paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann A-5 / Tippmann A-5 / Tippmann A-5 / Tippmann A-5

Tippmann A-5 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann A-5

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann A-5
[ View Photos (246) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 1376
Average Rating: 9.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $272

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The All New Tippmann A-5 is a high performance paintball marker with the patented Cyclone Feed System. The Cyclone Feed System Links the Feeder Sprocket to the Air System. The Faster you shoot, the faster the Tippmann A-5 feeds. Pull the Trigger 15 times a second, and the Tippmann A-5 feeds 15 balls per second. The Tippmann A-5 is also easy to clean and maintain with its no tool field strip feature. Innovative technology, maximum firepower, unsurpassed accuracy and Tippmann durability are the core foundations of the all new Tippmann A-5.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann A-5 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (138):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  Last
        Next Page
protoman350 Thursday, May 28th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder pilot acs(inferior)
Marker Setup: A-5, 98c flatline, J&J edge barrel kit, x-7 valve, techt cyclone mods, palmers stab, jcs voodoo stock. polished internals,
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel. regulator.
Strengths: Very durable. Numerous upgrades
Weaknesses: None really. Maybe a little loud?
Review: I love my a-5 its served me well in 2 years and is going strong. The weakest thing about the a-5's durability is the cyclone parts but just replace them with the tect parts(havn't heard good things about the competitors stuff usually breaks) and your good for a long time, no problems after 8 months of having them installed. I really have no complaints about this marker its great and fits my play style real well. its accuarate enough to hit what I shoot at and thats good enough for me. i dont have a fast trigger just the standard a-5 trigger so i dont spray and pray. I actually aim. One more thing who says this is heavy is ridiculous! No wonder america's youth is obese! a little tiny workout never hurt anyone and after playing at a scenario game for 10 hours I had no problem with it and i'm 6'1 160 lbs. so if your complaining about weight then go buy a plastic marker that'll break when you drop it.
Conclusion: Wonderfull marker with awesome durability well worth the money spent
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, May 28th, 2009 at 12:25 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

somemook Saturday, May 9th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5,
collapsible stock,
Flatline barrel,
E-grip,
Low profile hopper.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Upgrade the stock barrel. Other then that it just comes down to what you want. The flatline is really nice, and it looks good to boot.
Strengths: built tough.
cheap
Upgradeable
Cyclone feed system
Style
Its a Tippmann!


Weaknesses: Heavy
uses a little more air
Loud.
Review: I bought my A-5 after reading about every review I could find on the web, and after having a few friends of mine rave about how much they liked theirs. I can honestly say I was not disappointed. When I first started playing I really liked playing woods ball with it, which was the main thing I bought it for. Since it is a bit on the heavy side I never really wanted to play air ball or speed ball with it, manly because I didn't want to get owned and laughed at by people with guns made for those courses. Well, at the request of friends I played a few rounds of airball and speed ball and holy god It was fantastic. The weight, for me at least, wasn't that big of a issue. Granted I'm not playing with pros or anything but I have been able to not only hold my own, but do very good in every game of speed/air ball that I have played. So although this gun is not made for air/speed ball it works very well for it. I'm not suggesting that it is the best though. One downside is the side mounted feed. normally I like this setup but it gets a little annoying during air ball if you have to shoot from the same side your hopper is on, but really it isn't that big of a deal once you get used to it.

The A-5 is however guilty of being a bit on the loud side. This, for me, was added to by the Flatline barrel that I use. It isn't that bit of a deal when you are playing air ball but when you are attempting to be sneaky during a game of woods ball it is hard to keep your location a secret when everyone on the field can hear you clearly every time you pull the trigger. All and all however this isn't a big issue for me, and I kind of like the added sound.

The cyclone feeding system is amazing. I read more then a few reviews that said it was like having a blender in your hopper. This just isn't true. I have put thousands upon thousands of rounds of field paint through my marker and have NEVER (knock on wood) had one break in my hopper or on the cyclone. Of course it isn't as good as a quality electronic feeder but I really don't think it (the electronic feeder) is a big enough upgrade to warrant buying.

Conclusion: All things considered the A-5 is a fantastic gun for the money and with a near endless amount of upgrades the sky is the limit. If you are a new player or if you just don't have the money to spend on a high end marker, this gun is for you. It is cheap, and built to last. Two thumbs way up.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Dreadpirate Tuesday, April 28th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Automag RT custom aluminum - Much lighter (lighter even than an ion) Only pure mechanical marker I know of capable of 20+ bps fire rate, with a valve capable of 35 bps without shoot-down. Playing with this gun is the sweetest experience available on the field, unless it decides it doesn't like the HPA at the field, or the humidity, or the current alignment of the sun and moon, or any other dozen random factors that prevent the absolute perfect operation. But oh, when it -does- work... watchout other team!
Delta .68 pistol - lighter, 12g CO2 only, 10 rnd paint limit, non-upgradeable
Automag 68 classic - lighter, gravity feed, 9 bps fire rate max.
Spyder Basic - a solid VM68 clone, adding a Stabilizer gave this old gal a new lease on life, and I gave it to my dad as a christmas present, along with an Apex barrel.
Tippmann Pro-Carbine/Pro-Am - The AK-47 of paintball: not the best rate of fire, and not as accurate as most paintguns, but utterly indestructable and inexpensive.
Brass Eagle Stingray - like a cheap walmart knockoff of a tippmann pro-carbine. Barrel so flimsy, they had to reinforce the entire length with plastic. And the internal valves were cheap plastic, as well. Lasted about a year, which, at $60, should not have surprised anyone.
Marker Setup: Automag RT Pro ULE custom
Magnetic suspension ball detent
Ultra-Light Trigger pull kit
Freak barrel system
Crossfire 68ci 4500# air tank
Reloader B feeder

Tippmann A-5, first year run
X-7 hopper
Armson Stealth (mid-90s version)
e-trigger w/ APE board
Ranger f/x m4-style foregrip
Spec Ops Commando stock
Lightweight rear bolt
aluminum front bolt & power tube
two-way vented QEPH
Lightening rod
flexible cyclone paddles
upgraded cyclone sprocket
BSA red-dot sight
Recommended
Upgrades:
Spec ops stock- the only ones I've found that attach solidly with zero wiggle.
Foregrip of some sort- m16 style if you have long arms, spec ops a5a2 style if you have shorter, or prefer a close-in stance. The stock foregrip is too close to the pistol grip for my comfort.
X-7 hopper-not too many people realize the X-7 hopper is a direct drop-in replacement for the a-5 hopper. It is much lower profile, does not have the problem with breaking if the seam is hit, and is angled to deflect paint better.
RT, or E-trigger- with a feeder capable of 15 bps stock, it would be a shame not to take advantage of it.
Remote air: add-ons add weight fast to an already heavy gun. Save yourself the extra workout by moving your air tank to your pod pack, if you plan to play scenario games.
Strengths: Mechanically Tough
Stable paint platform
Upgradeable
Weaknesses: Enamel subject to chemical attack from paint
Heavy
Review: This is more or less a long-term endurance update on a gun I purchased back in 2004. It was part of the first production run of a-5s, and has been my #1 primary marker ever since, despite an off and on daliance with the Automag RT pro. In all the key areas, mechanical reliability, accuracy, and such, the performance has not degraded very noticeably, with the exception of the quart-turn barrel adaptor grooves on the upper receiver, which have worn and allow the barrel to rotate a lot easier than when new. It is no where near accidentally falling out, however, just a bit looser than I remember.

Mechanically tough: It's a tippmann. All tippmanns seem to be built with the expectation that they may be used as a rental gun, and the a-5 is no exception. It has survived 5 yrs of use and abuse, been run hard, and put away uncleaned for entire winters, and still performs solidly, though last year, at 4 yrs of age, the bolt jammed, due to too much paint accumulation in the innerds. It turns out, I had accidentally set my e-trigger to 25 bps, with no upgrades to the feeder to support it. A thorough cleaning with a hose, and a bump down to 15 bps fixed 'er right up. I have installed many different upgrades, and at times it has been a 'scouting' gun, and other times, a 'heavy support' gun. I even strip it down occasionally to play speedball. The screws and quick-strip pins have held up to the abuse very well, with no sign of threads stripping, or galling.

Stable platform: Which is a complimentary way of saying, "It's heavy, but balanced." Light tourney guns, such as my automag, or anything sharing a similar profile, tend to be balanced way at the back of the gun, which promotes the quick snapshots required on a speedball course, but make learning to aim more difficult. (Not that it isn't possible: like a real pistol, it is meant for short range point and shoot, but I've seen some amazing marksmanship with pistols, as well as tourney markers. Just takes an expert level of practice.) With air off-gun, or with a CO2 tank instead of a stock, the gun's balance point is generally somewhere between the trigger and the stock foregrip, which makes it easy to learn to aim properly, and once you are on target, the extra weight keeps your point of aim from drifting around due to factors such as adrenaline, etc.

Upgradeable: Every upgrade imagineable is still available for this gun, it's like ricing out a Honda. There are even bull-pup conversions for a steep price. My own gun has seen about 7 different barrels, including a 90s-era armson stealth, a Freak kit, all three sizes of Lapco barrels, the Flatline, and an Apex. Tippmann even sells X-7 style select-fire e-grips for the a-5 now.

Enamel: Over the years, I have not been very good about cleaning the gun after every game, and as a result, the paint has actually caused the enamel to become soft and sticky, almost like when you overheat rubber bands. Everytime I clean the gun, more and more enamel sloughs off, and I can see that eventually I will have to get the gun hard anodized, or else go all the way and have the only white/silver a-5 on the field. In contrast, my buddy's '05 shocker began rusting through within the first year of use.

Heavy: If you're playing in a scenario game, either lift a few weights to keep your arms in shape, or buy a sling, even a keychain lanyard will work, just to hang it on your shoulder. I played speedball once with air on-gun with a car stock still attached, and after diving behind a snake, with the gun in one hand, the momentum of the gun was so great, I got shot in the hand before I could pull it down with me behind the snake.

A note on the stock barrel: the stock barrel is designed as a "one size fits all" barrel, and is meant to fit any size paint you could conceivably shoot through it. It is also the only barrel I've ever owned, which never suffered a break. Not long after I bought the gun, I discovered that one of the types of paint at my field, some sort of purple el-cheapo stuff actually matched the barrel size well, and shot -very- accurately. If you don't want to replace your barrel right away, it's a good idea to try and find some large paint, which will shoot much more accurately through the stock barrel.
Conclusion: If you are new to paintball, and plan on going the woods/scenario route, rent a gun until you can afford to buy this, or the X-7, which I hear is an improvement, though I personally prefer the less-boxy look of the A-5. If you are looking for a pro tourney gun, well, Tippmann's sponsored team still seems to do fairly well with A-5s, so you may not want to write it off right away. For new players, I usually say this: if at a real firearm range, you prefer to shoot pistols, buy a tourney-style marker as your first gun. If you prefer to shoot rifles, or, you are military and more used to shooting a rifle than a pistol, buy a tippmann.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, April 29th, 2009 at 12:15 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

patriot12 Monday, April 27th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann 98 custom
Marker Setup: tippmann a-5 with straightline barrel car stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
tippmann straigtline or flatline
Strengths: Duriblity
Customizable
Can be made diffrently
Weaknesses: A little heavy
Bulky hopper
Review: I like the tippmann a-5 and any tippmann because it can be anything you want it to be. if you want a mil-sim look you can make it look like just about any military weapon. also if you want to go for performance you can get some of the best barrels. if you just want to have range then you can get a flatline if you want extreme accurcy you can get just about any barrel kit.
The only problem is the weight. if you are playing speedball you would want to go with something lighter and faster than a tippmann but for woodsball it will out perform just about anything.
Conclusion: Its a very customizable gun and is very cheap. It is a little heavy but it is overall a good gun
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Grayf0x Sunday, April 19th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing relly this is an upper-level mechanical marker. If i had to compare this marker to something i would compare it to a 98 custom; however, this gun is an improvement in may ways.
Marker Setup: Model 98custom A.C.T (realtree hardwood camo)-16in smart parts progressive barrel,virture russian legion grips, bt spring kit, bt sealed bolt system, tippmann expansion chmaber kit, 5 position stock

Spyder Mr1-18in barrel; ak-47 expansion chamber: trinity t-lock for hopper

Tippmann A-5: special ops a2 stock, stock hopper (dont like the x-7 one), and a 14in pathogen barrel ( i have squishy paddles but am to lazy to install them because, with the cyclone I have had no problems) a5-a2 foregrip

Tippmann sl-68 II
Recommended
Upgrades:
-The x-7 hopper would be a good idea- though it is not a must the stock hopper is good
-Maby squishy paddles if you get an a-5 with a response or electric trig, i have had no problems with the stock paddles with the standard trigger frame (but high rates of fire may change this)
-A new barrel is a smart investment the stock one is bad after 30yards
Strengths: Cyclone feed, weight, rate of fire, upgradeability, realiability.
Weaknesses: Little big,people want it for thier own.
Review: All in all this is a great marker for the price, at around $180.00 for the stock model and $230 for a standard sniper package, this gun is a value for the cash. Some would argue that for a few bucks more you could get an autococker, or an ion, but i think that this gun has many perks over these guns.
-It is cheap to opperate
-It is cheap to upgrade
-It is cheap to repair
-It has tippmann warrenty, and customer support (They are all vey nice people)
-It can be field stripped very easily (even more so than the 98 custom) (For instance in under 2 minutes i hade the back piece removed and a stock installed becasue of the pin and locking system that holds the gun together)
-It has a sealed bolt so very little if any dirt can get into the internals (used to be a $20.00 fix on the 98 with a rocket cock)
-Sexy looking
-With an aftermarket barrel it is accurate enough (example while playing a game yesterday the opposing team used 2 riot shields, while behind these shields only a small fraction of their mask was visiable i with this marker was able to take a few shots on each shield barrier [10shots each tops] and hit them in this small area... simply stated this gun saved my team and i's bacon)
-In my last 2 games of playing with this marker i have managed 2deaths 7kills in one session of play and 8 deaths and around 16kills in the secound session of play(for the record in the secound session i played 2vs5 2vs6 1vs7 and 3vs4 [ i was on the teams with 1,2, or 3 players] and despite these odds i almost always took out more than one of the enemy.)
UPDATE: 6/17/2009 Used today on my birth day, crono read 368 when first fired set it down to 274. All went well gun worked flawlessly took out 9 people 0 deaths gun feels great had a little wobble from the asa early on tightened up the bolt near it and all was well. No problems with it at all cyclone has never chopped a ball, and gun has never chopped a ball.
Conclusion: this is a good marker if you love a98 then you will most probably love this gun too. And though it may not be as efficient as other markers it gets the job done and gets it done well.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, June 17th, 2009 at 6:14 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

helpgeo5 Saturday, April 18th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
6 months0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
98 custom
Marker Setup: hpa 3000psi flatline selector switch e-grip
Recommended
Upgrades:
flatline or any other good barrel
rubber blades in cyclone
aluminium parts
air regulator
Strengths: Strong, low levels of up keep, meny shrouds, looks cool,
good value for money
Weaknesses: If a ball breakes in flatline or in the cyclone gun becommes innacurate
heavy.
Review: this gun is in my oppinion the best mechanical gun i have seen
its cheapish
can be hard to take apart for first time
and accurate. with barrel upgrade
you need good quality paintwith the flatline though
doesnt get many shots off, about 500 with 20 oz CO2 about 600 with 3000psi on a medium day
doesnt preform as well with air. you need to manualy spin cyclone. not difficult though takes 2 seconds but its annoying then this happens when ur shooting at someone in the open. this doesnt happen often though.
the gun very rarely chops a ball
when i took it out in the woods it preform perfictly after i dropped it in water and crawled threw mud with it. very good for defending.
easy to aim with sights.
when i used the flatline i thought that it made the gun so much more effective in the woods as i didnt need to arch the shots as much. a big advantage with the gun in the woods.
the selector switch is usefull as you can change modes with a thumb flick
my advice is to not get this gun as you just dont get enough shots off i have this gun but i am already thinking of selling it to get the etek 2 which is more reliable and just as good the only reson i would prefer the a5 is because of the fact you can aim down the sights and the gun is easy to maintain but unless your not trigger happy dont get this gun. it is really annoying when you run out of air. i still got the guy out with the last of my air ramming in the cyclone rod to feed a ball in lol
Conclusion: Great gun and good for woodsball
accurate reliable and fast. And meny upgrades to use to suit to your style of play but would be better if was more air effitient 500 shots with 3000psi
it would be better to get an etek2 or an ego08/09 or dm8/9 if you want a low cost good gun get the etek though i gunna stop talking about the etek2 now as its a a5 review the loudness is good at keeping rental players heads down
Rating:
6 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, April 30th, 2009 at 3:35 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

JCH2112 Sunday, April 12th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom
Marker Setup: Standard Tippmann A-5
Recommended
Upgrades:
Flatline barrel
X7 low profile hopper
Strengths: Reliable
Not to many breaks
Weaknesses: Hard to clean inside the cyclone feed
Review: Overall the Tippmann A-5 is a great marker. The cyclone feed helps when you don't have an E-grip or a Response trigger. Cleaning and maintaining it is easy (Except when the ball breaks inside the and splatters inside the cyclone feed). I personally like the MP5 so when I saw this I decided to buy it. No regrets at all!
Conclusion: It's an Amazing gun
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

matt67 Sunday, April 5th, 2009
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
ion, slg, pmr, t9, m-tac, bt-4
Marker Setup: RT, j&j cermiac edge elite kit, flatline, tech-t cyclone upgrade kit, jcs rva, bt spring kit.etc
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrels different bores and lengths 14-18 inches, tech-t cyclone upgrade, jcs rva,
a working double trigger, RT or e-grip x-7 low profile hopper tech-t zero kick hammer
Strengths: RT doesn't use batteries, cyclone can shot apex/flatline barrels
Weaknesses: hard on paint, most fields don't allow RT, put alot of money into it
Review: well i bought a a-5 about a year ago i loved it i played alot of woodsball and even some speedball and the fact is if your a good player and you setup your marker right as this marker has a billion differnet setting and styles you can play any type of game but you have to be able to find deals or have a great source of used good condition parts to make your marker setup right the marker is between 199-299 the upgrade that you need are a tech-t cyclone upgrade kit which is 110 dollars and this is needed to shot 15+ bps, stock says 15+bps but i think you need to be a tippman employee with a double trigger and some of the fastest fingers in the world to know how to get that speed then i recommend a new powertube and bolt as well as a new rear hammer a tech-t zero kick rear hammer and jcs powertube and bolt are some of my reccomendations i went with the no fva as i used a bt spring kit and the fva is useless no reason to have to crank the hell out of it to slow down FPS then you need a apex barrel for woodsball and a good barrel kit for speedball i reccommend the apex as it allows you to tune and adjust the spin and direction of the ball the flatline doesn't so if your balls are shooting left then that's tough no adjustment and both barrel curve balls think about it the ball is spinning so which way it is spinning is the way it is going to go left ,right, down just get the apex or look at both you will see both work great real long ball barrels and the barrel kit should be 14- 18" and have bores that match the type of paint you shot i use .687 - .693 over bore alittle as long as no breaks i'm good
Conclusion: All in all this is a good first marker buy a used one that has lots of upgrades and if at all possible shot one or many and the one you are going to buy these are bulletproof markers so not to many worries about getting a bad or broken marker most fixes are cheap oring breaks or a need to be cleaned but don't buy this marker to upgrade and use for a long time it just won't happen i bought mine for 300 dollars on ebay with alot of upgrades took off the upgrades i didn't want sold them on ebay spent about 250 more on the upgrades i wanted so for a 500 woodball marker it is fantasic but i picked up a bob long intimidator for 320 but 6 months ago and have yet to need a upgrade or play with the tippman so for a first marker it serves it's purpose but if you don't have alot of money there are many many better cheaper and least needing of upgrade markers out there
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

paintzeroe Saturday, April 4th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98, TIppmann X7
Recommended
Upgrades:
Definitely a new barrel.
Strengths: - No chops
- Loud
- Mil-Sim design
Weaknesses: - Heavy (with tank)
- Inaccurate with stock barrel
Review: Now, to begin, the majority of posters before me are Speedballers and find that this marker doesn't fit their needs in certain things, such as weight (but all in opinion). If you are part of that crowd, obviously this marker won't be in your favor. But if you are a Woodsballer or a Mil-Simmer, this thing is just right for you.

That being said, here are my pros n' cons:

*PROS*
The Cylcone Feed System: although quite large, this thing is the hopper neck to your marker. Instead of just gravity-feeding paint into the inside with the mechanics, it reuses air to make paddles push the balls into said area. THIS is what makes the A5 almost impossible to chop.
EDIT: In fact, I'm not sure if its its tough insides or the cyclone feed, but this thing will EAT white box paint. It doesn't matter what you use, really; with the A5, it'll shoot just about any type of paint the same way without trouble IMHO.

The Loudness: In my opinion, the louder, the better, as markers can never be completely silent like a gun. Once that first shot is made, they'll probably know where you are. It scares the crap out of the OpFor in the fields I go to, though.

Realistic Design: The Tippmann A5 closely resembles an H&K MP5k, a German submachine gun. So close that if you were to wave that around in public, you'll have quite some time explaining it to the cops.

*CONS*
Weight: Without any ordinance on, this marker just about weighs 3.5 lb. If you add a 48ci aluminum HPA tank and a hopper full of paint, that small number becomes 9 pounds, which is like lugging around a barbell around hilly terrain.

Inaccuracy: with a new barrel, its shots will be predictable. BUT, Tippmann decided to stock this with a pipe that guides the ball wherever.


Conclusion: I'd definitely recommend this marker to anyone, because I've had mine for about a year, and haven't found a problem with it still.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, April 9th, 2009 at 11:16 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

stabbish Monday, February 23rd, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98C, Spyder MR2, IconX
Marker Setup: A-5, Cyclone Upgrade, APE Rampage E-GRIP, Fang Speedball Trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
Cyclone Upgrade, APE Rampage E-GRIP, Fang Speedball Trigger
Strengths: Initial Cost, Easy Maintence, Reliable, Thundering Noise
Weaknesses: Costly Upgrades, Not the best out there for the price
Review: The A-5 is a wonderful gun and is all round good gun. It has good build quality and is fairly light and is pretty cheap as stock.

It has a good stock rate of fire averaging about 8-9 bullets per second which is pretty good seeing as we have an economic reccssion and all!

Maintence is fairly simple, for me that is, but it isn't the most friendly to disassemble as it's very tightly packed and you'd probably need to watch videos or let someone show you how to reassemble it first.

A-5 is very reliable and never let me down yet (that is the gun's fault).

The upgrades on the A-5 are costly as hell over in New Zealand, but is well worth it. With just the cyclone upgrade/e-grip + double trigger I can reach 25bps without chopping (provided I don't use the chinese stuff).

Also the noise is also a bonus for me. I play recreational speedball/woodsball and my A-5 seems to scare the renters to death.
Conclusion: Overall this is a great gun but it's not perfect. I'd definately recommend this gun if you're into recreational games or woodsball.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (138):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media