paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann A-5 / Tippmann A-5 / Tippmann A-5 / Tippmann A-5

Tippmann A-5 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann A-5

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann A-5
[ View Photos (246) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 1376
Average Rating: 9.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $272

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The All New Tippmann A-5 is a high performance paintball marker with the patented Cyclone Feed System. The Cyclone Feed System Links the Feeder Sprocket to the Air System. The Faster you shoot, the faster the Tippmann A-5 feeds. Pull the Trigger 15 times a second, and the Tippmann A-5 feeds 15 balls per second. The Tippmann A-5 is also easy to clean and maintain with its no tool field strip feature. Innovative technology, maximum firepower, unsurpassed accuracy and Tippmann durability are the core foundations of the all new Tippmann A-5.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann A-5 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (138):  First  |  56  |  57  |  58  |  59  |  60  |  61  |  62  |  Last
        Next Page
killerprodigy Tuesday, April 12th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
tippman 98 custom
Marker Setup: Kingman Spyder E99 w/ 14 inch 32 degrees whisper barrel, ricochet 2k hopper. Tippmann A-5 w/ Crossfire compressed air system
Recommended
Upgrades:
comp air/ nitro, a more accurate barrel
Strengths: Tough, reliable, on comp air its good for all player positions in speedball, customizable
Weaknesses: Worthless on c02, rather long gun putting a long barrel can make it awkward
Review: this is short and sweet.

its worthless on c02, i mean WORTHLESS. dont argue with me cuz the first day i used it, i used c02. and thats the first time ive ever played a day of pb without at least 20 eliminations. WORTHLESS. on nitro...weeeeellll thats a whole different story. on my crossfire air tank it shot as well as one of those new trilogy autocockers, which was a surprise to me. a pleasant one at that. on the other hand if you are using c02 i suggest an expansion chamber and a better barrel. the trigger is a little stiff which makes fast firing a bit of a chore, and im not buying a 200 dollar eframe or that worthless response trigger (watch me get flamed for that), regardless, i bought it as a back up gun for my e99, which has had its eboard tweaked...ironically my e99 decided to go insane and give me velocity jumps from 280 to 160...anyway, if ur looking for a nice tough reliable gun.....get something cheaper, for the price of an A-5 u can get a smart parts ion or diablo wrath. but that doesnt change the fact that the A-5 is a great gun, buy it and use comp air/nitro, or you will be greatly disappointed
Conclusion: Buy it, use comp air/nitro, if its ur primary weapon...customize the crap out of it
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

rmcguinn Sunday, April 10th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
umm the 98 custom but this is way better!
Marker Setup: a-5 with rt, scope, ultralite, stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
14' ultralite, rt if you don't play tournaments but if you do get the e-grip and a stock (it is way easier to aim and is more comfortable)
Strengths: It has a aimer that lines up the sight pretty good and is accurate
Weaknesses: Well it's kinda heavy but that doesn't bother me
Review: This is a great gun for woodsball and maybe speedball. If you are going to be an assault BUT IF YOU ARE A SNIPER DON'T GET THIS GUN (GET A 98 CUSTOM) the reason I say this is because it's well over too much hopper pull for a sniper and it's way more pull than the 98 and is more $$$, you don't need that fast of a pull with a hopper unless you are going to be an assault, unless your like me and play sniper and assault then get a a-5 with ultralite, scope (just a cheepy), stock (this can be very helpful), and then you have the ultamate woodsball gun, which means you now can stay back in some bushes while your your assaults (fronts) charge forward and you can stay back and pick off people 200 ft away or charge the enemy on a ambush flank with you automatic sniper!!!
Conclusion: Get this if your an assault but if you a sniper get the 98 custom and mod that crap outta that thing!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, April 11th, 2005 at 8:21 am PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

kevkid Sunday, April 10th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: tippmann A5, Stiffi carbon fiber barrel, brass eagle sight, psycho ballistics double trigger, shocktech dropforward, extended front grip, response trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
1. front grip, stock is too short and becomes irritating
2. new barrel, again stock is too short only 8 inches
3. E-Grip, once you have this you will own the field
Strengths: 1. 60 second field strip
2. Cyclone feed system
3. Can be extensively customized
Weaknesses: 1. Cyclone needs to be carefully cleaned out
2. Cyclone takes a lot of hits
Review: I like this gun. it is very reliable and needs no electric hopper(obviously). this was my second gun my first was a brass eagle blade but that got old fast. so a lot of my friends had 98 customs and im the one that wants one up on every one, so i got the A5 and started upgrading it immediately. this is a great reliable gun and is a great first or second gun.
Conclusion: I give this gun a 9 out of ten. The only reason that its not a ten is that i have constantly been called out for a hit on the cyclone that bulges out from the side, but it does serve a purpose. best for woodsball.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, May 2nd, 2005 at 8:07 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

chrisleavy25 Sunday, April 10th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 custom
Marker Setup: Response Trigger
Dye 14 inch Xcel Barrel
68ci 3000psi crossfire
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel and Response Trigger
Strengths: Durable, upgradable, easy to clean.
Weaknesses: The cyclone is big, kind of heavy
Review: This gun is probably the best woods gun you can buy it has never jammed or broken. The hopper isn't that great but the cyclone never chops. Stock barrel is really bad and loud. The A-5 sucks for speedball without a response it should definatley be one of the first things you buy with the gun.
Conclusion: I really recomend this gun if you mainly play woods but its a little to big for speedball.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, April 10th, 2005 at 7:11 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

younggun119 Sunday, April 10th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann Model 98
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5
Flatline
DOP Drop Forward
Crossfire 68/3k nitro
DOP RVA
Recommended
Upgrades:
Nitrogen/ Bigger Tanks
Flatline
Strengths: Easy Field Strip
Cyclone Feed
Durable
Easy to maintain
Weaknesses: Heavier than 98C
Air Hog
Review: I bought this in April 2004 with some money I had saved up. I got it and when I played the only thing I had to do was put on my hopper and tank. I didnt have to "tweak" it before I had to play. This gun, you dont have to take every screw out and waste about 20 - 30 minutes to fix or clean your internals. On the A5, all you have to do is pop two pins out @ the rear of the gun and all you have to do is pull everything out. Its cuts probably 15 - 20 minutes. The cyclone feed is one of the greatest but one of the worst creations made by tippmann. It is great because this makes sure that a ball always goes through the gun until you get to your last ten shots when you might get a couple of spaces in the cyclone that are empty. However, the gun goes through so much air due to the cyclone feed. It is powered by the air you shoot which makes it go through more air than the 98c. It is overall light until you start adding products such as the flatline, drop forwards, and nitrogen tanks. Its still not extremely heavy though.
Conclusion: I would recommend you to get this gun. It is a great gun.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ghilliesnipe Sunday, April 10th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
98c/flatline/rt/palmers/scope(was my marker before)
Marker Setup: A5/flatline/rt/palmers male/jcs rva/maddman spring kit/lapco side mount rail/3-9x32mm scope/20 oz co2
Recommended
Upgrades:
crossfire HPA maybe a lpk
Strengths: Durability, flatline, rt, cyclone, reliability(except the ratchet) no batterries rapid fire
Weaknesses: Weight, size, loudness, kick, ratchet is breakable, cyclone blends brittle paint.
Review: Well first of all, I have shot about 3000 rnds through this. Over 1000 in 2 seperate game days. Except for blending one batch of brittle paint, this gun has performed flawlessly. It is everything I wanted out of my 98c, but could not get. The first part of my review will compare it to my old 98c along a number of metrics. The second will be to compare it to other guns in the same $200-$400 price range along the same metrics.

Part 1 compared to the 98c. I gave the 98c an "8", so I will start from there.
Size- same
Weight- same once you put an electronic hopper on the 98
Durability- feels a little weaker. -.5pt
Reliability- the ratchet makes it less reliable slightly. -.5pt
Upgradability- the A5 is much easier to upgrade. +1pt
Field strippability- the A5 is much easier to field strip, but you shouldnt have to. +.5pt
Firepower- The cyclone makes it almost impossible to chop, RT and egrip readily available. +1pt
Flatline barrel- the flatline for the A5 is better in every way except range.(see seperate flatline review soon to come) +1
Price- the A5 is more even if you consider the price of a $50 hopper for the 98c(apache) -.5pt
Total -.5-.5+1+.5+1-.5(+1for better flatline)=+2 8(for the 98) +2= 10

Part 2 compared to other guns in the $200-$400 price range(autocockers, wrath, bko, ion) Starting at a 10 for best and going from there.

Size- A5 is bigger -1pt
Weight- A5 is heavier -1pt
Durability- A5 is at least as durable as these, possibly more so. +.5pt
Reliability- A5 almost for sure has them all beat +1pt
Upgradability- The A5 is at least as upgradable as any of these. +0
Field strippability- the A5 is probably not as field strippable as the best of these, even a spyder has it beat, but with the A5, you shouldnt need to. -.5pt
Firepower- Most of these other guns have the A5 beat here. -1pt
Flatline barrel- the fact that it is available is a nice option. +.5pt
Price-N/A since I am comparing it to other guns in the same price range.
Total= -1-1+.5+1-.5-1+.5= 8.5

I will update this review when necessary.
Conclusion: For Woodsball, it is the gun to get. 10
For speedball, get something else. 8
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tippya5 Saturday, April 9th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
98 custom vl traid
Marker Setup: a5 progressive barrel 20oz soon to come 68 or 92 ci crossfire 4500 nitro tank and rt and freak barrel kit
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel stock is ok but i dont like it
Strengths: Fast reliable has a cyclone made by tippmann and tons of upgrades for it
Weaknesses: Sould be w little faster but nothing elese cuz this gun i great
Review: So my dad bought me this for chrismas and the morning i got it i went outside and shot about 100 balls througt the stock barrel and had no chops and it was only 20 degees. then in january i got my progessive barrel and couldent be happier cuz its just awsome for only 35 dollars. then over spring break i went to splatter park wit my friends and had a great tim cuz the a5 proforms so well and had only 1 chop when it was 50 degrees out of 2000
Conclusion: Buy this gun but get a new brrel i recomend smartparts i promise thisgun wont let you down
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Cory-Smith Wednesday, March 30th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann Model 98, its a very good gun but the A-5 is a whole lot better.
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
- E Grip
-Expansion Chamber
-Psychoballistics Z Drop Forward
-B-16 Tactical Car Stock
-Empre Twister Barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Its GREAT right out of the box, but is a whole lot better with an E Grip.
Strengths: The durability, and reliability.
Weaknesses: Uses to much air.
Review: I got my A-5 for christmas last year. I have used it countless times and it has always done a very good job. I got the A-5 instead of alot of other guns that are considered better for a couple of reasons. The A-5 is extremely durible and reliable. What I mean by that is, the A-5 can be dropped and buried in mud and will still work. Its very very durable. Also its reliable, the gun is very accurate and actually pretty fast. What I mean by that is that the A-5 is really ment for players who play woodsball, or just someone who goes out on the weekend and playes with his buddys. The gun is also pretty cheap which was another reason I got it. The A-5 is definitally worth the money, and the great thing is that you don't have to buy an expensive hopper for it since it has a loader built in. Also if you want to add on to your gun, you can buy a number of products to make your gun preform better or just make it look cool.
The A-5 is a great gun, and its definatlly worth the money.
Conclusion: I recommend this product to someone who just likes to go out and play paintball. Its a great gun for someone who just goes and plays with their buddys on the weekends.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Niero Tuesday, March 29th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
None similar but I have used:
AutoMag
Assorted Rentals (98's, Piranha, etc)
Marker Setup: A-5 - $230
12" J&J Ceramic - $40
Apache Ricochet Hopper - $12
20oz CO2 - $25
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Perhaps RT or E-Grip if you wants speed
Strengths: -It just plain works
-Cyclone feed is godly
-Comfortable and sturdy
Weaknesses: -Long, not for speedball
-Hard to shoot in off-hand
Review: I picked up my A-5 at the beginning of this year. I am a paintball noob for the most part, only gone on a couple of company sponsored outings before. A friend of mine had just recently really gotten into it and he finally convinced me to get my own gear.

I hit the net to read reviews and research the best bang for my buck. I knew I didn't want to spend more than $300 on a marker, not right away anyway =)

After reading all the reviews here, and all over the net, and talking to my local shops the A-5 was the CLEAR leader. While alot of people who use $1,000+ markers bag on anything mechanical I have never heard anyone say anything bad about what you get from Tippmann for your money, ever. The A-5 is no exception.

If you are going to go buy a mechanical marker this is the best in my opinion. It is NOT an Angel or a Timmy, and on the speedball fields you WILL likely be outgunned by people with guns made for it. However, I have only been playing seriously for about 4 months and I can hold my own on any field that isn't a tiny air field (then i just feel like I can't throw enough paint or bring it in tight enough).

As of this writing I have put over 8,000 rounds through my A-5 and have had ZERO breaks! That is right None, Zero, Zip, Zilch. The cyclone feed has never not had a ball waiting for me when I pulled the trigger. I have gotten pretty good at pulling the trigger so fast people often ask me, "Is that an RT on there?", so I know the cyclone can load way faster than I could ever pull the trigger. I am about to pick up the E-Grip and a double trigger to really put it to the test ;) (I'll update here when I do).

It feels solid, and I have not had a single problem with it yet. I did swap out the barrel and the hopper, the stock barrel is really not that great, you will most likely notice an improvement in accuracy/consistency with whatever barrel you upgrade to. I have been very happy with my 12" J&J Ceramic. I picked up the Ricochet hopper because it gets rid of the huge flat paintball target on the front of the stock hopper, and since you will likely be leaning out to the right of a bunker alot no sense in giving them more area to hit.

As I said, I will be picking up the E-Grip and Double Trigger soon, as well a Flatline barrel. There are a couple fields I usually play at that has people who just "lob" paint into the air from the otherside hoping it comes down on someone and they don't really hide behind much since they are mostly out of range, I am tweaking my A-5 to fix that problem through ROF and the added distance of the Flatline (I have seen it with my own eyes, it does shoot farther).

I'll update this review as time goes on and I get more upgrades =)
Conclusion: I would recommend for anyone on the line not to hesitate. I have been nothing but happy with it. While I think I will likely pick up a high-end electro if I stay as addicted as I am now, I will always keep my A-5 as a back up and/or range weapon for the big fields. I a rating it a 9 only because I feel like 10 should only be used in extreme cases, but for the dollar range this marker is the best out there.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

a5-ulegrip Saturday, March 26th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Angel Lcd 2k3 w/ jam bolt.
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 with drop forward and reg.... Ultra light barrel, e grip, blade double trigger, soon to have stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
reg, drop is helpful, e grip or response for that matter.
Strengths: Great for woods ball
Very sturdy and strong
Looks and feels like real gun
Weaknesses: >
None really that ive found.
Review: This is a great marker to use. I have had mine for a year now and still love the way i did when i first got it. If you like wooods ball and want somthing reliable to use:this is the marker for you. It is so reliable that u could drop it in a lil creek, pick it up and shoot with it ... unlike other guns such as cockers or somthing that would be screwed up..... another thing you dont have to be worried about this marker is that u dont have to go out and buy some super expensive hopper that is heavy and sticks out when u could just have the stock hopper bc everything is in the cyclone feed system. Ive also heard that there coming out with new hardware for the cyclone and egrip so you can have maxd rof..
Conclusion: Over all I think this marker is one of the best made.. the A5 blows away the 98 custom or model 98.. this gun was designed for winning so if you want to win go out and buy it....
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (138):  First  |  56  |  57  |  58  |  59  |  60  |  61  |  62  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media