paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Bob Long Ground Zero Intimidator / Bob Long Ground Zero Intimidator / Bob Long Ground Zero Intimidator / Bob Long Ground Zero Intimidator

Bob Long Ground Zero Intimidator Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Bob Long

Buy Bob Long Ground Zero Intimidator

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Bob Long Ground Zero Intimidator
[ View Photos (10) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 83
Average Rating: 9.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $1000

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The GZ Intimidator was designed exclusively for Team Ground Zero. Knowing that a top professional team would be relying on this marker, Bob Long made sure to include everything a top player would need. First, it has a lightened body and custom milling. Playing all day with a heavy gun is no way to win a tournament. Second, the GZ Intimidator comes with a vertical regulator to fine-tune the velocity and prevent velocity spikes. Also, a pressure gauge comes standard so you know what the operating pressure of the marker is. Most important is the trigger, and there is no doubt about it the GZ Intimidator is lightning fast! With three distinct adjustments on the trigger you are sure to find a setting just to your liking.
Product Availability 
The Bob Long Ground Zero Intimidator is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (9):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Outlander Sunday, June 6th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing but blowbacks.
Marker Setup: Timmy GZ | WAS 2.7 | Dye Boomstick | ANS Gen-X Reg | Egg II | CP Adjustable Ram Cap | Bulldog 47/3000 Tank | Reaper Trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
WAS Board, Adjustable Ram cap, a new reg if you feel like it
Strengths: Fast
Consistent
Accuartate
No chops in "Forced" mode
Efficiency
Quiet
Weaknesses: Stock reg (I didn't like it)
No LCD
1st shot dropoff
Review: Let me start by saying that this is the best gun I've ever used. I've owned several blowbacks and tested cockers and Shockers (just as accurate/reliable/consistent but Shockers are gas hogs).

The accuracy on this gun is incredible if you have the right size paint. It will shoot within a very small radius at about 100 ft. Consistency is a plus too, the ball goes almost the same distance every time. If you put the gun in forced mode you will almost NEVER chop a ball because of your bolt. One may break in the barrel, but that's a different story. The gun is also very efficient. With my 47/3000 i get around 700+ shots. This gun is also one of the quietest I've ever heard.

I didn't like the consistency of the Torpedo, but it's good. Don't buy another one unless you've got cash to spare. There is no LCD in the gun, so you have to program if via the LED, which is a pain. There is also some 1st shot dropoff. Not a big problem, but annoying.
Conclusion: You MUST MUST MUST MUST buy an adjustable ram cap. This will insure that the ball always breaks the eyes because the bolt isn't putting it in a weird position. Buy this gun, you won't regret it.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

dantriggerhappy Saturday, May 22nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Shocker 4x4, 2002 angel c&c lcd, lots of impulses, many autocockkers
Marker Setup: GZ Timmy, CP Grip, PBK Snakeskin bolt, Hybrid Cross Eye Covers, CP 12" Barrel.
Recommended
Upgrades:
grip, new board, new barrel, volumizer, clamping feed neck, new bolt, clamping feed neck, adj ram camp, new ram, delrin pistons.
Strengths: Accuracy, Speed, Reliability
Weaknesses: stock board is bad, you need upgrades, price is steep
Review: EXTREMELY ACCURATE!!!! I can hit 12 bps right now, and with a WAS board you can hit insane amounts. Not too many upgrades needed, relatively cheap. Good tournament marker. Anyone whose GZ breaks doesnt know how to take care of them, or they have some faulty parts, which is rare. The reg is in a perfectly normal position, people just expect perfection.

Conclusion: Excellent Marker
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

viking22 Saturday, April 17th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
viking w/ eyes, angles, tons of other stuff
Marker Setup: Timmy with 68/4500 w/ adj. ram cap, and cp trigger, and some other useless stuff that doesn't change performance
Recommended
Upgrades:
ram cap, if you have an older timmy then get the latest W.A.S board 2.7 is the latest out now if i'm correct. besides that maybe a volumizer and a new trigger, lastly a new reg. i would say the sidewinder cause i love mine.
Strengths: fast, light, eye, smaller, clamshell
Weaknesses: taller
Review: I loved my timmy when i first got it, and played with it for a couple weeks, then got hurt, sat bout a month or two then when i started to play again my board crapped out. i would have been cool with this but when i sent it in they made me get a new board (140$) and then they sent it back to me sayin the board was fried cause someone hooked up the wires wrong( i never did and neither did the company i got my gun from, so i have to wonder if they just lied) so i was stuck with a 140 bill or a non working gun. so maybe i just got a bad one, and got one of the tecks on a bad day when i talked to them.
besides that the gun is fast, and when mine was working i loved it. the trigger isn't to my liking because of the forward slant in it, but you can just get a new one and its all good. so i really have no complaints except the crappy board, and the customer service was lacking.
Conclusion: good gun, and i love bob long for his other guns, dont get me wrong i still think they are a great company, but the service and what i went through with them makes me give them a lower rating, just gun alone and without my problems would be a solid 9 but cause of my problems with the company i would have to give it a ...6.5 but not on there so i'll shoot high
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

GoodAir Saturday, March 27th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Angel 4, Angel IR3, Angel LCD, Intimidator 2K2, Lasoya Intimidator, Empire Intimidator, Oakland Assasin's Alias
Marker Setup: Scepter Barrel System, CenterFlag 45CI/4500PSI, Dye Sticky 3, WAS 2.6, EGG 2 Z Board, CP Dropforward.
Recommended
Upgrades:
WAS Board, Barrel System
Strengths: The LIGHTEST Timmy made, Very Low Profile. Pro Gun, Flat Back 45 Style Grip
Weaknesses: None
Review: This is the fastest gun I have ever fired. I used to be an Angel man, but no more. After shooting the GZ, I am a changed man. I selected the GZ because it is the lightest Timmy made. You saved the weight by not having the lcd screen, non clam shell frame. The milling is perfect, everything that needs to be milled is taken care of, no extra fat anywhere. Due to the GZ frame, it has the lowest profile of any Timmy. Change the SOB board on this, and you can shoot it as fast as any new Timmies out there.
Conclusion: The BEST gun you can buy for the money. Get the GZ!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

getupk8 Sunday, March 7th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
No Similiar just my old guns: Spyder Sonix and JT Excellerator 6.0
Marker Setup: Bob Long GZ Intimidator w/ Bob Long Volumizer, 14" Tear Drop Barrel, 32 Degrees Drop Forward, Bob Long Torpedo Reg, CP Valve, CP Bumper, Dye Sticky Grip, Halo B Loader, Crossfire 3000 PSI Air tank, JT Tank Cover, Red Macroline, Adjustable Ram, JT Gear Bag on Wheels, Redz Gun Bag, JT Blue Fire Jersey, Custom Sports Gear Custom Team Jersey, and tons more!
Recommended
Upgrades:
I recommend Halo or Egg Hopper, a new Barrel, and if you really want a WAS Board
Strengths: The accuracy and distance on this thing is amazing and the BPS!
Weaknesses: Barrel
Review: I love this gun I upgraded from a JT 6.0 to this. Geez what a difference! It is absoloutly amazing the trigger pull is soo short you can shoot so fast and then once you get a WAS board on there if you really want it is insanely fast! You have to make sure you replace the barrel because all stock barrels are just never that good but it definitly isnt horrible. I put a Smart Parts Tear Drop on mine and it works great. A barrel kit would also help a lot but i didnt have enough $$. I can bunker someone so easily with this puppy because it doesnt give them a chance to breathe because there's paint pouring down their backs. Its awesome.
Conclusion: I really recommend this product because it is just such a great gun to get you up with the pros.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

nightfall Tuesday, January 27th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Test Dark Angel, Impulse with Vision
Marker Setup: GZ Intimidator
Black Magic Reg
Freak barrel
Kapp chrome stubby drop
Dye Stickies
Kapp Thumper Hammer
Chrome adjustable ram cap
68/4500 Nitro Duck
Recommended
Upgrades:
Aftermarket barrel
Adjustable Ram Cap
Strengths: The marker is light, fast, and it has cocker threading for the barrel.
Weaknesses: The bolt maybe too far back for the eye to read certain paint
Review: The bolt is too far back so that small bore paint may roll back and not be sensed by the eye. I had to turn off my eye until I was able to buy an adjustable ram cap and move the bolt up to the paint would register. This is a good marker, but I would have expected the bolt/eye issue to have been addressed on a marker that is so expensive. I believe it should have come with an adjustable ram cap or have the bolt moved further up to lesen this issue. Maybe it was me... others didn't seem to have had the same problem. Maybe it's just the paint I use (house paint at HSP).

In any case, other than what was mentioned above, the marker has performed very well.

Having to disassemble the marker and use special grease (DOW 55 or DOW 33) is a bit of a hassle, however, proper care of a good marker is important.
Conclusion: Overall, it is a good marker. I'd recommend this marker to those that like the feel of an Intimidator.

Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Evil Saturday, January 24th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
2k and 2k2 Dark Angel lcd, C+C and Dark ir3, Lots of cockers, impulse
Marker Setup: Green 2k Dark Angel Lcd, 2 in drop, Freak w/SS Back, A4 Gated Feed, Dye Stickies, devil tail sight rail, flaming skull backplate, and shocktech superfly bolt.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel system of some kind, WAS Board, New Bolt.
Strengths: Fast,light,Accurate,comfortable to hold
Weaknesses: not very durable, not that stylish, long body,
Review: Well l'll start of by saying some good things. This gun rips. It is really fast. My friend's custom built viking is faster but it is nearly twice the price of the GZ. I burrowed this gun once for about two games. My first game the gun shot me a few times because the trigger was set so short that if you moved the gun to hared that it would shoot. After I got used to it I found it extremely easy to manuever and wrap with. Its also really good at shooting accurate strings of paint.

Well since then this paticular GZ has had a lot of problems. The stock bolt broke the eyes in the gun. It leaks out of a lot of different places like the reg, out the barrel and out of the trigger frame. When it was brand new it wouldn't cock but that was easily fixed.

Conclusion: It is a pretty good gun. I would only recommend it to people who have the money to buy it a lot of new parts early on.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

mevanking Wednesday, January 21st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
autococker, spyder,angel,imp...
Marker Setup: timmy ground zero
Recommended
Upgrades:
egg or halo
Strengths: it is light it is strong and it shoots fast.
Weaknesses: s.o.b. board it needs the new board it will shoot faster.
Review: its overall a great gun im on LA xtreme and 4 people use this gun. and everybody else uses other timmys. its light shoots fast youll need a big tank. this gun can be used at any position on the field just get a tank. and a lot of paint.
Conclusion: go buy it although now they dont sell them new now so go buy your friends and use it !!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pboutlaw Friday, January 2nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
other timmys, out of the box I would take any other timmy over this. Because now almost every timmy has clamshell frame and I can stand the stock frame on the gz.
Marker Setup: Blue 2k2 C&C milled Angel Ir3
68/4500 high pressure crossfire tank
Freak kit
Bob long torpedo Reg, CP short drop w/ warped sportz on/off asa, Dye Breech knob ,Cobra Bolt, Cobra Trigger, WDP Multi Tool/Volumizer,WDP Low Rise,Cobra Indestrucdetent
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel - stock isn't too bad, but most people with the money for this gun go out and get a barrel kit.
Board - WAS board, duh.
Frame - If you can afford a clammy, get it. Otherwise get yourself a CP trigger.
Ram- new ram and ram cap if you feel like it.

Make sure to carry extra detents in your tool kit!
Strengths: RATE OF FIRE
cool looking
intimidation
accurate with right setup
clamping feed neck
Weaknesses: stock barrel
trigger frame
stock (SOB) board
Review: I got this gun for $650, nearly all stock, boy I was wrong. Don't get me wrong, it has it's good points. It's really small, so much smaller than the classic timmys. The clamping feed is great, it comes stock with eyes that actually work, and when you have WAS and a new trigger on it you can rip. It has some key weaknesses though. If you buy it new you are paying horrendous amount of money, and you are going to be paying a good 400 to get it set up like the nicer timmys that cost only like 200 more stock, and have fancier milling. The detents are annoying as well, though not super expensive to replace, they will wear out easier than any detents I have ever seen. I reccomend putting the bolt in backwards at the end of the playing day, go eeasy on the detents. Anyways, if you have the $$$ to set it up right, it's quality, I couldn't stand paying all that money to fix it up so I traded it for my Ir3.
Conclusion: If you have the money, by all means buy this thing. Set up properly it will rip like no other.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bunkerd88 Monday, December 1st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
imperial impulse
2k2 timmy lcd
matrix lcd
angel 2001 lcd
Marker Setup: blue matrix lcd w/ ultralight, max-flow45, dozer low rise, centerflag reg
imperial werm impulse w/ vision, cricket board, armagedon 45/45, shocktech lpr, werm frame, max-flow vert, etc
Recommended
Upgrades:
tribal eye covers, bob long ratio volumizer, hybrid back cap, shochtech supafly 2 bolt, boomstick, clamping low rize,
Strengths: great rof, accuracy is insane, armageddon tank=super tight setup, consistent
Weaknesses: eyes occasionaly crap out
Review: this gun was great for me. I played with it for the whole seoson last year and ripped people up left and right, the rof even with the stock board is nuts i got it up to 20 bps.
with the recommended upgrades above this gun was not only stylin and eye cathching but also make the gun more effeicient. flow rate was was constant using torpedo reg.
Conclusion: this marker was of great quality performance and appearnce. performed well and kept up with action. I just got one recomendation get a wasboard to eliminate problems with eyes.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (9):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media