paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann A-5 / Tippmann A-5 / Tippmann A-5 / Tippmann A-5

Tippmann A-5 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann A-5

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann A-5
[ View Photos (246) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 1376
Average Rating: 9.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $272

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The All New Tippmann A-5 is a high performance paintball marker with the patented Cyclone Feed System. The Cyclone Feed System Links the Feeder Sprocket to the Air System. The Faster you shoot, the faster the Tippmann A-5 feeds. Pull the Trigger 15 times a second, and the Tippmann A-5 feeds 15 balls per second. The Tippmann A-5 is also easy to clean and maintain with its no tool field strip feature. Innovative technology, maximum firepower, unsurpassed accuracy and Tippmann durability are the core foundations of the all new Tippmann A-5.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann A-5 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (138):  First  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  Last
        Next Page
tippmanjim Tuesday, May 27th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann98, BT-16, ION, Pirranah R6, Mini EVO, Tippmann Pro carbine
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom. Response trigger, Honed bore,Cyclone feeder(stainless shaft and gear),14" True-flite barrel.Had a Flatline but it cycled too fast (14bps) for the Flatline,NW 6" drop,48ci tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Flatline and a R/T. Also make sure you upgrade the cyclone gear from nylon to the stainless shaft and gear.
Strengths: Durable and it's a Tippmann
Weaknesses: Heavy and loud
Review: I have used this gun many times. I don't have one because of my 98 is upgraded so much that I dont need an A5. There is an issue because they have changed the (internal)design and one completely sucks. I would like to tell all the guys beating down Tippmanns and calling them guns for a newb. These guns ARE NOT designed for speedball. They are woodsball/recball markers. They are extremely durable and reliable. They are meant to be used in the rain, dirt and mud. My 98 is dialed in at @12-14 bps. It is 4+ years old and NEVER breaks. The only reason I didnt buy an A5 is because the shop didnt have them at the time. These guns need no batteries and you dont have to worry about the circuit boards getting wet. They are reasonably priced and good quality markers. They are not machined well like a Bob Long or Angel, but then again they dont cost a fortune. The A5 also sucks with the stock barrel (like the 98),so get a Flatline. They do eat air because everything is pneumatically driven. Make sure to change out the cyclone feed drive gear with the stainless kit or it WILL fail in time. Also get the response trigger (R/T).
Conclusion: If you are a woodsball/rec ball player get this gun. It's a little loud and heavy, but it will not fail you. There is a ton of upgrades to whatever you like. This is not a speedball gun. It will get you killed on that kind of field. Other than that it is a great product.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

thatguy0131 Sunday, May 25th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
No Comparisons
Marker Setup: A-5, E-Grip, Flatline Barrel, 20 oz. Co2, 450 rd. Offset Hopper, A-5 Low pressure kit, coil remote line, Front Regulator, Flatline shroud, Phantom short Grenade launcher, Folding stock, red dot lazer sight, lazer, front grip, top mount raised rail,
Recommended
Upgrades:
Flatline Barrel, E-grip, Low Pressure
Strengths: this gun never Jams!!!! you can beat it over a tree and it will fire
Weaknesses: Loud, expecially with flatline barrel
Review: As you can tell i have put a lot into my marker, i am feared around my small town because of my gun and most of the time i am usually picked first this gun has never let me down, i have had few minor technical dificulties when installing the low pressure system on my gun but after i worked out all of the kinks my gun now shoots flawlessly, the last upgrade i would ever suggest putting on your gun is either the low pressure because it is messing with the internal parts of the gun or the grenade launcher which is verry expensive. In the end though both are verry worth it
Conclusion: This is a verry reliable gun and is deffinetly one to be reconned with it is a definate must for urban, or woods ball players
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

camo14 Thursday, May 22nd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
98 Costom
Marker Setup: *A-5*
Responce trigger
Flatline
Recommended
Upgrades:
Responce Trigger for speed.

Flatline barrel for longer distance and accuracy.
Strengths: Its durable.Hhardly ever breaks a ball.
Ideal for woods ball.
Easy to maintain.
Weaknesses: It does not shoot as far once you are low on Co2.
Review: I have had my A-5 for almost a year now and it is perfect for woods ball but it can duel over on speed ball just as easy except it is bulky and around small bunkers with the stock (depending how far you have it out). I have been uesing electronic paintball guns for theire speed untill i got my A-5 and something abought it just seems right when you run down the feild with it.
Conclusion: My recommendation is if you are looking for a fast, sturdy, reliable paintball gun, but dont want to spend a hole lot of money the A-5 it the way to go.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

priest25 Sunday, May 18th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 years2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
the 98
Marker Setup: a-5 black finish, saw stock, flatline, spec ops mp5 foregrip, palmers stabilizer, remote, ricochet hopper, wrek vest
Recommended
Upgrades:
egrip, ape board, barrels, stock, something flashy.
Strengths: Durable, Reliable, Extermely customizable.
Weaknesses: None whatsoever
Review: If you play woods ball, this is hands down the best marker. extremely upgradeable. can out perform many other markers especially with upgrades. no need for a power loader it has the cyclone. all metal receiver. some plastic, but its high grade. plastic bolt, which is good no metal on metal. plastic grip, but why would u want a metal one. like i said the best bang for your buck in woods ball.
Conclusion: Buy one. I have two
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

War Hawk Sunday, May 11th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
I used a Tippmann 98 Custom w/ A.C.T. and everything else stock
Marker Setup: A-5
Response Trigger
Car Stock
M4 Assault Barrel
X-7 LP Hopper
Weaver Sight Rail
3 Point Gun Sling
CO2 Air Tanks
Recommended
Upgrades:
Response Trigger
Car Stock
M4 Assault Barrel
X-7 LP Hopper
3 Point Gun Sling
Strengths: A-5 is very durable and you are able to uprade it alot
Weaknesses: A-5 uses a bit more CO2 for it's Cyclone Feed System
Review: For a while I used the A-5 with just the Response and I loved it even though it was still stock on every other part of the gun. Before I used the 98 Custom stock and even then I loved that. The difference between these two guns is not alot exept for the one most noticeable feature on the A-5, and that is the Cyclone Feeder. The feed system is a revolving connection to the gun where an average gravity hopper would be. What this system does is ensures that a paintball is always ready to be fired in the gun chamber. The standard hopper that comes with the A-5 is also so much easier to reload. Also, the hopper doesn't stick up as high as a regular gravity hopper. Ofcourse this lower profile technique is certainly helpful. The only down fall to the Cyclone Feeder is that it uses more air. Don't asume that it just sucks up all your air. With a 98 Custom, you could use a 20oz CO2 tank all day (an average day would be like 5-7 hours). But with the A-5, you would go through a 20oz CO2 tank and maybe need a 9oz CO2 tank in addition on an average day. I may just be going through a little bit more air cause I have a response cause even with conserved use, with an A-5 you'll need more air. Because the A-5 is a newer Tippmann model, it can have much more upgrades that were previously made for other guns. This allows several more upgrades than the previous models. Since the new Tippmann X-7 just came out, the price on the A-5 in most places have gone down alot and so have the upgrades for it. This doesn't mean that it's dirt cheap, but it does make it more available for more people like it did for me. More available than the X-7. The 16" barrel I got made me deadly accurate and gave me an extremely noticeable advantage. The barrel I got from www.ultimatepaintball.com was a wonderful desicion. That was the first barrel upgrade I had made on either of my guns. Because the air tanks connect to the bottom of the handle, a stock is not really necessary. Unless you are going to get a remote line, it's just for looks 9though it does depend on the person and how comfortable they are) and it just puts on weight. If you put an M16 or M4 barrel upgrade on though, I would strongly recomend a rear sight rail that lines up with the sight on the barrel cause it doesn't line up with the stock sight. There is many more upgrades available to the A-5. The A-5 is not as loud as the 98 when stock. The A-5 is one of the most durable markers I've ever seen. I've droped this thing in water and mud in the middle of a heated battle and was still able to continue fighting. You always want to clean your gun afterward and after you're done playing just like any other gun. Cleaning is not at all a problem though. It would just take some paper towels and anti-rust spray such as silicone or certified gun oil made for real guns. And it deosn't take alot of spray eaither
Conclusion: If you are just starting out playing paintball or wanting to upgrade your setup, I highly recomend this marker. Just get a better barrel only cause of the accuracy issue. You won't regret getting this gun. I found it to be an exellant marker.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

studly119 Saturday, May 10th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5, PMI Pure Energy 20oz CO2
Recommended
Upgrades:
None needed but a longer barrel would obviously help.
Strengths: Great accuracy even with the included 8.5" barrel.
Doesn't chop paint.
Durable
Reliable
Weaknesses: None so far but did chop one ball when it was on maximum velocity
Review: This marker has great accuracy. I was able to hit the lid of a cambells soup can at 40' using the 8.5" barrel and iron sights. It is VERY easy to clean I have never cleaned a paintball gun before in my life but it is so easy that I was easily able to clean it in 10 minutes. I have yet to use this in a paintball arena but I know it will be a lot better than the beat-up tippmann 98's that I have been haveing to rent.
Conclusion: A great gun very accurate and easy to strip down and clean. I highly reccomend it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ultimatehunter Tuesday, May 6th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
98 custom BT-4 iron horse
Marker Setup: RT
red dot
stock
20 inch sniper barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
expansion chamber
Strengths: It shoots 15 bps, very accurate, looks no chopping.
Weaknesses: The Hopper is like a target its self.
Review: This is a great gun it shoots fast and is accurate. All my freinds have shot is and liked it. It is also very easy to claen and take apart. There are many other things that are good about but the rt is the best by far. When you get in those spots when you need to really fire it is always there.
Conclusion: This is a great gun I would recomend it to any woods baller.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Delta3308 Friday, May 2nd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98 - MEH O_o , A-5 is MUCH BETTER
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 w/ Flatline Barrel, Stock, Coiled Remote,
Recommended
Upgrades:
FLATLINE :D! It is a MUST (not really a must but a SWEET addition ) This is all that you need for a decent gun
Strengths: -Accuracy
-Cyclone Feed
-Very Durable
Weaknesses: -Well for some people it can be "Heavy" but its barely anything.......
Review: Well Ive played with Electrics in woodball and disliked it. I just recently bought my own A-5 eversince I used a friends :D , Well I sorta kinda TOOK IT WITH OUT ASKING! I gave it back!! Its really good for slow paced games like playing Woodball (In a Big Forest not a field ). It is extremely accurate and with the Flatline and that backspin it adds a good 50 feet (100 feet but those other 50 feet come with horrible accuracy).
This is a Great buy if you starting , or if your a little like me and LOVE how it looks with a Flatline and Stock ( Kind of looks like a MP5 with a Silencer :D)
Conclusion: Buy it.. Not that expensive like High-End markers but just as Accrate (more if anything). Of course if your planing on playing Speedball or X-ball DO NOT buy an A-5 get a Spyder Pilot. But for Woodball (I dont like spending money for overpriced paint so i dont go to fields) its a GREAT buy
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, May 2nd, 2008 at 4:39 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

heavywep101 Friday, April 25th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98, no cyclone feed :(
Tippmann X7, not anough mods
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5 with Opsgear Saw kit
Spyder MR3
Recommended
Upgrades:
opsgear saw kit, flatline barrel
Strengths: No ball breaks, light, durable, and easy to maintain
Weaknesses: If your left handed you cant aim very well with the cyclone feed.
Review: well my friend has been bugging me to get an A5, so i finally did, and i bought the saw Kit to go with it cuz heavy gunner is my thing, and its worked perfect, no ball breaks, very light and the Cyclone feed is great, it is also very easy to clean. truly the best woodsball gun out there, and i love the fact that you can make it look like anything and not just modern military guns like the X7, although you can if you want.
Conclusion: I would recommend this gun to anyone looking for a solid reliable woodsball gun, it is truly the best of the tippmann line.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, April 25th, 2008 at 11:32 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Jordan31 Thursday, April 24th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
friends 98..............good gun, accurate, similar internals to the a5
friends x7...............same deal here, lighter than a5
friends spyder rodeo
my old vl triad
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5
smart parts linear 14" (old)
smart parts all american 14"
pro team 4 position commando fx stock
m4 riser mount
30mm red dot sight
32 degrees remote coil
pure energy 72ci 3000psi HPA
Recommended
Upgrades:
-Barrel
-Stock
-Remote Coil
-HPA
Strengths: -Accurate
-strong and reliable
-Never chopped in the gun
-Cyclone feed
Weaknesses: -Hopper isnt offset
-Can be heavy
-Cyclone is bulky
-Inconsistent on co2
Review: I have had this gun for like 3 or more years, not 100% sure when I got it, but it has been a very reliable, dependable and fun gun to own. There are so many upgrades and pieces to make the A5 look as well as shoot good.

The accuracy of this gun is very good.
I have only used co2, and there is a definite velocity and consistency dropoff when you are getting low on co2. Im sure this happens on a lot of other guns, but I didnt notice it as bad when I had my VL Triad... I have a new HPA tank now that should take care of velocity and consistency, as well as better accuracy.

The reliability of the A5, and this also goes with any other tippmann product, is very good. I have never had a single problem with my gun in the 3+ years that I have had it. As long as you keep it clean and oiled, you will have the same reliability.

My friends that also have or had A5's have had problems only with the flatline breaking paint.
-----------------------------------------
And to make this little bit of info clear to everyone, THIS GUN IS MADE OF METAL, I've had enough of litte kids writing bad reviews about the A5, because they THINK its plastic... I have polished my internals, and therefore that makes this gun aluminum...
Yes, it has plastic on it, such as the cyclone, hopper and trigger frame, but the main body structure is metal.
Conclusion: Great accuracy, reliability, durability, and fun. The cyclone feed is amazing, which has never broke a ball on me yet.

The cyclone seems a bit bulky at times, and the hopper isnt offset (x7 or other hoppers fix this) and the gun can be heavy depending on how much you put on it.

But overall, a very good gun, Highly satisfied and recommended!
9/10
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (138):  First  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media