paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann A-5 / Tippmann A-5 / Tippmann A-5 / Tippmann A-5

Tippmann A-5 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann A-5

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann A-5
[ View Photos (246) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 1376
Average Rating: 9.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $272

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The All New Tippmann A-5 is a high performance paintball marker with the patented Cyclone Feed System. The Cyclone Feed System Links the Feeder Sprocket to the Air System. The Faster you shoot, the faster the Tippmann A-5 feeds. Pull the Trigger 15 times a second, and the Tippmann A-5 feeds 15 balls per second. The Tippmann A-5 is also easy to clean and maintain with its no tool field strip feature. Innovative technology, maximum firepower, unsurpassed accuracy and Tippmann durability are the core foundations of the all new Tippmann A-5.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann A-5 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (138):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
MrCSASC Wednesday, June 30th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom w/ 14" Barrel
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5
Response Trigger
Low Profile Hopper
Tippmann 16" Sniper Barrel
Remote Line
Recommended
Upgrades:
Expansion Chamber Kit for CO2 Users
Strengths: Durable
Easy to strip/assemble
Many customization options


Weaknesses: Stock Barrel has limited range and accuracy
Stock Hopper is pretty bulky
Review: Right out of the box, I was very impressed with this marker. I fired a few paintballs to confirm the marker worked, then I stripped/assembled it several times. Compared to my Tippmann 98, this was extremely easy.

The stock barrel worked well at close range, but as expected was pretty much ineffective past 40 feet at a velocity of 285. Being a Tippmann marker, I recommend upgrading to a Flatline Barrel (for those who aren't big Flatline fans, a 14" barrel would be a good option too. No opinion on APEX at this point)

The Cyclone Feed System, combined with the Response Trigger, gives this marker the ability to pump out the paint. I didn't encounter a single ball break (after firing +/- 1000 paintballs) and a 20 oz CO2 tank lasted me for about 800 shots. Again, velocity was about 285 FPS with the 16" barrel on.

One upgrade I got right away was the Low Profile X7 Hopper. The Stock hopper was all right, but proved to be a large target.

One thing I didn't mention as a strength or weakness was the loudness of the marker, as this can fall into either category. Personally for me I like the loudness, though for the stealthier paintball player this would obviously be a bad thing.

Conclusion: Great marker, no mechanical issues whatsoever at this point. I don't have much else to say, having only been to the field with it once. I give it an 8 as nothing is perfect, and though only a minor problem, the above mentioned stock parts that come with the marker should be upgraded to improve the marker's performance even further.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pb_fiend18 Sunday, April 11th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
4 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 (slightly more difficult to disassemble/maintain)
Tippmann X7 (not a whole lot different preformance wise; cyclone more efficient)
various Spyder blowbacks (not as good, but easier to dissassemble/maintain)
Spyder VS2 (better, but is HPA, & has high end loader so I expect better from it)
Marker Setup: Spyder VS2
Todao Board w/ upgrade chip
Dye Rotor loader
48/4500 Guerilla Air tank w/ MythG2 Reg
CP 14" .693 barrel, CP reg, CP on/off ASA, CP Sling Trigger, CP feedneck
Shocktech Superfly Bolt, Shocktech spring & shim kit.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel: stock A-5 barrel is quite accurate, but quite loud. I suggest upgrading to a barrel with more porting(holes) to make the gun more quiet, or a Flatline if you are looking for the best accuracy. Although the Flatline is just as loud as stock.

Expansion Chamber Foregrip, or a remote line (coil line) will vastly improve consistancy & efficiency shot to shot.

E-Grip, and a JCS Trigger (adjustable 2 finger trigger): If you want speed, this is the way to go. Set your E-Grip for 12-15 bps & roll that nice full metal trigger. Maybe tricky to find a JCS trigger (I got mine via Ebay), but worth the install; its fully adjustable & smooth as butter.
Strengths: Reliable/Tough
Cyclone Feed
Quick Strip Pins
Affordable & Upgradable
Weaknesses: Kick (striker a bit more heafty than average blowback)
Review: First let me clarify why I added kick as a weakness. In simple physics you may have learned that "for every action there is an equal and opposite reaction." Since the striker in the A-5 is more heavy than the average blowback marker it will kick more due to the increased reciprocating mass of the striker cycling back & forth. For the stock A-5 user this doesn't present much of an issue, but for the A-5 w/ E-Grip user you will notice your shot pattern thrown off by the kick of the striker at higher rates of fire no matter how hard you try to hold it still.

When I first got this marker, it was way ahead of the competition for woodsball/scenario. With the innovative Cyclone Feed System, this gun anihilated the competition until people started bringing high end speedball markers to woodsball. To this day the A-5 will hang in there with the best woodsball/scenario markers available.
Conclusion: I give it a 10. This marker exceeds expectations for the price you pay. I recomend for any woodsball/scenario player, or even to a pb collector because this marker birthed the Cyclone Feed system which is still used on newer Tippmann markers today.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, April 11th, 2010 at 9:11 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

alwashere09 Wednesday, March 31st, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Marker Setup: 12oz Pure energy cO2 tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Shoulder strap
Double Trigger Kit
Strengths: Durability, Easy to dis/re-assemble
Weaknesses: A little heavy for children
Review: First off, without the barrel or hopper, the marker looks like a souped up pistol and I love that. There are 4 push-pins that basically give you the ability to swap triggers and/or take out the internal workings. The safety button is well positioned for easy access just in case of something happening mid game and a cease fire is called by the ref. The hopper is a little big but it should not be too much of a problem if you pay attention to your peripheral vision. I can also imagine that left handed people may have a problem with the hopper and cyclone feed being on the right. But it works great for us right handed paintball players.

A quick note about the cyclone feed system- in my few months of playing and thousands of balls fired, i haven't chopped a single ball.

My recommendations for this marker would be a shoulder strap and some sort of longer trigger. I like the shoulder strap because I feel it gives me better grouping when I am running from bunker to bunker and have to shoot without looking directly down the sights. The longer trigger would be a good addition (for larger fingers at least) because your middle finger is sitting idly waiting for some action!

The only gripe (and i mean ONLY), I have with this marker it the plastic that goes in front of the trigger that protects your finger. Because I have large/long fingers this was just kind of awkward for me to get into firing position quickly. But a simple Philips screwdriver took care of that.

Hope this has helped. Stay safe
Conclusion: in conclusion, this gun is great for players starting out and casual players. Sturdy build, a little heavy at FIRST but a few minutes to get a feel and your good. I give this gun a 99.998% because there is always room for improvement. But I love it and have recommended it to all of my friends/family/ and now you guys.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

themightymitten Monday, March 29th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
tipmmann 98 custom, and whatever the gun was that i used for MCT in Camp Pendleton about a year ago
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
-Double Trigger
-RT
-14" RAP4 Recon barrel
-Shocktech Dropforawrd relocator bar
Recommended
Upgrades:
Squishy Paddles, Either a flatline barrel or Apex tip/barrel (im working on getting the apex tip), and a response trigger. Maybe a low prfile hopper?
Strengths: -Durable
-Simple Design
-Price
Weaknesses: -Large hopper
-Stock barrel sucks
Review: So i used it maybe 5 or 6 times so far, great gun, relaible. Hopper is big so it becomes an easy target to hit, if you buy a RT for it i suggest soft paddles, ive broken paint only once, but i think that was because i dont have the soft paddles. The gun looks great, and will look even better if your into the MilSim thing. Its loud though. Replace the barrel asap, ther stock one is fairly inaccurate. IT has a great price, and can easily compete with higher end markers with a few upgrades (for woodsball), i wouldnt really suggest it for speedball or anything like that.
Conclusion: Great gun, i love it.
Just dont use for anything else other than woodsball, oh and get a flatline/apex
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Cosmonot Wednesday, February 24th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Carbine, 98 Custom, Built Autococker
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5: E-grip, low pressure kit, three-way adjustable trigger, Fatty Stabilizer, drop forward, Smart parts teardrop barrel.
Recommended
Upgrades:
E-grip, adjustable trigger, good 14" barrel.
Strengths: Reliable as the sun. Simple to maintain. Makes me happy.
Weaknesses: Air hog and a bit heavy. Isn't anodized, not sure about newer ones
Review: This is my second marker(first was a Maverick) and I've had it for nearly 7 years. I started with a response and slowly upgraded via Christmases and birthdays. I remember tuning my response trigger so it would almost fire on pure recoil. First adding the flatline barrel the balls did go an extra 30 feet or so. Then along came the E-grip with the turbo function. Got a massive 88 CU tank that solved the air problem. 1 tank= a case of paint. got the low pressure kit.
I've only had one problem with the gun and it was covered under warranty. the power tube broke after 5 days of use. Tippmann had a local shop at the time and fixed it and replaced the gaskets for free. It also had a recall for the feeder mechanism, so that was replaced too. No problems ever since.
Performance of it is moderate the weight counters the recoil and it shoots fast enough for me with the e-grip and adjustable double trigger. I only remember chopping three balls ever and once the feeder jammed when it attempted to load 2 balls in the same chamber. So I believe its cyclone feeder is very reliable and worth the extra air consumption. (On a side note the 3rd chopped ball happened last wekend on the very last ball I had).
I stopped playing a little over a year for various reasons, but recently got back into it again. After cleaning my gun, lubing, and a new battery it fired right up. I had a successful day at a nearby park eliminating more people than had eliminated me. The air problem emerged its self again when I had to rent a tank cause mine was expired, but to be fair the parks tank station would only go a little over 2000 psi.
I recently noticed that all my tippmann parts are different than the current A-5 parts. I have a quick release barrel thread, my cyclone feeder is not clear, the butt plate is different, and my e-grip does not have an on/off button or external controls.
Only thing I find wrong with the gun is that it was painted and not anodized, now the paint has flecked off in a few places.
Conclusion: This is lightyears ahead of my long gone maverick and still seems to hold its own even though it should be massively outdated. #030544 is still working and needs a cosmetic paint touch up.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ShoeLace28 Friday, February 12th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
6 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
Redz Pepper Stick Barrel Kit
Pure Energy 68ci/3000psi compressed air tank
Strengths: Reliable, Heavy Duty, Highly uprgradeable, Easy to clean and lube
Weaknesses: Very heavy, Lower rate of fire compared to most guns, stock barrel is very inaccurate
Review: I bought this gun knowing it was a very good marker for a rookie paintballer. That turned out to be very true. It takes a licking and keeps on ticking. I have never had a mechanical issue with the gun while playing. Many times during a match, players with higher end guns have had to leave the field due to issues with their gun, while I just play game after game.

It's not a gun that can shoot out a rope of paint like a high end gun but it can get 10 to 15 bps with a stock trigger system. That's due to the cyclone feed system. I have never had a ball chop with my setup.

Like I said earlier, it's heavy, and a day of playing can give your arms a workout. I also knew I had to replace the stock barrel after playing with it for 5 minutes. It's not as accurate as it can be using the stock barrel.
Conclusion: I would highly recommend this gun for someone who's new to the game or someone who wants to play woodsball. It's versatile and durable and doesn't break very easily. Plus it you are competitive in any game versus any gun with the A-5. Great gun, low price with tons of upgrades. What more could you ask for in a entry level paintball gun?
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

shootnrun07 Sunday, January 31st, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom, Spyder Sonix
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5 with E-Grip, 14 inch J & J Ceramic Barrel, Squishy Paddles
Recommended
Upgrades:
The stock barrel is crap, replace it. (The J&J is good quality and only about $30), E-Grip, Squishy Paddles
Strengths: Sturdy,easy assembly,accuracy,many mods
Weaknesses: Requires mods to work well... what marker doesn't though?
Review: My game play style is good accuracy firing and quick physical movements. There are different styles, a lot of people will go through multiple pods in a match (for me a match is two teams of 4 usually) I usually only have to fill my hopper once before the match starts so I'm more of an accuracy shooter than a speed shooter. Three close shots will make someone hide just as well as 20 shots that are nowhere near them.

I suggest getting the E-Grip on this marker, however, if you get the e-grip on this gun you MUST get the squishy paddles. you will chop sooooo much paint if you don't get the squishy paddles.

You will need to get a decent barrel to go with this marker. I chose a 14 inch J&J Ceramic barrel (only cost about $30) and it works just swell.

This gun is very sturdy hence the fact that many paintball fields offer Tippmann 98s for rentals.

Many say that this marker is only good for woodsball, however I destroyed in a game of speedball with this marker.
Conclusion: This marker is sturdy, accurate (with a couple simple mods), and it looks good to boot. Just remember, a lot of paintball comes down to skill or playing style. You can probably do well with just about any marker if you're highly skilled. This gun is perfect for woodsball and the addition of the E-Grip allows you to compete with owners of high end markers. A friend of mine bought the Custom 98 with ACT and after just shooting a few rounds out of my A5 he wished he had spent just the little bit extra money for the A5 with E-Grip.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SLoWpAyNE Thursday, January 28th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
6 months4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder MR1
Spyder Pilot 09 with Eye
Piranha E-Force
Smart Parts Vibe
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Vibe
Dye Ultralite 2 Piece Barrel (.692 back)
Crossfire 68/4500 HPA Carbon Wrapped Tank
Halo B Hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
I recommend soft paddles for the cyclone feed and a better barrel. An e-grip is really the only way to utilize the mediocre firing capability of the cyclone feed. It performs well but it is over engineered.
Strengths: Tough
Reliable
Looks cool with add ons
Weaknesses: Heavy
Slow
Cyclone chops paint in cold weather
Over Engineered
Take down is too involved
Review: The A5 is a solid marker in it's price range. I think it's hard for it to compete against lighter and faster markers, even in woodsball, though. When you're walking two miles in a massive campaign the thing gets rediculously heavy (even more so with a "kit" installed). Some of the games I play last 12 hours which make it impractical. When you're carrying around extra weight the fact that it looks cool wears off pretty fast. I switched over to the Vibe because of its reliability, weight, price and ease of operation/maintenance. The A5 is super reliable too but since there is a lighter more simple marker in a lower price range the choice was obvious. The A5 always performed well except in cold weather. Let me explain. I use HPA, not CO2. In several cold weather games everybody, including me, that had an A5 was chopping paint like crazy. We believe the cyclone feed was causing this because everyone else's markers were fine. Seriously. 30 people one day all had the same problem with their A5. The theory is that the cold weather made the balls brittle. In a normal marker the balls would fly out fine. In the A5 the brittle balls were being cracked in the cyclone and breaking on the way out. When the weather was warm the marker performed flawlessly.
Conclusion: I think for regular woodsball this is a great marker. Avoid this marker if you play in long campaigns. If you can grow out of the "cool" factor and move away from milsim kits I recommend purchasing a Vibe for a lower price and get a much easier and more practical marker that will out perform the A5. Altough the A5 is capable of shooting 15 bps, it needs an e-grip to do so which will cost another $100 and soft paddles. If you need the vibe to shoot faster than 11 bps you can get a blackheart board.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Friday, January 29th, 2010 at 5:52 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mamabear Wednesday, January 27th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Strengths: I dont really know yet still learning myself
Weaknesses: The sightts were strange for me at first, maybe it was just me???!!!
Review: I have only just started playing the sport of paintball. I had the chance to learn a bit this weekend . I did get to shoot this one and liked it alot. I was heavier than another one i shot and comfortable to hold. I did have to get use to sights, at first, but when i did it was great. I dont know much about it yet, but maybe next posting i can have more info> for other beginners!
Conclusion: Do what i am and try a lot of different ones before you decide but< i think would be good for someone who is just beginning or a seasoned player.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

painter94 Tuesday, January 26th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
i have used many cheap and used guns in the past month or 2. my A-5 is used and i still have not found a more reliable gun.
Marker Setup: i have the a-5 with no mods exept for the extendable stock.
Recommended
Upgrades:
my friend has the same marker with mods like the e trigger, i like the response of his trigger but it is a little overkill. i recomend the rap4 spring kit. it is an interchangeable spring for added fps. the stock ratchet lasts but the aluminum ratchet hardly wares out.
Strengths: The best strength would be the cyclone feed, it keeps from ball chopping.
Weaknesses: I have not found a weakness at all with this yet.
Review: This gun is a low maintanance gun and is verry cheap. the cyclone feed is very responsive and cuts back ball chopping. i haven't chopped a ball yet and i have sent thousands of balls through it. the gun has power; quick and easy put together and tear down great trigger response, as fast as you can hit the trigger the cyclone keeps up. mods are quick and easy. the main parts like the grip, the stock, and the co2 line are all pins. the cyclone feed is screws. there are small parts so a clear surface is a good place for teardown. it is smart to get some extra pins and screws just in case.
Conclusion: Get this gun. It has all of the power, if you make it right it looks good. The a-5 builder is a good place to set up your gun how you like it. You can make almost any us military gun off the a-5, but just stock is good too.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (138):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media