paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann A-5 / Tippmann A-5 / Tippmann A-5 / Tippmann A-5

Tippmann A-5 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann A-5

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann A-5
[ View Photos (246) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 1376
Average Rating: 9.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $272

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The All New Tippmann A-5 is a high performance paintball marker with the patented Cyclone Feed System. The Cyclone Feed System Links the Feeder Sprocket to the Air System. The Faster you shoot, the faster the Tippmann A-5 feeds. Pull the Trigger 15 times a second, and the Tippmann A-5 feeds 15 balls per second. The Tippmann A-5 is also easy to clean and maintain with its no tool field strip feature. Innovative technology, maximum firepower, unsurpassed accuracy and Tippmann durability are the core foundations of the all new Tippmann A-5.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann A-5 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (138):  First  |  72  |  73  |  74  |  75  |  76  |  77  |  78  |  Last
        Next Page
killajules Friday, September 3rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyders maybe?
Marker Setup: a-5 w/ rt, 20 oz. CO2
Recommended
Upgrades:
better barrel, any barrel will be better than the stock barrel
make sure to get a big tank
Strengths: -Looks
-Cyclone feeder
-Durability
-Field strip
-RT can be disabled
-Adjustable sight
Weaknesses: -Loud
-Gas hog
-Stock barrel
Review: This gun has great value, it's cheap, and its a tank, people say that the money spent on getting a new barrel will cost as much as an entry level cocker, true, but an entry level cocker isn't as good as an upgraded a5. That money alone will only buy you the cocker, and you still need to get an electric hopper for it, and you still won't get the ROF the rt has until you spend $400+ on an e/worr blade. I'm not saying cockers are bad, it's just that you need to invest more to make a cocker worthwhile.
Now with the review,
When i got the gun and played speedball, i didn't find anything wrong with the stock barrel, i didn't notice how bad the accuracy was because i play front and the inconsistencies were not great at 50 ft. Then, when i played a scenario game, where i had to shoot people 150+ ft. away, i couldn't get people unless they more than half of their body was exposed and i sprayed them.
It was easy to spray because of the amazing ROF from the rt, it's so easy to use, when you pull the trigger about halfway, it starts to imitate full auto, the piston shoots the trigger back into you r finger and the tension in your finger pulls the trigger and starts a continuous cycle of pain for your opponent.
The gun is a big gas hog; with a 20 ouncer, i get around 500 shots, its not that big of a deal because the field that i go to has all gas fills included with the entrance fee.
Conclusion: I highly recommend this gun for entry or intermediate level, and it's low profile and non-reflective paint job makes it great for scenario games, with the right upgrades it will compare with the SIMS if you're so serious you spend that kind of money. The positioning of the forgrip makes it hard to keep a low profile while snap shooting, so i dont recommend getting into serious tournaments with this gun. This is a great gun for recball, especially if you have the rt. After i save up some money, I'm probably going to buy a cyborg for tourneys, i give this a 10 because even tho the stock barrel sucks, 90% of people upgrade their stock barrels anyways, and gas is free at my field, so the CO2 consumption hasn't caused problems either
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Hmmm Donut Friday, September 3rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder imagine, spyder compact Tippmann 98c
Marker Setup: A-5
14in AA barrel
double trigger
magnetic trigger
custom mods
20oz AS c02
Recommended
Upgrades:
I order buy prioty
1. New barrel u can get a cheap after marker barrel such as a SP teardrop or an J&J ceramic
2. Double trigger
3. Hpa, regulator
4. Egrip
Strengths: Built like a tank,
has a good company behind it
Weaknesses: LOud, heavy bluky
stock barrel
Cyclone cannot keep up with guns true potnential


Review: Only buy this gun if u are a woods ball player or are prepared to spend ours of your time doing custom mods to get bps. Problem is, that up for this gun are way overpriced (egrip is $120, LPK=$150) and u will spend bout 450 on ups to get this marker to preform on a cocker level. Not to mention for the price of the A-5 u can get a Spyder imagine with ups. SO think, really think bout what u will used this marker for before buying. Don't make the mistake i did by thinking it can compete with a autococker if upgraded (it cant)
Bottom line this would be a great marker if tippmann just put a little more time and effort into it
Conclusion: Buy if u like woods or have to much time on your hands. But I will say it again this marker is OVERPRICED, u are just buying a 98c with a cyclone feed witch by the way is what is keeping this marker from hitting 15bps + as the cyclone feed can only feed 15bps. Take it from me Don't buy this marker GO get yourself a espyder or BKO
they will make u much happier
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

mstorer Monday, August 30th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
cheesy rental marker, unknown brand
Marker Setup: Stock a-5, 20oz tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Don't know enough just yet to recommend anything
Strengths: See review.
Weaknesses: See review.
Review: Strengths:
*It feels solid, not like some toy. It has a real weight to it. I can see how younger kids could have a problem with it, but as a grown man, I LIKED it.

*Far more accurate than the rental gun I used. That's not saying much, but there it is.

*My A-5 didn't seem like a gas hog, though again, I don't have much to compare it to.

*Looks Great.

*The noise didn't bother me at all, but again, I don't have much first-hand experience yet.

*I did FAR better this time out with the A-5 than I did my first time with the rental hunk-o-junk. I averaged 2 kills per death in a beginner walk-on group. Not too shabby. Compare that to the 1 kill and 8 deaths on my first time... HUGE improvement. I could actually hit what I was aiming for, even if it took a few rounds. I had to fire 2 or 3 rounds just to get the paint moving in the right direction, then I had a decent chance of nailing someone.

Weaknesses:
*Kind of a pain to put back together after a full dissasembly. I don't know how hard it is compared to other markers, I just know I had a heck of a time after taking it apart for the first time. Now that I've actually done it, I'm sure it will be easier next time.

[Edit: Having taken it appart and reassembled it in under 15 minutes, I completely recant this issue. The only problem I had putting it back together is the next weakness.]

*The "quick remove" push pins that hold the grip stick, and are VERY DIFFICULT to remove by hand. They're not much easier to insert either. There are 4 such pins, and two of them are holding the grip. The other two are easily taken out... almost too easily.

[I've taken to holding the tab in with one allen wrench while pushing HARD on the end of the pin with another. After a bit of heaving and profanity, the pin will come out. Definitely NOT an "in the field" procedure.]

*The trigger felt kinda funny. I'd used several different firearms prior to my paintballing and my initial "out of the box" impression of the trigger wasn't favorable. However, once I got it out on the fireld, I didn't even notice it. Not a big issue.

[edit: On the other hand, I'd picked up a couple differend paintball guns at a local shop, and the trigger on one actually wiggled side to side... so this is a definite improvement over "flimsy PoS".]

*I don't care for the way the cyclone feeder is attached to the main body of the gun. With everything else unscrewed, the cyclone hung by a little rubber hose. I feared I might break it, though nothing went wrong. Not a big deal, but still.

[ Edit: If that hose detatched with everything else when all the pins and screws were removed, it'd be great.]
Conclusion: Despite having listed almost as many weaknesses as strenths, I'm very happy with my A-5. All the weaknesses I've listed are pretty small stuff, particularly the trigger feel. All the strenghts are the important stuff... I "just works", it looks good, it shoots pretty straight.

Not perfect, but Really Good. Solid 9.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, September 1st, 2004 at 9:41 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Withoutaname Thursday, August 26th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98c; Slower and feel bulkier.
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5
Flatline
CO2
Recommended
Upgrades:
Flatline (First thing you should buy, or at least that you should buy one day)
Strengths: -See review body-
Weaknesses: -See review body-
Review: Strenghts:...
-Doesnt chop
-Looks awsome and work just as good
-Light (Well some of you say its heavy...3.5 pounds heavy?)
-Average accuracy with stock barrel, once upgraded to Flatline, it'll shoots where you aim in a straight line.
-Reliable
-Heavy-duty
-LOUD!!! (I love it, fun to scare people =P)
Weaknesses:...
Price (400$ CND stock)
None, except a rather small front hand guard? Well this doesnt reduce the gun rating at all.
Conclusion: Buy it if your interested in a reliable, heavy-duty gun or fast shooting non-electro gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, August 28th, 2004 at 3:58 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Kingman_Rodeo Thursday, August 26th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
My Tippmann 98 Custom
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom, Chrome-moly 16oz tank, 16" Boomstick, Evil barrel adapter,Pure Energy expansion chamber, 9 volt agitated hopper.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Carr stock, New barrel
Strengths: *See review*
Weaknesses: *See review*
Review: First off this gun is NOT mine, I have a buddy named Josh. It's his gun, he's in the Reserves. When he got married, him and his wife went on honeymoon and he lent it to me for about two weeks.

*Key Strengths*
Durability (Big time)
Aiming (Big time)
Crisp trigger pull
Weight
You feel so manly holding it
Cyclone feed
Customizable
Everything


*Key Weaknesses*
Lemme think....... nope nothing.

Well, when he lent me this gun it was fully tricked out. It had a Carr Stock, 9" stock barrel, Cyclone Feed (Don't know if thats stock or not?), Red dot sight, etc. When I pulled this gun out of his duffle bag it felt like it was part of me (Ok, a little too spiritual there sorry!) Anyway, he was out on honeymoon like I said, and the people he bought the house from (My old neighbors) had a swing set. Well within a good five minutes, the whole thing was bright green! Anyways enough of my rambling, how he got the gun is that the Army Reserves bought it for him, and he trains with it. They pay for everything, thats great! He's the nicest guy in the world, and he has the greatest gun in the world, thanks Josh!
Conclusion: This is the most pimpin gun in the whole world! Buy it, without a second thought, even a child could handle it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Dragun T.E.S Tuesday, August 24th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Marker Setup: Dragun T.E.S.
DYE Ultrlight Barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Flatline barrel
Strengths: Real durable and looks good and is pretty accruate without flatline barrel.
Weaknesses: All i dont like is i tihnk the hopper kindof messes aim up sometimes.
Review: Looks = 10
Durablity = 10
Accuracy without flatline = 9 flatline = 10
Overall = 9.7

I think people talk about this gun to much it is a little highly over rated cause i know alot of guns that would beat it. Now it will beat like every gun in durability but i dont plan to stick my gun in alot of dirt or mud.. or bury it.. I would say buy this gun if you want to play in woods but i dont think its good for tournement use.
Conclusion: Buy Flatline barrel and new stuff for it so it is more accurate thats it.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Paintball_Doc Monday, August 23rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyders
PMI Piranha GTI (and none of these are similar aside from being "blow backs")
Marker Setup: A5, flatline barrel or JCS 5.5 inch xShort barrel, 68/3000 HPA
Recommended
Upgrades:
flatline barrel for woodsballers, Palmer stab
Strengths: durable
fairly accurate
MP-5ish appearance
Weaknesses: CO2 inefficiency
NOISE
Review: I liked the appearance right away. Put on a flatline and it starts to resemble a Heckler and Koch MP-5 with a silencer. Great for woodsball or scenario ball.

The A5 is very durable and reliable -- it went with me through hell and back while playing rec.

I wouldn't take one into a tourney, due to gas inefficiency and size. It's a good idea to make sure you have a LOT of CO2 (or HPA) on hand that day.

It's great for rec ball, but it makes a lot of noise.

EDIT -- 3 months after initial post -- the A5 is still a great working machine... I'm having no problems with it at all.
Conclusion: I'd recommend it to a serious woodsballer who would rather play in the woods with something more reliable than his electro he uses for speed.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, December 27th, 2004 at 5:35 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Electroneurotic Thursday, August 19th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippy m98
Spyder Imagine(No comparison to anything,except maybe a straw)
Marker Setup: Tippy A-5
Flatline
PPS Stabilizer
32 degrees remote
Recommended
Upgrades:
FLATLINE
PPS Stab.
E-Grip
Blackpoint engineering duel trigger
Strengths: CYCLONE
Tippmann Reliability
Feel
Looks
Weaknesses: I am trying hard but i cant think of any
Review: When my friend first bought this gun i immedietly asked him how much he would sell it to me for. Soon enough i bought it from him. The gun stock seems to be o.k. on gas and the stock barrel is surprisingly accurate. The best thing about this gun is that you will never need to buy an electric hopper which would probably cost you a dick and a leg. So far i have not chopped a single ball, even when firing rambo style.I have put about 20,000 rounds through it!! This gun got a lot better when i bought the stabilizer regulator. I got about 1400 shots out of a 24 ounce tank. Once you have the stabilizer then you can get a flatline barrel. This barrel is very accurate with the stabilizer. All around this gun is awesome.
Conclusion: This product is reliable and will shoot your friends in the a@$ with both accuracy and efficiency.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, December 12th, 2004 at 12:25 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

LiteEmuP69 Tuesday, August 17th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder imagine
Marker Setup: A-5 with a RT and a red dot, and unfortunately a thunder pig
Recommended
Upgrades:
Wow, well most definitely a barrel, and if not already a RT or E-Grip, and perhaps a double finger trigger
Strengths: Great gun
Accurate
Hard hitting
intimidating
Fun
Weaknesses: The stock barrel, and the velocity changer
Review: I got this gun for Christmas a couple years ago and there is not a better gun out there for the price. My A-5 with a crappy thunder pig barrel out shot an impulse with a Freak. We each shot 10 times from 15 yards away and three of my balls were out of pattern and 4 of his were, but one was a couple inches off...I got the Rt on it and i love it this gun is by far the best gun you can buy. There is only 2 complaints i have. One is the 8 inch stock barrel, but you can put it to good use if you get a sniper compressor on it, it makes it 70% quieter and a lot more accurate. The other problem is sometimes you decide to change your velocity in the game and you need allen wrench's and time to do that with the A-5. Other than those two minor things the A-5 is gods gift to earth!
Conclusion: Abosulutly great marker, not only is it a blast but extremly reliable. If and when you buy this gun get a barrel for it and you will have just as nice of a gun as some of the pros! I will give it a 9.5, only take off .5 for the barrel since this is a review for stock, but with aftermarket barrel a STRONG 10!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, August 17th, 2004 at 5:33 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

1__SpLaTtEr__1 Monday, August 16th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98, almost same internals and feel
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5
-GTA Double Trigger
-Macroline
-Palmer Stabalizer (male)
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel
Regulator
RVA
Egrip
Strengths: Fast shooting
Accurate
Good looking
F.A.G.
Weaknesses: It is loud! (may be a strength for some)
Review: Bought my A5 a few months ago, I love it! You can't beat it's consistantsy, it is accurate to. Looks good. I sa bit of a gas hog, but it makes up for that with it's performance. Tippmann did a good job on the A5.... There are a few mods that can be done to the trigger to make it shoot faster, and there are alot of upgrades availible for the gun. The only problems are that it is loud, and you have to use the specific A5 hoper on it.... otherwise it is th ebest marker I have ever shot!....
Conclusion: Buy it! Great marker for all experiance levels...
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (138):  First  |  72  |  73  |  74  |  75  |  76  |  77  |  78  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media