paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann A-5 / Tippmann A-5 / Tippmann A-5 / Tippmann A-5

Tippmann A-5 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann A-5

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann A-5
[ View Photos (246) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 1376
Average Rating: 9.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $272

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The All New Tippmann A-5 is a high performance paintball marker with the patented Cyclone Feed System. The Cyclone Feed System Links the Feeder Sprocket to the Air System. The Faster you shoot, the faster the Tippmann A-5 feeds. Pull the Trigger 15 times a second, and the Tippmann A-5 feeds 15 balls per second. The Tippmann A-5 is also easy to clean and maintain with its no tool field strip feature. Innovative technology, maximum firepower, unsurpassed accuracy and Tippmann durability are the core foundations of the all new Tippmann A-5.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann A-5 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (138):  First  |  39  |  40  |  41  |  42  |  43  |  44  |  45  |  Last
        Next Page
gcg-3432 Tuesday, February 14th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann 98's pro carbine c-3
A-5 is definately the better of the tippmann guns
Marker Setup: hose, response trigger, apex barrel,
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel MUST
dont NEED a new trigger but is fun
Strengths: Extremely Reliable
Weaknesses: AIR HOG
weight if ur a girl :P no big deal
Review: its accurate pretty accurate but a new barrel is a good cheap upgrade that is almost necessary im 14 with some type of job and got an apex barrel that by the way is fantastic

uses alot of air... here in MA a 20 oz is 5 bucks to fill and i have 2

does not break balls ever

excellent feeding

could be used for speedball with RT (tournament legal) or e grip (auto)
Conclusion: TERRIFIC GUN

accurate

EXTREMELY RELIABLE

air hog
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintballer USA Monday, February 13th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
custom 98
Spyder 2000
Spyder Pilot
Marker Setup: Spyder Pilot 2005
TASO turbo valve
32 degrees springs
Trinity low rise clamp
32 degrees Carbon fiber barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
custom 98 better gun for the price or a Spyder with valve and springs!!
Strengths: Looks pretty cool.
Weaknesses: will suck your CO2 dry very fast. not really field strippable.
Review: played with the custom 98 and was very happy with it. considered playing with the A5 because of the rotary feed. seemed like a cool gimmick. I gimmick was what it exactly was. didn't seem to improve rapid fire any more than using a marker that had a vertical feed. maybe thats why Angels,Autochockers, ION, Indian Creek and even Spyders all come with vertical feeds! for the price i would stick to a Custom 98. Or if you want a marker that shoots faster and cost less go with a Spyder(but you will have to upgrade to a turbo Valve and upgrade the springs. My pilot is shooting 310FPS at 325PSI this is not a typo i said 310FPS at 325PSI). My biggest compaint would be the waist of air the A5 uses. In one full day of play i went through 2 1/2 20oz. bottles. i figured maybe it was just this marker but then someone else who had an A5 confirmed my CO2 useage.





Conclusion: stick with a Custom 98 or a Spyder w/ upgraded valve and springs.
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

Stockguy03 Sunday, February 12th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann Model 98 Custom
Marker Setup: 1.)Tippmann A-5 with a G36 stock and barrel
2.)Tippmann Model 98 with M-16 sight Rail
Recommended
Upgrades:
Better Barrel
Strengths: 1.) Very Reliable
2.) Good Construction
3.) Upgradeable
4.) Cyclone Feed
5.) Looks
Weaknesses: 1.) The stock barrel isn't as accurate as it could be...
Review: I have had my A-5 for a while now and am extremely impressed with the quality of this marker. This Gun is very reliable and the construction is amazing. I have never had my A-5 break down on me in the middle of a game. I had previously owned a Model 98 Custom, and though that upgrading to an A-5 would be a good idea. Man was I right! My friend was the first one that I knew to own an A-5. He always told me how great it was and how much I should purchase one. I kind of blew him off thinking that my old 98 would due. But now that I own one I see exactly what he was talking about. Every aspect of this marker is amazing: Looks, Reliability, Accuracy, Rate of Fire, and Upgrade-ability. There are so many different products and upgrades to buy. The only thing that I can complain about is the stock barrel. It is not terrible, But there is definitely room for improvement. If Tippmann manufactured a better one than the A-5 would be ultimate( not that it already isn't.) This is probably the last marker I will ever need, and I am fine with that. If for some apocalyptic reason something went wrong with my A-5, I would just run to the nearest sporting-goods store and buy a new one. I definitely Recommend this marker to anyone looking for the best marker for their money... well as long as you have $250
Conclusion: BUY IT NOW...no really
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintball wiz Saturday, February 4th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann 98 custom,orian viewloader.
Marker Setup: tippmann a-5 with e-grip,flatline barrel.
Recommended
Upgrades:
a new barrel.
Strengths: Rugged derability,style,other people being dead jelouse.
Weaknesses: Ecces use of plastic and price is high.
Review: i really like this gun but don't get cheep balls or they will break after the 20th shot and that really sucks. i got this gun home and i used it took a couple practice shots and ended up in paintball hell crap dripping from the barrel it was a mess. so get good qaulity paintballs maybe diablo or really good qaulity paintballs and the gun ways enough without having to carry around a CO2 cylinder so get a remote line and a carry harness and take a extra co2 cylinder because the cyclone feed is a hog but other then that it is an awesom marker with really good performance.
Conclusion: Get this marker!!!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

painthead280 Wednesday, February 1st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann 98 custom
Marker Setup: A-5 w/ Response trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
Response trigger, better barrel, 20 ounce tank,
Strengths: Reliable, fast, looks great, quality
Weaknesses: Needs a better barrel, dosn't like cheap paint, gas hog
Review: I just bought the A-5 about a month ago and I tried it out for the first time. I was attracted to the cyclone feed design, because of how it runs on mechanics instead of electronics. I never liked all the electronic hoppers because they ran on batteries and do not seem like they would work in sync with the gun. I bought some paint that is better than my usual ones because the guy at the store said the a-5 doesn'e like cheap paint. I played with it for the first time in the cold, and I think it effected the performance of it a lot. I broke so many paintballs that day, it was unbelievable. I definitely need to buy a better barrel really soon because the stock barrel just plain sucks. The a-5 is definitely a gas hog. I used to be able to get about 600 shots with my 12 ounce on my 98, and now only get about 400 on the A5. (could be because of the cold weather). Another thing that I've noticed is that the response trigger doesn't work when the air is low, so with about 100 shots left, i have to go semi-auto. Next time I play in the cold, I'm going to try polar ice, because I heard it works great in cold weather.

Besides all of that, that A-5 is a beast paintball gun. I can get 15 balls a second on the response trigger (that's at least what tippmann says), and it works great. It's definitely a huge upgrade from the 98. I think with a larger CO2 tank and a decent barrel, the A-5 is all a recreational paintballer needs. If you want a reliable automatic paintball gun with out the hassle of electronics and all that expensive stuff, get the A-5 with the RT.
Conclusion: If you are looking for a fairly cheap, reliable, automatic paintball gun, Get the A-5 with the response trigger. I gave it a ten because for $270 with the RT, The A-5 is perfect for a rec paintballer.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, February 1st, 2006 at 12:19 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pobeshure Monday, January 30th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
98c- Same, but not as fast
Spyders- Shoot as good or better, but dont last like the Tippmans
ION- better performance (but more $ w/ hopper)
Angels- Apples and oranges
Marker Setup: A-5, Low Pressure sys, 14" Dye Boomstick & ultra-lites & total freak sys, WAS Equalizer board, JCS dual trigger, JCS red hot power tube, superfly bolt, Palmers Stabilizer W Lp kit, 68/4500 Crossfire on a Shockteck drop. Polished internals... Shes TRICKY !!
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, , E-grip w/ JCS trigger(dont even mess around with any others, this trigger rocks). Regulator,Nitro & a Low pressure kit if your gonna use it for speed ball.
Strengths: Durability
Easy to maintain
Looks
Very upgradable(Night and Day after all the goodies)
Weaknesses: Stock isn't very accurate. Just OK accuracy after upgrades.
Stock has alot of kick
Review: Okay I waited till last week to write a review sense may 2005, cause I was having some problems with paint breakage, and till I was done w/ my upgrades. A few days after writing my review I finally found a simple little problem today. My ball latch was hanging up a little bit, but enough to make a little slop between the ball and the bolt and power tube, I sanded the latch channel and put in a fresh latch then I ran a hopper full of paint that I had problems with last weekend threw her w/o any breaks...I'm pretty freakin happy! I changed my rating from a 5 to a 8 .
Durability= 10
Accuracy= 7 (after upgrades), 4 before
Ease of maint.= 10
While ramping I get 17 bps w/o missing a beat. When I was running HP I was getting 19bps, but way to much kick and bouncing.
Conclusion: Stock A-5 = 7, after upgrades such as mine shes close to a 9. So I'll give it a 8 ..
Nice woodsball gun. Can be very fast w/ right upgrades.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Friday, February 3rd, 2006 at 8:31 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

a-5 loverforevr Monday, January 30th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
98 custom, ion, impusle, autocockers
Marker Setup: Tippman A-5, 47 3000 psi centerflag compressed air tank, shocktech superfly bolt, J&J S2 Barrel, e grip
Recommended
Upgrades:
compressed air, e-grip, maybe a better barrel my stock barrel is really accurate with the paint i use (diablo heat), and maybe a better bolt it will only make it better.
Strengths: durablitly
accuracy
No chopping
its really balanced
not heavy
decenly fast
CYCLONE FEED!
Weaknesses: None
Review: This is a great gun i have had no problems with it what so ever! i have never even chopped a ball in the barrel which is awsome, alot of people say that this gun is the 98 custom with the cyclone feed on but i can tell you its not, the gun is so much more accurate and and faster and even more durable so if looking into an A-5 just get one i know u will love it, the gun isnt that fast its faster then the 98 but once u add an e grip you will be rolling on the field with extreme fire power. Probbably the biggest strenghs out of my A-5 is the accuracy and the lack of chopping, and then probbably the speed but your honestly going to need an E-grip if you really want speed cuz the marker itself isnt that fast its not bad though. So go buy one
Conclusion: If i were you i would just get the gun i play speedball and i have no problem competing with high end guns but i have an e-grip. Sure there are better guns out there but no gun out there has the durability of a tippmann and reliability.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, May 28th, 2006 at 8:59 am PST
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

matteuccio512 Sunday, January 29th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ive only used spyder pilots and paradoxs. They cannot compare to the A-5. The balls break a lot in the pilot and the accuracy was awful for the paradox.
Marker Setup: Flatline barrel.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Flatline barrel. Improves the accuracy a lot. Also any long barrel is good too.
Strengths: Reliable, (w/ flatline barrel) extremly accurate. The balls rarely break.Light weight. Upgradeability.
Weaknesses: Not sure. Its accuracy with the barrel it comes with is normal.
Review: This marker is great. I love its reliability. It is the best woodsball gun I have ever known. In woodsball its accuracy and reliability help you out. In speedball it is a pretty good. Its small size and light weight frame does pretty good. With the barrel it comes with the accuracy is pretty average maybe a little better than a spyder pilot. If you get one try to get a flatline barrel for it. A handy feature is that you can upgrade it with tons of barrels, stocks. hoppers forgrips remotes etc.
Conclusion: I definitly recomend it for a player who needs a gun that will last and grow. Check out the many upgrades when you get one.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

niemann1313 Saturday, January 28th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
98 custom
spyder sonix(not much of a comparison but it was my first semi-suto)
Marker Setup: a-5
flatline
e-grip

GTA double trigger when im not using my e-grip
Recommended
Upgrades:
flatline
e-grip if you like to shoot fast
or if your on a tight budget a double trigger. but to me it just made it more
comfortable( it didn't help me shoot faster)
Strengths: Accuracy (w/ flatline)
Rate of fire
Cyclone feed
Easy to field strip
Weaknesses: Stock barrel to me wasn't worth anything
Review: After playing with a spyder sonix for about a year i decided i wanted a new gun and i had heard that this was a good gun so i decided to get it.
I played for about a year with it before deciding to get any significant upgrades.
You can argue this statement if you can do this but i just dont see how it was possible to hit 15 bps even with a double trigger.

My friend that had a 98c told me he got a 16in. progressive so i found a nice 14in. one and bought it. It helped a little bit but i wish i just would of stepped up to a flatline.

So then i decided to get an e-grip so that i would be able to shoot fast. WOW! The rebound mode is the best i think so if you want you can splatter somebody or just fire one shot. about a year after that i had a big game coming up so i decided to splurge for a flatline. after i got my velocity tuned right it shot perfect. It chops a little bit if you are shooting fast but it is really easy to just twist the flatline and take it right off to clean it out

and now i am selling it to get an ion :D
Conclusion: I would recommend this for beginners because it is fairly inexpensive and once you become better you can get some pretty tight upgrades(flatline and e-grip).
i give it a 7.999999999 without the ups and a 9 with them.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Alpha1-1 Saturday, January 28th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tested sum spyders, brass eagle, vloaders low- end guns etc. A-5 is better than the mid that i hav trid
Marker Setup: ~ A-5
~ Freak barrel kit, 14in. allamerican
~ Red dot
~ red hot power tube
~ supa fly bolt
~ Mac Dev 68/45 HP
~ GX4 drop4ward
~ Richo hopper
~ E-grip
~ expantion chamber that only used as gas thro grip comp air doesnt need it so i just took out the 6 chambers i have no other way of getting the air to the gun didnt want to buy more crap..
Recommended
Upgrades:
LOTS... a Freak Barrel kit, air, E-grip, red cuz it can take one there actully really helpful, a new bolt & power tube, drop 4ward
Strengths: ~ Durability
~ upgrades
~ easy maintenance
~ cyclone
Weaknesses: ~ U have to put more money into upgrades
~ to expensive
~ gas hog
Review: well this was my first real paintball marker it has been very good 2 me for three years. if put many upgrades into it & i have never had a prob with it. it is a very tough gun i have dropped it in mud, water, and the pavement & nothing ever broke, & it keep on working. it works well in the rain & i can say with the upgrades i have put into it it can shoot surprisingly fast & accurate!!!!! but remember it still is a mid range marker. & if u add the cost for upgrades u might as well get a higher end marker so just add a few things or buy a better marker

ACCURACY~ with All-star paint, & the barrel matched (.689) on full auto, with a Mac Dev air it can group in a 7in. radius from one point at 70ft.

SPEED~ becuz i am also a musician i took my gun to my studio to record it shooting then i slowed it down & took 6 one second segments out 4 of the 6 one second segments were at 17 bps the other 2 were 18 bps. this would not be possible with the stock because i have chsnged th bolt & power tube i have polished the inside ot the sliding tube then put in biger O-rings, i have also down sum changes with all the spings & there is also the E-grip

Conclusion: overall prob the best low to mid range marker out there with hundreds of upgrades & milsim stuff (which is just a waste of money) id say buy it if ur a beginner or semi pber that doesnt need a high end marker, id advise not to put much into this gun becuase it comes ou being very expensive & it will never b what a top end marker is so something to think about

i give this a 9 becuase 10 is perfect but its a 9 in the low to mid range guns u cant compare it 2 egos, Timmy's, & cyborgs
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (138):  First  |  39  |  40  |  41  |  42  |  43  |  44  |  45  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media