paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann A-5 / Tippmann A-5 / Tippmann A-5 / Tippmann A-5

Tippmann A-5 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann A-5

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann A-5
[ View Photos (246) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 1376
Average Rating: 9.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $272

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The All New Tippmann A-5 is a high performance paintball marker with the patented Cyclone Feed System. The Cyclone Feed System Links the Feeder Sprocket to the Air System. The Faster you shoot, the faster the Tippmann A-5 feeds. Pull the Trigger 15 times a second, and the Tippmann A-5 feeds 15 balls per second. The Tippmann A-5 is also easy to clean and maintain with its no tool field strip feature. Innovative technology, maximum firepower, unsurpassed accuracy and Tippmann durability are the core foundations of the all new Tippmann A-5.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann A-5 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (138):  First  |  57  |  58  |  59  |  60  |  61  |  62  |  63  |  Last
        Next Page
drixx Friday, March 25th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
PI E-2 Black Dragun.
Piranhas
Armotech Zeus G2
Marker Setup: Primary:
Tippman A-5
Lapco Drop Forward Adapter
Pure Energy Flame Drop
DuckBill ASA

Secondary:
Armotech Zeus G2
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel, Stock, MP5 style barrel, Magazine kit, Responsive Trigger.
Strengths: Very durable marker.
Awesome trigger pull.
Cyclone feed.
Weight
Upgradability
Weaknesses: Barrel is OK, but I would change it. That is all....
Review: So yeah, I bought this marker a few days ago. I'm very impressed. Screwed on the tank, there was a minor leak on the ASA, that was my fault, forgot the teflon tape when I upgraded it. Weight is great, not too lite, not too heavy. Cyclone feed never broke a ball. Easy field stripping.
Conclusion: Highly Reccomended, Very upgradeable.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tippmandude14 Friday, March 25th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98c-about the same.
Marker Setup: Tippman 98c (black)
16 inch nyte stick barrel
expansion chamber
macro line kit (black)
6 inch psyco ballistic drop forward
(bought a double trigger but it didn't fit)
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel
Strengths: fast-15 BPS
accurate with new barrel
quite
Weaknesses: Stock barrel sucks.
Review: Two kids that I know who are twins have the same guns. They have A-5s with flatlines, expansion chamber, sights, and drop forwards. this gun shoots very well with the flatline. The balls do travel about 100 ft more. When i shot this gun i aimed at a tree about 150 ft away and nailed it 3 out of 3 times. This gun is very good in the woods and can be good for speed ball if it has upgrades.
Conclusion: This gun is great for the woods. If you are a woods ball player of a scenario player get this gun! I would give it a 9.5 but i can't so i give it a 10.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Adam-Bomb Thursday, March 24th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Shutter, A5 much better!
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5 flatline with drop forward and nitro tank.sweet!
Recommended
Upgrades:
Flatline barrel nitro tank.
Strengths: Very strong gun, durable, awesome gun.
Weaknesses: Nothing at all.
Review: Great gun strong and durable. this gun is very very comfortable especially the grip frame! I suggest getting a new barrel, the flatline is an awesome barrel very accurate
and great distance. should get a nitro tank this gun is a gas hog. this gun can keep up with the spyder fenix and some autocockers.
Conclusion: This is a great gun for for rec ball or possibly speedball. get this gun if you you feel
like dominating the others.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

captinron32 Tuesday, March 22nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Numerous Pirahnas
Tippy 98 Custom
Numerous Spyders
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5
CP 14 In.
Dead On Paintball Double Trigger
Dead On Paintball Foregrip
Pure Energy 20 Oz. Tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Double Trigger ** Barrel ** Foregrip if your hands dont fit
Strengths: + Fast Firing
+ Cyclone Feed
+ Strong componets
Weaknesses: - Stock Barrel (All are)

- Stock Trigger (Single Only)
Review: LOOKS---
This gun has a real cool look to it. It has the look that can be used in simulation games. The Cyclone gives it a different look that will get you noticed on the field.

FEEL---
The feel is very balanced you are able to snap shoot very easily with this gun. The trigger pull is very light. Able to let off high amounts of paint with a Machanical. RECCOMENDED to get a DOUBLE TRIGGER for even faster rate of fire.

FIRING(Cyclone Feed) ---
As said above the gun is great when firing. You are able to let off large amounts of paint without an electric frame. Also the Cyclone Feed allows you to not ever chop paint. Ive fired my A5 through about 5 cases of paint and havent broken a ball. Its nearly impossible to do unless you have broken your gun and are loading through some other way. Some say that it eats up allot of gas. It does a little because the feeding system is connected the air system. Air is diverted to the feed system. The gun loads a ball everytime the trigger is pulled so if you pull the trigger as fast as you can you wont break a ball.
Conclusion: The gun is AMAZING great for all types of games including- Hyperball, Speedball,Sup Air (use mine with this game and I own the field even when Angels and Timmys are on the field) woodsball. The gun is great for all begginners through advanced players reccommended to all.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, April 8th, 2005 at 7:04 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unreal Insanity Tuesday, March 22nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
I've used Spyder Fenix/Imagine markers, and they dont compare to the Tippman A-5
Marker Setup: TIppman A-5, Tippman Werks Barrel, M-4 Scenario Kit, and Crossfire 68ci/3000psi tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Always the barrel of course. I can't think of any other parts, maybe the bolt.
Strengths: Accuracy
Price
easy maintenance
Undestructable
Unlimited upgrades
Weaknesses: A little loud.
Review: -Strength-
The Tippman A-5 is a well engineered marker with all an average paintball player needs. The price is unbeatable and the liability on the marker is outstanding. The handling is great. The best part about this gun is the cyclone feed. Save alot of money instead of buying electro hoppers.

-Weakness-
Barrel is obviously a weakness, breaks paint and its a little loud. And upgraded barrel is a must. The hopper is a little bulky, but its not a big deal.

Overall
The gun is worth every penny.
Conclusion: I have nothing else to say but to buy this marker. Its well priced and you can't possibly go wrong with. Its perfect for rec play. I have to give this gun a 10, because Ive seen other markers get damaged way before mines ever get a slight jam. NOt to mention its accuracy and performance is outstanding. Get yourself one, and you will see the results.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

shotsomeone Sunday, March 20th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
brass eagle eradicator
Marker Setup: tiippmann a-5 all stock 16 ounceCo2 tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel definatley
Strengths: Cyclone feed
Loudness
Lots of upgrades

Weaknesses: Stock barrel
Maybe the hopper
Review: Ok lemme start of by saying this. I got my A-5 for my b-day and i think its an amazing marker. First the good

The marker cyclone feed is awesome!! i cant stress this enough. I spit alot of paint when i shoot and i haven't had a single ball break. It uses extra air to power the feed system so however fast you shot is however fast it responds.

To some this is a weakness but i love loud markers. scares newbies even you are one and puts a new dimension on the way you look at the gun. some say this is bad because it gives of your position, but chances are your enemy already knows were you are, besides a barrel with more holes may quiet it alittle. who cares though. and by the time your enemy hears it they'll be covered in paint

lastly upgrades on this marker is endless, ive seen more upgrades on this marker than any other. every were i go i see some upgrade fo the a-5. personally though i like the custom 98 flatline barrel more than the a-5 version so maybe tippmann can do something about that. seriously though, no matter how you play this marker can conform to your needs. want to be fast get a response trigger or an e-grip. want to shot farther get the flatline, want to be a scenario player bust out the commando and ranger upgrades.


Now for the bad yes there are problems with the a-5. ITS NOT PERFECT!!! First thing anyone will tell you is the barrel is horrible. at first i thought it was all lies but its not. the barrel is bad. only because you cant get much distance on it. but then again that's why there's so many upgrades. however sometimes its not just the accuracy but how the barrel is made. were the holes were drilled on mine there are some pieces left over and it rips paint. causing it mainly to break. first i though it was chopping but later finding out it was the barrel. but this is a easy problem to fix so don't worry about.

no for the biggest complaint the size of the hopper. i looked at a halo b hopper and made a comparison and they are no bigger. the a-5 just presents more area to hit. i played air-ball and hyper-ball and the area that took the most hits was my hopper. however if you know how to play right then this can be avoided but not completely.

Conclusion: In conclusion this is a great marker its overall the greatest tippmann marker ever. i prefer it over the 98 due to the fact there's more to do with it and it also looks way cooler. so if your wanting a good starter marker or something for scenario or woods-ball this is the marker for you.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

wolfpack64 Sunday, March 20th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
All Tippmanns, Spyders and Spyder clones, Vm68, PMI 3, Draguns, Stingrays, Bushmasters, etc.
Marker Setup: Custom 98. w/ RT and many upgrades and mods, Dragun Tes w/ upgrades. Phantom w/ 14in ported CCI. barrel, A-5, Bloodsucker, VM 68, PMI3.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, Polish internals, After that any other upgrades are based on your style of play.
Strengths: Reliable, The amount of upgrades, It's reliable, The Cyclone, It's very reliable,
Weaknesses: None
Review: The A-5 is great marker for kind of paintball player, Veteran to noobie. The amount of upgrades that are available for this marker are almost endless. The cyclone feeder is very nice, I went one whole year without a break. Field stripping requires no tools major +. Maintenance is easy you just have to do it, 3 drops of oil every time you air up and oil the O-rings. The only wear items are the ball detents, O-rings and the cyclone ratchet, all are cheep easy fixes and take a long time to wear out.
Conclusion: A great Marker that you can adapt to fit your personality and style of play. Best of all it's a Tippmann so you know that whenever you pick it up it's going to work!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, March 20th, 2005 at 10:09 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Cool_Clay1 Saturday, March 19th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
well... you cant really say similar because not many guns you can compare the a-5 with

Tippmann Custom 98
spyder victor 2
Spyder Rodeo
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
Cp Classic Barrel 14inch.
Car. Stock
Asr-1 Sight Rail
Lp kit w/Tippmann Reg.
Double Trigger
PmI 48/300psi N2 tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Well i cant really recommend parts to you because it all depends on the type of player you are but there is Many Parts you can Buy for this but I will recommend a New Barrel
Strengths: Durability
Accuracy
Looks* i guess
Cyclone feed
Easy Field Strip
Weaknesses: The Ratchet for the Cyclone Wears out but its Cheap$
Weight
Loud
upgrades to much $
Review: Ok well the A-5 lets see This Gun i think has to be one of the Best Low-end mech. Markers you Can Buy weither your playing Speedball or Rec-ball. so Far I havent really incountered any problems with this gun expect the ratchet under the cyclone Feeder that spins the revolver inside of it. That is the Factory Defect that the've found on it the
A-5 so just to left you know a head of time you may need to replace this Part if you Use ur gun alot like I do. (If your Cyclone Feed stops Rotating or skips a rotation thats how you know that piece is most likely toast)(I picked 3 up at a Local Pro Shop for $5)

Well Things that i Personally dont like about the Gun is that Its Heavy. And its really heavy if you Modifiy it Hardcore or Have plenty of upgrades like i do it adds some weight. But if you do plan to upgrade it you need Cash$$$ because Upgrades eat holes in ur pockets.

Ok well Next thing Get a New Barrel If you Have Money. Because Not that the stock Barrel is as inaccurate as everyone claims,but ifyou Play woods Ball you Will be found because its loud!!. So I will recommend that if you want a good Barrel at a Price thats not so Hard on ur Wallet. Get any J&J Barrel Or Cp Barrel Both Companys have Great Barrels for this Gun.

BEWARE!!!! Upgrades Are Pricey$$$

Ok now with the goods that other Guns Dont Have. The Cyclone Feed is Great It Saves you Money On not Buying a E-Hopper and This Gun Is Most likely the most durable Gun on the Market. I Swear to you on that one You can Throw, Bash, and (Dont do it, But can be ran over by a car and have minimal damage done to it, But dont Try it)( I Saw it on a Video) well anyway Extremely Durable. its Accuracy isnt Bad either with the Stock Barrel.

Ok Some Back-up info on Prices or well at least were I got my Stuff and if you cant find Prices as cheap as o got them you can email me and ill tel you were i found it

Tippmann A-5 $210
32* Carbine Stock $50
Asr-1 Sight Rail $22
Tippmann Double Trigger $18
LP kit $119
Tippmann Reg. $55
Cp Classic 14inch $45

Conclusion: All In All I think this is a Great Gun for all Ranks of Players But... If your Only going to Play SpeedBall well I would Go with an Autococker Just because the A-5 Doesnt Shoot Fast Enough to be a Strictly SpeedBall gun unless you have the egrip or R/T. Ok Well im giving it a 10 Because So far Its Been Great For me and I have No Really Problems with it. And the Prices Arent a Gun problem its a Tippmann Problem lol. Im Done.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Gratiano Monday, March 14th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Evil Omen, Cocker, Spyder, Pirahna
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5
Flatline Barrel
Response Trigger
D.O.P. Xcore
D.O.P. VA
Remote Line
Recommended
Upgrades:
You will most definately need a new barrel, air system upgrades, but once that is done you'll be keeping up with the pros.
Strengths: -Rate of Fire
-Never chops/breaks a ball
-Looks damn sexy
-Not too expensive
Weaknesses: -Heavy and loud
-Requires upgrades to compete
-Cyclone feed is bulky
Review: I've played the game with many markers and many accessories. I've played with 4 different markers in one game once. They all have their strengths and weaknesses, but the Tippmann A5 tends to cut down on the weaknesses more than other. I purchased this marker over a year ago from ebay, in a package deal. From that day on I have been a big fan of Tippmann.

First and formost, this is NOT a tournament worthy marker. It has some great qualities, and excellent upgrades, but let's face it: the A5 is simply too bulky and too heavy to ever allow for the mobility needed in tournament style play. If you ever plan on playing in an actual tournament this is not the marker for you. STOP READING THIS NOW AND GO FIND SOMETHING MORE APPROPRIATE.

Now that we have that cleared up, the Rec players among us can learn about the ultimate in recreational firepower. Thanks to the cyclone feed system found ONLY on the A5, you'll be thanking yourself for using it. I have put thousands upon thousands of paintballs through this marker and still have yet to chop a single ball. In addition, the rate of fire you can achieve with the stock hopper is nearly unlimited. You will never need an electric hopper, as with the wide neck of the cyclone, balls feed faster than you can fire them. Some might doubt that, but I have achieved over 25bps and never shot a blank. "Prove me wrong kids, prove me wrong."
The stock barrel on the A5, however, just has to go. It is not particularly accurate, and has the range of a Brass Eagle. Upgrade to a flatline or maybe werks as soon as possible.
The A5 CAN be a bit of a gas hog. CAN be. The cyclone feed takes off a good 10-15% of your shots from a standard CO2 tank. An expansion chamber is a must if you're using CO2. If using N2, get a low pressure kit, as you'll thank yourself when you stop running out of gas in the middle of a match.
Conclusion: Overall, this is a great marker, even good enough to be my marker of choice. I'd recommend it to anyone playing recball, and to those that have the financial excess to upgrade the hell out of it. It will never let you down.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

joecartoon! Sunday, March 13th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: autococker trilogy sport
dye sticky grip
e-blade trigger frame
hammer head barrel kit
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel
Strengths: Light
Reliable
Weaknesses: The "feel" of the gun
(explained in review)
Review: when i first tried the a5, i was running an upped tippmann 98c.
when i grabbed it for the first time, i found
it a bit weird to hold, idk how i can explain it, the
feel of it just seemed a bit weird. i bet once u grip
it for awhile you will get used to it.

the gun itself runs great, just a bit inaccurate for the
stock barrel. its light, and can take alot of damage.
the person i borrowed it off of has dropped it a
couple of times before, and it still works like a charm.

i think this gun is deffinatly worth the money. but it is
deffinatly ment for bushball, not speedball. and it is hugley
customizable, so look for what you want, u can put most anything
on this gun.

so i am giving this gun a 8/10, just because i did not like
the feel of the gun right off the bat. but i think that if
you give it a shot for awhile, it will work out just fine :D
Conclusion: Its worth the money. just try it first, and see how you
feel about it first.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Monday, June 4th, 2007 at 10:05 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (138):  First  |  57  |  58  |  59  |  60  |  61  |  62  |  63  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media