paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann A-5 / Tippmann A-5 / Tippmann A-5 / Tippmann A-5

Tippmann A-5 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann A-5

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann A-5
[ View Photos (246) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 1376
Average Rating: 9.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $272

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The All New Tippmann A-5 is a high performance paintball marker with the patented Cyclone Feed System. The Cyclone Feed System Links the Feeder Sprocket to the Air System. The Faster you shoot, the faster the Tippmann A-5 feeds. Pull the Trigger 15 times a second, and the Tippmann A-5 feeds 15 balls per second. The Tippmann A-5 is also easy to clean and maintain with its no tool field strip feature. Innovative technology, maximum firepower, unsurpassed accuracy and Tippmann durability are the core foundations of the all new Tippmann A-5.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann A-5 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (138):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
HazMatMan Monday, October 19th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom ACT
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 w/ Flatline Barrel, Response Trigger, Low Profile Loader, Tasco 30mm Red/Green Dot Sight, Tippmann Adjustable Car Stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
Flatline Barrel/Apex Barrel Tip, Response Trigger/ E-Grip, Stock
Strengths: - Range
- Rate of Fire
- Durability
- Customization Ability
- Few Ball Breaks
Weaknesses: - Heavier than most markers
- Loud
- CO2 Hog (Somewhat, see Conclusion)
- Nothing else to date
Review: After reading countless reviews on this site, and looking at the specs on Tippmann's site, I decided to purchase a Tippmann A-5. I added the products listed in my marker setup and bought a 20 oz CO2 tank and 500 rounds of Big Ball paintballs. I then proceeded to do a little test shooting in my backyard at 50, 70 and 100 feet. The target I was shooting at was 6' tall and 4' wide, approx. After unloading all 500 rounds at the various distances, I was left with a solid 1' x 1' spot on the poor piece of wood, with a few stray shots (5-6" off main...blob). Needless to say, this gun has accuracy. I was firing at about 275 FPS, and with the Response Trigger (RT), was maintaining a steady 11-14 BPS. One of the first things I did notice (and so did everyone else within a 500 ft radius) was how loud this marker was. BANG BANG BANG!! Every shot was clearly announced. This attribute, combined with its militaristic looks, makes carrying the A-5 around a bad idea, especially in a congested area.
The second thing I noticed was the lack of paint INSIDE the barrel. The A-5 is another fine piece of Tippmann engineering, and did not break or chop a single ball. Also, the Cyclone feeder stuck true to its claim; this feeder will load balls as fast as you can fire them, even with an E-grip or RT.
Another advantage for this marker is the amount of options for customization. Sights, Scopes, Barrels, Loaders, Stocks, and pretty much anything else can be added to this marker. Several kits are also available to make the A-5 look like various real-world weapons (M16, AK47, M4, etc.), if you're into that sort of thing.
Tippmann has also included the ability to "field-strip" this marker, allowing it to be disassembled in a matter of seconds via several pushpins located throughout the body of the marker. They also include the tools needed for complete disassembly, and a detailed key for the parts and reassembly.

**UPDATE**
I recently took this marker out to Tempe Paintball to test it out in some CQC. The overall experience was great at TPB, but that's another review. Anyways, this marker is durable, it was smashed into walls and barrels, pushed through netting, and took several side and head-on shots, yet still performed like it was brand new. Also, the loudness scared/intimidated most of the younger crowd and several experienced players ;-)

**UPDATE**
I have been playing with this marker for quite some time now, about 6 months, and have shot over 20 cases through it. I have yet to have any chops in the Cyclone. The key to ensuring an A-5 works properly is proper cleaning. I never go more than a week after a game before doing a thorough cleaning. That means taking apart and cleaning out all the paint in/on the marker, and lubing up parts. Doing this will help ensure the survivability (word check?) of your A-5.
Conclusion: All in all, Tippmann has hit the mark (pun intended) on making a great woodsball and recball marker, but if you're into speedball, you'd be better off with a lighter marker. The key qualities to look for in this gun include: intimidation factor, RoF, consistent accuracy, and durability. However, the Cyclone feeder and RT take a small percentage of CO2 from the tank, but it's nothing to be concerned about. I shot about 1000 rounds in its use, and still have about 5 oz left in my 20 oz tank. Great marker, and a worthy buy for anyone looking to get into the sport of paintball.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, April 25th, 2010 at 4:18 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

XxDeejxX Sunday, October 18th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 custom pro E with a flatline system
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5
lapco snapshot barrel
response trigger
48/3000 nitrogen tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
highly recommend lapco snaphot barrel or lapco big shot barrel
Response trigger
Strengths: Accurate
Has a built in cyclone feeding system
Lightweight
Response trigger is amazing
Weaknesses: I have not had one problem with this gun its a perfectly engineered gun
Review: i love this gun and the moment i arrive on the paintball field with this gun in my hands im all set to kick some ass. If your a fan of woodsball and play recreationally this is the gun for you. The response trigger is a must when purchasing this gun howver i suggest buying the edition with the response trigger already built into it, as oppose to buying the response trigger later and setting up. as far the E trigger ( electric system ) goes im not a big fan of it and prefer to use all mechanics on a tippmann because on my old 98 custom pro E the e trigger wasnt a good buy. but i havent used an A5 with the E trigger so it may be worth it but i would go with the response trigger. this gun is easy to use and maintain and perfect,
Conclusion: I highly suggest this gun to anyone who enjoys paintball and wants a good gun for a decent price. This gun is probably an excellent gun to start playing paintball with. The regular a5 costs about 200 but the respnse trigger one cost an extra 50 which is well worth the money.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

BlindBaller Thursday, October 8th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
2 years2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98, 98 Custom, Autococker Trilogy, VL Triton II, Black Maxx, X7.
None of these markers match up with the A-5.
Marker Setup: A-5 w/APE Rampage board, AK-47 Apex barrel, remote coil, Pure energy expansion chamber and adjustable CAR stock.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel either Apex or flatline depending on your preference.
Expansion chamber is nice but not necessary.
Stock is good to have.
Strengths: Durability and accuracy are key. Very solid gun. Cyclone feed.
Weaknesses: Enormous "HIT ME HERE" hopper and hopper neck.
Review: I will start at the back and move forward.

Stock - I like the adjustable CAR stock mostly for looks, I feel a stock helps with control of the gun. It does interfere sometimes if running and ducking during a close battle. Without a stock it is a super mobile close quarters gun.

Internals - I have not replaced the internals. This gun works great right out of the box. I am sure that some fancy bolt or polishing may help some but I do not think you would notice a huge difference. My suggestion is don't waste your money unless you are obsessive about your weapon. I have replaced O-rings but they were not leaking. Something I do once a year needed or not.

Trigger - I had the original WAS board and it kept malfunctioning. I use only response mode which doubles my rate of fire. I bought the APE Rampage board and love it since you do not have to turn it on before you shoot. It is always in ready mode. It is a pain to make it work. The metal tab has to be bent properly. You have to take one spring off the trigger and put a weaker spring under the sear. I installed it the first time and shot my pink paint at the ceiling in my kitchen. My wife still points to it and tells everyone about my accident. The trigger was stuck on full auto until I corrected the spring situation. I have another without an E-grip and I find it very functional and it has a good feel. Suggestion stay with the regular trigger if you are not needing speed. If you go E grip get the APE board. It stinks when you jump out from behind a tree and your gun is off because it has been 10 minutes. You eat paint.

Hopper/Cyclone - I have bought a lower profile off brand hopper to try to minimize the huge billboard I am carrying with me when in the woods. When you are hiding behind a tree and your hopper sticks out into the next area code you are going to get hit. The only weakness on the gun is the size of the feed neck and the hopper. But it makes up for it by not chopping and feeding without fail. Never need to hide and shake.

Sights - The stock sights are very accurate, at least for how my marker is set up. With my Apex on I can aim and hit a 3" circle from 30 yards consistently.

Barrel - The stock barrel is ok but not great. You can play and hang with most weekend warriors with the stock barrel. It is good for close quarters. I have an AK-47 Apex that I bought recently. I love it. It is accurate and the AK look is very cool. I keep the Apex at about 2 clicks and only use backspin. This barrel can do a lot of things if you want it to but I do not play with my barrel when people are raining paint at me. The AK-47 Apex is on the long side. I like the Flatline just as well but the AK was better looking so my son got the Flatline with his gun.

I am not about looks but with my barrel and stock I have an intimidating looking weapon.
Conclusion: This is by far the best gun I have used. We now have 4 of them. One is my sons. I have 98s as back ups but never need them. I believe that this gun looks better than the X7 even though there are more upgrades for that. The amount of aftermarket items available and the common sense and engineering that went into this gun are great. It can be bought for less than $200 and is very dangerous out of the box. I have no vision in my right eye and need all the help I can get and I get it from my A-5
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mrpeanut49 Tuesday, September 29th, 2009
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
2 years0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: tippmannn a5 e grip, apex barrel, progressive barrel, jcs duel trigger, generic squishy paddles, polished internals, qeph, ratchet mod
Recommended
Upgrades:
e grip, squishy paddles, apex barrel
Strengths: Durable
Cheap
Reliable
Very upgradeable
Good customer service
Weaknesses: Inaccurate
Requires many mods to be good
Lots of recoil
Chops balls a lot
heavy
Review: Don't get me wrong; the a5 is a solid gun. I just don't think it is near compitent with the other markers out there that are around the same price. it costs a LOT to make it compitent with other speedball guns and even then it is not very good. It is very heavy and big compared to others. For a beginner this gun is fine. it has a built in cyclone so there is no shake-and-shoot and it can feed 17 bps from the start. It is also a good mil-sim gun if you want to make your gun look cool. The flatline used to be the sole reason someone would buy one of these over another gun, but now that BT has come up with the apex for many guns, I don't think there is really any reason to have a tippmann. I made the mistake of buying one and i was happy with it for a while but i kind of grew out of it. One thing i can say though is that it is kind of fun to do home made mods on it..
Conclusion: its an ok beginner gun, but there's much better guns for the price. now that BT is out with a flatline type barrel (the apex) for almost all guns, there is really no point in having one except for mil-sim.
Rating:
4 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, October 3rd, 2009 at 7:41 pm PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

Chade150 Saturday, September 19th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
I used rental guns at fields but the a5 is the upgraded version of them ive also used an sp1 ( can't get those in australia anymore) and they were good but they went through too much paint.
Marker Setup: A5, standard hopper, oxygen tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Haven't tried any yet but apex and the flatline look good
Strengths: Fairly accurate, good range, rarely chops balls, shoots as fast as you can, easy cleaning
Weaknesses: Stock barrel isn't fantastic, the foregrip is small, mostly plastic but its good plastic.
Review: I first tested a tippmann 98 at a field and thought they were really good. when I had a look around I found the a5 so I bought that. when the cops finally let us have it
I tested it the following saturday. It played way more awesomely than the rental guns and was more accurate than the sp1 (although sp1s are faster) but that might have been the paint that day. Also it shoots as fast as you can pull the trigger which is awesome because nt many guns can do that! I have never chopped a ball in it out of about a thousand. The bad thing about it is its mostly made of plastic but its good strong stuff that will not break if you drop it or anything. it has good range and is fairly consistent with its shots.
Conclusion: Get this definitely as your first gun It is very easy to clean and is robably one of the best bushball guns out there.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

FrznNrgy Wednesday, September 16th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Extra: Lame
98 Custom M16: Decent
98 Custom RT w/ Apex: much closer
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5 w/ RT (response trigger)
Low Profile Hopper
14" Stiffi Barrel
70 cu 4500 psi Guerilla Air Tank
Remote Line
Tactical Stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Strengths: Speed
Noise (in my opinion)
Looks Good
Weaknesses: ............ I don't know any
Review: My game style is very simple..... GET EVERYONES ATTENTION! Plain and simple this gun gets the job done. It's big, loud and fast. I was shooting full auto with my RT next to a G3 and I gotta say..... There wasn't a big difference. My RT was factory installed which I recommend. My brother put one in on his 98 Custom and it just doesnt work right. Mine though...... well..... be on my team.
Conclusion: I strongly recommend this gun to anyone. I never had any problems with it and I don't think you will.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

johndeerealfalf Tuesday, August 25th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
1 year3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT Tac-5 (wannabe)
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
21" SmartParts Rifled Barrel
Liberty Adjustable Car Stock
OpsGear M107 .50BMG Shroud
4x35 Scope
HPA
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel
Strengths: Reliability
Accuracy
Durability
Cyclone Feed
Weaknesses: Can't shoot a million bps (but close)
Review: I bought the A-5 after becoming too disgusted with the JT Tac-5 to use it anymore. The A-5 is everything a woodsballer could possibly want. I've shot thousands of balls with it now (new & old- always rotated) and have broken only two or three. The shots are very consistent, and fly very straight. After upgrading to HPA- even more so. With this marker, you don't have to worry about the gun at all. Just think tactics until the time comes and then point and shoot. Since two (including myself) of my five man team members have switched to this gun, our win-to-lose ratio has gone from about 1 in 3 to 4 out of 5. The A-5 is great. I couldn't be happier.
Conclusion: Insanely awesome. Want a serious woodsballing machine? Buy this!

**PS: Would someone explain to me high-end mechanical marker vs low end- because nothing about the A-5 seams low end to me.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, October 25th, 2009 at 1:58 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

TiPpY a5 Thursday, August 13th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
BT 4 combat(stock)
Tippmann 98C
Marker Setup: Tippman A5 with double trigger and car stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
flatline barrel, HPA/Nitro
Strengths: Cool look/fee
Accurate
Cyclonefeed
Durable
Weaknesses: Stock barrel

Price
Review: ok, so i ordered my gun off the internet and 5 day later it came in the mail. all i can say is OH MY GOD. This gun is awsome.

Strength!!
Cyclone feed: This baby is awsome iv put a case and a half through and she works perfect no chops at all.

Accuracy: I was hitting a board of ply wood 6 inchs by 6 inchs. I was 50 feet back and this is with stock barrel.

look: going to have to say the look of the gun sold me on it. this thing just looks badass.

upgradability: thing gun can be transformed into any real military firearm on the market. everything is upgradable.

weakness

CO2: not the guns fault but Co2 suck ass with this gun but it has never frozen on me.

Price: tad on the expencive side i seen one a KW surplus for like $217. i got mine for #180 brand new
Conclusion: All i can say is awsome gun but im not going to say thats its better then any gun because in the end it is not the gun but the player. As far as peole leaving reviews saying it chopps balls like mad.....it does not, check your gun out if it does cause something is wrong. And for any one who says its heavy or load or has alot of kick have to grow a pair and deal with it. My hunting rifle ( Kar 98) is like 8 pounds and i carry that all day so hit the gym baby. Any who great gun would recomend it to anyone. and the reason i gave it an 8 instead of a 10 is because nothing is perfect but it close.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

MiniTippy Wednesday, July 1st, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98c
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
Response Trigger
Tech-T Fang Trigger
Cyclone Feed system
Whole Gun Camo
X7 Hopper
Flatline Barrell
Pure Energy Co2(9 oz., 20 oz)
Red Dot Sight
Recommended
Upgrades:
Highly Reccomended:

Flatline Barrell
R/T (Response Trigger)
Tech-T Fang trigger
Tech-T Complete Cyclone feed system

Reccomended:

X-7 Hopper
Camo
Stock
Hose
Zero Kick Hammer Tech-T
Strengths: Accurate
Durable
Easy to Use
Price
Upgrades Avaliable
No Chops
Weaknesses: Can get Heavy
Loud
Review: I Bought a huge kit off eBay including the flatline, a pod pack, and a mask. When it got to me, all I needed was Co2 and paint. I went paintballiing the next day and I was very impressed. I noticed I could shoot at least 100 yds with the flatline barell. I was very worried about chopping paint but i didn't. I have gone through 4,000 with not one break. I play mostly woodsball and while i was playing i also realized i couldn't hold my gun up all the time because it was very heavy. This was no big deal knowing that i could rest in woodsball but if i ever wanted to go speedball with this gun I would have a problem. I don't reccomend monster balls for a flatline because you WILL CHOP PAINT. My friend uses monsterballs and when he upgraded his A-5 to flatline system, he chopped 1 ball for every 30 he shot.
Conclusion: All in all, i think the A-5 is a great gun for new ballers. It has many upgrades and don't be fooled by the 98 CUSTOM because an A-5 is very easy to upgrade and cusomize.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Scarecrow :) Saturday, May 30th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann Custom 98
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
Remote
20 oz Co2
12" J&J Ceramic barrel
X-7 hopper
E-grip
Recommended
Upgrades:
Depends on what you want to use it for!
Strengths: Durable
Reliable
Cyclone
Customizable
Weaknesses: Stock barrel too short
Review: I have been playing with my A-5 for about a year and a half now and it has served me very well! It has never broken down on me, not even once so it is very reliable. I have dropped it a few times and it has taken a hard beating in the field and nothing has happened to it yet so it is very durable and the perfect marker for playing in the woods or scenario games.
It is very customizable and you can basicly make it look like any realtime weapon if you want but that just ads weight.
The stock barrel is pretty accurate for a stock barrel, it just depends on what paint you put through it. It is just a bit short for my liking cause I cant poke it through or around the bushes but that is just personal preferance.
The cyclone works great and it keeps up with however fast you want to shoot. You can upgrade the cyclone if you want to make it shoot even faster but that is not neccesary unless you put a E-grip on it and want to shoot full auto all the time. Well I use a E-grip and I have not found the need to upgrade the Cyclone so it is fine in stock form!
It is a bit on the heavy side but if you have a problem with the weight you should not be paying woodsball then you should rather stick to speedball!
Conclusion: All in all this is one of the best marker for woodsball and scenario play! if you want a good woodsball marker then this is the marker to get.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (138):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media