paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann A-5 / Tippmann A-5 / Tippmann A-5 / Tippmann A-5

Tippmann A-5 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann A-5

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann A-5
[ View Photos (246) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 1376
Average Rating: 9.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $272

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The All New Tippmann A-5 is a high performance paintball marker with the patented Cyclone Feed System. The Cyclone Feed System Links the Feeder Sprocket to the Air System. The Faster you shoot, the faster the Tippmann A-5 feeds. Pull the Trigger 15 times a second, and the Tippmann A-5 feeds 15 balls per second. The Tippmann A-5 is also easy to clean and maintain with its no tool field strip feature. Innovative technology, maximum firepower, unsurpassed accuracy and Tippmann durability are the core foundations of the all new Tippmann A-5.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann A-5 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (138):  First  |  34  |  35  |  36  |  37  |  38  |  39  |  40  |  Last
        Next Page
MGS ACE Wednesday, April 26th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 custom
X-chamber
2x trigger
M4 Stock
14" progressive
Marker Setup: A-5
RT-Kit
12" Lapco Big Shot
2x Trigger
Coil Remote
Custom Rifle rags
Recommended
Upgrades:
e-grip
rampage e-board
low pressure kit
regulator
Strengths: Speed
Acuracy
weight
easy assembly
Weaknesses: None
Review: The Tippmann A-5 is a great beginners gun. Many of the expierenced woods ball players have put creative mods on their gun in order to inrease its performance asthe player increases his/hers skill level. The good thing about this gun is that there are many mods. But all in all no matter what posision you want to play you can mod your a-5 to fit.
Conclusion: Great buy, many affordable mods.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sbeckett91 Tuesday, April 25th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder MR2
Spyder MR1
Custom Pro
98 Custom
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
CAR Stock
14'' SMART PARTS Linear Ceramic Dust
Pure Energy Remote Line
Red-Dot Sight
Recommended
Upgrades:
Flatline Barrel
Stock
Red-Dot Sight
Remote
Response Trigger
TAC-CAP loader
Strengths: -reliable
-upgrades
-Cyclone
-MILSIM look
-ease of use
-moderate-price
-included hopper
Weaknesses: -pricey upgrades
-air hog
-stock barrel lame
-no Picatinny mount
-bulbous hopper
Review: STRENGTHS

1-unlike the high-performance speedball markers (Angel, DYE) the A-5 is constructed of die-cast aluminum that can survive a bomb strike. It is not touchy like those markers and takes a punishing while still operating at peak.

2-One of the coolest aspects of the A-5 is the upgrades. It is the most easily upgraded gun on the market. Some ups are purely aesthetic while others are useful. You can put rails, grips, guards, triggers, shrouds, scopes, sights, hoppers, barrels, stocks and gun kits on the A-5. It allows you to tailor the A-5 to EXACTLY your play preferences once you find your niche. Be you a sniper, heavy gunner, dagger, or what-have-you, whatever your play style, the A-5 delivers.

3-Another useful and revolutionary concept is the CYCLONE Feed-system. It eliminates the need for an expensive electric hopper system by having a wide mouth hopper that feeds paintballs into a housing with a sprocket that force-feeds paintballs into the breach. One of the best aspects of the gun, if you ask me.

4-Unlike the funny looking speedball guns, the A-5 is constructed to mimic the Heckler & Koch MP5K submachine gun. Not only does it look cool out-the-box, but with upgrades can be made to look like just like any rifle or SMG (Tommy gun, M16, M4A1, AK-47, UMP, M82A1, MP5, G36C, UZI, and more) you can think of, making it great for scenario games. It looks cool and tough and intimidating.

5- Like the iPod, Xbox 360 and AK-47, the A-5 is popular because it is very easy to use. Once paintballs and CO2 have been installed, firing is easy:
1) Pull back cocking handle to pull back bolt.
2) Press the loading switch to feed a ball into the chamber.
3) Turn of safety; fire.
There are no complex mechanisms that require a genius to operate. Unlike high-end speedball guns, it doesnít need to be tweaked. Just point and shoot.

6-The A-5 is not an expensive gun, but with the proper ups, can hold its own against nearly any gun on the market. If you want a great gun without a huge investment, itís an excellent choice. If you want a competitive marker that blows away the competition, and are willing to spend money on ups, itís great. The moderate price allows even entry-level players to get a great gun.

7-Lastly, the included hopper, built out of heavy duty plastic that snaps into the Cyclone housing, is a great value, since you do not need to buy an aftermarket one.

WEAKNESSES

1- The myriad upgrades for the A-5 are cool, but some are expensive. Still, the expensive ones usually are purely aesthetic and the A-5 is still a great gun without it.

2- Because it accepts HPA, CO2, and NITRO, the A-5 is a bit of an air-hog. If you want, buy a 20 oz. tank and remote to remedy this.

3- In contrast to the amazing Cyclone-Feed and included hopper, the stock 8.5íí barrel is kind of dinky. My first recommended upgrade is a new barrel, preferably a Flatline or APEX.

4- A tiny problem with the A-5 is the lack of standard Picatinny/Weaver scope mounts. You can get one cheaply aftermarket, though.

5- My last qualm with the Tippmann A-5 is the shape of the stock hopper. It is a little blocky and makes a fine target for your opponent. A Ricochet barrel or TAC-CAP can fix this.
Conclusion: This is the definitive and only choice for woodsball, and a pretty good speedball gun, too. All around good for beginners and experienced alike. I give it 9 out of 10 because pothing is nerfect. You won't be disappointed.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, June 22nd, 2006 at 1:48 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

JChu454 Monday, April 24th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Aricon Overlord
Sheriden PGP
Ion
Marker Setup: -14 in ultralight, teardrop before
-double trigger
-HUGE nitro tank, 3000 psi 72 ci
-stickers to make cool
Recommended
Upgrades:
any barrel
i like my ultralight, but for wood players, the obivous flatline is the choice
i hear somehow co2 works better, but get a decent no2 and the accuracy is greatly increased
and for rate of fire, get egrip, i hear the rt was good, but i hate it, and get a double trigger if u can pull the trigger with ease, cus then maybe you can walk it
Strengths: Durability can slam it crash it and will still work
Cyclone feed
Weaknesses: Size and thats it, kinda bulky
Review: Great cheap amazing gun, crazy durabitly, a must buy if you want to take up the sport of paintball and are on a buget, with upgrades is a great gun, ive had mine for a while and it looks great still, my friend's a-5 has some paint chipping away but dont worry it wont happen to you, only garrett myers could mess up a gun that much, and it is perfect for woods, but in speedball the gun is kinda an underdog, Ions blow the hell out of a-5 on speedball, but are owned in woods
Conclusion: the rate of fire was great, i messed with my double trigger's spring is it is letting me shoot about 9 bps for real with no extra stuff, a MUST BUY or if your not a realy woods player, ION is a must then, but it wont dissapoint u
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Big Dawg Monday, April 24th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Mostly Rental Guns..Pump Guns, Tippman Carbines, etc...
Marker Setup: A-5 with an E-Trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
Compressed Air, Flatline Barrel
Strengths: Sturdy, Dependable
Weaknesses: Air use
Review: I have played a lot of paintball. I have always used rental guns as I had other hobbies to spend my money on. I finally decided to to invest and after a lot of research i choose an A-5. I did so because I love Mil-Sim looking guns and play more woods ball than anything else, and the upgrade options rock! I had the gun two days before my first game and was excited to see how it performed. I bought the gun with the E-Trigger installed and that was it. At the field, we filled up my 20oz CO2 bottle and I went ove to chrono the gun. Out of the box it was at 290, so a small adjustment and we were in the zone. Next, I wanted to how accurate it was with a stock barrel. We have some guys playing 98s with flatlines and they can shoot a mile, but in the woods, all those small branches tend to be a problem sometimes, but I still want one. Anyway, I digress, the accuracy was awesome and consistent. I fired at a small tree, about 8 to 10 inches in diameter, and I had the gun on a ramp up setting. Out of six or seven rounds, only one missed from a distance of about 40 feet. WOW, no carbine or pumpgun had ever done that for me, I was seriously pumped up now.

At one point, I stepped in a hole trying to be sneaky and my ankle twisted some and I fell down. The ground was soft and moist and did a very excellent job of plugging up my brand new barrel on my brand new gun! I took off the barrel, found a small stick, wrapped the end with a ripped hanky and pushed out a 3inch plug of dirt. I then ran my squeegee through quickly and put the barrel back on. It worked perfectly!

The last time I played with a rental gun about a month earlier, I had to get a second gun due to malfunction of the first and it seemed I was breaking about one in 10 balls. I shot almost 1000 rounds this day, and had no breaks with cheap paint!

I was pinned down at one point, same day, different game and had four people sneak up behind me. A teammate was able to shout a warning seconds before they could fire. I took out three of them before I was shot.

I LOVE THIS GUN!!!

Every time someone poked their head up, all I had to do was pull the trigger and let fly with 5 or six balls and they went running for cover. I have never had as much fun playing paintball as I did this day. I cannot wait to play again.
Conclusion: If you are playing woods ball, are new and looking for a first gun, want to not waste money and/or time, buy this gun. It is so upgradeable, and it is a workhorse on top of that.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jhomon71 Monday, April 24th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Sting Ray II, Spyder, Genisis.
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5, BT Apex Barrell, Remote line, solid stock, 20 oz Co2, laser on rail, Tippmann double trigger.
Recommended
Upgrades:
It depends on what you are. For the suppressor or the ones always in the s**t all the time I recommend the e-grip, for snipers or for the more conservative players I reccommend the BT Apex or Flatline barrell with a double trigger.
Strengths: Consistant, durable, easy to maintain, accurate, million parts available.
Weaknesses: Expensive when upgrading.
Review: My brother got me this gun on Christmas 2 years ago and I have been hooked on paintball since! Compared to other guns this one comes above their ability. Tippmann guns are reliable and awesome at performance. Upgrades are endless, only a few come close. You an even make it perform better with upgrades. There are even parts to make it look cooler, go to opsgear.com or other websites to upgrade your a-5 in different mods.
Conclusion: It's a Tippmann! That sums it up.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Gun_boy123 Monday, April 24th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 custom
Marker Setup: Tippmann Custom 98 w/ Double trigger
Razzor 14" barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Strengths: Looks
Cyclone feed
upgradable
Weaknesses: Stock Barrel
Review: This gun is pretty quick not fast tho but its best feature is the cyclone feed that is awesome. You can upgrade this gun a lot too, the UMP kits the best. I don't like the response trigger that you can get for it its too cold with co2. The flatline for this is so much cooler than the 98 custom one.
Conclusion: all around this is a pretty good gun you should buy it... TIPPMANN RULES!!!!!!!!
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Monday, June 26th, 2006 at 6:27 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

J-Town Torch Saturday, April 22nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 years2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
*WGP Pro Trilogy Autococker- good rate of fire than my a-5 but chops paint and cant walk the trigger
*ANS GX-4 Electro Autococker- never worked at all (probably had tank problems)
*Smart Parts Ion- Very good gun for the money- feather light!
*98 Custom Pro- Very light and pretty good for speedball- compact for a 98
Marker Setup: A-5
Flatline
E-grip
Custom Aluminum Front Grip
Red Dot Scope or 10x zoom sniper scope (depending on game)
Double Trigger
Carbine Stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
Fiber Wrap nitro tank
Weight reduction kits if any
Co2 Remote!!
E-grip w/ dbl trigger
Strengths: Accurate
Extremely reliable
Never broke down
Feed is supurb, never chops
Weaknesses: -Can be heavy
-Supposively a gas hog
Review: Ive used this gun for more than 3 years now. Not once has it failed me in a game, nor has ever broken down. Tippmanns are known for thier reliability. Im thinking about getting a Smart Parts Nerve or Shocker. Some one said the Nerve weighs too much for 2lbs 2ounces, compared to 9+lbs of my Tippmann (newer A-5's are made of lighter weight composites), thats light. My friends call my gun the bazooka cause of the look of the flatline and carbine stock .
Conclusion: This gun is good, too much stuff can weigh you down though. You get used to the weight tho, using it for three years i can shoot it with one arm! This gun is great. Ill give it a 10 cause its reliability is better than any other marker- its battle ready every time, and be sure to train your muscles to get used to the gun if you fully upgrade it. My friends (some) have a hard time using it because of the weight, but you do get used to it like i said before.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, June 8th, 2006 at 4:58 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

rkaldas Saturday, April 22nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
98 custom
Marker Setup: a-5 with egrip
Recommended
Upgrades:
nothing
Strengths: Fast
Acurite
Light
Durable
Cheap
Weaknesses: None
Review: Amazing gun played alot with it used it in speedball sceanario ball and woodsball alot you save alot of money and i you get alot of bang for your buck ITS A VERY NICE GUN WORKS AMAZINGLY GOOD and it never broke down on me it prefers any paint its good on co2 and a pretty good stock bareel with it.
Conclusion: Grate gun i recamend it to everyone who paintballs
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Tippmanuser23 Friday, April 21st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 years9 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
98custom, Spyder Kingman
Marker Setup: I've tried various different setups, I customize my gun for whatever Im playing.
Right now ive got a collapsible stock, proteam xchamber (just for the improved tank positioning it really doesn't change the performance of the gun), 12" barrel, tactical riser mount, offset hopper adapter, and a red dot. I am actually on my second
A5 and I have used many different setups including RT, Egrip, flatline, flatline of 98c modded for use on the A5, gas through stock kits, xchambers regulators ect... havent used low pressure though.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Any accessory really will make it more fun, but I'm really big on upgrading the barrel. Flatline works good for the most part, but right now im using a Lapco 12" Bigshot. You will find that accuracy vs distance is the choice that your making when deciding to use a flatline or a straight barrel.
Strengths: Its totally customizable. You can mod to improve performance or make your marker look MilSim.
Weaknesses: Accuracy, rate of fire.
Review: A5s are great for beginners; but the gradual progression of any paintball player is toward high end markers. You just cant compete. I still use my A5 because I like it for woodsball and ive grown attatched to it.

If you want to know more about the rate of fire read tippmanns website. Its pretty plain and simple, the cyclone feed rate is 17BPS period. The firing rate is 8BPS, which you can improve with an RT or Egrip, but your not going to get past 17BPS with the cyclone. Ive seen some outrageous claims about 25 BPS out of an A5 and I have to wonder why anyone would believe that. That being said it is possible to achieve really high rates of fire with a qloader and an egrip but i have no experience with that setup because I cant justify spending that much. At that point your just trying to turn a tippmann into something its not meant to be anyway.

My experience with accuracy is mixed. As a beginner at paintball i am still learning what I can and cannot expect from a paintball gun. I am a firm believer that your barrel matters probably more than anything else on your A5. Using a good barrel will improve your accuracy. So will practice because you need to get used to the feel of shooting an A5. It doesnt really recoil, but it isnt smooth either. My biggest issue with accuracy comes at higher rates of fire. It works fine taking a single shot or snapshooting, but when your firing quickly it can be a challenge to shoot accurately.

A word about flatlines. You have the distance to hit people without flatlines before you are in they're range. In theory you should own, but i cant tell you how many times i've shot about 100 balls to hit something like at a hopper or a barrel or a leg or whatever it was that was sticking out. Sometimes you just cant hit your target with the flatline. The distance you will achieve is impressive; but accuracy at those distances is unpredictable even with the best paint. Also, if you break a ball, you may have to stop using it until it has been properly cleaned. Im at the point where i just want an accurate barrel.

A word about the cyclone. My first A5 worked better for some reason. I do believe people have ball chopping problems with the cyclone because my new A5 has chopped marbs and i dont know why.
Conclusion: This is a decent gun for anyone, but great for begginers. Experiment with different barrels. A flatline will put a smile on your face! I have had alot fun using an A5.

The biggest thing i wanted to bring up is that in paintball fire superiority is the name of the game. If your bunkered down you dont have time for accurate, consistent shots that we woodsballers like to claim we are capable of. You dont have a whole lot of time to do anything and you need to react before the opposition gets position on you. You need a HIGH RATE OF FIRE marker if you want the best chances of eliminating your enemies, so get the best gun you can afford. That being said I can count the number of speedball games ive played on two hands. I love woodsball and my tippmann, If this is you then you will be happy with an A5.
Rating:
5 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, April 23rd, 2006 at 5:10 am PST
I found this review  
8 Comments - Add Comment

Dr.Bong 4:20 Thursday, April 20th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
brass eagle(plastic junk)
Marker Setup: A-5, flatline, e-grip,PMI pure energy 45cu at 5000psi with remote.
Recommended
Upgrades:
e-grip with equalizer board. I hear it increases your BPS to 20! Flatline barrel. It shoots 220-250 ft stright! The only problem is its kinda inaccurate,singal shots are stright, but when shooting full-auto the paintballs form a cloud of flying welts maybe 3-4 feet in diameter. IF you get the e-grip and shoot full auto you need a compressed air tank because the a-5 doesn't like CO2 on automatic.
Strengths: Speed with the e-grip 15+BPS Flatline barrel, outdistances standard barrels by 30 ft.
Weaknesses: None!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Review: The foundations of the a-5:Reliability(i have had only one catastrophic failure with my a-5, and all i did to fix it was take the gun apart and put it back together and it worked!)Speed with the cyclone, and e-grip combo. Distance, with flatline the only barrels that can hit you will be other flatlines. Durability the a-5 is very solid, just don't get the e-grip wet!!! Customer service is very good with tippmann, any thing goes wrong with your beloved a-5 just call tippmann, they will fix it no problem.
Conclusion: The a-5 is the finest mechanical marker you can buy, its all so the fastest. BUY ONE NOW!!! you will love it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (138):  First  |  34  |  35  |  36  |  37  |  38  |  39  |  40  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media