paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann A-5 / Tippmann A-5 / Tippmann A-5 / Tippmann A-5

Tippmann A-5 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann A-5

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann A-5
[ View Photos (246) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 1376
Average Rating: 9.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $272

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The All New Tippmann A-5 is a high performance paintball marker with the patented Cyclone Feed System. The Cyclone Feed System Links the Feeder Sprocket to the Air System. The Faster you shoot, the faster the Tippmann A-5 feeds. Pull the Trigger 15 times a second, and the Tippmann A-5 feeds 15 balls per second. The Tippmann A-5 is also easy to clean and maintain with its no tool field strip feature. Innovative technology, maximum firepower, unsurpassed accuracy and Tippmann durability are the core foundations of the all new Tippmann A-5.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann A-5 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (138):  First  |  71  |  72  |  73  |  74  |  75  |  76  |  77  |  Last
        Next Page
hardtokill27 Wednesday, September 15th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5, Flatline, E-Grip, Collapsible stock, tactical sling, BSA laser sight, Harris bi-pod
Recommended
Upgrades:
Flatline, E-Grip
Strengths: Shoots far
Very fast cycle rate
Reliable
Weaknesses: Must use expensive paint with Flatline
Causes opposing team to hate you
Review: The A-5 is a great gun out of the box. It is also very reliable and is backed by the best company in paintball today. The E-Grip is an awesome upgrade for this gun if you play woods ball. If you set it on full auto and turn the cycle rate all the way up, you will scare the crap out of anyone not on your team. This gun is great because it has the cyclone feed system so you can shoot 15 bps and not chop versus buying a $100 hopper to compensate for the cycle rate on any other gun. The Flatline shoots very far and can keep players pinned down from long distances. I recommend buying this gun and then getting E-Grip. I do not recommend buying the RT seperately and installing it yourself, let Tippmann install it.
Conclusion: I would recommend this gun for anyone, but not a newbie. Noobs should start out with a cheap pump so they can appreciate semi's a little more when they get one.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Hoopla221 Wednesday, September 15th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing that I have used compares.
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
Flatline Barrel
Response Trigger
SAW Stock
ADCO 30mm Red Dot Sight
Remote Line
Crossfire 4500 psi Nitro System
Recommended
Upgrades:
Flatline Barrel and a Remote Kit
Strengths: The Cyclone Feeder and the markers overall durability and reliability
Weaknesses: No real weakness performance wise, but the marker is rather heavy with the flatline barrel.
Review: I play more woods than indoor so my markers usually take a beating. I can run this marker into the ground over and over again and it will still fire without a problem. There is no problem maintaining this marker. The field strip option is simple and fast. So far with the cyclone feeder, I have not broken a single paintball in the marker. However, because of the cyclone feed, it does tend to eat up more air, but I would rather eat up more air than have to clean a barrel in the field. With the stock barrel, the gun is very accurate between 0 - 75 feet.
Conclusion: This is the strongest marker i have used and it has a lot of options to upgrade. I highly recommend this marker especially if you play woods ball.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Sonic420 Saturday, September 11th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 years2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
PMI Black Maxx - pistol vs. sniper rifle
Spyder Imagine - over rated
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 with a J&J ceramic Barrel and a psycho ballistics double trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
J&J 14"ceramic barrel - works very well and doesn't break paint!!!
Double trigger, this gun is designed to shoot fast and the double trigger makes it easier to do that
Flatline Barrel - this is questionable, if you want to keep up with super fast electronic guns then do NOT get this barrel. It may be accurate but it is expensive($120) and it breaks paint when you shoot fast.
Sniper stock - I suggest getting a S.A.W. stock because they are durable and fold so you can reload your gun while the gun is still against your shoulder.
E grip. This makes the trigger pulls more sensitive so you can shoot faster.
Strengths: Very fast and accurate
Offset hopper so you can use a sight
Weaknesses: Front grip comes loose and the handle falls off. Just tighten it though
Review: This gun is wicked awesome, get it for $230, or if you find it cheaper somewhere else 888 will give you a discount off the cheaper price. I wanted a psycho ballistics super bolt but they were too expensive and This gun has proven it was well worth it. I play with a bunch of kids who went out and got spyder imagines, they were devestated when i got the A5 because I was shooting faster and farther then any of them could. This gun is good because there are so many upgrades avaliable. You can buy the gun and upgrade it when you feel like it . This gun is freaking awesome and is worth the extra mula if you want it. I have used my friends for years and recently got one myself and our guns shoot the same. this gun is durable and well worth the money.
Conclusion: This gun is good for any person who wants a gun that is good for tourneys, and scenario play. I gave this gun a 9 because this gun is so much better with a sniper barrel and double trigger.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, September 14th, 2004 at 12:49 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

a5flyr Thursday, September 9th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann 98 custom, impulse, spyders
Marker Setup: on my a-5, 68 cui 3000 psi, 14" stainless steel freak kit /w all american front, e-grip, jcs blade trigger, dead on aluminum foregrip, bullet drop forward, dead on rear velocity adjuster
Recommended
Upgrades:
A GOOD BARREL, big air(or CO2) tank, E-GRIP AND JCS DUAL TRIGGER... maybe a drop forward if you like them... definitely a new front grip (the stock one is too small)
Strengths: Reliable, "User friendly", Fast with e-grip and jcs trigger, accurate, doesn't break paint
Weaknesses: Kind of loud; stock everything sucks; not as air efficient as i'd hope.
Review: The tippmann a-5 is simply a great gun. It is basically a tippmann 98 custom that cycles extremely fast for not being electropneumatic and has the "cyclone feed system." The cyclone feed is incredible! It's connected directly to the firing system, so the faster you pull the trigger, the faster the cyclone feeds. There is always a ball in the chamber, so THIS GUN NEVER BREAKS PAINT. i have had mine for almost two years now, and i have never broken a ball (even the terrible field paint.) Also, it is very easy to strip and clean.
Its only minor problems (loudness, needs a big tank, cheap stock parts) can be fixed very easily. To fix the sound problem, get rid of the stock barrel. The air efficiency solution: buy a big air tank. It's that simple. And all its stock parts suck: the barrel is inacurate at over 50 feet, the trigger pull is heavy, and the front grip is too small. These problems can be fixed as follows. JJ ceramic barrel: $35, dead on double trigger: $12, and dead on foregrip: $8. To make you gun a tournament gun that can compete against any other gun, buy a total stainless freak barrel kit with that all american front, get an e-grip and a jcs blade trigger.
Conclusion: I am giving it a 10 because its only minor flaws can be fixed very easily. The best gun for its price in my opinion.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, December 22nd, 2004 at 5:48 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

guapotaco Wednesday, September 8th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Model 98, Spyder Shutter
Marker Setup: A5, RT, Freak Barrel, CO2
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel
Expansion Chamber
Strengths: The cyclone feeder never misses, not too shiny for woods ball, never chops balls
Weaknesses: Cant upgrade hopper
Poor hopper design
Review: The gun is over all very good for its price, with the exception of the hopper. the front of it is flat so paintballs that hit it break more often than if it were round. i have heard of hoppers breaking from the impact of a ball. it is very consistent. however the stock barrel is kinda inaccurate, i recommend buying a boom stick or freak barrel. i have heard nothing good about the flat line system. people say the gun is inaccurate, however that is because of the stock barrel, buy a new one and it is fine.
Conclusion: Buy it. i would rather give it an 8.5, but instead i will round up. it is very consistent and hardly ever has problems.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

skinart Tuesday, September 7th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
3a E power (CRAP!)
Spyder Xtra (AWESOME gun for price!)
Marker Setup: Stock A-5, just orderd an E grip should be here in a few days :), next to be a barrel.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Works AWESOME straight from the box, but just like any marker an after market barrel would be a nice upgrade! Plus E grip for fun purposes.
Strengths: Tough!
Accurate!
Can be upgraded to the moon!
Farily Cheap!
Weaknesses: ?? Tippmann's dont have Weaknesses!
Review: The A-5 has an awesome feel to it! When you grab it, it fits snug in your hands and feels like its built of steel, but is not heavy!

I found that it is very quiet operation (internals) compared to the other markers I have shot. and fires very smoothly even under heavy fireing.

The cyclone feed is flawless, it dosent skip a beat! It will force as many balls as needed to keep you satisfied.

If you get the chance, ask someone if you can have a touchy feel of there A-5 and you will know what I mean straight away!

AWESOME marker for an awesome price!
Conclusion: The A-5 is slightly expensive, but when you take into account it has a hopper that will keep up to 700 rounds a minute allready installed on the marker, its a VERY good bang for your buck!

It can be found on ebay for $200 or less brand new! and you will not be dissapointed!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

Kwik-kill Monday, September 6th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann 98 custom
spyder shutter
Marker Setup: A-5, car stock, expansion chamber fore grip, 14 in. whisper barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel
expansion chamber
Strengths: Accuracy.
Reliability.
Very customizable.
Weaknesses: Hopper is a bit bulky.
It can weigh alot.
Review: I have used many paintball guns but this gun is by far the best ive used. I had fired hundreds of rounds through it and I hadn't chopped a single ball. The guns quick field strip allows it to be quickly oiled. I can strip it and oil it in under 30 seconds. In all the time I have had it I have not had a single problem with the gun at all. This gun is worth every penny.
Conclusion: This gun might now be for beginners because of all the customizations and the price, but this gun is incredibly well made and will be one of the best guns for a long time.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Phillips a-5 Sunday, September 5th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann 98 custome, spyder fenix
Marker Setup: 14" barrel w/ expansion chamber
Recommended
Upgrades:
larger barrel than stock and an expansion chamber
Strengths: Accurate, noise, sturdy, cyclone feed system
Weaknesses: Some wut of a co2 hog
Review: This is the best gun i have ever owned. i am only 13 so th price was good $308.00 that came w/ mask , 20 ounce, and other major supplys. when i first got it was was amazed the the shots that i was making wit this hitting cand from 100 feet with the stock barrel! then when i my 14"barrel i was hitting cans from 175 feet it was amazing!!! but i did realize that i was goin through co2 fast so i refilled my 20 ounce and checked for leaks...none so i decided to get an expansion chamber. A it gained about 70 to 100 shots and B it provided a better hand grip. for this gun i strongly recomend LEARNING TO SHOOT LEST HANDED. i am a lefty but tried a game righty and i couldnt believe how many times i got shot in the hopper and the area where the cyclone feed system is. But being lefty solves that because the bunker hides all of that. One more thing i would like to address is the noise. I read over 100 reviews about this gun before i bought it on how the noise is so loud and it is bad for playing cuz it gives away where you are. I actually find it better, especially when playing in the woods cuz all u have to do is turn the gun upside down and fire 5 times not waysting any paint. the sound provides good cover so that one of your team members can run to another location undetected. and it spooks the apposing team.
Conclusion: This gun is the best. After using this i am deperate to use my friends dye matix and see if that even stands up to my a-5. and if it does it cant be any better.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

cmcan22 Sunday, September 5th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
98 custom
Marker Setup: 2k2 Intimidator (black to blue fade) with Evil asa, Evil bolt, Evil ram and ram cap, Evil detonator reg(inline), Evil Repirator(lpr), Evil grips and a Kapp mini drop with a System X on/off
WAS 2.8 board
45/4500 LP Crossfire
Ripped Halo B
Five bore Scepter barrel kit
Recommended
Upgrades:
flatline barrel
Strengths: Reliability
Strength
Field strip
Weaknesses: Gas consumption
Loud
Trigger pull
Review: This was my first marker and it functioned extremely well. nothing ever wen wrong with it and I was very happy with it. The accuracy of it was decent at best with the stock barrel but u have to remember that it's only an 8 inch stock barrel. This thing worked extremly well for woods ball because it has a low profile and it is fairly compact. The best upgrade you could ever buy for this gun is without a doubt the flatline barrel. You can really reach out and get people that have no range on you at all.
Conclusion: This gun is a very good first or second marker and with the flatline barrel you will own anyone you playa in woodsball as long as you have some skills.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, October 17th, 2005 at 6:31 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

JAKEff Sunday, September 5th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
model 98 , spyder special edition
Marker Setup: impulse with vision coming soon but now i have an a5
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel, low pressure kit to save air and give the gun consistancy most of the upgrades are just to make the gun work like most guns usally do stock WASTE OF MONEY
Strengths: reliabale
NO CHOPING
good price
Weaknesses: U PPL DONT SEE THAT THIS GUN IS SLOWWW but most woodsballers dont need speed
Review: I won this gun for free at an s game last june. I like the gun its the best gun if u like woods ball. I play speed ball alot more then i play woods so this gun dosent fit me. The first time i used this gun i loved it. Then when i started shooting alot, i started to realize that this gun sucks down gas. I shoot like 800 rounds and i had to fill my 16oz tank 2 times. It sucked because i had to keep leaving the feild left and right. Each time i left the feild i would have to re chrono the gun. I wouldnt mind it but with this gun it goes from 260 to 290. NOT GOOD. This gun is also super acccurate. i can nail someone from 50 feet away with the stock barrel. If u are the person that likes to hide and snipe then this is the gun for you.
Conclusion: this is a fast good gun and the best for woods that i can think of. good for sniping.
O and why does everyone who plays woodsball have to have a gun the is so heavy looks cool but shoot slow, just advise make the gun fast the make it look good. look at all the pic above all the guns are stock but look cool
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, December 30th, 2004 at 8:19 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (138):  First  |  71  |  72  |  73  |  74  |  75  |  76  |  77  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media