paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann A-5 / Tippmann A-5 / Tippmann A-5 / Tippmann A-5

Tippmann A-5 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann A-5

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann A-5
[ View Photos (246) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 1376
Average Rating: 9.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $272

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The All New Tippmann A-5 is a high performance paintball marker with the patented Cyclone Feed System. The Cyclone Feed System Links the Feeder Sprocket to the Air System. The Faster you shoot, the faster the Tippmann A-5 feeds. Pull the Trigger 15 times a second, and the Tippmann A-5 feeds 15 balls per second. The Tippmann A-5 is also easy to clean and maintain with its no tool field strip feature. Innovative technology, maximum firepower, unsurpassed accuracy and Tippmann durability are the core foundations of the all new Tippmann A-5.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann A-5 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (138):  First  |  75  |  76  |  77  |  78  |  79  |  80  |  81  |  Last
        Next Page
MR ROBOTO Friday, July 16th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom,Spyder Extra,Spyder E-99
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5,Flatline,E-Grip,JCS double trigger,HPA
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel depending on what style of play I do not suggest the flatline for speedball. E-grip for ROF. After that LPK for efficieny and a reg. After that your doing pretty good for yourself.
Strengths: Comes with a very capable hopper, very customizable,very durable.
Weaknesses: Heavy and very large in size. Not reccomended for a front player.
Review: When I first got the a-5 I was dissapointed. It didn't look very impressive and when I first shot it it was loud and innacurate. After getting the flatline it changed my opinion very quickly. The stock ROF is pretty good and the cyclone does fantastically. After getting a new barrel and maybe(not required but nice) an HPA tank you have a force to be reckoned with. Cleaning is not too complicated and their are many manufacturers of aftermarket products.
Conclusion: I reccomend this product to anyone who wants a durable and mid-class paintball gun. It does amazingly in woodsball, but I would not reccomend this product to a speedballer. Unless you are willing to throw out some serious cash in upgrades. All in all I give this product an 8.5 due to the size and weight and cost of upgrades.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

dilly man 2 Tuesday, July 13th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
none my first gun, and my last :) read review to find why
Marker Setup: tippmann A-5 with custom products single peice barrel, E-grip, x chamber by tippmann
Recommended
Upgrades:
depends what you want do do with it, i will expain in review
Strengths: Cant expain in 15 words, I will also tell you a very nice modification!!
Weaknesses: Barrel, it is too short and doesn't have enough porting holes. Look in review.
Review: Recommened Upgrades- for me i went with the custom products single peice barrel. I urge that the first upgrade with this gun should be a new barrel. i spent $51 on it and i dont regret it. if you want an electric trigger you can go for the e-grip $115 at the cheapest. the features are semi, turbo, auto response, 3 round burst, and the full auto. very nice upgrade if you have the money. DO NOT GET IT WET!! There is also the response trigger. a $70 upgrade and if you spend the time you can make the adjustments that can make it almost full auto.


Key Strengths- first of all its a tippmann, can't go wrong there. tops out at 15 balls per second! I love the mp5 sights and how it slightly resembles it too. I like the front grip because it's ajustable. Upgrades are also very easy to put together. I also like how you can take the grip off the gun in under 5 seconds, just take out the 2 pins and its out. some say the pastic is stupid and weak but if you know anything about paintball you would know that that is good. its lightweight and all most unbrakeable unless you step on it or something dumb like that. if you still think the plastic is bad add 2 pounds to make it steel and aluminum and tell me that is was right. i saw on a website, on a video and quotes from the pros that it keeps up with Angels, Boblongs, and other high end markers.The Tippmann A-5 is truly that good. i bought mine for $209 and i dont regret it. the only problem i had was the complete disasembley but i got the hang of it. Trust me you'll love it.


Key weaknesses- the hardest part because i really can't think of anything. Tippmann could have done a better job with the barrel because it is only 8.5'' long and the like 8 porting holes. also if you do buy it make sure you have 2 20 oz for game and at the most 2 9 oz for practice. expect around 600-650 shots on a 20 oz. hey but what can i say its a gas hog. didn't, change my mind. get the expansion chamber by tippmann, problem solved. then expect around 800-875. thats plenty for me.
Dont worry about the cyclone feeder manual push tab. it wiggles because of the spring inside " its not broken or damaged " . NOTICE HOW THERE WAS ALMOST NO WEAKNESSES IN THIS SECTION



!!!!!!!I HOPE YOU FOUND EVERYTHING HELPFULL!!!!!





Conclusion: BUY IT, dont change your mind be cause of high impact light weight plastic. dont change your mind because of fools saying "i broke the cyclone manual feeder" or
"plastic, need i say more" if so then get it steel and aluminum, but add a couple of pounds. i'd give it a 11 but i cant. you will not regrete the a-5. the 98 custom is nice dont get me wrong put just to get to the trigger you have to take the whole gun apart.
i also thought, tested and use my trigger mod.
You will need a ball point pen spring, wire cutters and THATS IT.
take the grip of
then push the saftey out
look in grip and take out the trigger very easy
lift off one of the black plates covering the trigger stuff
you will easly see 2 springs, a long one and a short one
take out the short one in front of the trigger
take your ball point pen spring and cut it with WIRECUTTERS not anything else!
cut it so it is the same length and the short spring
put the new spring in and reassemble everything test it out its like a 1/2 pound trigger pull




Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
10 Comments - Add Comment

pbSniper5 Monday, July 12th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5, drop foward,32* night stick barrel,double trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel, double trigger and (or) elc. trigger frame or response trigger
Strengths: Doesn't brake balls
Fast
Good looking
Upgradeable
Small
Durable
Cyclone feed system
Weaknesses: Cost
Review: this is a great gun for any player, beginner or pro. it is the fastest shooting gun i have ever shot and it is very durable because it is made by Tippmann.My gun is especially good because i upgraded the barrel and the trigger so it shoots fast and accurate. so for right now im set and happy with what i got and could not be any happier
Conclusion: Buy this gun if you are a unhappy trigger happy fellow
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

dead_pookie Monday, July 12th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: tippmann A-5 with aluminuim grip with r/t and aluminuim front grip, double trigger, remote coil, folding stock, and a flatline barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
if you dont like plasic grip and front grip and new barrel
Strengths: Pretty strong
Looks good
Upgradeable
Doesnt chop balls
Weaknesses: only for a right handed person
plastic
Front grip is to short


Review: great marker but they could make it better. first the front grip was way too short and theres alot of plastic on the marker also you need to buy a little mounting block if you want to use a drop forward. but other then that it a pretty good marker has a fast ROF for a non electronic marker and with the r/t its alot faster. i didnt like all the plastic so i saved up and bought aluminum grip and front grip it just feels alot better with out the all plastic. i like the cyclone feed i have only had it chop like 4 balls in the time i have owned it. the flatline barrel is awesome too. overal i think its a nice marker and worth the money
Conclusion: I say buy it but some of the part are pricey to upgrade and if you like sim games you can get it looking like a tompson or ak-47with some cosmetic parts
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

VPNizzle4lyf Saturday, July 10th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98c w/ Response
Marker Setup: A-5, 16" CMI barrel & Flatline, angled ASA drop, response trigger, double trigger, lighter trigger springs, laser sight (for looks... came with the gun when I bought it)
Recommended
Upgrades:
1st *MUST* - Barrel (one for speedball) and if you like to spend money like me... a flatline for woods ball
expansion chamber or regulator
*Nitro or Comp. Air*
E-grip
Strengths: Relative speed
Relative accuracy
Ease of use, and cleaning
Weaknesses: Loud
Sometimes heavy (especially on a long, hot day)
Freezes a little with Co2
Review: This gun is good. I know it is a simple sentence to start off with, but I will put that out there first. I will now begin to tell you the weaknesses and strengths that I have found with it:

Origionally when I played with the gun after I first bought it I was amazed at how I could pull the trigger back as fast as I want and not break a ball without upgrades. I found out quickly that the stock barrel is good, but not accurate enough to be an effective speedball barrel or woods barrel. So I searched for a good medium between the two that was cheep. I bought a 16" sniper barrel.

Don't try to play speed ball with an A-5 w/ a 16" barrel on it, unless you have drop and are tall. Otherwise, when you slide and you don't have the gun tucked right, or not high enough off the ground, you start to dig yourself a grave with the end of your barrel. I would reccomend a more accurate 12" barrel like a teardrop or freak system. For the woods though... get a flatline. Your talking about reaching out and touching. I fired on a ground power transformer across the street with it, and I hit it 2 out of 3 times from about 250 ft out, with a six inch grouping. (I cleaned off the transformer of course) And the reson I don't use the flatline in speedball is because you fire it so fast, with the Co2 the barrel gets cold, and then breaks balls while they rub off the top of the barrel coming out.

Another thing, this gun sometimes freezes on me. See in the little gas elbow thing that connects the feed system and the RT to the excess gas, well it gets very very cold, and I suppose when that happens that excess gas condenses and well it causes it to sometimes not feed, and therefore dry fire. So that is why I'm getting a nitro tank, to resolve that problem.

Mechanics are wonderful though, except the fact that the trigger pull is as heavy as the weight of the bolt on the sear from the drive spring. But, when you get used to it, it isn't that noticeable. And it is an ease to clean. Not as easy as say an autococker, you pull a pin and take out the bolt, but close enough. More like 4 pins and a screw, but then again you do that and the whole gun falls apart. Which is nice sometimes.

I'm not going to lie, it is fast, but even with my RT (which I don't know what the problem is but doesn't work properly, and I have had it looked atby a shop and all the messed up o-rings on it replaced and it still doesn't work right) but I have never fired more than 10 bps. I know it can get faster. I've seen seen it faster, when my RT works (which always seems to be when I don't have paint in the gun) it fires fast. But it is a personal problem for me, that I would like to share, just to warn you so you won't be surprised if it happens to you.
Conclusion: This gun is good, period. It has some quarks but you can always work them out, or work with them. It's speed, accuracy (with barrel help), and ease of use is this guns strong points. It is a loud gun, but it is paintball, you can't be but so stealthy anyway. Although I had problems with it freezeing and breaking a few balls here and there, I'm sure if you get an anti-syphon, or nitro, it shouldn't be so bad at all. I'm about to get an E-grip, a regulator, and nitro, when I get properly aquainted with the upgrades I will update this review. It isn't no autococker or shocker or angel, but for the price and reliability it comes close. But the quarks annoy me sometimes until I get them out, I cannot give this gun a higher rating.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, July 14th, 2004 at 12:25 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Slayer-LongShot Saturday, July 10th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippamnn 98, Piranha STS, Stingray
Marker Setup: A5, Flatline/J&J ceramic, Lapco foregrip, lapco offset rail
Recommended
Upgrades:
bigger foregrip
Strengths: Stock barrel, Size, Looks, Upgrades
Weaknesses: Cyclone is huge, fieldstripping
Review: This is a grea marker i went form a 98 to a pirnaha and to this... It is a little heavier than a 98 especailly if you put any large upgrades on it, btu it is idealy smaller.

+ The stock barrel is the best stock barrel i've ever seen right out of the box it shot perfectly with 4 diffrent wal-mart paints, thats the good paint match in action, tippmann has realized not everyone can afford tourny paint...

- The cyclone, hasen't broken a ball yet and shotos evrytime, but the thing is just in the way to me, it's very very big when you behind the gun and the most of it "seemingly" has no use besides loading balls, it doubles the markers width..

- The field stripping is harder than that of a 98, you can simply slip out the "key" internals or you can take the reciever halves apart and everything falls apart

+ The flatline system made for this marker is much better than the 98, it is preset to a extent and shouldn't need to be adjusted in the shroud, makeing it an idiot proof system to install, and works well with the marker.
Conclusion: If your looking to change from a 98 because it's getting old or boreing or whatever this is a good gun, if you like a more speedball style of marker this is a good gun...
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

wutang8364 Friday, July 9th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: a-5 with fiber optics sight, 20 oz 9 oz backup, 14 inch 32 degrees barrel (spyder threads), sling
Recommended
Upgrades:
etiher a scenario type barrel or just a bigger one.
Strengths: Two good things about this gun r the fire rate n the accuracy.
Weaknesses: In the winter it doesnt work to well because the cyclone feed chops balls.
Review: It is the best gun ive owned by far even tho I had a ACI sinister n a brass eagle maurader. its worth the $ n i recomend u get it. If you are playin in winter with this gun. i think u should get a backup co2 tank because it uses up alot of it.
Conclusion: U should get this gun n put a new barrel on it n get a package for it. It is a great gun.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, July 9th, 2004 at 11:45 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

BizketMan Thursday, July 8th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
98 custom, but no guns have the cyclone feed.
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 with e-grip, custom jcs bbalde trigger, flatline, five inch psyco ballistics drop foward, and full freak kit with A-5 back.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Flatline, e-grip ,and 68/4500 notrogen tank or bigger.
Strengths: Cyclone feed system and durability.
Weaknesses: Air hog
Review: The gun is a great paintball gun. It is fast, accurate, and the cyclone feed is awesome. The gun is a good gun to start with and is easy to maintain. The only draw back is the air consumption. You need at least a 20 oz co2 or an nitrogen tank. I think anyone who gets their hands on this will really like it.
Conclusion: Go and get one.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintballguru12 Thursday, July 8th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 23 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder sport Bit the big one, Raptor worse than the spyder, Minni orracle (much better gun than the A-5 but also more expensive), played with my friends DM4 for a month (that gun is soo damn sexy) Spyder Electra just tested it ( not bad nice gun and everything might buy one)
Marker Setup: Tippman A-5, cycl 16oz Co2 tank, 250 round hopper, RT, 14inch J&J ceramic, bottomeline mount, drop forward, double trigger kit,
Recommended
Upgrades:
GOT 2 GET THE RT THAT THING IS AWSOME AND NO BATERIES, get a better barrel b/c the stock sucks dont get a ceramic though that ws a mistake there are alot better barrels out there than the ceramic, dropforward helps with the balance of the gun, double trigger but thats more a personal preference than a great upgrade but it helped me shoot alot faster.
Strengths: Price, reliability,accuracy, quality 4 price,
Weaknesses: Size, weight, looks,
Review: THIS IS A GOOD GUN if u want a gun that will give u the most for ur money. This is the gun for you esp. if u are a Tippmann fan. This gun can compete with the 04 vertical feed cockers and the outkasts. I loved this gun when I had it. It is a great gun for a rec. baller and with a couple upgrads it could even b ok for a rookie baller. The gun itself isnt wonderful but with the RT this gun becomes so much better its rediculous so buy the RT after a good barrel. Stock barrel sucks but hey what can u expect, Cyclone 2 freakin big,
Conclusion: I do not give tens because man has not yet (except for maybe the DM4) made a perfect paintball gun. I wont give it a nine because of the cyclone feed being soo damn big, The stock barrel sucks & cheap bolt, so I wouldnt give it an 8 usually. somewhere around a 7.5 so I round up and get an 8 but I could give it a 7 2 so I dunno somewhere in between
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Mac007 Monday, July 5th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann Model 98, Model 98 Custom, Bruizer Fugitive, Stingray II, painball pistols the list goes on...
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5, CMI Expansion Chamber (the kind that screws into the ASA and you screw the bottle into the Expansion Chamber), Brass Eagle red dot sight, home made sling.
Recommended
Upgrades:
The red dot sight for aiming but you need one with a low profile so it won't hit the hopper, a sling, my buddy really likes the flatline barrel but you don't need it as the gun is pretty accurate.
Strengths: A well thought out piece of equipment. Cyclone feed = no ball breaks. Easy to strip.
Weaknesses: The sight picture is somewhat blocked to the right of the hopper.
Review: This is one awsome piece of gear. This gun not only looks good but it is good having an appearance similar to a "grease gun or HK"

Overall the gun is very well thought out. It strips for cleaning much more easily than the 98 custom. You can pull the guts out in seconds. This is a big improvement over the 98.

I didn't get the reactive trigger, If I want full auto I'll get the electronic grip. I found the trigger pull very crisp but not overly heavy.

I took it out to play and I found that the stock barrel is very accurate. I put a red dot sight on the gun because the hopper blocks vision to the right. With the red dot you can keep both eyes open and see everything ahead of you. It took me about five minutes to zero the sight at the chrono/target range. I was able to consistently put the ball on the same small target, a hub cap at 80 feet and beyond. I was nailing trees at 100 feet in the same knotty spots. I had some dubious thoughts about the holes halfway up the barrel, since that runs counter to what you see on most barrels, but those doubts are history, this barrel works. I was putting shots through windows in bunkers and tagging players. Absolutely fantastic performance in a stock barrel.

Once the red dot sight is on you can't turn the hopper to remove it, so you have to take the sight off again if you need to do that. I didn't need to take the hopper off, how often do you do that at the field? So, it didn't bother me. Some players are breaking their tubes to remove the caps and squeezing the caps over the A5 cyclone feed. That improves the sight picture significantly but limits you to 30 balls or so. Frankly I found that I needed the hopper's generous capacity once I realized the beauty of the hungry cyclone feed. The hopper capacity is great for all round rec-play. I didn't find myself loading during a game.

The cyclone feed is absolutely awsome. I didn't break one evil paintball in this gun. When I pulled the trigger a ball was there, no gaps, no misses. I needed the rapid fire more than a few times and the cyclone delivered. I have yet to try other brands of paint in the system.

I rigged up a sling by removing the nut from the forgrip, setting aside the washer, and screwing a surplus army rifle sling on between the grip and the frame. I had to cut a square out in the strap to allow the notch to fit. The other end went through the back sling mount. Groovy!

The front grip can be slid back and forth by loosening the nut in the grip. Tippman gives you all the allen keys you'll need to work on the gun. This is very nice. You also get some Hoppes #9 oil, a barrel plug and a squeegee.

I put my little CMI expansion chamber on the ASA. The consistent way it shoots now I can't see the need for a reg and I wouldn't want to starve the cyclone.

On the subject of gas efficiency I got 500 shots out of a 12 oz tank. I think I'll be trying an anti siphon tank to draw gas into the gun rather than liquid in order to squeeze as much performace out of the propellant as possible. As a general comment I found the gas mileage adequate. If you do a lot of shooting your going to need more fills.
Conclusion: This gun is very very good. Out of the box it's the best gun I've ever had. I'd recommend it to anyone.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, July 13th, 2004 at 8:08 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (138):  First  |  75  |  76  |  77  |  78  |  79  |  80  |  81  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media