paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann A-5 / Tippmann A-5 / Tippmann A-5 / Tippmann A-5

Tippmann A-5 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann A-5

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann A-5
[ View Photos (246) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 1376
Average Rating: 9.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $272

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The All New Tippmann A-5 is a high performance paintball marker with the patented Cyclone Feed System. The Cyclone Feed System Links the Feeder Sprocket to the Air System. The Faster you shoot, the faster the Tippmann A-5 feeds. Pull the Trigger 15 times a second, and the Tippmann A-5 feeds 15 balls per second. The Tippmann A-5 is also easy to clean and maintain with its no tool field strip feature. Innovative technology, maximum firepower, unsurpassed accuracy and Tippmann durability are the core foundations of the all new Tippmann A-5.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann A-5 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (138):  First  |  65  |  66  |  67  |  68  |  69  |  70  |  71  |  Last
        Next Page
ScenarioOps Tuesday, December 28th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann 98 (not as good but still sweet)
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 , everything stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
nothing, great as is straight from the box
Strengths: ACCURACY
cyclone feed
durability
looks
Weaknesses: None
Review: First off, I would like to get some other reviews that I have read off my mind becuase they were inaccurate (not the gun, the reviews that are below 10)

*Many people said that the hopper is way too big and the gun is way to long and heavy

If you compare it to other hoppers, Its maybe a little bigger then other electronical hoppers but I have never been hit in the hopper so I dont think this should stop you from buying it. The gun is long, sure, but who cares, it LOOKS SWEET. As for the people who say that it is heavy, unless your 5 you cant really tell.

REVIEW

This gun is sweet. I have tried alot of guns over my paintball years like autocockers, other tippmanns,spyders(dont get a spyder) etc. But I have never found anything that compares to the A-5. Sure autocockers and other expensive guns are good, but I would rather screw in CO2 and load paint and go then maintain a High-Mechanical gun which can be frustrating and difficult. As for accuracy, THIS GUN IS AWSOME. I thought eventually I might need a flatline barrel or something but I shot this gin and the stock barrel is VERY accurate. The ball will travel about 80 ft. no drop whatsoever. To me, you sure could, but you dont need to spend extra cash on better barrels cause the stock barrel is great. You dont have to worry about it breaking in anyway no matter what you do. You could just throw is down on concrete and all you get is a couple of scratches that you can easily fix with paint or leave it as it is.







Conclusion: Overall, I recomend this gun to anyone who doesnt want to spend thousands of dollars for a good gun when they can spend maybe 200 dollars for a better gun in my mind. You will not have to worry at all about it breaking down and you dont have to worry about spending more money for upgrades that you dont even need. This gun is great stock so all you need is paint and CO2 and your ready to go with no worries at all.
I would give this gun a 100 but it only goes to 10.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

soulreaper Monday, December 27th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
A few different spyders, and a Tippmann pro/carbine
Marker Setup: Stock Tippmann A-5
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, Flatline or CP are both great.
Strengths: Fast
shoots straight stock
it never chops
Weaknesses: A little loud
A little kick
Review: The Tippmann A-5 rocks it shoots straight and fast and unlike my spyder X-tra IT never chops a ball. I have only tested it in my back yard this weekend Iím taking it to the local field to test it in actual play but testing it, it was awesome I have had these paintballs for about 7 or 8 months and they worked fine in the A-5.

The only down falls are not the performance but it is a little loud and it kind of has a small kick but WHO CARES IT STILL SHOOTS STRAIGHT
Conclusion: 10/10 Definatly it is just an awsome gun
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, January 25th, 2005 at 8:35 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

blackout00 Sunday, December 26th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
2004 Wgp Orracle Autococker w/ 3000 psi hpa, freak, and an evolution2 loader
Marker Setup: 2004 Wgp Orracle Autococker w/ 3000 psi hpa, freak, and an evolution2 loader
Recommended
Upgrades:
**e-grip**, better barrel, double trigger(NOT TIPPMANN MADE!!!), regulator, nitro, rear velocity adjuster, and alot more
Strengths: Reliable
Weaknesses: Inconsistant,slow innacurate(with stock barrel), paint peels off marker, heavy , not balanced
Review: the tippmann a-5 is a marker for the paintball player who just like playing around with his friends or shooting at random things. I started out with a spyder, then this for a year and a half, and now i have an 2004 Orracle Autococker. This high-end marker is way better than any tippy. actually the tippmann isnt even worth comparing.

anyway
the a5 tends to break more than it should, its not at all accurate, you can shoot that fast, if you buy alot of upgrades for it, it just stops working. If your not looking to be a competitive paintballer then buy this gun. But if you know that you want to be good then buy a high-end gun like an Orracle Autococker or an Impulse or somethin like that. The a5 in my opinion is meant for almost exclusively, woodsball.
Conclusion: Dont buy it, save your money and get an autococker, smart parts marker, intimidator or somethin awesome like that.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

DesertFoxFreak Saturday, December 25th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann Prolite -- same reliability, lower ROF, harder to field strip, heavier, open bolt.
Marker Setup: '98 Desert Fox
SS Freak Back w/SS insert kit
All American and Freak fronts
88ci/4500 HPA

A-5 RT
Flatline, freak back, dye stainless
88ci/4500 HPA w/drop forward
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel, HPA
Strengths: Reliability
Closed bolt
Cyclone feed
Rate of fire
Value
Weaknesses: Small hopper
Long w/out drop forward
Review: This marker is perfect for the new paintball player. You almost instantly can achieve near parity in marker capabilities to the seasoned veterans lugging around their electro whiz-kid markers when you have the A-5 combined with a response trigger and an after market barrel. That is a tremendous value considering the price. While I truly believe that skill, experience, and practice is what makes a good paintball player, those combined with this marker can make you great recball player.

Parents--if you are looking for a marker that is nearly impossible for your son/daughter to break, and that will let them have days and days of fun while keeping up with the "big boys" on the field, then this is the one for you. Also, it is easy enough to break down that you can help them clean it at the end of the day :)
Conclusion: Buy if you are looking for value as well as for a marker that doesn't take much babysitting.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SOC Friday, December 24th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Victor II-great beginner marker
Bushmaster 2000-light in weight, compact
Marker Setup: A-5
E-grip
Double trigger frame
Recommended
Upgrades:
Nitrogen
barrel kit
LPK(for those people that want to use the more britle paint)
Double trigger
E-grip frame
Strengths: It's very durable
Cyclone feed guarantees no ball breaks
Weaknesses: Heavy for speedball
Big and bulky
Stock trigger is hard to pull
Review: I purchased this product originally intending to use it only for woodsball. However, little did I know I would begin to enjoy speedball. This marker overall isn't that bad, it just needs a lot of upgrades.

Key Strengths:
This marker is the most durable thing out there. I remember accidentally dropping it and not worrying about it considering that I knew that it was a Tippmann. The cyclone feed included witht this marker saves you some money considering that you don't have the need to go out there and purchase a new one. The cyclone feed guarantees for you to never break any balls in the marker (unless you're using brittle paint like Evil, then the high PSI set on the marker will burst the ball inside the marker). I have no worries pumping out so many rounds considering that I know that this marker is reliable and will never break. Also, there are so many upgrades for it, especially for those scenario players. Ideally this marker is great for woodsball and rec ball, but it isn't very effective as other markers are in speedball. It can be used, however, it is hard to deal with the problems

Key Weaknesses:
The hopper is put off to the side. This is a problem for speedball players because when you try to play tight and you're trying to shoot from the side of the bunker, the hopper is sticking out! I can't tell you how many times I've been shot in the hopper. Also, the marker is relatively heavy for speedball. I would prefer using a slightly lighter marker. Another bad thing about this is that you have to upgrade it a lot before it can really be a great marker. I would reccomend purchasing the E-grip considering that the response trigger is illegal in some fields. Once you have the combination of both the E-grip and a double trigger, you will have your rate of fire relatively high. However, the amount of money of all the upgrades will be equivalent to purchaing a new marker. If you intend on playing speedball, save up a little more and purchase an Impulse.
Conclusion: I would reccomend this to anyone that likes to play woodsball. It is a very reliable marker, but it wasn't designed for speedball. Keep this in mind when thinking of purchasing this marker.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Good Ole Boy Thursday, December 23rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann all of em .... pirahna's .. spyders .. autocockers ... angels =overated for cost of good used car .... most markers
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 with response trigger ..... 90/ 4500 nitro with helicoil remote . Aimshot laser system with folding stock .
Recommended
Upgrades:
J+J Barrel kit
Strengths: Lasts a lifetime not alot of plastic like that one idiot said
Weaknesses: Better barrel ... Camouflage netting from Walmart .. Nitro tank ...
Review: Out of the box ... the best heavy duty gun out there! Who but a 9 year old wants a mirror shiny gun ? exotic paint .... engraving .... who sees all that when my a-5 smacks em in the mask and I'm not swabing ripped balls like they are when I paint them. Electronic ...no way tiny lil weak switches and damp blown boards my PB shop buddy loves to make his first million replacing . Get the response trigger. Nothing like those guys with half or dead batteries in their gun or hopper screaming foul when hit ... hahaha . Get it .. peak it ... use it for 10 years . Some say air hogs ... idiot on turbo mode impressing only himself uses more . That's alright if you have a 5 gallon bucket for a hopper and a scuba tank beside ya for air .... proved that to my buddies. They have their pretty lil mirror finish guns I see coming 100 yards away ! Our club said they can't see the balls flyin out of my a-5 like their angels ... spyders and piranha's. Fast and hard hitting when peaked. Dont use chrono field set it ! Take the time most don't . Some of those dumbells spend $100.00 -$150.00 for a hopper that does'nt work as good or any better and blows boards !
Conclusion: You want a gun you can outperform most with ... don't have to spend a fortune upgrading and repairing ... throw off a 5 story building and still works ... can hand down to your grandchildren cause she still works great get an A-5 ! Been there for years my old 68 still works great.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

a-5 gunner Wednesday, December 22nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Victor-no comparison
Tricked out 98c-soso
Marker Setup: A-5
14" JnJ Ceramic
Drop Forward
Recommended
Upgrades:
From what ive read the e-grip and a new barrel
Strengths: ROF!!!!!!!
Durability
Cyclone
Good out of box
Easy maintenance
Weaknesses: Don't know of any
Review: This gun is awesome. Hands down the best gun ive touched. It has everything you want in a gun. I am generally a woods baller and this gun beats any of my friends. Most of them have 98cs that have all the workings. These kids have wasted their money. I dominate with a totally stock a-5. They all told me how much I would be wasting my money if I bought it and now they are all begging for mercy. I have read that ALOT of people have said that it uses more co2 than a regular gun and this is a total lie. How could it use extra amounts of co2 when it is powered by EXCESS co2. The same co2 that recocks the bolt after each shot spins the cyclone. I get the same amount of shots from a 20 oz as anybody i have played with. I have had only one problem with my gun and it was my own stupidity. After every use i would clean my gun with water. I actually ran the faucet all over my gun. Little did i know that the workings of my cyclone were actually rusting out. The only reason I knew this was because the push arm on the side of the gun was not working properly. The gun still fired like a dream!! I took it to the local shop and he fixed it in a hurry. I used to swear not to get an electrical gun because of all the hassle. My one friend has to sit out AT LEAST every other game because his gun chops 2 out of 3 balls that it shoots. That is in semi-auto mode with vision. It is a 300 dollar gun. I have never chopped a single paintball. I have read reviews on the e-grip and it sounds nice. The only reason I would get it would be because I like the idea of the turbo setting. My friend just got an impulse and I think I may have met my match. I have not seen him play much or the gun but I am goin to a lock-in for New Years with him. I'll see how things turn out. Don't shoot DBX paintballs!!!!!!!! Even the a-5 can't handle those.
Conclusion: Buy this gun. It is the best mechanical marker for the money. There are endless upgrades. The only reason it is a 9 is because you cannot compare it to 1000$+ guns. No doubt those are tens but do you really wanna pay that much so you can waste more paint?
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, January 9th, 2005 at 1:11 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

switchhitter199 Tuesday, December 21st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
I think this is a one of a kind
Marker Setup: E-grip, 16 inch barrel, sniper stock, madman spring kit, nitro, remote coil
Recommended
Upgrades:
E-grip, 16 inch barrel, sniper stock, madman springkit, nitro, remote coil
Strengths: With nitro and the barrel.... this baby is so accurate....doesn't chop balls
Weaknesses: A little heavy... i suggest a remote line
Review: with my set up.....people are afraid..I have E-grip, 16 inch barrel, sniper stock, madman spring kit, nitro, remote coil and on full auto this thing shoots like 17 bps....I have had this gun for a while and it hasn't failed me yet......i defiantly suggest getting a longer barrel and an e-grip......it is constantly accurate and doesn't really break balls....this is an amazing gun and I suggest that you get it....
Conclusion: Buy it.....it is amazing especially with all of the upgrades I have
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

BOBO Tuesday, December 21st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
98C, spyders, PMI's, Pro carbine.
Marker Setup: Pretty much stock. have a lapco adapter to use 98C barrels, use 20 oz or 68/3000 hpa.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel as with just about 95% of all markers. Thats all you really need. Everything else is optional.
Strengths: Built like a tank. reliable. Easy to work on. No batteries. Customer service!!!
Weaknesses: Barrel.
Review: Ok, my A5 is an older model, several years old its somewhere in the 800's. I got it used I had been told that Tippmann had made some changes to the feed system to correct a couple flaws. I was shocked to find out that the upgrades were free even with me being the second owner. I didnít even have to pay for shipping. I have used Tippmannís off & on over 13 + years of paintball. They are one of the top three most reliable markers that I have ever used. The only other two markers in my personal experience that compare are AGD & CCI products. The marker works flawlessly even without the upgrades. The first owner used the dog snot out of it. At least 3 cases a month the entire time that he had it the sear had been replaced due to wear. I donít have any issue with hopper hits taken a couple but doesn't seem to be at any higher rate than before. Iím not one to waste paint so the rof is fine with me. If I wanted an Angel, Iíd buy an angel.
Conclusion: For the price average of $239.00 you cant beat it. Its not a high end tournement marker & doesnt pretend to be one. But for a general all around reliable marker you cant touch it.The savings with not having to get a revy etc for this marker you are able to get a barrel like the J&J ceramic. O-ring kit etc are cheap. Tippmann service is way above par. For the value a 10 all the way.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, December 21st, 2004 at 1:01 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

billster1031 Monday, December 20th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann 98 custom, autococker(cockers are worse than tippmanns by a lil and there cheaper!!!)
Marker Setup: A-5 with double finger trigger, hyper star bolt, collapsible car stock, new hopper, and an empire barrel kit.
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel definately
Strengths: I like the cyclone feed system, the accuracy espicially with the new barrel.
Weaknesses: Nothin really jus a little bit bulky.
Review: This gun is kick a$$. I play almost every weekend and i kill with it!! this gun has awesome accuracy especially when you get a new barrel but if you are going to get a new barrel then don't get the flatline it says it goes 250+ feet and it does but it doesn't bust past 175 feet and everybody rags on tippmanns because there rental guns they are rental guns b/c they take abuse like a tank. Anyone who says they suck more than likely have a cocker and if they tell you that then you tell them to slam there gun against a tree and see if it works i guarantee you a tippmann will and a cocker will probably break in half. There has only been one problem i have had with this gun and that is that i was at outdoor adventures and my gun clogged up b/c i was using the worst paint there is like this paint is so bad that if you dropped it from 5 inches from the ground it will break and when i was cleaning out my gun i put the seer spring in the trigger spot and it didn't shoot right i had to cock it every time but when i switched the springs back it worked fine so that was my fault.
Conclusion: This gun is awesome i would request it to anyone who wants a great woods ball gun but i would suggest it to someone who plays speed ball to 10/10
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (138):  First  |  65  |  66  |  67  |  68  |  69  |  70  |  71  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media