paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann A-5 / Tippmann A-5 / Tippmann A-5 / Tippmann A-5

Tippmann A-5 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann A-5

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann A-5
[ View Photos (246) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 1376
Average Rating: 9.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $272

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The All New Tippmann A-5 is a high performance paintball marker with the patented Cyclone Feed System. The Cyclone Feed System Links the Feeder Sprocket to the Air System. The Faster you shoot, the faster the Tippmann A-5 feeds. Pull the Trigger 15 times a second, and the Tippmann A-5 feeds 15 balls per second. The Tippmann A-5 is also easy to clean and maintain with its no tool field strip feature. Innovative technology, maximum firepower, unsurpassed accuracy and Tippmann durability are the core foundations of the all new Tippmann A-5.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann A-5 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (138):  First  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  Last
        Next Page
Backman89 Thursday, November 27th, 2008
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Any entry level mech, the 98custom, as well as various spyders come to mind.
Marker Setup: 05 Prostock
E2
Besales .44 Ram and QEVs
Nexus LPR
Nexus internals
Evil Pipe kit
Recommended
Upgrades:
As for most markers in the entry level mech field, a new barrel is a must, if you're short on cash, find what cal. your favorite or local field paint is, and get a barrel that maches the best, If you have some mone to throw around, I highly suggest a barrel kit. one that includes both fronts and backs, so you can use your fronts on later markers.

I do not advise spending too much money on upgrades, the gun preforms well stock.
Strengths: Durabilty.
easy to maintain and clean
Weaknesses: Gas usage.
Review: The marker has a rock solid constuction, true with any of tippmanns markers, You will not find yourself on the sidelines tinkering with it in between games. If you manage to break one, you actually have to try and break it. With proper care, this marker will last any recreational player a very very long time.

This marker comes with the cyclone feed system, a non-upgradeable replacement for an electronic hopper. Some players will see this as a plus, I myself see it as a negative, by the time you are ready to graduate to a higher end model, you have drop even more coin on a new loader.

Rate of fire: this marker will not blow anyone away. I see too often reviewers claim BPS in excess of 15-20bps on a stock A-5. This marker, will not see that rate of fire, ever, even with a response trigger or an e-grip installed. 8-13 bps is what you can plan to see from this model.

Accuracy: is all paint to barrel match, shooting conditons, ect so I will not even cover it here.

Weight: Unless you load your marker down with useless Mill Sim "upgrades" NO marker is unbearable to carry or play with.
Conclusion: This is an entry level marker, it will suffice for anyone who is new to the sport, and can last you quite some time. however, this is not a thournament level marker. Do not buy this and expect anything more.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

woodsman93 Thursday, November 27th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
98 custom
Marker Setup: A5,
barrel getting new one
cyclone feed
Respose Trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel almost all need new ones
Red dot scope. looks cool as well
E trigger less durable because it has electric parts in it.
Strengths: Speed
Durable
Accurate
Has a small sight
Weaknesses: Can be loud
gass hog.
Heavy
Review: This is one of the best guns I've ever used. It goes a long way from my old spyder victor 2. I was originally getting a different gun, but it caught my interest, because it was supposed to be fast and accurate.

With my old marker I was breaking the paint almost every other game and to get it to stop the upgrades would be almost more than to by a new gun. When I opened the box it felt really nice, like it fit perfectly. A few days later I tried it out and was really surprised at first, but after awhile i started to love it. I took on an angel and won! I hit it against a tree not a scratch. It was shot, but there was no internal paint. (It is well put together)

The second time I went with this gun. It was raining like i have never seen it. It was cold as well and I was worried how it was going to perform. It performed really well! It was a little less accurate, but that because I broke a ball later to find out there was mud in the barrel. I fell in mud and it almays performed extremely well.

Accuracy:
Amazing accuracy for a stock barrel. I mean it was not the best, but I could shoot through a hole about a foot long from a good distance. You might want a new barrel if you have extra money.

Durability:It is extremely well put together. If you bang it against anything it won't brake. The hopper is durable and won't fall of in the middle of a firefight.

Speed:
It is very fast. Maybe not as fast as an angel or an ion, but it clocks up to around 17 bps. I like the cyclone feed system, but don't set it for to high!!! If you do it will chop. Like 19 bps.

Upgradeability:
The gun is one of the most upgradeable gun on the market.
Conclusion: GET IT! It's not an angel or an ion. But to me that not a problem because it can compete with them and it like 5 times the price of the competition. The only thing it has a problem with is speedball, because it's alittle bulky. Your not getting this for speedball though. Your getting it for woodsball. Though you can still play speedball.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintball117 Tuesday, October 7th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Bt-4 Combat, Banshee
Tippmann 98
PCS US
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
red dot, 416 shroud, mp5 mag, m16 stock, response trigger, palmers barrel, apex, x-7 hopper, laser light, cylcone mods.

ICD Promaster with dye grips, Cp reg, and veiwloader hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel** response trigger and vortex and light rod mods, apex.

Not needed but for looks could be a body kit, shroud and red dot or laser light.
Strengths: FAST
Looks
accurate
upgrades
Weaknesses: Heavy to some people - buy a sling and remote line
Review: I bought this gun after i had a PCS for awhile and what a difference it made. I first had the e-grip but then upgraded to the response trigger (RT) and that was amazing. You can put 23bps down rang with the cylone modes on the gun. Out of the gate this gun was fast, accurate, and had amazing range with a apex barrel add on.
I advise that you first look into getting a RT and the vortex and light rod mod for the cylcone. Then look into upgrades for looks. Buy a shroud or body kit witha red dot scope and i would advise a palmers or lapco barrel.
There is only one negative to this gun that doesnt apply to me but other players is the wieght of this marker. Just get a sling and a remote line and your good to go. If you buy no upgrades for this gun it is still reliable and easy to clean once you learn how. Search up videos or something to see how to clean this marker.
Conclusion: Buy this marker. So many upgrade for looks and performance you can make a one of i kind marker no problem.
Best marker for the best price.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

snipadude1 Monday, October 6th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year3 of 17 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippman 98
Marker Setup: e-grip
vortex mod
jj barrel kit
Recommended
Upgrades:
vortex mod (cyclone feed)
Strengths: Fast
Weaknesses: Loud
See review
Review: when i got this gun i saw no aperant problems but after awile my e-grip went out but tippman just sent me a new one. then my cyclone feed went out and had to spend $20 on an upgrade part(vortex mod) then i bought a SAW stock for and it broke i know this is not the guns fault just make sure if you buy a stock to make sure it has a aluminum peices where the stock conects to the gun.
Conclusion: I know some people swear that the a-5 is the best gun out there, but it is not ,i would'nt recomend this gun to my worst enemy(well maybe :-) ].
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

nadnahsur Sunday, September 28th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann Model 98- Rental
BT-4 Combat
Marker Setup: Stock A5, 12 oz CO2, soon to have a 14" Smart Parts Progressive Barrel and an E-Trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Strengths: Extremely easy to disassemble and reassemble
Cyclone Feed System
Toughness
Never Chops
Extremely Accurate ( -110ft)
Weaknesses: Slightly Heavy-bothers some people not me
Stock Barrel
Review: I got this marker about a month ago. My brother also got one. He opened his up and discovered that Tippmann forgot to include a driver rod in his marker. We took it back to the store the next day and they gave us a new one free of charge.
The first time I took the marker out I shot about 400 rounds and still had some spare CO2.
It did not chop once and had a fairly consistent velocity.
It is extremely accurate below 110ft after that it swerves to the left. But I hardly take shots at people from long range anyway so it does not matter to me.
Conclusion: I love it. It is accurate, has the cyclone feed, never chops, has lots of upgrades, its easy to maintain and looks mean.
Buy it and you will not be disappointed!!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, September 28th, 2008 at 8:18 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

icyGrip Friday, September 26th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann x7
Marker Setup: gas through mag, 16" m4 barrel, car stock, was egrip, blade trigger, m4 style sight
Recommended
Upgrades:
any barrel upgrade
Strengths: Coast, durable, customizable, and just sweet
Weaknesses: Stock barrel
Review: The a5 is a great gun for beginners, and anyone who's just looking to get a new gun. the good thing about it it is that with little or no money you can have have one of the better markers out their. In my case I've had mine for a while now and it is by fare the best wood ball gun i have used. Even better is that their are all ways making new parts and upgrades for this gun, witch lets you make your gun the way you want it to.
Conclusion: This i s a great wood ball gun for anyone, that you can make reflect your style.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

str8balla206 Friday, August 29th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann Model 98
Spyder Sonix
Marker Setup: Spyder Sonix
-Spyder Rocking Trigger 2.0
-PSI Rubber Gas-Thru Foregrip
-Trinity Mini ASA w/ On/Off
-Trinity Spyder Grip - Smoke
-Trinity T-Lock Feedneck
-Kingman Delrin Bolt
-Smart Parts Angle Drop Forward
-Shocktech LPC
-J&J 14" Ceramic barrel
-CP 14" Classic barrel
-BT Apex barrel

Tippmann A-5A2 RT
-A-5A2 Dog Leg Air-thru Stock kit
-UMS Grip Plug
-Tippmann Flatline barrel w/ Battle Shroud
-Trinity Action Bipod Handle
-Techt Complete Cyclone Upgrade
-Tippmann LP Hopper
-Turbo Paintball T-4 450 Round Hopper
-Barsaka Red-Dot Sight
Recommended
Upgrades:
-Techt Complete Cyclone Upgrade
-Dogleg Air-thru Stock
Strengths: Tough
Cyclone system
Adaptive
Customizable
Reliability
Weaknesses: None
Review: I had my eyes on the A-5 for a while after my first paintball. The most appealing part of the A-5 is the Cyclone Feed System. When I first bought my Spyder, I thought it was adequate, but it didn't give me a consistent feed. That was the sign for me to get an A-5. I bought my A-5 used, which was in very decent condition, and to my surprise, it was equipped with a Response Trigger (Wasn't listed as RT).

I love the overall feel of the marker. When I held the marker, it feels really solid. The grip is comfortable and the whole marker is easy to handle. Taking the marker apart is relatively easy too. Just four push pins and you can remove the essential parts for cleaning and lubbing. I made a mistake of not reading up on the parts of the marker and went head to strip it down all the way (my curiousity). Thing to note about the marker is the spring that holds the tombstone latch. When you split the marker's shell, that spring could shoot itself out of the latch and you might have to search for that missing piece. Be very careful with that spring!

Lubricating the marker is easy and simple. Drop some paintball gun oil into the ASA and dry fire a couple of times. I believe this will circulate the oil to the valve in the power tube and all other essential parts. I went a step further and bought Techt's Gun Sav grease. I pretty much greased every moving part in the marker, including the Cyclone internals, which I upgraded to Techt parts (Recommended).

With the stock A-5, it's more than adequate to play regular walk-in rec games, but if you want to be more serious about your game, you need to upgrade. Besides upgrading the internals, there are many other practical mods such as stocks and hoppers that could fit your style. To describe bluntly about the Tippmann's versatility in modifications, I say it's like the Honda of paintball markers, in terms of available aftermarket parts.
Conclusion: With the current market filled with mods of all kinds and kits that would make a you drool, I believe strongly that the Tippmann A-5 is the benchmark of woodsball/scenario markers. I recommend this marker to any woodsballer, or anyone considering a woodsball marker, because the A-5 is the marker that will fit your needs in the field. Its reliability is legendary and there's no other marker I would not trust more than the A-5.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, August 29th, 2008 at 12:44 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Cpt.Frootloop Wednesday, August 13th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
2003 model Angel, Black Magic Autococker, Tippmann 98, Tippmann X7, Spyder Electra, ecetera ecetera....
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5
-Pure Energy Remote Line
-14'' Smart Parts Progressive Barrel
-20 Oz. Co2
-BT Fixed Rail
-Rifle Scope
Recommended
Upgrades:
Smart Parts Progressive Barrels are AWESOME. Possibly the better barrels for under $60.00
Strengths: -Loud, NEVER jams, very reliable, durable as balls, awesome all-around, loud.
Weaknesses: Needs a new barrel. The stock barrel sucks, but what do you expect its stock.
Review: Ok Im keepin this short and sweet. If you're new to the paintball game or have been pwning noobs for years this is a great gun to get into. The whole cyclone system is EXTREMELY reliable and breakages are virtually unheard of with even some of the worst paint. The upgrades on it are somewhat affordable and are completely worth the money if you want a more military look or just want better performance. Ive shot some pretty high class guns but this one is by far the one of the most reliable and low maintenance of them all. Its pretty good on gas as well even though people say its a hog. I usually go at least 2 outings on a 20 oz tank. Great for woodsball and perfect weight for those who want to feel the marker. It's almost that of a real rifle when fully equipped and if you think its too heavy you need to grow some arms.
Conclusion: Ignore all the nay sayers of the Tippmann brand. If you want a gun thats easy on the wallet and extremely reliable and durable buy this because it's likely the best you can get for under $300.00. You should buy one. Seriously. Do it. Do it now.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, August 13th, 2008 at 1:39 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

p8nt ball3r 245 Tuesday, August 5th, 2008
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
6 months0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Rental
Marker Setup: tippmann a-5 response trigger, no name hpa tank (still good), empire tank cover
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel
Strengths: Full auto, efficiency???
Weaknesses: WEIGHT, accuracy, sights, cyclone feed (see review)
Review: Ok let me start out with the bad, the cyclone feed system doesn't work like it should, it can be a little inconstant. The weight on the marker is way 2 high, if your in a game for a little too long your arms will feel like falling off. also i dont like how its nearly imposibe to play in speed ball. the accuracy on the gun is ok i guess. the sights are completly pointless so i took them out.

Now for the strengths, the full auto works pretty well, can be a little hard to get used to the sweet spot. the efficiency is nothing to bad but nothing to be proud of you can get about 500 shots out of it ( oh i forgot to tell you that as the tank goes down in air, the accuracy gets worse).
Conclusion: This gun is good for anyone just starting out with paintball.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

A5pbgun Thursday, July 31st, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom (Tested)
VL Orion (My first gun)
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
Apex Barrel/16 inch Armson Stealth barrel
Double trigger (With pen spring mod)
CO2
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel
Strengths: Durability
Upgradeability
Works well with almost any paintballs
Accuracy
Field stripping and Easy to maintain
Weaknesses: Uses more gas
Not-so-good stock barrel
Review: First off, I havent used this in any BIG scenario or woodsball game yet.

~Strengths~

Durability: This gun is built to last. I've dropped mine on rocks and concrete and nothing happened to it at all.

Upgradeability: (Is this a word?)
There are tons of upgrades you can buy for this gun. You can make it look like just about anything you want. You can also get an RT or Egrip to make it shoot faster (For me, Double trigger is fast enough)

Paintballs:
You can use just about any paintballs in this gun (Obviously better paintballs will work better). The cyclone makes it almost impossible to chop balls.

Accuracy:
While the stock barrel its not that accurate, a new barrel will make you unstoppable. My Armson barrel works fine for me, its all about personal prefrence.*Edit* Got the BT Apex Barrel, So far I am very happy with it (only put about 200 paintballs through it).

Field Stripping and Maintenance:
This thing is actually pretty easy to field strip. I was able to completely take this apart (Cyclone and all), Clean it, And oil it all in about 15 mins. If your lazy you can just put a few drops of oil in the ASA and dry fire it a few times and your good.

~Weaknesses~

Gas:
With the cyclone this gun uses more gas than others. I use CO2 and can get about 700 shots with a 20 oz tank.

Stock barrel:
The stock barrel isnt the best, But thats expected with most guns.

*Edit*
The game i went to was pretty fun. There were 30+ people there and almost every single one had a 98C. My gun was able to outshoot alot of the 98C. In one situation my teammate and I were behind a big rock, and there was a guy with a flatline shooting at us and my teammate (had a 98C) wasnt able to accurately shoot at him. I took 2 shots and hit him in the mask. I would say my A-5 out perfored the 98C (Im not saying the other people stunk, There were alot of people that were better than me).

*Edit*
Got the BT Apex Barrel today. Tested it out with some old paint left over from last year and it didn't break any paint (well, after i found out my CO2 was set wayyyy to high). I'll edit/write a review on the barrel later when I get a chance to test it more.
Conclusion: If your looking for a strong, well built gun, you've found it. I would reccomend this gun for Mid level players.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, April 10th, 2009 at 4:01 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (138):  First  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media