintball store to). Overall I would reccomend this game to any woodsball, rec ball, or Scenario player! It's a great gun with tons of upgrades!
Conclusion: This gun is great! I would reccomend it to ANY woodsball, rec ball, or scenario player! Plus it's very customizable so you can it make it just how you want it!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

the walrus Monday, September 4th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
SPYDER IMAGINE .
TIPPY CUSTOM 98
S.P ION
Marker Setup: FLATLINE ...3000 HPA TANK . JCS STOCK ,REMOTE LINE JCS RED HOT TUBE ,HEX HEAD DELRIN BOLT..
14 INCH THUNDERPIG BARREL .SPEC OPS G-36 SHROUD.red dot sight .r-5 ric hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
i would get a stock to start with jcs makes a good one also the g-36 stock from spec ops is cool .then i would say upgrade the barrel because the stock one is basically crud .i also like the feel of a remote line i dont like having a tank hook directly into a gun because of the extra weight .
Strengths: The gun is built tough like a tank
Weaknesses: None really
Review: Well i have 3 A-5 each with a different set up 2 with flatlines one with the 14 inch thunderpig barrel..there are soooo many things you do with this gun but the only thing i dont recommend is speedball with this gun ,unless you are super quick on the trigger ..the a-5 offers the best results when your running hpa i think running co2 might be a waste potential of the a-5 ..the a-5 offers different things for different people and playing styles ,tack on the flatline and you have long range firepower no one is safe even the campers at the back of the field ..add on a decent short barrel and you have a CQB gun the cyclone will keep up any day with most high end hoppers i would suggest changing the hopper to a r-5 its smaller and isnt such a huge bullseye ..ive also notice the guns run a bit better with a new power tube in it i have the red hot tube it adds a very loud crack when i fire and ive notice a improvement in cycle time because of the tube not saying the stock 1 is junk but id rather have aluminium over plactic any day ...also the a-5 is paint friendly you can easily paint it with more metal air spray paint .i think when you compair the a-5 vs say the sp8 or MR-1 its easy to see why there are more tippman products at the field ..plain and simple its construction and the quality of the gun
Conclusion: if your a woodsballer or seriously into senario games then the A-5 is your type of gun.

Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

nateorious Sunday, September 3rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98c.
Marker Setup: A-5, 14"hammerhead barrel, 48cu 3000psi steel compressed air tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
E-grip w/ rampage board, 14" hammerhead barrel, Ricochet R-5 hopper.
Strengths: Durability, comfort, work horse, stealth, Notorious loudness ,material quality, build quality and shot consistency.
Weaknesses: A bit bulky for speed ball.
Review: I have had the A-5 for roughly 6 months. It has worked great and I have never had a single chopped or jammed ball. Also the cyclone feed system stock (no mods) can reach 15 bps. It is very durable, I have dropped it right on the cyclone and not a single scratch, dent or crack.

To me it is very comfortable since the weight is balanced through out the gun. Also the A-5 is an amazing work horse, you will never have to worry about your gun breaking chopping or jamming, I mean this thing is just a tank. also it is very stealthy, because you can get it in black, or camo.

The a-5 has notorious loudness which could be a good thing or a bad thing.
Plus there are just so many upgrades, that you will probably never even see them all. Also amazing shot consistency, you will never get a ball that just flys everywhere with this gun. The plastic on this gun is very very strong, as I mentioned earlier how I dropped it on the cyclone and there was no mark at all.

And for the weaknesses there are none so far that I have seen or been told about,

A great gun for rec/woods ball, also could be a good speed ball gun if you get an e-grip.

Anyway that pretty much wraps it up I think it is a great gun all around, if you have any questions feel free to leave a comment.
Conclusion: Great gun, no weaknesses, all around great gun 10/10 no regrets great gun at allmost any pirce.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, September 3rd, 2006 at 4:03 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Donster 125 Saturday, September 2nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Custom 98
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5, SP 20" Tactical Barrel, 3 pos. CAR stock, Opsgear UMP gas-through mag, RIchochet R5 hopper, Lapco Offset sight rail
Recommended
Upgrades:
The KEY upgrades are: Barrel and a Stock
Other upgrades can include an offset sight rail and a new hopper
Strengths: Durable
Customizable
Looks
Field Strippable pins
Cyclone feed
Weaknesses: Hopper/ cyclone feed

Review: I used to own a custom 98 with flatline and stock setup. i sold it after i discovered to my disappointment that the flatline is NOT GOOD for sniping. however, i will ironically buy another 98 as a backup. read on to see why.

Upgradeability:
This gun is easily one of the most upgradeable guns on the market today. The new X-7 is supposed to surpass the A5, but until it gets wide-mass acceptance, the A5 takes it.
+2

Ergonomics:
The A5 is supposed to mimic the look and feel of an H&K MP5K. The grip is very nice and comfortable, while the push safety is easy to use and straightforward. This grip differs from the 98 because the custom 98's grip is based on a .45 auto (i beleive). Furthermore, the ability to field strip the marker is very easy because of the push-pin system. For exxample, if one were to install a stock, the A5, unlike the 98 does not have to be taken apart. Simply remove the end push pins, take out the back cap, put in the stock, and insert the push pins again. it's easy and simiple. The 98 on the other hand must be taken completely apart into its two halves in order to istall a stock. the trigger assembly is another good example, because it can be removed as its own piece unlike the 98, where again, the gun has to come apart into 2 equal halves.
+2

Performance:
The A5 performs very well stock. The stock barrel is not as bad as others i have used/witnessed, but still get a better barrel. the gun is very light IMO and will keep shooting no matter the conditions. People say that the efficiency is bad. i myself have not noticed it. i hear it is because of the power tube and its design; the A5 uses the same amount of air regardless of the velocity. but that is just what i have read.
+2

Price:
I got this on sale for $249.99 CDN or $214.90 USD. Not bad IMO. the 98 is even cheaper, especially if you skip over the ACT model and get the oldschool one like i plan on doing. Still, for what you get, it seems fair. For an extra $100 (that being the A5 cause the 98 is $149.99 CDN or $128.94 USD), you get the cyclone, lighter design, better ergonomics and performance as well as a wider range of upgrades. plus, it just looks cooler =P.
+2

Cyclone:
Now this is is both a strength and a weakness i my opinion. Its strengths is that is virtually eliminated chopping. The downside, other than partially obstructing your view and being somewhat bulky, is that i am totally depedent on it to work. now that is not to say that it wont. In fact (knock-on-wood) i have never had a problem with it as of yet. but if something should happen for whatever reason, my day would be ruined because there is no gravity-hopper attachement. The only way that this can be countered is by getting a backup gun. i recommend the custom 98 as it is tough as nails and gravity fed. and last time i checked, gravity doesn't malfunction. it is a great idea. and with tippmanns reputation, i dont worry. i just want to be a realist and forsee possible problems so that i can keep on balling. I have the vortex mod for my cyclone and i will soon be getting the lightning rod. i have heard that there are a few defect models that break thus rendering the cyclone inoperable until it is fixed. i dont want this to happen and me being out of paintball for the day. so, i will get a 98 so i can keep on playing. the other problem is that the "tube" sticking out of the cyclone is a bit woobly. not too much that it will break though. i am just a little bit concerned about this. but not overly. just somehting to watch out for while playing.
+2 however...
-1 for the bulkiness the cylone adds (personal preference of course, i dont mind it)
-1 for the tube sticking out of the cyclone (personal preference, i dont mind it that much)
-1 for the gun being totally dependent on the cyclone (this i do mind =P)

Overall impressions:
This is a great gun that i recommend to both rookies and veterans. cheap, effective and upgradable. the only problem is the cyclone, which is bascially the lifeline of your gun. if it breaks, you mind as well throw paintballs or pull out a backup (a custom 98 is a good choice). still, since that this has not happened to me, i cannot deduct marks for being faulty. i can however deduct marks for the gun being totally dependent on it.
7 > this is not necessarily a bad rating. i try to be fair and unbiased. considering that 5 = average, this is actually very good.
P.S: i hope my review was easy to follow.
Conclusion: This is a great gun that will last forever and can be customized for anything and despite its obvious lean towards woodsball, can easily be made for speedball. I recommend it to both players joining the sport, or to vetrens of it. It gets
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, February 17th, 2007 at 12:05 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

azndragon2222 Thursday, August 31st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
PMI Piranha GTI '04, '06
Kingman Spyder Imagine '04
Kingman Spyder Electra ACS (tested)
Kingman Spyder Pilot (tested)
SP Ion
SP Shocker (not comparable)
ICD ProMaster (not comparable)
Marker Setup: Primary:
ICD Promaster
SP Freak w/ 14" Silver All-American Front
CP Grip Regulator (Long)
Hybrid Shizzle Panelz
CCM Heli-Clamp Feedneck
Shocktech On/Off Bottomline w/ Rail #2
VL eVLution II w/ Z-Board
ACI Bulldog III 68 ci/3000 psi (Carbon Fiber) w/ Dye Rhino Cover

Backup:
PMI Piranha GTI ('06)
SP Progressive
Shocktech Low Pressure Chamber
Shocktech Supafly Bolt
Flush Cocking System
FBM Fireball Mountain Delrin Trigger
VL eVLution w/ Y-Board
ACI Bulldog III 68ci/3000psi (Carbon Fiber)

A-5 Setup:
E-grip
Tippmann Flatline Barrel
Expansion Chamber Setup
Daisy Red Dot Sight
Wire Stock
20 oz. CO2
Recommended
Upgrades:
Flatline barrel
Adjustable Stock (personal preference)
Strengths: Durable
Reliable
Very accurate with Flatline
Weaknesses: Heavy
Pain to clean
Review: Basically the best gun for woodsball and scenario. will almost never fail you and can take a beating. as with the 98 Custom, it is very customizable to suit anyones needs. Only real problem with these is that they are on the heavy side (as with most woodsball type gun) and they are a pain to take apart and clean.
Conclusion: Into woodsball? look no further...
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Elfasto Saturday, August 26th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98
Brass Eagle Marauder
Kingman Spyder MR-1
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5
Smart Parts Progressive 20" barrel
Collapsable CAR Stock
Lapco offset dovetail mount
Aftermarket Bolt and Powertube
Recommended
Upgrades:
The sky is the limit. It works great stock or modded
Strengths: Cyclone feed: Never misses a beat
Easy to maintain
Aluminum construction: Very robust
Weaknesses: Bit on the heavy side, but you get used to it.
Mechanically complex
Review: After retiring my BE Marauder, I did some homework and some research before purchasing a new marker. I purchased the A5 with the Smart Parts Barrel and a nice collapsing stock. The first time with it I rented a HPA tank (regulated to 800 PSI) and went to play.

This thing is excellent! Shots that were unthinkable with the Marauder were childsplay with the A5! After running 2000 rounds thru it, it chopped one ball. That's pretty good odds if you ask me.

If you can pull the trigger fast, this thing will lay paint everywhere and ask for more.

<<EDIT>>

After 5 outings and one woodsball tournament, the marker is still performing as good as new. No ball chops, good on air (better with the long barrel).
Conclusion: Buy it. Use it and abuse it. Get used to the weight and you'll never look back!
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, January 7th, 2007 at 4:02 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bcelos Tuesday, August 22nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
98 custom
tl-r
tl-x
imagine
system x
autococker triogy sport
pilot
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion
Halo Backman LED hopper
Pure Energy 3000 psi Nitro
feed neck clamp
Recommended
Upgrades:
Bigger barrel!!
stock
remote/coil
Strengths: Accurate
made well
looks cool
cyclone feed
side feed
sight
Weaknesses: Cost
hopper is too large(big target)
Review: This gun is for the woodsballer who is interested in playing as a sniper or backman. It is great for a rich newb, or an experienced player. The stock barrel is bad and should be replaced with a 14 or 16 inch barrel. the sight is very helpful with a large barrel on your a-5, deadly accurate. an upgrade you don't need to have but can help is a stock and a coil/remote. this will help you steady your gun and aim more freely.

this gun has cyclone feed which loads the gun so it never chops or jams.

This is the best gun because the sight is so great! normally if you are playing and you see the top of someone's head sticking out from a fort and you try shooting it, you'll give away your location and miss. with the a-5 you just look through the sight and pick off the smallest part of someone before they can get you out.

this sight helps hit what ever you are aiming at no matter how small


VERY ACCURATE
Conclusion: By this if you love sniping!!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, August 22nd, 2006 at 8:37 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

NASTY BLASTER Sunday, August 20th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98, it is very good but the cyclone feed and the push pins that they use for the A-5 are very nice when it comes to field repairs.
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5, E-grip, JJ ceramic barrel, and flatline barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Flatline barrel, and the E-grip
Strengths: Durability, great for woods
Weaknesses: Air hog
Review: I think that the tippmann A-5 is a very good gun maybe not for a starter but for a person thats been playing for at least 6 months. but tippmanns all together are just great guns period. the only bad part is that there Air Hogs. but i mean. air isnt very expensive
Conclusion: You should defianately get this if not this. the tippmann 98. because tippmanns are great guns
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (138):  First  |  26  |  27  |  28  |  29  |  30  |  31  |  32  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media