paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann A-5 / Tippmann A-5 / Tippmann A-5 / Tippmann A-5

Tippmann A-5 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann A-5

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann A-5
[ View Photos (246) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 1376
Average Rating: 9.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $272

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The All New Tippmann A-5 is a high performance paintball marker with the patented Cyclone Feed System. The Cyclone Feed System Links the Feeder Sprocket to the Air System. The Faster you shoot, the faster the Tippmann A-5 feeds. Pull the Trigger 15 times a second, and the Tippmann A-5 feeds 15 balls per second. The Tippmann A-5 is also easy to clean and maintain with its no tool field strip feature. Innovative technology, maximum firepower, unsurpassed accuracy and Tippmann durability are the core foundations of the all new Tippmann A-5.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann A-5 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (138):  First  |  59  |  60  |  61  |  62  |  63  |  64  |  65  |  Last
        Next Page
Webster666 Wednesday, March 2nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98
Tippmann Pro-Carbine
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
Adco Red Dot Sight
PMI Pure Energy 20 oz. CO2 Tank
Strengths: (See review)
Weaknesses: (See review)
Review: I went paintballing a few times, and was instantly hooked. I got this gun as a combination birthday/christmas present, and it works like a dream, really. I have never had any sort of real problem what so ever. While I'm standing there waiting, my friend's Brass Eagle is completly screwed, and my other bud's Spyder is malfunctioning, of course.

Providing I don't use Brass Eagle paintballs, I have yet to break a paintball in about 4000 shots, with the stock barrel. The stock barrel is horrible, that is my main complaint. It shoots a five-six inch box from two feet away, or at least mine does. However, my style is to get as close as I can, so that the long distance suckitude of the stock barrel has never affected me too much. A new barrel will be a necessary investment for a Tippmann A-5 owner.

Anyway, back to how much it pwns. I tripped once while running in the woods. I fell onto my Tippmann, which found itself smacked between 220 lbs of ME and a rock in a stream. No damage besides a slight scratch. I'd be...well....you get the idea, if that had happened with any other gun.

Anyway, now for advantages/disadvantages

Advantages:

- Reliable
- Easy to upgrade
- Easy to learn
- Durable
- Comfortable

Disadvantages:

- Loud, bad if you don't want to give your spot away, but never been a problem for me
- Stock barrel sucks, but does that really reflect on the gun?
- Big, I suppose this would be a problem for speedball, but I only do woodsball, so I can't really say

Other things to note:

- Gas Hog? Nah. Went through almost half a box of paintballs before I needed a refill
- Heavy? Yeah, if you have no muscle mass.
Conclusion: Excellent gun, great for woodsball, great reliability, great for me and probably for you
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

TRaven Wednesday, March 2nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
2 years0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
B.E. Talon (BAHAHAHAHA! yea...)
Venom 99 TS (okay for beginners)
Tippmann 98 Custom (had to rent when my venom busted... It's aight.)
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
14" Night Stick barrel
SpecOps A-5A2 kit
pen springs for trigger and sear
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel
e-grip HELL YEA!~
Strengths: Cyclone system is genious.
It is...well...a Tippmann....
Weaknesses: Pretty loud, but OH WELL! HAHAHAHA!
Gas hog ov d00m.
Review: This gun is super cool *whipes nerdy snot*. Seriously though, this gun is, in my opinion, one of the best out there, especially if you're into woodsball.

I especially love the Cyclone feed system, whoever came up with it should get a nobel prize, for real. I have never broken a ball in the barrel or chopped by the bolt, and trust me, i like to shoot like crazy to freak out my friends hiding behind trees and stuff, then i run outta balls and run like a little school girl and pull out a pod and reload, but that's not the point...(so i'm crazy?).

The design is awesome. It's strong and junk. BE WARNED, due to my stupidity i didnt clean it for a while after this one game and there was paint on it (up at the front) and the paint chipped from there, i was like "NOOO! CRAP!" but got over it, haha, who cares really.
Conclusion: This gun is the S**T. I recommend it for any woodsball players out there who dont need to spend a grand on a paintball gun. Trust me, it's worth the cash a 9 cuz nothign is perfect. But this is pretty close.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, March 29th, 2005 at 8:45 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

tmn Tuesday, March 1st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98C
Marker Setup: A-5
J&J 14"Ceramic
E-grip
Double Trigger

upped DM3
upped DM4
Recommended
Upgrades:
E-grip
Nitro
Barrel(stock is bad)
Nitro Tank
Low pressure kit
Palmers Regulator
Strengths: Durability
Very Upgradable


No need to buy a motorized hopper
Weaknesses: Large
Heavy
Inconsistent with high rate of fire(no reg or lpr)
Review: First of all, I have read many of the previous reviews that say that the A-5 chops balls. I have played woodsball with friends using A-5s and have never seen or heard of an A-5 chopping balls. Use good paint and you will be fine. Second of all, the cyclone feeder uses excess gass to operate. I have invested about $380 in this gun and I can think of no other marker that has this kind of performance and reliability for this price. Of couse a timmy or an angel will shoot faster, but be prepared to spend about $600 more(including the upgrades I have listed). This is a great gun for any player that wants a reliable and accurate marker that can shoot up to 15bps. The E-grip in turbo mode makes people run and hide, but also makes you a target that everyone wants to eliminate.
EDIT:
After using this gun for about 8 months and gaining more experience with paintball, I have become less impressed with it. For one thing, I noticed a great loss of accuracy when shooting fast. After using high end guns, I realized the short falls of the A-5. You can shoot alot of paint fast, but you have to when using this gun(when shooting fast I couldn't hit anything with any consistency). Also, the cyclone feeder allows a maximum of 15 bps. Why spend all of the money on upgrades when your max rof is 15bps. Now, I know alot of people who love the A-5, but they have yet to use a gun with a lpr and a good in line regulator. Also, with all of the money spent on upgrades to make this gun perform better, you could buy a good used matrix or some other high end gun.
Conclusion: The A-5 is a reliable gun, but I would reccommend buying a 98c instead or saving more money to buy a high end gun.
Edit:
Durability-10
Quality -10
Speed - 8
Accuracy -7
Weight - 7
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Monday, January 23rd, 2006 at 11:34 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

lawnboi Tuesday, March 1st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98, Spyders, Automags
Marker Setup: b2k4 w/PDS
evil detonator reg
halo b
crossfire 47/3000
Recommended
Upgrades:
1st-Barrel
2nd-reg
3rd-if you play speedball you must get an egrip
4th-if you have a e grip you must have a jcs dual trigger to get the most out of your e grip
5th-Nitro, good for any marker
Strengths: -Won't chop
-Many upgrades
-Thats it
Weaknesses: -Stock barrel sucks
-Heavy
-Needs alot of upgrades
-Cyclone=large profile out of bunkers
Review: Tippmann took a step in the right direction making this marker. First off the cyclone feed; with the cyclone feed you will never chop a ball but that dose come with a cost. When you lean out of a bunker on the right side you are exposing the extra 2 inches of the cyclone feed, that makes a easy target. Second is the heaftyness of this gun:With all the upgrades i got on my a-5 it weights almost 5 pounds and add a tank onto that, and it is a beast, Third the stock barrel; the stock barrel is TERRIBLE as soon as you buy this gun i reccomend you go out and buy an aftermarket barrel, because without it you wont be able to hit much on a speedball corse. Fourth the speed; this gun is a turtle when it comes to rof, but when paired with a e-grip and a jcs dual trigger (Highly reccomended) you wont get run over by people with high end electros, i can maintain my guns hightest rof on my a-5. Before when i didnt have the jcs i could not walk the trigger and it was very hard to maintain a constant high rof (thats with the normal dual trigger) but when i put on the jcs it became a different marker, now i can keep up with some high end electros and at least put up a fair fight against most of them. If you plan on playing speedball or airball with this marker its gona need some upgrades.
Plan on it costing 2 or 3 hundred dollars for upgrades if you want to make this gun worthwile. But there are many upgrades avalible for it so they are easy to find. After it is all said and done you got to feel good when you take someone with and angel or 1000 dollar + marker out when you got a tippy.
Conclusion: This is a great gun IF you put a little money into it for upgrades. If you set it up right you can maintain a high rof and with a farily nice reg it can be pretty consistant. I'll give it an 8 for the fact that you need to put alot into this gun to get alot.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, May 21st, 2005 at 4:49 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Malice Intent Tuesday, March 1st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98
Marker Setup: A-5 with RT and 14" Dye Boomstick
Custom Built Autococker AIM17 SWIFT Body kit with Ergo reg and Orr-acle pneumatics, Black Magic bolt, Orr-acle valve kit, Lockdown Hammer, Micro drop forward, Hinge trigger frame with a 14" Dye Titanium Boomstick
Recommended
Upgrades:
RT and a new barrel
Strengths: Strong
Easy to clean
accurate with new barrel
Cyclone Hopper
Weaknesses: Heavy for a marker
Seems to use lots of CO2
Review: The A-5 is a very very well designed marker, it is very user friendly and easy to clean. With the RT upgrade it can reach a rate of fire of around 12 paintballs a second, which isn't to bad. One of the A-5's main features is its cyclone hopper, which can feed 15+ balls a second, I've had some problems with it the second time I went paintballing with it, the owners of the field showed me that the ratchet inside the cyclone was worn and not doing its job. I got it replaced and it works fine now. With the addtion of the Dye Boomstick the A-5 shoots very well and has nice grouping at long distance. However due to the marker's size it is not very well suited for speedball which is it main draw back.
Conclusion: If you play Woodsball this is a very good marker to use
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

RumblingRossage Friday, February 25th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
I have used the Ion and a Spyder.
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5, Flatline barrel, JCS double trigger, E-grip (fast!), Ricochet R-5 hopper.
Recommended
Upgrades:
I definitely reccommend the flatline and an e-grip. Other than that, its is good stock.
Strengths: Accurate with flatline and pretty accurate with the stock barrel, low maitenance and reliable.
Weaknesses: Hard to strip and the barrel has to be loosened with a wrench, also heavy.
Review: I really love the A-5, it has never let me down and it is very consistent. This paintball gun never and I say never chops a paintball. The reliability is no less than expected from Tippmann and maybe even better. The accuracy is excellent! I can hit guys in the head from the other side of the arena using the adjustable sight and I rarely ever miss that shot. I can also hit a silver dollar sized string ball (1.5 inches in diameter.)with 33% accuracy from 75 feet consistently (with flatline of course). The sight is good as is and is really accurate. Also this gun is accurate at the 100-175 ft. range and more especially w/ flatline. This gun is also fast! W/ e-grip and Jcs trig is is easily and reliably 15 bps at good accuracy. Use the sight and buy the necessary upgrades and you will love this gun. Targets can be consistently hit and accurately hit from long range and if you don't trust that then get the E-grip and JCS trig. and then you can send 12-15 balls after the unsuspecting guy. Also nothing has ever gone wrong with my gun and I've had it quite awhile. This gun works for shooting off break as with the JCS trigger on semi mode I have reached 13/14 bps walking and on auto respose 15/16. The other great thing is that if youre steady then the kick doesn't affect your sighting and aim at all. Accuracy is great at all ranges with the sight which isnt just for looks it works! At people off break it is accurate and when shooting angles from corner to corner it can wreak havoc on the enemy especially with the Flatline and the sight. Just bring that pin into the slot with slight movements and youll have one more opporitunity to feel the gratification of a tough elimination made easy by the Tippmann A-5.

Now onto the most controversial issue, the "cyclone feed'" Dunh , Dunh, Dunh. This thing is the real deal!. It loads as fast as you can shoot and and has a very reliable mechanism but it is a little bit large and heavy. The only other problem is that when you began to run low on gas then it won't work and sometimes you just have to manually feed the balls with the little arm that sticks out the back. I like this part of the design for just-in-case scenarios.
Conclusion: Overall, I give this gun a ten for accuracy, reliability and capability for extreme speed. It rocks and I'd reccommend it to any level of player.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, July 21st, 2005 at 6:18 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Longneck Thursday, February 24th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann Model 98, Tippmann Pro Carbine, Spyders,
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Vision Impulse
Tippmann A5 Response Trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel (32 degrees carbon fiber works great)
Strengths: Feed System
Low Cost
Tippmann Reliability
Weaknesses: Stock barrel
When Air is low cyclone feed stops
Review: This gun is one of the better guns that I have ever owned. The revolutionary cyclone feed is a dream even if it is a bit bulky. Ive never chopped a ball in this gun and it shoots with a laser accuracy. Its a great gun for the casual woodsball player. The ONLY problem I have with this gun is that when oyu run low on air or CO2 the cyclone feed stops working because there isnt enough air pressure to cycle it. Other than that this is a great gun with TIppmann's trademark reliability.Great for a casual player.
Conclusion: If you are looking for a gun to paly casual woodsball with I cant really think of better buy. Not really a great tournament performer but it is worth every penny spent. I definately reccomend this gun to anyone.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Navyator Thursday, February 24th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98 - is inferior in all respects
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
Barrels:
Stock, of course (rarely used)
Flatline - THE BEST ADDITION
If you get the Flatline you'll want to get a quick barrel change screw set.
All American
Ceramic
Response Trigger (E-Grip if you really go for rate of fire)
Shockteck Drop Forward
Pure Energy Regulator
Lapco Offset sight rail
Optical and red dot sight combo
Harness with remote

Recommended
Upgrades:
Flatline or other premium barrel (this is a must)
Drop forward
Strengths: THE BEST mid-range marker, many quality add-ons available.
Cyclone feed is awesome.
Weaknesses: None - this marker can hold it's own against mega premium priced electronic markers.
Review: VALUE: This is simply the best value marker from a price and performance standpoint -- you don't have to spend $1,500 to get a very capable marker.

WHY DID I BUY IT? I spent a lot of time evaluating the cost/value benefits of various markers. I primarily play rec-ball and sims, although I also looked for a marker that could be competitive in tourneys. Plus, it could not cost a fortune (although I identified several key upgrades at the onset and was willing to pay for them).

LOOKS: The A-5 is modeled after the H&K MP5. No doubt about it. It looks like a weapon versus a toy. This make it all the more intimidating. For whatever reason, there don't seem to be a lot of A-5s at my (3) home fields. When I take take it out of the case I get a lot of attention. Ditto after most games.

ADD-ONS: Some add-ons are important, but the stock A-5 is still a super performer.
Barrels: the stock barrel is universaly disparaged. Frankly, I have not used it much.
The flatline barrel is probably the "barrel" for this marker. I also have several others.

Response Trigger (RT) - this is a kick-back trigger system that pushes the trigger back to your finger when you press the trigger. This means you can attain a very high rate of fire or adjust same. I have mine set so I can fire singles, 2-3 bursts, or full auto,
If I wanted to go the full auto route I would have opted for the electronic trigger, but so far the RT suits my style of play better (no concerns with water or battery).

Drop forward - I really wanted to "tighten up" the marker. The shockteck drop forward and regulator setup brings a 20oz tank almost completely under the gun. I also use a remote. Using remote the marker is about 16 inches high by 16 inches long. .

ACCURACY:
With many markers rate of fire rate of fire is the end all, firing the marker like a fire hose and walking the balls into the target. I don't play this way. The A-5 actually has a iron site that is usable, plus I have some additions for woods and sim. I should point out that the A-5, like its real life twin the H&K M-5, is an excellent hip shooting weapon.

The A-5, with the Flatline and other additional barrels, is probably one of the most accurate and long-range shootings paintball markers existing.

PAINTBALL BREAKS - Cases fired - NOT ONE!
OK - I do use premium paint, but because I take aimed shots I want the balls to break on target and not in the barrel.
Conclusion: This is the BEST of the mid-range market. Properly used can hold its own against mega buck electronic markers.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, March 1st, 2005 at 8:15 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Subby Tuesday, February 22nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Model 98, spyders. Take the A5 over the spyder and model 98-unless you want the ebolt for the 98, then it is a world above the A5.
Marker Setup: A-5 egrip, stock, x-chamber, flatline
Model 98 ebolt, LPK, palmer stabilizer, j&j ceramic, LAPCO drop w/ stock
Colbalt DM4 mushashi, CP roller trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
egrip - kinda, flatline, x-chamber
Strengths: Tuff, easy maintenance, no expensive loader needed.
Weaknesses: Sear and rear bolt wear down, hard to clean cyclone when balls break.
Review: This gun can take a beating, been dropped many a time. Lots of upgrades readily available. Great Woodsball / recball marker. I've had problems with my egrip wearing down the rear bolt though, replaced 3 times in a year. When this gun is shooting well I love it, but when it acts up I hate it. I haven't had my cyclone break down like a lot of people have had. The flatline works excellent with this gun so I highly recomend that for woodsball. Marker is heavy but that it not a big deal for most people. Tippmann has been excellent at replacing my sear / rear bolt for free when I've had problems.
Conclusion: I recomend this gun to the woodsballer. It is well worth it's money. If you keep it stock it will run forever.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tippy_dude_101 Thursday, February 17th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
2 years2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
A tippy pro carbine ( rental at a place i went to)
Marker Setup: A-5
16 inch CP one piece barrel
R-5 hopper
expansion chamber
J and J alunimum grip
CP 2 inch flame drop
20 ounch CO2 tank
lapco milslim forgrip
Recommended
Upgrades:
a new barrel, double trigger if u play up
Strengths: Sleek
Cyclone feed system
Accurate
Sexy
Reliable
And very durable
Weaknesses: Kinda bulky but who cares
Review: So i have my a-5 this is the perfect gun for any rec ball player from beginner to expert its very reliable and shoots like a dream, this gun is kinda bulky tho, but it doesn't really matter because if it is to heavy for you then get your butt off the couch and lift some weights! well this gun is great hurry buy it now! buy it now!~
Conclusion: Go buy this gun u won't regret it
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (138):  First  |  59  |  60  |  61  |  62  |  63  |  64  |  65  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media