paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann A-5 / Tippmann A-5 / Tippmann A-5 / Tippmann A-5

Tippmann A-5 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann A-5

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann A-5
[ View Photos (246) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 1376
Average Rating: 9.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $272

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The All New Tippmann A-5 is a high performance paintball marker with the patented Cyclone Feed System. The Cyclone Feed System Links the Feeder Sprocket to the Air System. The Faster you shoot, the faster the Tippmann A-5 feeds. Pull the Trigger 15 times a second, and the Tippmann A-5 feeds 15 balls per second. The Tippmann A-5 is also easy to clean and maintain with its no tool field strip feature. Innovative technology, maximum firepower, unsurpassed accuracy and Tippmann durability are the core foundations of the all new Tippmann A-5.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann A-5 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (138):  First  |  53  |  54  |  55  |  56  |  57  |  58  |  59  |  Last
        Next Page
camac Thursday, May 26th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippy 98, pretty much every spyder, WGP
Marker Setup: a-5 w/ all american and hard stock
vexor eye, w/ teardrop barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel, I'm a big fan of smart parts
e-grip
if you feel like blowing a couple bucks get a hard stock. they look nice on this gun.
i also put a red dot sight on because it looks interesting. It doesn't really do anything tho...
Strengths: See review body.
Weaknesses: See review body.
Review: -pretty much unbreakable.
-looks very nasty if you put some more money into it.
-really, really accurate.
-i've heard people complain about C02 waste, but that hasn't been a problem with me, i find the C02 consumption to be excellent. oh well.
-cyclone feed is nice, my a-5 has never chopped in the feeder.

but...

- pain to clean.
- the hopper twists into the sight rail to you cant keep you sight calibrated and open your hopper.
-not good for speedball.
-C02 consuption is not bad, but not good.
-large front profile makes gun shots likely.
-you need to match your paint carefully to get good results with the stock barrel (buy a new barrel)
-gun is a bit heavy to carry for a while.
none of these are serious weaknesses tho... just peeves, i guess...
Conclusion: this is a very good gun. i upgraded to this from a brass eagle eradicator from walmart (haha, what a CRUMMY gun) and i was impressed. i am not a very good player, but i consistantly win games with 2-3 headshots every game. its the gun, because my friends use it sometimes and i use their 98s and spyders, and they perform well too. i would not say this gun is a sniper, because there is no such thing as a paintball sniper, but it is very very close. if you plan on playing speedball alot, i would recommend an electronic gun like an e-99 etc... but for woodsball, this gun is king.
9 out of 10

go buy it. now.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Kahuna1 Sunday, May 22nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Some what the 98 custom but the A-5 is much better gun.
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 w/Flatline barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Flatline
Strengths: Accuracy Durability and rate of fire.
Weaknesses: Eats gas but its not a big issue.
Review: I like the gun for woodsball. The flatline is a big advantage over any other barrel because of distance, distance, distance. This gun is good for scenario ball to because of all the upgrades you can buy for it. But over all on the basic part of the gun it is Accurate, Durable, good looks, and its got the cyclone feeder for a good rate of fire. Plus the ability to put a Flatline on it.
Conclusion: Very good gun for how much it cost plus if u got some xtra money u can customize to wat ever u want. ONLY down side is it eats gas.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SAAwes@aol.com Wednesday, May 18th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
None have cyclone. Used many markers though
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 with many upgrades:
E-grip,
Wicked air sportz equalizer board upgrade,
JCS deul trigger,
GTA double trigger,
Stainless steel screws, both airr tipps, and e-bay ones
Crossfire 70ci 4.5k psi peanut tank high output
Dye rhino tank cover 70ci peanut + fill nipple cover, and thread protector,
Flatline barrel *works well if you understand how to use it*,
Flatline quick disconnect stainless steel thumb knobs,
Stainless steel freak kit *all american 14" front, black*,
Custom flatline barrel condom, stock flatline barrel condom, and smart parts american flag barrel condom,
DOP rear velocity adjuster,

and a tool box that has everything you need for keeping JUST this gun up *including the oil*, and has all my stock parts, i dont throw anything out.... Oh and squeege's and straight shots just for this gun... I know im spoiled.

Above is just my love gun...

Backup gun *aka to lazy to clean my A-5 after i play gun*
Tippmann A-5
JJ ceramic Barrel
20oz (co2 i know but i dont care)





Recommended
Upgrades:
A new squeege LOL, but seriously the squeegee they give you just sucks.
A new barel, and maybe a n2 tank, Oh, and new allen wrenches, tippmann uses soft steel, its bad for your bolts, just go out and buy new ones or you'll be sorry, trust me
Strengths: Cyclone, good ROF good, MAintence good
Weaknesses: Barrel, and more see review paint
Review: Okay i got this a long time ago, love it beyond badness, wouldn't trade it for a shocker, but i did put over $900 into it... Cyclone wont chop, but will skip, with crappy paint it will manhandle it, but nothin' that good draxxus blaze cant do. Trigger is just cool, and i like the plastic polymers, make it lighter, and more comfortable in cold weather
FAST cycle rate for a mech, and good long life. consistancy w/ co2 is about +- 9-11 and w/ n2 on mine (new internals every season) is +- 2 no joke i crony'd it, i was shocked, my friends e mag was worse...

BAD: barrel Micro honed my ass, tippmann went cheap on allen wrenches, and squeege, oh and save the third largest one for the cyclone bolt if you get a new set, most aftermarket ones arn't long enough to get to the handle's bolt if you ever want to take it off. LIL' anoyed that on the grip nut i screwed and unscrewed it like 900 times LITERALLY, now the asa wiggles a bit, but only if i SHAKE THE GUN BY HOLDING THE TANK, but i have adhd so i had to buy a new one, now i never unscrew it again *not worth the $25 that i "DONATED' to tippmann if you know what i mean. Oh and 1 more thing, the paint is kinda bad, i hate to say it but it flakes off, and bubbles, it may be that on the one i run off of C02, the moisture gets underneath the paint when i shoot really fast and it cools down, but i rather have it anno'd...*edit* all newer a-5's come w/ a "newer Durable finish" which is true i've seen it and it looks like they sprayed some like rhino lining stuff on it, its awesome, but i'm still mad that mine boubles and flakes away...pretty soon my gun's gunna be just silver....then again its 2 years old...
Conclusion: PUT OVER 10k through it and i overhaul it just cause i can, but on my other gun i've not even oiled it for like 2 years, have rubbed shots off with my jersey thats the extent of the cleaning, and occasional dump in the creek, but otherwise it works fine, just put some care into it and it wont break, oh customer support is great, but thats not the gun, its the company... maybe they should add a new catogory : Company's low end (brass eagle) Company's High end (AGD, WGP) Company's OVERPRICED (WDP, BOB LONG) JUST KIDDN" not overpriced, *for the quality* but just pricey! Give her an 8 for the catagory, but when compared against a timmy a 3. pple stop rating stuff a 1 just because it cant match your SHOCKER, it wasn't MADE TO, but for what it was made to do it does it well. any questions? LATa
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Friday, July 8th, 2005 at 1:37 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Scorpiondogg Wednesday, May 18th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: A-5
Car stock
Smart Parts Progressive 16 in.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Car Stock
M-16 Barrel Kit
Sight rail
response trigger
Sling
Strengths: Accuracy
Speed
Fast rate of fire
Weaknesses: Gas hog
needs longer barrel
takes a while to take apart
Review: I recommend this marker cause you can get a lot of upgrades and very reliable. You need this gun out in the woods if you want to save you team. This is a wonder full gun. I am hoping to keep this gun for at least another 5 years. It is a good non electric gun. Because you don't have to charge it. And you don't have to worry about your marker going dead in the middle of a game.
Conclusion: This is worth the money. You should buy this gun. Its great for tournament play and woods ball.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Sgt Quackers Tuesday, May 17th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
98 custom, spyder e-99
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
-Flatline Barrel
-Car Stock
-Expansion Chamber
-32 Degrees Remote Line
Recommended
Upgrades:
Flatline
Expansion Chamber
Strengths: Accurate
Powerfull
Good Auto Loader
Fast Fire Rate
Mechanically Sound
Quick Disassemble and Clean
Weaknesses: None that I have seen
Review: I just recently got a A-5 but i have been using Tippmann's for years. I had used it about a year ago and i liked it alot. It fires fast, and is more powerful than the 98 custom. It is very accurate for the money. The auto loader works great. The mechanical system of the A-5 are very sound. It is very strong and built to last a long time.
Conclusion: Buy it if you are looking for a great gun for the money. It's a low priced marker but it can be made very good for a low price.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Mr. b10nDe Monday, May 16th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98c
Marker Setup: A-5, GTA response trigger, GTA x chamber, GTA flatline barrel, dead on double trigger, shocktech supa fly front bolt
Recommended
Upgrades:
Flatline barrel
Double Trigger
Response Trigger
X chamber
Strengths: Accurate
Fast
Few ball breaks
Owns auto cocker owners
Weaknesses: Somewhat of a gas hog
Review: This gun is so nice stock and with the proper upgrades it is one of the best guns for woodsball players and scenarios players. I went to this course and was playing with these guys that have uber expensive autocockers. Me with my A-5 took out like 4 of em in at least 5 rounds. They kept asking my what kind of gun do you have and I told em I had a tippman and they said no way. They were impressed that My gun was way better for like half the price of their autococker.

Only down fall somewhat of a gas hog but an x chamber can fix that if you use co2
Conclusion: Buy it, buy it, buy it, it is only like 280 with response trigger and boy o boy does it shoot fast and accurate
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

pbmylife Sunday, May 15th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
PRO/CARBINE
Marker Setup: CO2, RESPONSE TRIGGER
Recommended
Upgrades:
RT TRIGGER, FLATLINEBARREL
Strengths: No stop in the flow of paint
Weaknesses: Hopper, bulky
Review: THIS IS A VERY ACCURATE AND FAST. IT IS ALSO A VERY RELIABLE MARKER. PERFECT FOR BIGNNERS AND REC PLAYERS. ALSO THEY NEED FEW UPGRADES UNLIKE THE COCKERS. THE A-5'S ARE CHEAP WHEN IT COMES TOO REPAIRS. tHE A-5 CAN GIVE THE $1000 DYE MATRIX A RUN FOR IT'S MONEY. DONT THINK YOU NEED A EXPENCIVE COCKER OR ANGEL TO BE GOOD, THE A-5 WILL DO FINE.
Conclusion: This marker is cheap reliable and fast. If purchased from the correct retailer there might be a warranty.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, May 15th, 2005 at 6:47 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tippmannp8ntbal Friday, May 13th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann 98 custom
almost all high end and low end markers
Marker Setup: tippmann a-5 w/ a J/J , 32 degrees expansion, dbl. triggrer, drop forward

SP ion coming soon w/in the month
Recommended
Upgrades:
expansion chamber (to reduce "snow")
dbl. trigger
barrel you dont really need one
Strengths: physically and mechanically impossible to chop a ball (need I say more?)
decent stock parts
Weaknesses: Not that fast compared to higher ends
barrel threads
Review: I got this gun in april 0f 2004. when i first got it i was really exited. it felt good in my hands and the trigger pull was so much lighter and shorter than my brother's brass eagle. so i took it apart and cleaned the parts(way too many) ,oiled it up, put it back together and gassed it up. I started and was surprised to see how smooth it was firing. i put paintballs in it (marb's) and started shooting w/ it. it was very accurate for a stock barrel. it is advertised that it shoots 13 bps and at first i didnt belive it but if you fan you can hit it. i stated testing for accuracy after about 1000 balls(breaking in) and was surprised to see that i was hitting a 6 inch radius circle at about 35 yds.
the next day i went to my local feild and played a walk on. i was happy to see that with the stock barrel i could take ppl out off the break (150 ft.) i started with playing regular 2 on 2 and 3 on 3 but my gun was accurate and consistent so i started playing 2 on 1 games and winning then i tried a 3 on 1 on beat the 2 out of 3 games.
i know all you speedballers will say that im just a newb thats proud of his tippman , but i also have a shocker and am the team captain of the feild team at Team X-treme Paintball (dunkirk ny) all in all this is a good gun for a newb wanting to play paintball at his local feild and a great gun for a guy who loves woodsball. i'll give it a 9 cuz its easy to get hit in the cyclone feed system if youre shooting from the right side of your bunker
Conclusion: This is a good gun to get started with. decent rate of fire for a speedball newb and an exellent buy for a woodsballer who wants stock accuracy.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sTRAte^baller22 Friday, May 13th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: tippmann a-5
16 oz. co2
Recommended
Upgrades:
maybe the response trigger..but you dont have to have to have it but if you have about 75 bucks buy it..if ya dont..dont worry about it
Strengths: It shoots fast
Weaknesses: It's loud.
Review: its very very durable..it only weighs 3 pounds..its a great gun especially with the cyclone feed. The a-5 is the smoothest gun ive ever shot except for the fact its loud. thats the only problem..other than that you dont need a whole lot of upgrades if you want to make it a good gun..its awesome right out of the package..i didnt have any trouble with it at all. I highly recommend this gun.
Conclusion: Yes I strongly recommend this gun for anyone that wants to play competitively or just have some fun.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

hell_copter Friday, May 13th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
dragun m3
pirahna gt
spyder Victor 2
tippmann 98 custom
spyder fenix acs
ion
Marker Setup: red smart parts ion
47/3000 pure energy
evlution 2(stock)
Recommended
Upgrades:
hyper star bolt
egrip
jcs trigger
w.a.s board(comeing soon)
Strengths: Accurate
Good for scenario because of the looks
Weaknesses: Lot recoil
Very heavy
slow
Bad air efficiency
Review: This is an ok gun but there's lot better guns out there. Because its gas hog and its to heavy. but anyways the looks of the a-5 gun makes scenario rock. and i think any electric is better then this if you prefer speed ball. a-5 is heavy and i rather have something else except a victor because i like to play speedball. overall this is a great scenario mechanical paintball gun. when its stock its slow but if you get jcs trigger and egrip and w.a.s. board will make it shoot around 25 bps on semi which if fu ing fast.
Conclusion: Get it if you like to play woodsball and scenario type plays, Dont get it if you perfer to play speed ball.
Rating:
6 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, May 19th, 2005 at 10:19 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (138):  First  |  53  |  54  |  55  |  56  |  57  |  58  |  59  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media