paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Carter Machine Buzzard / Carter Machine Buzzard / Carter Machine Buzzard / Carter Machine Buzzard

Carter Machine Buzzard Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Carter Machine

Buy Carter Machine Buzzard

Paintball Pump / Stock-Class Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Carter Machine Buzzard
[ View Photos (9) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 14
Average Rating: 9.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $500

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
World renowned for being the most expensive stock gun in the world, the Earon Carter Buzzard is the Cadillac of all stock guns. If you play stock, and you want the best, the Buzzard is where itís at. All Buzzard stock guns are custom built by Earon Carter, one at a time. Buzzards come standard with deluxe horizontal feed tube, aluminum double sided pump, stainless steel DYE barrel, 45 trigger frame, vertical CO2 chamber, stainless steel receiver and adjustable velocity.
Product Availability 
The Carter Machine Buzzard is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
topflite Wednesday, March 11th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
VSC phantom, open class phantom, trracer, tigershark, P68SC, cocker pumps.
Marker Setup: Carter Buzzard, VSC phantom
Recommended
Upgrades:
Palmers wedgits or barrel kit.
Strengths: Craftsmanship, pump stroke, consistancy.
Weaknesses: Dissasembly, loud, large bore barrel, valve assmebly backs out.
Review: I received my carter buzzard in a trade. The first thing i noticed about it is the pump stroke is extremely smooth for a nelson based marker. i aired it up, pumped and pulled the trigger. It was surprisingly loud, much louder than my phantom. another negative for me was how the barrel bore is considerably large for a pump. All the paint I usually shoot just rolled out. but a little nail polish in the barrel and the rollout problem was solved. The Buzzard demands its users to practice and practice with it in order to shoot it decently. So i would not trust the reviews from people that say that they only tested it. The buzzard does not have an anti double pump so be careful you dont double pump it. It is fairly efficient nelson with about 30-35 shots with a 12 gram, but than again my buzzard has the hardline. Taking it apart is not difficult but time consuming. you have to remove the feedtube, collar, barrel, frame, and valve assembly. when reassembling the buzzard make sure that you tighten the frame screws from the rear very tight in order to keep the valve assembly from backing out and auto triggering when you pump the marker. Shooting the buzzard is comfortable wth minimal recoil, smooth stroke and very short trigger pull with the post dye frame. very consistant shots with effective range being about 80 feet. not many upgrades for the buzzard are available except maybe an open class adapter, a barrel kit, stock, and hardline hose. it feels very stable in your hands with a little weight in to it due to the stainless steel parts.
Conclusion: very nice marker. The price tag keeps many players from acquiring one, but for the same performance for half the price the phantom is a great alternative. I would only recommend this to the true stock class players only due to the dedication needed to the marker in order to shoot the buzzard consistantly. 9 out of 10
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sonnemann Monday, April 9th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Phantoms--lighter [but feels 'cheaper'], has a stiffer pump stroke, but still a great gun [I own one!]
PPS pumps--heavier, but great pump stroke and high quality.
Snipers--gneh. Not my cup of tea. EDIT: never mind. Read my S6 review.
Marker Setup: Newest model Carter Buzzard in brilliant dust purple/pink
SS Carter/Sanchez Machine insert barrel
TASO T-stock
Hybrid .45 grips

Pre-Dye Buzzard
Forest green w/ milling through the anno
Backbottle!
12" Dye Ultralite
TASO stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
A shoulder stock
Nail polish/electrical tape
Paint and air...which are highly underrated ;)
Strengths: Incredibly high quality
Amazing and classical looks
Superb performance and overall feel
Weaknesses: Doesn't come drilled/tapped for bottomline screws these days.
Review: I bought a Buzzard because I had always wanted one and I had the cash. I've used many kinds of pumps but one never really 'clicked' with me. PPS makes great products, as does CCI, but for whatever reason they just don't feel right to me; the Phantom, despite its quality, feels to me like a cheap toy. I hate the way that PPS Sheridans' pump handles flop around after cocking because PPS removes the bolt bearings--they basically require you to keep your mitt clamped on there at all times, which doesn't appeal to me too much. As for Snipers: CCM.

Carter guns are made of all handcrafted parts of the highest quality. Everything has the solid and well-made feel of an AKA or AGD marker. Even my trigger spring was cut to fit this particular gun and to give the best trigger feel [which is amazing--I'd kill for this smooth of a setup on my Ego or PM6, relatively speaking.] The trigger has a snappy feel to it. The gun doesn't suffer from hammer bounce and each shot is a crisp SNAP out of the barrel. The pump stroke alone is worth the price--very smooth and silky, and very very light. The bucket changer is very quick and very comfortable to glom onto as a foregrip. The 1.5 frame is a matter of contention amongst owners but, as some reviews have noted, Carter will make you a Buzzard or Comp with the original-style frame if you want that instead. Personally I find the 1.5 to be very comfortable, and the supposedly "angular" frame is nothing of the sort, in my opinion.

The barrel is the usual legendary Carter piece, but this time around it uses a Sanchez Machine insert system which means I can buy extra inserts in different sizes [though at the present time I am just using a piece of electrical tape in the barrel, as I have always done with pumps.] I must say that I miss the days when Earon Carter made SS barrels, but he says they were too much of a hassle to mill...so we have to make do.

The anodizing and overall finish is flawless. I'm almost afraid to play with this thing--I'm almost tempted to buy another [edit: which I did] and just keep this one in a display case [edit: which I do not]! Mine has the milled pump handle and body rail and it is a beautiful package overall. I almost wish Earon could have stuck to anodizing his guns first and then milling through the finish [I happen to think it's more of the classic Carter look and very visually appealing] but I have no actual complaints about the fact that my Buzzard is covered in a beautiful layer of anodizing.

Performance overall is stellar; the marker is exceptionally accurate and fairly quiet. I get 40+ shots from a 12g CO2 and I expect that only to improve over time as the marker breaks in. The Phantom is superior to the Carter models only in ease/speed of disassembly, but to be honest as long as you make sure that your set screws are aligned well on the Buzzard you'll never have to mess with anything again.

In the future I plan to purchase a 13/3000 HPA tank since my field offers free fills, which will save me a good deal on 12gs. Hopefully I'll find some nice tank rings to sling it under my T-stock, but I can also use a bottomline ASA [though I had to have my shop drill/tap it because the Buzzard frame came without any sort of mounting holes.] I might also invest in the direct-feed collar option just to have it around, and perhaps a backbottle adapter.

Conclusion: Carter makes some of the finest handmade works of art in paintball. If you like stock class and want a bit of class...buy it. This and the Comp certainly aren't cheap, but sell one of those useless electros you've got hanging around and treat yourself to a true piece of quality.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, July 13th, 2008 at 7:51 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pfizerreg Thursday, March 22nd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dozens of other pumps, many high ends such as Sniper IIs, Bushmasters and Phantoms.
Marker Setup: Too many pumps to list.

Recommended
Upgrades:
Get rid of the DYE hinge frame.
Strengths: Well built
Has some weight
Smooth
Beautiful
Cocker threads
Weaknesses: Valve body backs out
Relatively complicated disassembly
DYE Hinge frame
Review: [edit] I have now sold my Newer Buzzard with DYE 1.5 frame and picked up an older pre-DYE model with a single swing frame and gloss annodizing. I'll go over the difference at the bottom of the review.




The Carter Buzzard is a work of art. Now that that's out of the way, it does have its weaknesses.

First thing I thought when I unpacked my Buzzard was that it was just beautiful. Understated milling, smooth components all around. It's a joy to pump and shoot, the SM-1 barrel it comes with is amazingly accurate, if a little oversized.

Let's compare the Buzzard to its closest rival, the Phantom. The buzzard is smoother, heavier and built to be more solid. When you shake a Phantom around, its internals and pump wobble around. The Buzzard is a solid chunk of metal. The pump stroke is smoother on the buzzard, although I would avoid getting a dust finish on the barrel. It feels rougher than when it is equipped with a gloss finish. Disassembly/reassembly goes to the Phantom. Two thumbscrews versus nearly a dozen screws. You must line everything up correctly for the gun to function properly. Misaligning the front snub, leaving the pump screws loose, or having the body lined up a couple degrees off leads to the pump arms rubbing and the pump stroke suffers. If the rear valve body is backed out, the gun will not catch on the back stroke. The Phantom comes with Hardline. My Buzzard came with Macroline, which is better used on a Semiautomatic, and looks cheap. The increased volume leads to decreases in 12gram efficiency. The Macro fittings also screw with the ergonomics when wrapping your off hand around the front of the VA adapter. I also believe that the Carter stock feed is a flawed design, as it relies on friction between the tube and valve body to stay put. This means it is on an angle, you can't put a gauge on the back of the body, and scratches eventually appear where the parts meet.

The worst part of this generation of Buzzards is, to me, the DYE Hinge frame. Yes, certain pump players drool over these and pay $80+ to put them on their Sniper IIs. That said, I think it's an over hyped piece of crap gripframe, and I believe that DYE neglected to put proper thought into producing it. The only reason that Carter is using these is because he probably has a bunch of blanks left over from when he worked alongside DYE to produce his guns. The fact that my gun has a big DYE logo on it cheapens the package for me. Sure, it may be a pretty frame to look at but I believe that it is the single WORST gripframe ever to come on a pump, from an ergonomic point of view. Pump players rely on their snapshots, and I don't feel comfortable with my firing point lowered to compensate for the overly tall frame. It is tall, because it was originally designed for Autocockers, which require a large leverage distance to activate the 4way.

The 1.5 finger trigger interferes with the wonderful Hogue wraparound grips that come stock on the Buzzard. When you try to put your middle finger where it wants to be, you run into the bottom of that terrible oversized trigger guard. I have had to put panel grips on, and I am forced to lower my hand down and use the bottom of the trigger. The WORST part about the frame is how DYE decided to mill the rear completely flat. There is no rounded milling on the back edge where the web of your thumb and palm must grip it - it is a sharp surface. This edge digs into your hand! What's worse is that with a pump, you push against the grip frame while pumping, so the pain is compounded even further. The only way I can see this being fixed is to cut off the bottom of the trigger guard, and to get some sort of backstrap to pad my hand. That, or wear gloves whenever I play with this one gun.

Fortunately, due to popular Demand, Carter is now producing single finger hinges and slider frames with humpback gripframes. The DYE frame will eventually be completely phased out.






[edit]

In the end, I couldn't stand the 1.5 grip frame and I traded the gun away for a KP2 Rifle and extra parts. A few weeks ago, I snagged another Buzzard from ebay for a terrific deal. This one is an older model with the single swing trigger with humpback gripframe. The annodizing is a gloss polished finish instead of the dust finish of my other gun.

First impressions:

This older Carter (about 1995-98 by my guess) feels like a completely different gun, even though most of the construction is exactly the same. Everything is attached in the same manner, so disassembly and reassembly are just as tough as with the new Carters, at least compared to other Nelsons like Phantoms.

The trigger frame is very ergonomic, unlike my first (brand new) Buzzard. The humpback will be a familiar feeling to those who have used Intimidators, and it fits the hand very well. There is no biting into the palm or thumb web like with the DYE frame, and wraparound grips work very well since the trigger guard is a standard size. The platform is much better for snapshooting because the hand is now closer to the top of the frame leading to less wobble.

Unfortunately, the older frames are angled down at the bottom, and use the ancient Nelson hole width, which means you will want to possibly drill and tap the frame to fit standard accessories. It is possible that a "power angle" rail will bring the bottomline angle to more of a horizontal point. My old (Newer) Buzzard had a flat bottom but did not have bottomline holes threaded in.

The gun is smoother to pump and fire. For those who don't know, Dust finished guns are cheaper to produce (and it shows). Dust guns are just tossed in a sand blaster to even out the surface finish, while Gloss guns are hand polished to an even shine. Dust anodizing scratches much more easily, and in the case of Buzzards, makes the pump stroke much rougher. My gloss Buzzard has none of the "grittiness" that the dust finish on my last one gave to the trigger pull at certain angles or the pump stroke, and the finish is much tougher against dirt and rubbing.

Again, the gun is supplied with efficiency-sapping macro line, still a comfort issue for those of us who wrap our hands around the top of the VA.

Interestingly, this older Buzzard is much quieter than the new generation gun I had owned. With an 18" Boomstick, it gives a soft bouncing thump rather than a sharp bark. Accuracy depends greatly on the paint, but generally try to avoid double feeding as the gun is not very forgiving.


Conclusion: A wonderful pump gun. There is nothing else like it, but there are differences in the gun generations that can make or break your experience. For example, older guns didn't have removable barrels. Newer ones take Cocker threads.

I know that I will love my Buzzard as soon as I replace that piece of crap DYE Frame with a nice Carter Slider frame. I'm giving this generation of Buzzard an 8, just because of the terrible gripframe.


[edit] I am very satisfied with my older model Buzzard. It is more comfortable and looks better. It is quieter, smoother and tougher. The frame is the only major difference. Carter is now making his guns with single slide frames and single swing frames. Avoid the DYE hinge frames like the plague, and spend the tiny bit extra on gloss finishing and you will be very happy with your Buzzard. My rating for the pre-DYE Buzzard is a solid 9, with points lost for the valve backing out issue, the inevitable pump arm wear on the snub and tough(er) disassembly than most guns. I'm downgrading the DYE Hinge/Dust finish Buzzard to a 7.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, August 5th, 2008 at 1:59 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Chaos_MCB Wednesday, November 29th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Phantom w/ Duckslide pump handle - Pumps as smooth as the Buzzard
Phantom w/ Punisher's Custom's undercocking kit - Pumps nice but,hard to get used to
VLM Sniper w/ CCM Pump kit - Had a decent feel but,inconsistent
Pre-90' Carter Comp - While it was smooth and all I wasn't crazy about the Phantom like undercocking pump action
CIP Superstock pistol - Same idea as the Buzzard only in pistol form,similar to the Carter/Kamikaze Shooter Desert Duck
Pro-Line/Lada Sterling - One of the smoothest pump actions out there,hard to get parts and barrels though
Brass Eagle Tigershark - For a BE gun they are rock solid but,lets face it it's BE vs. Carter that's like putting a Ford Escort vs. a Rolls Royce
Marker Setup: Pre-Dye Carter Buzzard with the limited production slide trigger frame
Stock Class feed and right feed block
matching sight rail for use with right feed
PPS Ghost ring site
Carter Rat-A-Tac 12 gram changer
Carter Machine Stainless Steel stock barrel
Carter Machine Aluminum Barrel kit
Matching Carter stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
Carter Barrel kit
Stainless Hardline
Get Direct Feed and Stockclass Feed
Strengths: Smooth pump action
Shoots amazing
High quality
Weaknesses: Doesn't come w/ stainless hardline
Parts take a while to get
Can be heavy
Review: I've had this gun now for about 6 months or so now,I first saw this particular Buzzard a few years ago and always wanted it,I got lucky at just the right time and was able to get a good deal on it.Over the time I've had it,I've been thoroughly impressed with how well made it is,The only issues I had when I got it was one of the prior owners had snapped the original powertube for it and had replaced it with a powertube from a Phantom,though similar they are not the same.Also the pump handle screws one mine were stripped out from heavy use and the stock barrel bore size was huge due to the fact paint has gotten smaller over the years.
I ordered some replacement parts from both Carter and Air Soldier Products and was able to restore it to like new inside.I also ordered a Carter barrel kit specifically made for these,it comes with 2 threaded bore inserts .686 and .689.I'd highly recommend getting a Carter barrel kit ,it is Sniper threaded not Autococker threaded,While the two are similar ,there is a slight difference so not all Autococker barrels will work properly on it.So far the barrel kit has not only lightened the gun but,has virtually stopped the roll out problem I had with the stock barrel,All I need is a couple more inserts for the kit and problem solved.
Mine came with a stainless hardline already but,they do not come from Carter standard like that,comes with a stainless braded line.
I'd recommend getting all the stuff you want for it at the same time,otherwise the colors wont match properly.It takes a bit (Mine showed up within 3-4 weeks total) to get parts for these as they are all special order,no stores/pro-shops that I know of will ever stock parts for a Carter due to the high prices Carter stuff goes for.
Conclusion: Unlike what's stated above Carter Machine does still currently make Buzzards and Comps on their site (Desert Ducks too,if you feel like dropping $2000),they no longer are available through DYE however.I've personally never shot such a great pump gun,very accurate and consistent.If you want what many consider to be THE finest pump gun in the world and want to school some speedballers I'd recommend getting a Buzzard.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

senghing27 Friday, June 2nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Phantom-nice, lighter, not as smooth stroke
CCM-Series 5 Sniper-Nice, light, very smooth stroke, open class pump
Marker Setup: Warped Emag
-or-
CCI VSC Phantom
Roin Gear elite stock class harness
-or-
Carter Buzzard

Recommended
Upgrades:
A nice T/L-Stock
3.5 oz tank for Constatn air play
Strengths: Craftsmanship
Quality
Accuracy
Customer Service
Weaknesses: Price
Weight
Review: The carter buzzard is the pinnacle of all stock class platforms, based upon the time tested nelson design, it is proven. Amazingly smooth pump stroek, and just feels great in the hands, it's a weapon of mass destruction. The quality is amazing and it's definetly a gem of a paintball marker. The customer service is amazing, if you have questions, Lauren is there to help. Compared to my phantom, this buzzard is definetly heavier. Then again, mine is the older Pre-dye carter that is equipped with the stainless steel barrel. Heavy yes, but is it worth it? You betcha. Get one if you got the chance, you won't deny it.
Conclusion: An amazing piece of craftsmanship. Stockclass ats it's best. Get it if you can.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Omega Chief Sunday, February 19th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
>Phantom, also a great marker, but not the class or feel of a Buzzard
>Various Sheridans
>Tracers
>Mavericks

To compare any of these markers to a Buzzard you have to be kidding.
Marker Setup: Custom gloss black Carter Buzzard, T-Stock.

*I have other setups, but this will be the only one listed because it is relevant to the review.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Their are no upgrades specifically for this marker, and none are needed.
Strengths: >Great workmanship
>Accuracy
>Feel
>Prestige
>It's a Carter
Weaknesses: >The price is a weakness, but it is expensive for a reason.
Review: This marker is fantastic. I have used various markers, pump and semi alike, but none can compare to this piece of art. It is extremely accurate, and it feels wonderful to use. I picked this up and my first shot was dead on, like an extension of my body.

However, this marker is not "worth" all of the money if you are going on performance alone. Although I consider it to be the finest stock class marker in the world, it is not twice as good as a Phantom, although the price tag is double. But that isn't a downfall either. You get what you pay for. It feels fantastic, you can't even compare the two in that department. This thing doesn't even have a pump stroke, it glides like magic.

And looks? This thing is beautiful. It will draw looks at the field and many compliments. But the best reactions come from those who know what it is, and appreciate it for that. It's a Carter, hand-made, precise, and beautiful. You don't need one of these to play pump, but it is an icon of pump play.

If you can't afford it and want to play, buy something else. In fact, I wouldn't dare to purchase one of these as my first stock class marker. This is however the finest piece of paintball equipment you could own, and is worth the price tag many times over.

Remember, if you decide to purchase a Carter, you are not just buying a paintball marker. You are buying a piece of art that is worthy of praise and respect from any player.

I recommend it to any player who will appreciate it, and realizes what a wonderful creation it truly is.
Conclusion: If you can afford it, love stock class play, and respect it for what it is you cannot go wrong. Buy it, use it, love it. Perfect in every way, and has more prestige associated with it then any marker in the world.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, October 5th, 2006 at 6:39 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

synapse_167 Monday, June 20th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
phantom vcs, dessertduck, gizzmo, chippleysj2 comp
Marker Setup: 03' wgp cocker w/xonik e trigg, dye boomstick, revy w/ Xboard 115/5000!!
Recommended
Upgrades:
none
Strengths: Acuracy
Weaknesses: Very few
Review: Ive shot many high end pumps and this is probly one of the best concerning very good accuracy,even for a pump and very reliable. Some of my friends and uncle know carter personaly and the effort he putts into his guns from the gizzmo to the dessert duck. I dont know for sure but ive heard that the new carters have phantom internals ,if you know this for a fact , write another review to correct me, but other than that this gun is a top of the line type of gun and if you know the right people it would be alot easier to buy because of the waiting period and expense of the marker
Conclusion: I would recomend this product to any prostock player , not just because the name of the gun but because the quality and performance
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

paint_it_black Wednesday, August 4th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
CCI Phantom, Dye Comp, WPG Sniper
Marker Setup: Black Magic Autococker w/ shocktech parts and HALO-B, CCI Phantom with Shoulder Stock and Dye's IZON. Carter Buzzard (blue)
Recommended
Upgrades:
The only upgrade I can honestly recomend is the Evil Pipe Barrel or some other light weight barrel that you can change the sizes of. The Stock Barrel is GOD awful.
Strengths: Accurate,
light weight,
uses cocker threading,
consistant in FPS,
damn good looking
Weaknesses: The stock barrel blows.
Review: If you are looking for a stock gun that will make people drool as you light them up, this is it. The DYE (Carter) Buzzard is the ultimate in stock markers. Yeah yeah you love your CCI Phantom, sure we all do. But it's got so much plastic on it, it isn't very consistant, ad it's got no milling. The WPG Sniper seriese is nice too, but it isn't true stock play. It uses a tank and a hopper, which means it's super heavey. Real stock play is using Co2 12 ouncers and 10 round tubes. Getting back on point, the buzzard has style. Not only is it rare to see one, but it surpasses all other pump in it's class. It has better higher accuracy, better ballance, the ability to use cocker barrels. There is nothing better than being able to use whatever damn barrel you want on your stock gun. I have no words for this marker. *lmao* It's just the best thing I have ever purchased as far as paintball equipment/markers. The only people who don't like these markers, are the ones who play stock and can't afford it. When you take it to the field some will marvel at it, and others will just say "it's not that great, it's the same as a phantom". Haters all of them. You want it? Save for it and get it, don't listen to them.
Conclusion: In retrospect, this gun is the ultimate stock gun. I've been playing with mine for a while now and have been nothing but impressed by it's abilities. Though the phantom is a nice gun, you have not tasted life till ya play with this slice of heaven. Get it, you must have it...these are not the droids you're looking for....you want the carter buzzard
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

BlueWater Thursday, April 22nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
*SC Phantom *SC Phantom VSC
Marker Setup: BeautyDYE Carter Buzzard Stock w/Sticky Grip & optional 4oz

BeastSpyder E-99 (Hardcore Uber-modded)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Absolutely get a "Red-Eye sight" & shoulder stock
Strengths: Accuracy
Durability
Cocker Threaded
Weaknesses: Heavier than other Stocks *Price, LOUD! *Inconvenience to clean. *No stock-holes drilled in handle.
Review: If you plan on scaring birds away, then this is the gun.

If you plan on scaring people to duck behind their bunker because you came 1 inch from their face after unloading 90 rounds at you from their Angel or Timmy during a hardcore game of speedball, then this is the gun.

If you want everyone and their mom from the opposite team to gang up on you and personally try to hunt you down for bragging rights... then this is the gun.

If you want a beautiful marker that people will compliment and gawk at on the field asking questions about the marker, then this is the gun.

This gun is so damn accurate, that I recommend a red-eye sight & shoulder stock. 1cm of a tilt, and that's where the ball will hit.

If you want to spend alot of money, then this is DEFINITELY not the gun.

Well, after a 12gram and 22 rounds, I was able to line up my site at 100 feet. I was able to hit the targert on spot. If not, within inches.

You need to be careful of the 2 screws that hold the pump to cock.

If you want a 4oz stubby canister w/on/off valve, then you need to look really HARD.
Hard to find those 4oz stubbys.

Also, I was kind of disappointed to see that for this price, at least Carter could tap in some industry standard "stock" holes for a bottomline or ASA or stock adaptor. Had to pay a guy $20 to tap it for me.
Conclusion: Accuracy is just as accurate as SVC Phantom. For me and the type of paint I used, the Buzzard seemed more accurate. Paint is extremely important for the marker.

Cleaning on this gun sucks. Inconvenient to take off since you need different alan
wrenches, screwdrivers,

I am much faster at cleaning/re-assembling a Phantom. Phantoms are really convenient like that.

Unless you have muscles, this gun will feel heavy to a stock player. I carry a 68/3000 aluminum on my semi, so to me... this gun is still pretty damn light. But after playing a
week with the Phantom, I have grown to like nearly feather weight guns.

You need to get a stock.
You need to get a sight.

Overall... dope. Gets an 8 for high pricing & making it not so easy to disasemble the
marker compared to Phantom... and cleaning is annoying. Much rather clean a Phantom. However.. I DO like the feel of this gun better than a Phantom. Phantom's feel flimsy, but they are not. I like guns that field solid built.

Actually... I will give it a 9 since each gun is hand made 1by1 .(or so their advertising says) Also, it gets a 9 for looking great. and shooting straight and getting me MAD props and compliments every single time I take it out. I have never gotten so many compliments before about people wanting to check out the gun and saying how awesome it looks. I've had people tell me... Normally I am not a fan of silver/chrome colored markers... but that thing is sweet.

Recommended paints ..689-690 ball size. Dont sell the barrel for a cocker threaded
one. The stock Buzzard-Boomstick is fine.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, May 5th, 2004 at 10:50 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Akula Saturday, April 17th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
VSC Phantom, P68, Maverick, Sniper 2, PGP
Marker Setup: Custom 2K4 Blue Urban Camo Buzzard, stock class with vertical bulk feed adaptor, vertical quick change with L-stock, DYE Izon sight.
Recommended
Upgrades:
None. It is already top of the line.
Strengths: Accurate, reliable, built extremely well
Weaknesses: None
Review: The Buzzard is an extremely well built marker due to the stainless steel and aluminum construction. The barrel is very heavy due to the fact that it is made out of stainless steel but it is so accurate that no other barrel can come close to its performance. If you think it is going to be to heavy then get your Buzzard with a Titanium barrel.

The L-stock is a must. It allows you to tuck the Buzzard in close and also provides a stable platform for shooting.

One other thing is that it quite loud. But I haven't fount that to be a problem because with the accuracy of the Buzzard all you need is one shot anyway.

If this was the car world the Buzzard would definitely have to be the Ferrari while I would say that the Phantom would probably have to be a Mustang.
Conclusion: I wish I could give the buzzard a Product Rating of 12. Because that is the least it deserves.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media