paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann A-5 / Tippmann A-5 / Tippmann A-5 / Tippmann A-5

Tippmann A-5 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann A-5

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann A-5
[ View Photos (246) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 1376
Average Rating: 9.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $272

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The All New Tippmann A-5 is a high performance paintball marker with the patented Cyclone Feed System. The Cyclone Feed System Links the Feeder Sprocket to the Air System. The Faster you shoot, the faster the Tippmann A-5 feeds. Pull the Trigger 15 times a second, and the Tippmann A-5 feeds 15 balls per second. The Tippmann A-5 is also easy to clean and maintain with its no tool field strip feature. Innovative technology, maximum firepower, unsurpassed accuracy and Tippmann durability are the core foundations of the all new Tippmann A-5.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann A-5 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (138):  First  |  68  |  69  |  70  |  71  |  72  |  73  |  74  |  Last
        Next Page
rex_2121 Sunday, November 14th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: a5,dbl trigger, trigger job, lapco big shot, 32 degrees bolt, 47/3
Recommended
Upgrades:
deffinetly upgrade the barrel first
Strengths: Very sturdy, basically indestructible, great beginner marker, easy to maintain and clean
Weaknesses: Lack of accuracy with stock barrel
Review: I love this gun. its very easy to maintain and yet so easy to shoot. alot of good after market accessories. only problem i have with this gun is the hopper sizes. hopefully someone will make a 140,200, and 300 round hopper for it. sometimes the cyclone chops the paint but its probably my fault b/c my ball detent broke and tippmann is sending me a brand new detent.
Conclusion: very very good! PROBABLY ONE OF THE BEST MARKERS AVAILABLE
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
7 Comments - Add Comment

IhaveAnItch Friday, November 12th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Shutter
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
Double Trigger
Flatline
Crossfire HPA
Recommended
Upgrades:
Flatline or any other barrel is a must but i highly recommend the flatline
Double Trigger
E-grip
Strengths: Reliable, Powerful, with a new barrel very accurate. Very upgradable.
Weaknesses: Air hog, stock barrel is very bad, can sometimes be a pain to take apart.
Review: Its a great recreational/woodsball gun and it'll do fine in speedball too. It wouldn't really consider it a tournament level gun, if your going to be very serious in paintball and enter lots of tournaments, maybe even try and get on a team I would suggest getting a high level gun. The stock barrel is quite awful, the first upgrade you'll want to get is definitly a new barrel, flatline or not just get a new barrel. It can be an air hog but there are some upgrades to help with that. Very upgradable so you can customize it. In woodsball the tippmann a-5 is the ideal gun, especially with a flatline. I give it a point for looks too, it's kinda bulky but i think it looks cool. The cyclone feed is very awesome, even though it makes the gun use a bit more air then most guns it's very effective. You'll never break a ball in it unless your using extremely bad paint.
Conclusion: I am very happy with this gun and I think tippmann did a good job in making it. I would recommend this for the every day recreational player who wants to have a good time. However for those who want to get on a team and play lots of tournaments. Upgrade to an autococker
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, November 12th, 2004 at 11:08 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

dalt77 Sunday, November 7th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
I've used an Orian from Wal*Mart, and you know, it was good, (for 65 bucks) but, nothing to great. Then my friend got a piranha, so I got the A5. The A5 (specially with flatline) is MUCH better than the orian.
Marker Setup: I have the tippmann A5 w/ flatline.
Recommended
Upgrades:
You have to get flatline for the A5, it's worth every penny.
Strengths: The A5 w/ flatline is very accurate and can achieve very long distances.
Weaknesses: Uhhh....weaknesses..........................the price?Which for what you get is pretty good in my eyes.
Review: The A5 with flatline is one of the best guns you can get for the price. It is very accurate and acheives very long distances. I've only had a few ball breaks with it out of around 2000 shots fired, and that's probably becuase I was using walmart paint, but that's becuase that's the only stuff we have here where I live.......I think........(pretty sure). It's a very rugged gun (because it's from tippmann, which is a very good brand) which is also why I like it. My friend got a spyder and is already having troubles with it (don't get me wrong, not all spyders do this) but tippmanns are known for their durability. The cyclone feed also works great, it keeps feeding balls untill you run low on CO2, when you get to about the last 20 shots, the cyclone feed doesn't spin, but all you have to do it press a little manual feed button and it works great. The gun is VERY upgrade friendly.
Conclusion: This is a great overall product (keep in mind that I have flatline) and I would strongly recomend it to anyone that wants a good, strong, reliable gun without spending $500.009(although you can buy upgrades and get the price of the A5 in or above the 500's)
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, November 7th, 2004 at 7:57 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pntballizfun Saturday, November 6th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 custom
Spyder TL Plus
Spyder Compact 2000 delux java edition
Marker Setup: Tippman A-5
Response Trigger
14" j&j full tilt ceramic
red dot sight
dead on drop
68/3000 crossfire N2
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel (like all markers)
nitro (if you have enough cash not desperatly needed)
Strengths: Decently Quick
easy to strip
durable
takes CO2
Weaknesses: A lil on the heavy side
Chops w/o new barrel
Review: I just tested this gun and bought it in the same day I was so impressed with it. Here's what I thought about the components:

Response trigger:

Quick (15 bps+) uses a little extra CO2 or N2 but in nitrogen's case you get more shots for some reason. Effective and does it's job. But you can't play tourny's with cause r/t's aren't tourny legal.

Cyclone feed:

Definitly one of the major bonuses in my opinion. Allows for concrete loading, the feed itself doesn't chop, also uses some CO2 or n2, feeds eficently and reduces the need for a whole new hopper. Also has a nifty little "rip drive" where it allows you to manually feed the balls by pressing in a metal pin if you will. However it does stick out an extra 2-3 inches making hopper shots easier.

Barrel:

Definitly one of the most accurate STOCK barrels on a tippmann I've seen. I had 2 ball breaks in the barrel with it but it shot through them with flawless accuracy. You are goning to want to go with an upgrade barrel like most guns but if you didn't well its not too bad to start with anyways.

Stripping:

Easy to stip takes a little time to get used to but still, if you wanted to take the whole gin apart piece by piece good luck. Otherwise much better than all other tippy's but spyders are still easier. The A-5 uses 3 main pins each specific for taking apart a certain piece. It does get anoying to puch the metal pin down every time though. Still a decent system.
Conclusion: I can honestly say I am very impressed with the A-5 and I'm glad I bought one. It is very simplitic and easier to maintain then cockers, imp's, and so on. Rugged like all tippy's and most definitly a good mid level gun. Perfect for woodsball, but not as good for speedball since it is a little longer than most guns, and a little heavier. I definitly reccomend this marker and I love it.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, November 14th, 2004 at 6:31 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

D1ablo Wednesday, November 3rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Angels, Customs, spyders, Tippmans, and pump guns
Marker Setup: I just got rid of my gun, and am now in the prosses of buying an angel speed 05!
Recommended
Upgrades:
i would get an electronic trigger frame, or a response trigger, and new barrel
Strengths: Fast for a non electro
looks pretty cool
good beginer gun
Weaknesses: Not electro
Not really fast enugh
the milling isnt anything fancy
Review: My friend had gotten this gun as a gift. We went to our clossest paintball field and tried it out. When he first got it i thought (wow its nice) but i wanted to see if it performed well. So he let me try it. The kick on the gun was odd to me. It was like a blow bak but not powerfull. Any way i did not like that the gun was slow and had a single trigger. It should have come standered with a double trigger. The gun was nothing special, and i would only buy this gun if i were a new b....
Conclusion: This gun is good if your new to the sport and starting out, but for me ill stick with the angel im getting soon. O yeah and the price on thsi gun isnt so bad for a mechanical gun.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

BaseballisGood Tuesday, November 2nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann Pro/Carbine -- not even comparable
Tippmann Custom 98 -- a decnent gun but not as good as the A-5
KingmanSpyder Flash -- an outstanding gun but not as user friendly as the A-5
Kingman Spyder Xtra and Victor -- both decent guns but not as strong as the A-5
Marker Setup: CO2
E-grip
16" True Flight Barrel
Double-Finger Trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
--A longer barrel...Preferabley the Flatline Barrel (this barrel is absolutely amazing but a bit pricey and that is why I don't have it yet) ; a Thunder Pig or True Flight barrel 14" to 16".
--An E-grip... this makes the gun absolutely unstoppable in my oponion.
--A Double-Finger Trigger...just if you like the two finger grip as do I.
Strengths: --This gun never misfires with the cyclone feed(works great with the E-grip)
Weaknesses: --It feels a lot heavier compared to most other guns
--Stock barrel is pitiful
Review: I love this gun. It may not be flashy like the high-end guns but it sure makes up for it with its superb preformance. With the Flateline Barrel and an E-grip this gun can dominate any speedball tournament. You can rely on a Tippmann to never fail you with its stong built frame and easy to maintain features. I would recomend this gun to newbies and vets.
Conclusion: --This is the best bang-for-your-buck gun on the market. It's easy to upgrade and easy to maintain.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

xpbsniper Sunday, October 31st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 custom
Other than that none.....
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 custom
GTA sealed bolt system
Thirty two degrees coiled remote
Thirty two degrees car stock
GTA flatline (plastic shroud)
Recommended
Upgrades:
GTA low pressure kit
Barrel upgrade (any)
Strengths: Hopper speed, Durability, MP-5 style cocking
Weaknesses: Major gas hog...
Review: With my 98 custom i thought the A-5 would be the same everything but cocking style. when i tried this gun out i used 1,200psi on a 140 hopper. I like the cocking and hopper feed design plus i got my A-5 w/response from a friend new for $200.00 good deal considering i now have to get an l.p. kit and convert it to scenerio mp-5.
Conclusion: this gun is a great performer and with the tippmann line you know you're getting a long lasting marker but,at the cost of A lot of air fills be ready to get a low pressure kit with it..
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

twrr1992 Sunday, October 31st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann 98 custom and a 6 year old spyder
Marker Setup: tippmann A-5 with R/T 14" smart parts progressive barrel 3 2 pod packs from view loader a car stock from bt paintball and 3000psi compressed air tank form pure energy
Recommended
Upgrades:
a freak barrel system and a reponse trigger also known as R/T
Strengths: Every thing
Weaknesses: Nothing
Review: Its so good and so cool and so great and so good and so accurate.Good great cool awesome there are many many many many more words to describe it but those are a few.I but this gun will be the best tippmann for a long time.I really wish i had more money to buy more upgrades do i could have have more money.
Conclusion: Its awesome
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ginoman Sunday, October 31st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5, 14" Dye Boomstick
Recommended
Upgrades:
In order of importance:
1. Barrel
2. Barrel
3. Nitro Tank w/ drop forward
Strengths: It never chops balls, it's fast and durable, and it's easily upgradable.
Weaknesses: It only shoots well with premium paint, and the barrel needs to be upgraded.
Review: I've used the A-5 for about 6 months now and love it. I did a lot of research before purchasing the A-5, so I had a lot of high expectations for it. It met them, and more.

It's very reliable and durable. An example of how reliable it is, is that at least 3 times I would be running too fast, tripped and fell, and got dirt half-way up my barrel. When I unscrewed the barrel and tapped it against something to get the dirt out, and then fired the gun, it still had really good accuracy. It's made out of plastic, but it's surprisingly tough.

It never, ever chops a ball. I've had really cheap paint that broke in my hopper (It broke in my paintball pod, too, now that I think of it), but not by fault of the gun. You do need to buy harder shelled paintballs, though. It shoots very fast, and with the right barrel, it can be very accurate. I've read stories about shooting so many balls within a circle, but the real test is how many people I can shoot. I stand up against players with autocockers and still win.

The A-5 is also very upgradable. you can find electronic triggers, double triggers, nitro tanks, stocks, barrels, etc. everywhere. It looks cool, too. There's kits to make it look like AK-47's M-16's, etc.
Conclusion: It's a very good gun, and would still be a great deal if they charged more for it. I bought mine in the power pack (scott strike goggles, 12oz tank, etc.) for $245 off of ebay. It's such a reliable gun, I'm going to buy one for my wife also. I'm giving it a 9 because of the stock barrel that gets shipped with it. Other than that, it's an almost perfect gun.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

doctrine723 Friday, October 29th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 , highly modified .
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 , flatline barrel ( spyder barrel adapter ( CP barrels 8" adn 16" ), MP5 solid stock , CO2 ( direct to body , no bottem line )
Recommended
Upgrades:
FLATLINE ,FLATLINE FLATLINE !!!!!
Strengths: I bought this marker used and shot it with missing and bent parts...AWSOMELY .
Weaknesses: The cyclone feed system , its kinda bulky and unsightly .
Review: this has got to be one of the most relable Secenairo makers on the market . i bought this maker used and it had a bent drive spring pin, missing valve latch , and a washer in the valve missing . Still shot great ....it was a tiny little air his that i wanted to kno the cause of that i took it to the Splatfactory for some help . got the parts and she shoots better . And looks great to boot .
Conclusion: I have to give this one 5 out of 5, get this maker . you wont need another . while other are spending there money on repairs , yours will be spent on upgrades and paint
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (138):  First  |  68  |  69  |  70  |  71  |  72  |  73  |  74  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media