paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann A-5 / Tippmann A-5 / Tippmann A-5 / Tippmann A-5

Tippmann A-5 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann A-5

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann A-5
[ View Photos (246) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 1376
Average Rating: 9.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $272

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The All New Tippmann A-5 is a high performance paintball marker with the patented Cyclone Feed System. The Cyclone Feed System Links the Feeder Sprocket to the Air System. The Faster you shoot, the faster the Tippmann A-5 feeds. Pull the Trigger 15 times a second, and the Tippmann A-5 feeds 15 balls per second. The Tippmann A-5 is also easy to clean and maintain with its no tool field strip feature. Innovative technology, maximum firepower, unsurpassed accuracy and Tippmann durability are the core foundations of the all new Tippmann A-5.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann A-5 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (138):  First  |  55  |  56  |  57  |  58  |  59  |  60  |  61  |  Last
        Next Page
Spencemo Monday, April 25th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
98 custom
Marker Setup: a-5
flatline
18" big daddy sniper barrel
Red dot scope
Upgraded hopper
Anit siphon tank
double trigger
E-grip
Recommended
Upgrades:
Flatline if u dont mind the inconsistancy
E-grip or RT
Strengths: Cyclone Feed!!!
Weaknesses: None
Review: i had an 98c for about 3 months and thought it was ok..then i used my friends a-5 with flatline..i got 4 people out that round in a time frame of about 1 min. I then decided to get the a-5 i love it. The a-5 is basically the 98c with a cyclone feed with a diffrent shape. I got the a-5 mostly for the flatline cause the flatline for the 98 in my opinion sux. I got my a-5 from paintball online and it was made from sum kind of durable plastic not the normal metal like material so i think i got ripped off..but the thing works like a charm and when i tried to disasembel it to put my double trigger on i could barley get the bolts off so i dont think its bad...id recoment the a-5 if ur a woods baller cause it gives u a extra edge u really need speed ball the a-5 with do good but not excilent
Conclusion: For the price ur basically paying for the cyclone feed cause like i said its basically a 98 with a cyclone feed..but it reduces chop and gives it a sleak look i only give it a 9 due to my crappy make
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jda2631 Sunday, April 24th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
98c - rental at local field
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
E-Grip
Flatline and dye 12" ultralite
Palmer Stabalizer
Carr Stock
Remote
Double Trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
NEW BARREL FIRST- recomend flatline or ultralite, if you dont want to spend the money get a j&j ceramic

E-grip
Strengths: Indestructable
Cyclone feed
Tippmann customer service is awesome
Weaknesses: The cyclone feed sticks out a little, but not as tall as vert feed guns
Review: This gun is amazing!! like i said, you need to get a new barrel the stock ist that good. But with the cyclone feed and decent balls, no brass eagle etc, you wont chop. I have the egrip and i turned it to turbo mode and unloaded a full hopper in roughly about 10-12 seconds, no breaks and all hit a 6" by 6" piece of wood about 50 ft away. I was amazed. With this gun you don't have to buy an expensive elctro hopper, and you cant out shoot the cyclone feed, that ive noticed i guess if you can somehow get into the like 20+bps range you might be able to but honestly who needs to shoot that fast? If you cant shoot someone in the 1-15 bps range you need to work on your accuracy. This gun is great for woodsball with the flatline- actually adds the distance but if you tilt the balls will veer off to one side- you can snipe most ppl. I was playing the other day and a guy was behind a bunker and he would pop and shoot at me, his balls were arcing and landing 10 ft in front of me and my shots with the flatline were shooting flat and hitting his bunker forcing him to stay down and eventually fall back to another bunker.
Conclusion: i highly recommend this gun to any woodsball player. If your mainly a speedball kind of guy i guess this gun will work-havent played but like 2-3 speedball games in my life. This gun with egrip and a good barrel is IMO prob the BEST woods ball gun you can buy. Plus there tons of upgrades and cool parts for this gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

THe K FACTOR Friday, April 22nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
98 custom, 98 flatline
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 dub trig, x chamber, rear velocity adjustor, lapco bigshot, EGRIP SOON TO COME!!!
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel and problly dub trig
Strengths: NEVER BREAKS DOWN, USe it in the cold, cyclone feed, fast, cool lookin
Weaknesses: Maybe a little bulky but no big deal
Review: THis thing is incredible, it may not be the fastest in the world but then agian if your into serious speedball u probably know that. ME and my friends play speedball and i do fine agianst electos! SAVE 80 bucks with the cyclone feed system!!! HAven't choped a single ball!
Conclusion: Buy this thing, it is the coolest thing on wheels.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Senses_Fail Thursday, April 21st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 custom
Marker Setup: Tippman A-5; Palmer Stabilizer; Lapco 14'' Big Shot Barrel; Bullet Drop Foward; Universal asa on/off; Rufus Dawg Double Trigger; E-grip; Supa Flu Bolt
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, Stabilizer this gun is a air hog, Responsive trigger or E-grip
Strengths: Cyclone Feed
Durability
Good Looking
Price$$$
Weaknesses: Air Hog
Review: This was my second gunm, and I love it. You can upgrade it to your own tastes, and much more. I use it mostly for woods ball so it takes a beating, and the only thing that has gone wrong with it is a few minor leaks, but after that was all sorted out it has never broke down or stoped working on me once
Conclusion: I would recomend this gun to any one starting out and intermediate players. But definetey upgrade to the E-Grip if you are into speed ball, and think about buying a double trigger with that also
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, April 21st, 2005 at 2:05 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

TheSpy11 Wednesday, April 20th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 - similar performance
Spyder E-99 - junk compared to the A-5
Spyder Victor 2 - much cheaper and much worse
2K2 WGP Autococker - slightly better than A-5
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
CenterFlag Reg.
Flatline
E-grip
R5
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel for accuracy
E-grip or RT for increased ROF
Flatline for longer range
R5 for a better hopper
Regulator
Anything else that you suits your fancy
Strengths: Cyclone feed
Easy to upgrade
Durability
Low profile
Cool looks
Weaknesses: Stock barrel is too short
Review: After playing with a 98 Custom and having frustration with a Spyder E-99, I needed a marker that would be capable of using the Flatline and being easy to upgrade. I decided on the A-5 and couldn't be happier.

Strengths:

~Cyclone feed: This feature is just the bomb! No more breaks, no need to upgrade the hopper, no batteries required, and lowers your profile immensely. It's just a perfect system in my mind. I've never had a chop because of he Cyclone, I'll never need to feed it batteries or worry about breaking, and I'll never have problems with a low ball count in the hopper. Just stick an R5 on it and it has more capacity and looks awesome. The Cyclone also saves money buy not having to buy an expensive loader.

Easy to upgrade:

Not only is the gun easy to upgrade, but the options are endless. Want a mil-sim look? Sure, there are plenty to choose from. Need speed? No problem, get an RT or E-grip and set it up. Want range? The Flatline is an excellent option. Regulator time? Easy, thanks to the vertical adapter. There is so many options and they're easy to install. Just find what you like and have fun with the customization.

Durability:

Everything on this marker screams quality and reliability. The internals are rock solid and never have problems. Liquid Co2 is no problem for the valve and o-rings. The A-5 just feels like it's a quality work. I've never had a break-down and I don't expect one any time in the near future. The Made-in-the-USA quality is something to be proud of.

Low profile:

This is thanks to the Cyclone. The A-5 is so short and that is very helpful in keeping the hopper down. The inline blow-back design also helps keep the marker short. I'd rather have a slightly longer gun with a short profile instead of having the loader way in the air like all the Spyders.

Looks:

The A-5 is very much like the MP-5: the gun it's designed and named after. From the cocking method and rear sight, to the foregrip and front sight. Everything makes for a package that's easy to hold and maneuver. The A-5 just feels great when you're playing with it and that is a plus in my book. I think it's the most intimidating gun there is and really like the look of it.

Weaknesses:

For one the stock barrel is too short. something a couple of inches longer would work much better. So the first thing to upgrade is the barrel. Another issue is the large profile of the Cyclone; it sticks out the right side a bit. This is a negative effect when shooting on the right side, but when shooting on the left side it brings hopper completely out of play for your opponent. It's kind of a plus/minus and equals itself out. The A-5 is just a mechanical gun so don't expect speed right away. The price is a little steep, but the Cyclone and USA manufacturing causes a higher price tag than the foreign, poorly made Spyders.
Conclusion: Buy it! The A-5 is built to last a long time, and if durability and ease of use is important, this marker is perfect. I really don't have any regrets about buying this and I highly recommend it to anyone looking for a fun marker.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

DominicanOps Monday, April 18th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
98 custom (Rental), Impulse
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 w/ RT, FL, Lapco Uni. Adapter, Psychoballistics DF, 20 oz Co2
Recommended
Upgrades:
Flatline......a must, stock barrel is garbage.
Strengths: Durable, Reliable, Cyclone Feed, Flagship of woods/rec ball, simple
Weaknesses: Bulky (NOT good for speedball)
Review: I got this thing because it has a legendary reputation for being a marker that is extremely durable and reliable. I have a flatline on mine and wow, it performs amazingly. Maintainence is a breeze on this thing.

The cyclone is also freaking sick as hell. The whole day I played not one ball chopped during the play. I was talking alot of smack and the tippmann delievered on all of it, especially the Flatline. This is a great gun to get but it needs upgrades right away, and you will notice after a period of time with thing.

So easy to field strip and clean this thing!! I love it, and especially as a noob the last thing I want to deal with is all those high tech fancy equipment that come from other markers. You'll see the amount of people that have this gun next time you go to your local field.
Conclusion: An excellent marker for your money. Period. If you play speedball, steer away, if your rec ball player or woods, consider this the flagship of the woodsball experience. I give it a ten out of ten because I am only a woods player and it does its job in the woods flawlessly.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

hudson633 Friday, April 15th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
None really unless Inferno's count
Marker Setup: Viewloader Orion, Pt pistol, Tippmann A-5, Brass Eagle Blade
Recommended
Upgrades:
Flatline barrel
Strengths: Woodsball looks, feed sprocket, dual handles
Weaknesses: No big ones
Review: I havent had it for long but i've used it abit now and it dose the job i need as a scenario player. Its got the fast fire rate i need without buying a decent hopper along with accuracy that outmatches the field markers.

The stock barrel needs to be replaced either by a flatline for scenario players or whats best is a Dye Boomstick probally. Theres a tube connection from the rear right side of the marker which connects to the feed sprocket to power the wheel which needs gas, and this tube is weak and i imagine if it was hit by a paintball it would easily break so i'm not sure about what to do about it.

It comes stock with a response trigger that when you pull it once it will push the trigger back so its less work for your finger and if you apply only alittle ammount of pressure the response bar will knock back and fourth giving you full auto at somthing like 10 bps. The squidgee that comes with it can be inserted into a key ring type thing at the back which wont let it fall out easily.

Every time you pull the trigger the feed sprocket turns round once forcing a paintball into the chamber but it wont damage the paintballs, if your running low on gas the sprocket wont rotate and you have to end up doing it yourself every shot untill you run out of gas completely.

Its cocking device needs to be cocked all the time while it has gas inside it because you can hear the gas escaping otherwise, the cocking handle itself dosn't move when its fired (i think) which is only a good thing. Theres an aiming sight on the top which has 4 indents and actually works as well as looks cool but if you dont like it it can be removed, the front handle can be adjusted forward and back as well as being removeable.

There are many accesories for this marker and i got it for a bargain at £170 when i found it in other online shops for £270 up to £320! So shop around if your thinking about buying one, thats pretty much it i think.
Conclusion: I give this marker an 8/10 becasue its accuracy could be improved and that tube on the side could be inside the marker instead of outside.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

678wer Thursday, April 14th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
SPYDER XTRA (NO COMPARISON)
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
12" J&J Ceramic
20oz co2(soon to be HPA)
RESPONSE TRIGGER COMING SOON!!!!!!!!
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel( but hey, this goes w/ every marker(w/ few exceptions)!!)
HPA
Flatline
The new Richochet hopper for the A-5, it looks cooler and holds 230+ rounds of paint.
Response tigger or the E-Grip
Strengths: ~Speed
~Chopping(like, none)
~Looks
~Reliability
Weaknesses: Umm........................
Stock Barrel is a little on the crummy side.
Review: Hello all you sorry, bored paintballers who are trying to satisfy their craving to play paintball buy lookig and drooling at the $2000+ markers on here.
Well, I am not going to write a review on a Worr Cocker or anything like that, rather, the TIPPMANN A-5

Srtengths :

SPEED : The A-5 can shoot them balls pretty darn fast, faster then your average gun, and plus, since you can't chop, you can shoot fast, and not worry.

Chopping : The A-5 (literally0 cannot chop. The cyclone system pre-chambers each round, and w/ that there, u can't chop.

Looks : Kinda like a submachine gun........................Sry parents.............

Reliability : I mean, come on, have you ever broken a Tippy?
My friend took his tippy 98, thru it against a brick wall,(I know, he's pretty dumb) picked it up, and began to play w/ it.

WEAKNESSES :
None, except I would recommend replacing the stock barrel. It is a little on the loud side, and it makes the A-5 sound like a cannon.


Conclusion: For $250, the A-5 is a good buy, good looks, reliabilty, speed, anti-chop (that rivals the expensive e-eyes), and easy to upgrade, the A-5 is one of the best buys.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

soup in barrel Wednesday, April 13th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Custom, spyders
Marker Setup: 98 custom
whisper barrel
primer expansion chamber
double trigger
medium bullet drop on/off
VL 12v revolution hopper
PMI 72ci 3000psi tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel, R-5 hopper, e-grip, double trigger, lp kit.
Strengths: Field stoppable, accurate, power-feed, durable, fast
Weaknesses: Gas hog, bulky, heavy
Review: This is my friends marker that he got about a year ago. he has a whisper barrel, R-5 hopper, and an e-grip on it. the good thing about this marker is that you can actually fealdstrip it w/out any tools. the accuracy on this thing is also very good, my friend loves to shoot long range so he is in the back, he can use his accuracy to his advantage to get the kill. from about 50 ft we get it (with out aiming) in a circle of about 1.5 ft. this is with his whisper barrel. for his marker you don't need to buy a motorized hopper because of the power feed. he can really rip with it. the only problem with the power feed is that it sticks out making a bigger target.

the only things he doesn't like about it is that it uses a lot of air. he is planning on getting a lp kit but doesn't likes how it looks.
Conclusion: I do like it but the custom is just abut the same. it is a very good marker and you should get it if you can afford it.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pistolpete11 Wednesday, April 13th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98
Other assorted blowbacks
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 with Progressive Barrel, E-Grip with JCS Duel Trigger, and R-5 Hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
E-Grip need for speed
New barrel, stock isn't great
Get a LPR kit although I dont have one it seems like its needed to make it more efficient.
Strengths: Accuracy
Range
Durability
Cyclone Feed (also a weakness)
Upgrades
Weaknesses: Cyclone Feed
Speed (until upgraded)
Trigger
Gas Hog
Large Profile (lots of gun/hopper hits)
Review: I received this gun after saving all money to buy one. With not much money I thought ths would be the best gun for me. I brought it home and took out my target to shoot at outside. I screwed in my 20 ounce CO2 tank (i now use nitro because i have other guns) and got ready to shoot it. I found it funny when i screwed in my CO2 it sounded like the gun flatuated, but anyway on with the review. I loaded my stock A-5 with RPS Marbalizers, and picked up the gun. I laced about 10 paintballs then stopped to look at how i hit from 60 feet away. The paintballs seemed to b all in the same area and the reason some winged could have been the fact of me not being able to completely control the recoil. This is why I think a low pressure kit would really help out the accuracy of this thing. I took it onto the field for the first day of play and it was after I got my E-Grip. This thing absolutly rips now. My first game in scenario ball, I took out 5 of their 8 players. Although there are many positives, negatives come with all guns. Yes although the cyclone feed will almost not allow you to chop in any way what so ever, it hogs gas horribly. I get around 700 shots out of a 20 ounce co2 tank. Also the cyclone feed makes for a big target to hit when im tryin to peek around a bunker. I also dont like the single-finger trigger which is more like an army gun but it makes for no speed. But overall this gun makes for an upgradable intermediate mechanical gun.
Conclusion: I believe that if you're lookin for a gun to step up your game in the woods or that you can upgrade for speedball, this is a good gun. But dont buy this if you refuse to upgrade it, if you dont upgrade it it will not reach its full potential. I give it a 9 with the upgrades ive added onto it.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (138):  First  |  55  |  56  |  57  |  58  |  59  |  60  |  61  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media