paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann A-5 / Tippmann A-5 / Tippmann A-5 / Tippmann A-5

Tippmann A-5 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann A-5

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann A-5
[ View Photos (246) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 1376
Average Rating: 9.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $272

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The All New Tippmann A-5 is a high performance paintball marker with the patented Cyclone Feed System. The Cyclone Feed System Links the Feeder Sprocket to the Air System. The Faster you shoot, the faster the Tippmann A-5 feeds. Pull the Trigger 15 times a second, and the Tippmann A-5 feeds 15 balls per second. The Tippmann A-5 is also easy to clean and maintain with its no tool field strip feature. Innovative technology, maximum firepower, unsurpassed accuracy and Tippmann durability are the core foundations of the all new Tippmann A-5.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann A-5 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (138):  First  |  50  |  51  |  52  |  53  |  54  |  55  |  56  |  Last
        Next Page
sirnster Tuesday, July 12th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
98 custom, all spyders, impulse, lower end cockers, those are what i think are similar at least..
Marker Setup: A-5 w/ RT, 12" teardrop, folding stock
98 custom, 12" AA w/ Freak front, expansion chamber
sonix, 14" AA w/ AA front, 6 stage ACI expansion chamber, Shocktech super fly bolt
Recommended
Upgrades:
Obviously a new barrel, i don't really like the flatline though, i just cant get use to the curve. Then you can either go with e grip or RT, if i did it over again i would go e grip.
Strengths: See below
Weaknesses: See below
Review: Strengths
~This gun is extremely durable, whats become a Tippmann trademark, with the finish on it is very tough to damage it at all, ive bounced it off the ground when diving, an no problems as of yet.
~ It has a nice ROF, obviously not the fastest, but good for the price, an with the RT, you can fire up to 15 bps
~I love the cyclone feed system, ive never chopped with my A-5 and the response trigger, keeps up with the ROFits capable of 800 rounds per minute
~Mines very accurate, i like the teardrop on it

Neutral
~~Air is used very quickly because of cyclone feed system, its powered by your air source, an its used even quicker with RT cause its also powered the same way, i think thats the biggest downfall to the marker, but some people think its nicer because there is no fuss with batteries dying and no longer having a fast feeding hopper, or the battery in the grip dying.

Weaknesses
~The gun itself is very large, obviously this doesn't matter much in woods, but i tend not to use it in speed ball, cause its not very compact
Conclusion: The gun is one of the toughest guns ive ever layed hands on, it is absolutely amazing for scenario or woods play. As with most markers you can make it an entry level tourny marker as well. I soon will be upgrading to an electro pneumatic gun, solely for tournament play, but i will keep my Tippy for the woods. I think everyone should own one simply because it will never break on you, making a good backup to you for most level of play, and an excellent gun for beginners because it is newer, and all shops can work on it if you don't know how to install things.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

ramp_on_this Sunday, July 10th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
you name it i prolly fired it. autocockers, ebladed and mechanical, spyders, piranahs, matrixes angels. like i said name i prollh have fired it
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
-16 inch freak barrel
-thread adaptor(spyder threads)
-rufus dawg venturi style bolt
-black majik regulator
-dye asa and drop.
-W.A.S. grip
Recommended
Upgrades:
this gun is great right out of the box. but the one upgrade that many people get for this marker and any other marker for that matter is a new barrel. any other upgrade after this is merely making the marker more comfortable for the user.
Strengths: Electric hopper is not needed.
Weaknesses: Some what of a gas hog.
Review: The tippmann A-5 is a very good marker. it was engineered very well and can stand up to a beating. this marker can be used straight out of the box with great resoults, but this marker can also be upgraded to compete with the best markers out there. the only down fall to this gun is its god send. the cyclone feeder. the feeder will feed ball fo ball, but once th rate of fire exceeds about 18 bps the cyclone will start to skip shots. this happens due to the fact that the blades will be spinning so fast that the paint inside the hopper will bounce around not getting fed n to the marker.
Conclusion: Inconclusion this marker is great for the beginner to the seasoned profesional.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

bigboss305 Saturday, July 9th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippmn 98c dbtrigger supa fly bolt revo hopper w/x bored 20oz tank

spyder tl-plus revo hopper x bored(spyders are not very reliable)
Marker Setup: tippmann A-5 db trigger, 2 20oz tanks(buying an e grip tomorrow 23bps!!!) tru flight barrel(the greatest barrel!!! shot better than my 32 degrees sniper which cost 80$)
Recommended
Upgrades:
dbtrigger, e grip, tru flight or flatline barrel (stock not as bad as people say it is)
Strengths: Bps
Light wieght
Cyclone
Price!!! 250$
Accurecy
Doesnt chop
Weaknesses: Not any except it uses little more air than 98c, just go buy couple 20oz
Review: I bought this gun after hours of reaserching and man I was right this gun rocks, my freinds all got autocockers and spyders, lol each one had some sort of problem with it, but not me. With the Tru Flight Barrel I can hit a baseball from 100 ft 5 out of 6 times thats right!!!!! And its really fast I thought the balls were goin to hit each other. This gun is really light the lightest i ever held!! is also alot shorter than 98c and since its mostly made of metal it feels great!!! Many people say its heavy well they never shot an Autococker. I shot like 4000 paintball out of this gun and not a single one broke!!!!
Conclusion: Buy this gun Tippmann surpasses all others!!! trust me.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

matthallo Friday, July 8th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Imagine
Autococker Trilogy pro
Brass eagle Genesis
Brass eagle Raptor
Brass eagle Genesis
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
Crossfire 47ci 3000 psi HPA tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
-New Barrel
-E-grip or RT if you want speed
Strengths: -Fast
-Cyclone feeder
-Looks AMAZING
-Reliable and durable
-Field Strippable
-Customizable
Weaknesses: -Stock barrel kinda sucks (As all stocks do)
-Big i guess
Review: Okay, when i decided to get back into paintball, i was very skeptical of everything, because i have had bad experiences with paintball before (My last gun was a brass eagle Genesis, and it didn't work). I didnt want to spend much money, and i wanted a gun that would last, and wouldnt break down on me, seeing as how the nearest place to get a gun serviced is 300 kilometers from here.
I had my eye on lots of different guns, such as the PMI e-force SRT, and the spyder pilot. Thats when my friend showed me the gun he was getting. The tippmann A-5. Immediately, i fell in love. I did endless research, and finally ordered it.

When it arrived, i took it out of the box. I have to say, this gun feels amazing to hold. You can tell its build like a tank.

The first thing that i did with my a-5 was field stip it. I wanted to know how all the internals work.

That night, i played with it. It felt great to have a gun that worked. This thing is fast, and it DOESNT CHOP! i was using cheap paint too! I seriously cant break balls with this thing.

The stock barrel is alright, but id say a new barrel would have to be your first upgrade. Im going with a 14" J&J Ceramic.

This gun has a wider profile than alot of guns, becuase of the cyclone feeder. This has yet to be a problem for me.

All in all, a great gun. I would definatly recommend it.
Conclusion: GET THIS GUN! DONT HESITATE! you will NOT regret it!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

csichiro51 Thursday, July 7th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
98 Custom
ION
VL Triad
VL Maxis
Marker Setup: Ion ND roller trigger, WGP QEV, Hybrid Feed Neck, Evil Driver
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Double Trigger
Regulator/ Low-Pressure Chamber
New Bottomline (Dropped)
Strengths: Cyclone Feed
Cheap
Looks
Upgrades
Durable
Pretty Good Accuracy
Weaknesses: Accuracy
Only Gravity Hopper
Review: I've used this gun a couple times. It has great distance on it's shots right out of the box. Plus the accuracy is pretty good too... From 50 feet away this gun shoots within about a 4 foot radius. As far as tournaments go, this gun will be able to enter some tournaments. After upgrades it will be better. Don't get the flatline system if you're entering in Xball tourneys.

Upgrades

Barrel
Trigger
Regulator
Conclusion: This is a great Tippmann gun. i like this gun it's good for scenario and for speed ball.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

lilbrokid Thursday, July 7th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
98 custom
Marker Setup: I will be getting a flat black ego
Empire b
Stiff! 12 inch
DYE throttle 68/4500
Recommended
Upgrades:
flatline
Strengths: Shoots far, very far
Weaknesses: Unrelibale
BIg and bulky
Many hopper hits
Complicated
Parts break
Chops
Review: This gun is a good gun for new players, because most new players stay in the back. The faltline is awesome. A little tip because i had one if u leave you flatline loosened up u can just turn it to take it off, and if you turn it side ways it will go strait down after about 50 feet so you can shoot over bunkers its pretty funny. Any ways this gun is fine if all you put on it is a flatline and a bolt, and if you dont take it apart. I took it apart a few times there is so many springs and crap u need like three people to hold them all down when ur putting it back together, it just splits in half. i got one as my first gun and it was good until i started hooken it up. I had a flatline a responce trigger a new regulator mod thing and it got too complicated. Every game something was going wrong i had proffesional airsmiths at my local shop that all used tippmans which suprised me. they couldnt figure it out i took it to get it fixed like 6 times. It would actually explode on me air would just start leaking everywhere. And if it did work it would chop all the time so dont buy all the accesories because they are overpriced and with that money you could by a wgp super stock or better. I loved that gun but there was to much to go wrong i ended up trading it to my local shop for a b2k bushmaster which is a good gun if you get an eye for it.
Conclusion: This gun is ok for new players but dont hook it up and buy all these parts to make it better they just break use that money for a better, smaller, faster gun. Just buy a flatline and maybe a delrin bolt thats it. I give the accesories a 1 lol
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
8 Comments - Add Comment

bigmouth12 Thursday, July 7th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
All Tippmann guns. A lot of Spyders. And other guns that i can't think of.
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 with response trigger and 14' J&J barrel.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Well it's all ready a very good gun but if anything it would have to be a trigger or a barrel.
Strengths: I shoots very good. Worth the money. Kicks A#$
Weaknesses: Nothing except that the cyclone feed uses a lot of CO2
Review: This gun is Sick. Has a low noise level. Can make it atomatic with out haveing to buy a electronic hopper. The trigger frame feels like your hand belongs holding the gun. The rear sight can be agusted to your fit. Easy to clean and oil. And hey it's a Tippmann.
Conclusion: If you are looking for a good woodsball gun that will last a long time with good performance. Get this gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

immortal Sunday, July 3rd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
shocker ion 98s free flow shocker ect
Marker Setup: this is what needed trust me! double response trigger and 14 or 12 inch tear drop barrel for speed ball flat line barrel for woodsball
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel RT anything u want for both types of paintball (woodsball,speedball)
Strengths: Ok stock barrel sclone feed saves buying fast hoppers
Weaknesses: Trigger is great and u haft to upgrade to make the gun cool
Review: I got the gun and played woodsball the next day i was unstopable played all day playin wit the a5 just makes u feel good knowing ur playin wit the best low end marker u can buy THE ONLY THINK IM tellin u is to upgrade if u want the best gun u can buy ok this gun is worth the buy.
Conclusion: Buy this gun if ur a hard core woods baller or a beiginer if ur a begginer upgrade to the the ion after a year or keep it and upgrade the hell out of it
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Firemage Saturday, July 2nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
M98c
Marker Setup: A-5 Mostly stock.
Front grip removed, (ordering a spec ops foregrip)
J&J 10'' on order.
CO2 20oz
Also considering a 30rd loader cap........
Recommended
Upgrades:
Horzontal foregrip.
Maybe a better barrel but the stock shoots just fine
Flatline barrel (if your a long range player)
A Firestorm Crank (cheeper than egrip or RT)

A remote and harness would also be nice to have.
Strengths: Will not Chop
Stock barrel works.
Iron Sights
Cyclone Feed
Weaknesses: Hard to clean paint out of the area between the feed and the gun.
Review: Well the A5 is my first gun, i had used my brother's M98c before and while it is a reliable gun, it had that annoying solid front grip. i perfer a horzontal front grip so the fact that i could remove the old on and get one step there was nice. The cyclone feed and it's never chop ability was also a great pull factor to me getting the marker.

Since i got my group has had 2 outtings, 4 of us use A5s 2 of them with flatline barrels. And two people have REAL weapons experaince (1 with stock the other has a flatline). Durring the outtings, the A5 provided good single shot shooting, and gave firepower on demand for supression. I use CO2 and while it can mess the gun up that's only if you try throwing up a wall of paint. It's much smarter to fire 1-2 shots per kill than 40 per kill. I tend to only use a bit of the hopper, so that's why i plan on getting the short loader cap.
Conclusion: A great unit, with alot of room to upgrade.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

froggy newb Saturday, July 2nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann 98 custom+flatline
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5
Response trigger
NW drop+ASA
palmer male regulator
16" SP progressive
14" dye excel
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel- J&J ceramic or teardrop/progressive
firepower upgrades (e-grip or RT)
hopefully a HPA tank, CO2 BLOWS, it freezes your gun if you use RT....:(
Strengths: The duribility
Personal upgrades, you can customize them a lot!
Cyclone feed
Weaknesses: The size, maybe if the cyclone feed system was smaller
Its heavy
Review: it matters what you play. if you play speed-ball....different story, that's when you go get a autococker or ion. this gun is best for rec-ball because it is very durable. i have used this marker for a year and i have broke a ball once! that was because i was using old paintballs. once you have a tippmann, you can customize it hella! like you can get stocks, horizontal front grips, barrel shrouds, crud like scenario stuff.

DO NOT GET THE FLATLINE BARREL
waste-o-money i have heard that people have good luck with it and stuff, but my flatline for me 98c blows whale chunks that barrel makes the balls curve so far you would not believe they go from straight to all the way left, right, up, down. maybe its good for shooting around bunkers or trees but these things are piles....me no like at all
Conclusion: Very good gun for wood playing, excellent feed system. this gun deserves a 9 for being well made
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (138):  First  |  50  |  51  |  52  |  53  |  54  |  55  |  56  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media