paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann A-5 / Tippmann A-5 / Tippmann A-5 / Tippmann A-5

Tippmann A-5 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann A-5

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann A-5
[ View Photos (246) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 1376
Average Rating: 9.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $272

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The All New Tippmann A-5 is a high performance paintball marker with the patented Cyclone Feed System. The Cyclone Feed System Links the Feeder Sprocket to the Air System. The Faster you shoot, the faster the Tippmann A-5 feeds. Pull the Trigger 15 times a second, and the Tippmann A-5 feeds 15 balls per second. The Tippmann A-5 is also easy to clean and maintain with its no tool field strip feature. Innovative technology, maximum firepower, unsurpassed accuracy and Tippmann durability are the core foundations of the all new Tippmann A-5.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann A-5 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (138):  First  |  87  |  88  |  89  |  90  |  91  |  92  |  93  |  Last
        Next Page
A-5 Warrior Saturday, March 20th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: A-5, 12" GTA Sniper Barrel, AK-47 Folding Stock, Intruder
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel, RT, and a stock (For MILSIM players)
Strengths: Cyclone Feed, Durable, Reliable, Best Gun On The Market
Weaknesses: Gas Hog
Review: Great gun. Would not trade for any other on the market. I have mine set up like an AK-47 (I'm a MILSIM player). Perfect for MILSIM players. You can upgrade so many things on this gun. It's the perfect gun. Not a gun for Speedball players (They're to picky and stupid). When I walk into a field everyone looks at me crazy because Im a MILSIM player and it looks like a real rifle. But thats cool, cause I am crazy. They'll be sorry anyways, after I paint the back of their heads.
Conclusion: Best gun on the market today.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

RAZKAL Saturday, March 20th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 custom
Marker Setup: Flatline, double trigger and remote coil.
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel. The stock barrel is good but a new barrel would be the first upgrade.
Strengths: Durable frame, easy to use
Weaknesses: Cyclone feed jams up sometimes and balls break.
Review: Good gun overall but not worth the suggested price. I used the gun one day when i could not get mine to work right. I have tippmann 98 custom. I liked the A-5 in the beginning but as the day went on I began to miss my gun. Over and over my friend tried to convince me that his gun was the best, after I got to use it for about 8 hrs, I wouldn't spend more than $150 on one. It would be a back-up.
Conclusion: Good for a beginner but better off with a tippmann 98 custom.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

elite_aim Friday, March 19th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
A few PMI guns, a Cocker, 98 Custom, Icon E
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5 with R/T, 20 oz CO2, JT Spectra Thermal
Recommended
Upgrades:
- A new barrel
- A sling if you get tired easily (some people think it is heavy)
- Either a Response Trigger or an E-Grip
Strengths: See review
Weaknesses: See review
Review: I love this gun. I am a beginner and I have used many guns. This is my favorite of them. It is a great gun for a starter and is [b]extremely[/b] well made. It is all plastic and sturdy as a rock. I love how it looks slightly militaristic and sleek.

Strengths

- Will never break
- Accuracy is great out of the box for any rec-ball player
- Sturdy as a rock
- Great customer support
- Very easy to field strip
- Very quick firing with the Response Trigger (R/T)
- Cyclone hopper does precisely what it is supposed to
- Never chops balls.
- Low side profile.
- The sights

Weaknesses

- May need to upgrade the barrel if you are a hardcore paintballer
- Slight gas hog
Conclusion: I love this gun and I hope you do too. It is a solid, well-performing gun made by a great company with great customer service. You could drop the thing out of a 3 story window and pick it up and be able to shoot it.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, March 19th, 2004 at 1:58 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

draggy Friday, March 19th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98 c w/ smartparts pragressive barrel
Spyder flash LCD w/ richochet AK hopper.
Marker Setup: Tippman A-5 with flatline barrel; double finger trigger; trigger responce
Recommended
Upgrades:
definatly a new barrel (I recomend a boomstick)
responce trigger
double trigger (personal comfort preference)
a sling if you can find a cheap one
Strengths: durable, reliable, feeds as fast as you shoot w/ cyclone, great for woods; field strip
Weaknesses: loud, gas hog, heavy
Review: I purchased this marker with a flatline barrel and was extremely impressed. The A-5 never leaves you with a dry fire because of the cyclone but it does use up extra CO2. Shooting with a flatline really does add the extra distance and accuracy but it only tolerates nice paint and it shoots very slow. I woludn't recomend a flatline for anything but woods. This marker will almost never break paint and the only reason it will is because of the type of paint you are using or your barrel needs cleaning. The A-5 is very affective with a responce trigger because if you spend a little time practicing, you will find it can go fully auto. You have to hold the trigger down about halfway and the responce will do the rest. Once it is fully auto you don't even have to worry about ball breakage becaus of the cyclone. The only problem with the cyclone is if you get shot on the hopper, its a pain to clean but that doesn't affect your shot. I usually play woods and love to snipe but when you have to run around it gets tiring. It's because the gun is so durable and nothing is made of plastic.
Conclusion: I recomend this marker for wood players only. It won't let you down, and will get you out of those fast firefights. The responce trigger make it twice as better because you can put the cyclone to the test and see it won't ever leave you dry. This is very nie for newbies becaus of the low maintnece and is also good for the intermediate player becaus of its consistancy. I give it an 8 only becaus the only markers that deserve 10's are cockers and angels. If you love woods and want a good, trusty gun, get the A-5.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Friday, March 19th, 2004 at 12:49 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

chriswozA5 Friday, March 19th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyders, M98, Tippman Carbine, Autocockers
Marker Setup: Tippman A5, (will be purchasing Flatline soon)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Flatline is a must. Response Trigger if heavy gunning is your thing.
Strengths: Accurate. Great feed system. Powerful! Looks great. Easy field stripping. Excellent stock barrel. Tough.
Weaknesses: None performance wise.
Can be a B!*$H to clean.
Review: One of the best Markers on the market hands down. Is a bit expensive for Rec ballers like myself, but cheap for speedballers who use Autocockers, Angels, etc. When I purchased the gun and took it out of the box to be test fired I was struck by its great accuracy. The velocity was lower than usual (around 260 maybe) and I could hit a 10'' telephone pole repeadly from abot +100' away using 32 Degrees paint. Due to playing woods ball were long range shooting is needed, I raised the velocity quite high (300+ I dont buy into that saftey crap). The gun is still quite accurate but I don't blame it on the gun but the paint. I don't know what Tippman has done with these stock barrels but they work great. The old stock barrel for my Carbine was horrible and I quickly purchased a Tippman 14" Carbine barrel and the difference was huge. But this stock barrel is the best I've seen yet and I don't plan on buying anything else but the Flatline.
This gun is POWERFUL and loud! I have a problem with chronoing above 350fps. and you really have to crank it to get it down to regulated speeds.
Also, it's one of the fastest Markers I've seen. As fast as you can pull the trigger is a fast as you can shoot. With the response trigger you'll simply anniahilate your opponents.
Finally, it looks great and feels great. Has a strinking resemblance to Heckler & Koch's MP5, not some stupid looking ray gun which looks like it's from a Sci Fi movie and theres a wide array of upgrades for this gun.
Conclusion: Buy it. You will not be dissapointed. Is everything you need in a marker and then some. I've only played now for two years but this is the best thing I've seen.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

lackskill Wednesday, March 17th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
98 custom, spyder shutter - A-5 owns
Marker Setup: A-5, Response trigger, HPA, J&J Ceramic 14", DOP Rear velocity adjuster, pro seal bolt, double trigger, phat dropforward and On/Off valve, DOP expansion chamber and vert. drop, madman spring kit.
Recommended
Upgrades:
HPA, J&J Ceramic, expansion chamber, r/t.
Strengths: Very easy to field strip, also very easy to tear down and clean.
Weaknesses: plastic parts that break, ie ratchet inside cyclone. cheap/easy to replace. slightly air inefficient.
Review: For the money that i spent on this gun i couldnt have done any better. I know of 2 people in particular that spent more money and have less gun. The A-5 owns and I would recommend this gun to anyone, especially newbs because of its ease of use and reliability. Yes cockers will get a higher rof but youll spend twice the money for half the gun. THis is a great newb gun. There is almost no tinkering necessary once you get it dialed in and its very accurate w/ a good barrel, and more consistent w/ HPA.
Conclusion: If you can find a good deal on a used one dont pass it up. I got mine for 250 w/ 3 barrels and a 20oz co2. I give it a nine because nothing is perfect. If i could give it a 9.9 i would.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, March 17th, 2004 at 10:39 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

MJM58 Monday, March 15th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
none, just field guns
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5/ Response Trigger/ Palmer Female Stabilizer/ Lapco Mount/ Palmer Mounting Rings
Recommended
Upgrades:
-Definately a new barrel : Lapco Bigshot one of the best in its price range for it
-Regulator: Palmer Stabilizer best if ur runnin co2
-Response Trigger or Egrip
-Drop forward : if u dont like ur gun too long or dont run remote
-Should use a big tank like a 16oz or 20oz
Strengths: - Durable
- Cyclone feed = fast
- Good looking:like an mp5
- Many upgrades
Weaknesses: - Barrel
- Not many other bad things
- Kinda long
- Kinda guzzles gas
- Hopper has flat front
Review: This is a very good gun for anyone. Great for beginners or intermediates. Of course when you buy it you know your getting the Tippmann durability. In other words your playing with tank. People do all kinds of things to their Tippmanns and they usually will always run. The A-5 is no exception. The cyclone feed is awesome and feeds a ball everytime you press the trigger. Its kind of a wide target but it also lets the hopper sit lower to the gun witch balences it out. People say it also guzzles gas but not really its just excess gas that would have been used anyway imo. There are a ton of upgrades for this thing. Response trigger is great especially for woodsball. The stock barrel is not very good and a new barrel should be the 1st upgrade. Tippmann decided to put the porting in the middle of the barrel which is not good b/c the ball needs at least 8 in off unported barrel for good accuracy. I have never had a ball chop in this gun or had 2 balls come out at the same time. Its also very comfortable to hold and i like the MP5 look it has. It is king of woodsball but is also fine for speedball too. This thing owns in the woods. There is never a problem with the internals and it has the quick field strip feature. I also like being able to aim down the center of the gun with sights that are similar to rifle sights. But thats just me. If you dont like the frustration of your gun breaking down this is a great gun for you. It has the made in America dependability.
Conclusion: If your looking for a good, durable gun that can hang with the higher end guns look no further. If you want a gun that will last you look no further. This gun can hang with almost anything out there and it gets my recommendation to anyone. It gets a 10.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Law573 Monday, March 15th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Xtra, Spyder Sonix
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5, flatline barrel or 14" Lapco Bigshot, DOP X-Core expansion chamber, E-Grip, Pro-Team collapsable stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
Expansion chamber and flatline barrel
Strengths: Durability and the cyclone feed!
Weaknesses: None that I know of
Review: I have to say that I am very impressed with my A-5! When people talk about Tippmann's legendary durability they aren't kidding. My A-5 is one of the older ones (serial #000129) and has seen a ton of playing! They only parts I've had to replace were O-rings but they always go sooner or later. I've also installed the factory upgrades for the cyclone. Beyond that everything is original and it works great!

I know that marker selection is a personal decision, and I don't want to get into any of these "my marker is better than your marker" crap, but I can say that I would reccomend the A-5 to anyone playing at any level. This gun can keep up with anything out there AND it will still be working a year from now!

The only things I would recommend getting for it would be a new barrel and an expansion chamber. Most stock barrels are not all that hot and you can improve your shooting with an upgrade. I would recommend an expansion chamber, if you are using Co2, in order to keep your velocity more consistant when firing rapidly. If you are playing a lot of speedball you might want to consider a double trigger so you can "fan" it. Personally, I prefer to pick my shots a little more so a double trigger isn't needed.

Tippmann also has awesome customer service. I've never had a problem with getting questions answered or any other service!
Tippmann A-5 = 10/10
Conclusion: You can't go wrong with the Tippmann A-5. It's amazing that you can get so much gun for so little money!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

fire-pirate Friday, March 12th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98
Marker Setup: A-5 with 16 in. armson stealth barrel, expansion chamber, stock, DOP Bullet DF, Remote
Recommended
Upgrades:
DF, Expansion Chamber, Barrel(anything is better than stock), remote.
Strengths: fast firing, cheap, not too heavy, realistic looking.
Weaknesses: stiff trigger, waste of air with cyclone feed, crappy stock barrel, not great range.
Review: this gun is good for the beginning player. as I got better, I upgraded it. there are more things that i could get, but i am sick of putting money into it, and i want to get a better gun. the stock barrel is horrible. not accurate at all, and i chop balls more than should happen. I guess I'm pushing it too hard. With a tank on it, it gets heavy, so i recommend a remote. It also doesn't have wonderful range.
Conclusion: It's an ok gun for the beginner. I give it a 6
Rating:
6 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, May 11th, 2004 at 12:21 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

kavika Thursday, March 11th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Marker Setup: Tippman A-5 semi auto - double trigger - remote line - CO2 - flatline barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Flatline barrel
Remote line air system
E trigger or Response trigger
HP air
Comp-Air (low pressure system)
Strengths: DURABILITY and maintenance
upgrade capabilities
mid-range price (worth it!)
Weaknesses: Weight
Cyclone Hopper exclusive...the hopper is the biggest target on the field.
Review: This is my first marker. I can tell you that it was money well spent. This is a warriors choice for paintball markers. As far as durability goes I have dragged this sucker through rain and mud and dropped it on the concrete. It is a bruiser. If anything gets busted all you need is one tool to open her up and make repairs. The marker is made in USA and therefore finding parts is pretty easy.
Use a flatline barrel out in the woods and you have really the only barrel boasted as being a sniper barrel and living up to that fact.
Keep in mind that the trigger systems are fairly simple to rotate in and out. Don't do it in the field or you will lose a spring or screw. Also in most tournaments response and E triggers are not allowed. But if you got fast fingers all you need is the double trigger setup. The Cyclone feed will keep up.
Throw a remote air line on that baby and lighten up your gun. Also the remote line allows your tank to go in your harness vertical on your back keeping the CO2 flow fairly consistent. Hate it when you got the opponent dead in your sights and you shoot 10 or so balls out to space because of the fluctuation in CO2. Better go HP air.
Conclusion: This is your marker when you finally make the commitment to play the sport. The mid-range pricing will payoff in the long run. If you are not a serious player go with a Spyder from the sporting goods store.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (138):  First  |  87  |  88  |  89  |  90  |  91  |  92  |  93  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media