paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Bob Long Dragon Intimidator / Bob Long Dragon Intimidator / Bob Long Dragon Intimidator / Bob Long Dragon Intimidator

Bob Long Dragon Intimidator Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Bob Long

Buy Bob Long Dragon Intimidator

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Bob Long Dragon Intimidator
[ View Photos (24) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 66
Average Rating: 9.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
No Description Available
Product Availability 
The Bob Long Dragon Intimidator is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Tib Monday, August 30th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Alias
Marker Setup: Intimidator Dragon (Black to green fade)
Empire Reloader-B
Checkit Uni-mount
68/4500 tank w/ Dye cover
Recommended
Upgrades:
A fast hopper (Halo, Reloader-B, etc.)
Adjustable Ram cap (A must I learned the hard way)

Then the obvious Barrel, bolt, etc. I am still pretty much using stock so i cant advise on too many upgrades
Strengths: - Fast
- Accurate
- Easiar to maintain then I thought
- Milling
- LCD simple and effective
Weaknesses: - Manual no good
- Trigger awkward
- Parts Expensive
Review: Pros:
- This gun is insanely fast right out of the box and only gets fast as you play around with the settings and as you make upgrades.
-At this point i havent invested in an After market barrel so i cant advise which one will work well, however i have the stock barrel to be acceptable to say the least.
- When I first got my marker i was quite worried about maintaining it but once i got in there and started poking around (also with a little help from some paintball forums) i was able to take the entire gun apart relube the whole sucker (poppet, ram, regs, bolt) without any problem.
- What can i say about the milling its incredible I was out at the local field and i had a problem with my gun took it over to the tech and people would just stand around looking at it, the tech had to chase a few people away cuz they were creeping him out.
-The LCD has a very simple layout and it doesnt take long to learn what it is showing you and you can access the menu and everything using only 2 buttons.


Cons:
- My manual might as well have been written in another language (Ok that might be an exageration) but it was simply a photocopy of a 2k2 marker. I had to learn how most of my setting work from other dragon owners or from trail and error. The pictures being photocopies were useless because i couldnt see what i was looking at.
- I tried my friends Alias and fround his trigger to be much lighter and easiar to move. The dragon trigger is heavier (In my opinion), however after a bit of use you hardly notice it and get used to it.
- I have had to replace several parts (A high flow barb and a cup seal) and the parts are quite expensive I payed about 7 bucks for the barb alone, but this is to be expected from a high end marker.




A few other things i will mention when you first get your dragon and pressurize it you may hear a hissing check your cup seal if it looks fine then that means you need an adjustable ram cap (this may sound odd but trust me) it took a profession tech an hour an a half before a dragon owner came up to us and mentioned this so we plop his ram and adjustable ram cap on and like magic the problem disappered.
Conclusion: I love this gun it looks beautiful and performs even better my only complaint is again the manual blows. I rate this gun a 9.8 taking off points for my above mentioned weaknesses (but seeing as i can only rate with whole numbers we'll round it up to 10 ; )
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, August 30th, 2004 at 9:19 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

odyssey2891 Monday, August 30th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
angwl 4 dm4
karnivore
a bomb
russain legion
Marker Setup: Dragun the one with aim 68 red, aim tsunami drop,palmers micro rock, tornado valve,zenitram trigger,2 qevs modded to fit 2,total freak barrel, jam bolt,worrgas 68/4500,halo b w/rip drive and victory boardclamping feedneckcusome made backlite lcd

frenzyed dragon timmy
Recommended
Upgrades:
frenzy board
Strengths: Fast
accurate
light
short trigger pull
Weaknesses: None
Review: Well built love the milling this gun ripps well mine has frenzy board but u can always get one of thos i havent had it long but the time ive had it it hasnt had any problems at all so that is what tells u its a good gun i love it
Conclusion: For the price its well worth it go out and get it if u have the money
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sseth12355 Tuesday, August 10th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
impulse, alias, dm4, matrix, 2k2, lasoya
Marker Setup: 68 4500 psi, dragon timmy, halo b
Recommended
Upgrades:
cp drop/ on/off boom stick barrel
Strengths: Fast
Weaknesses: Weight
Review: It is a good gun and has alot mor stregths then i put but it is a good gun and u should pick up 1but, if u d prefer somthing else that is fine w/ me. i like angels but not auto cockers and i like the dynasty shockers they r nice i got to test out greenspans shocker its nice trust me, but i wonder if dynasty comes to this site? mmm i guess we'll never know oh well
Conclusion: All in all very nice
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

The_Tarsier Saturday, July 24th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month59 of 62 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Angel 4 FLY, Similar yet very different
Several blowback markers, completely different
Marker Setup: -Bob Long Black/Blue fade Dragon Intimidator
-Frenzy Board
-Stock Bob long 14' barrel
-Empire Reloader B hopper
-3-A 4500 psi low pressure air
Recommended
Upgrades:
Fast hopper. Anyone using a viewloader or 32 degrees hopper with this gun should be shot.
Strengths: Milling (Looks), Speed, LCD has some nice features etc
Weaknesses: Complex
Review: What can I say really... Well its a Timmy.

LOOKS/MILLING: I ordered the black/blue fade because it seems everyone had the black/red one. When it got in,i found out that the blue was much lighter than i had expected, because the only blue one i saw on the Internet was dark blue,but it was from 2002. Anyways I loved the light blue anyways,it looks pimped out and original.
-Needless to say this gun is h3lla nice looking. I think it's the best looking paintball gun out there.
-Even though it doesn't cost $1900 like an alias Timmy,because of its looks it gets much more respect then more expensive guns on the field. For example,I went with my team to a practice and everyone there was interested inn my gun,while my teammate who owns an WDP Angel 4 FLY got one or two "Nice angel comments", people flooded around me to talk about my gun. Its true what the other reviews say,this gun gets u respect on the field. Plus it has chrome
-I love chrome

Anyways onto the actual function of the gun,
SPEED: I haven't touched the trigger yet mostly because i don't yet own the microscopic hex key (allen key) used to modify he trigger settings. However, without touching it,i can still get 13-15bps etc pretty easily with the stock settings.
-The trigger feels loose and jumpy at first but i like it,because i can shoot 15bps which lays down the fire on the other team yet i don't go through TONS of paint like i would at 25bps.
-I had a frenzy board put in my gun and its quite nice. Fast and all. Like i said,i play with it around 15bps but its nice to have that 25/30bps so you can show off. Just gotta get around to trigger settings

FEATURES:
Eyes- The eyes on this gun are quite nice,in the menu option,you can set the eyes to:
-dry fire (this allows you to essentially "turn off" the eyes so the gun can fire without paint).
-Force feed (Fastest eye setting,forces bolt to begin movement before ball is 100% in, very useful o get full potential of speed but only recommended with fast hopper aka Reloader B/halo B).
-Delay (Senses the ball and delays the bolt from firing for 125% protection against chopping)

The eyes are great because they ill stop you from chopping balls and will insure you reach maximum speed.

There are many other features for more advanced users. After you've had your gun for awhile you can play around with your debounce settings (Debounce basically bounces ur trigger so the gun can reach top speeds by itself once you get it going,a nice Lil boost), and you can change ur dwell settings (Dwell is the number of milliseconds your bolt will delay itself after you pull the trigger,giving time for ball to feed properly. Lower dwell time for faster hopper, increase for slower hopper). There's also a game timer which is handy for practicing tournament play and pacing yourself.

Clamping feed neck- Allows any hopper to slide right in and lock tight.

***** UGH. Sorry if review is too long,much to talk about,want to make this review as helpful as possible *****

Conclusion: In conclusion,this gun is amazo. I love it,its my pride and joy along with my computer. Which basicly cost the same,lol. But yeah,this gun is h3lla nice looking and theres lots of options for colors (Take my lightblue and ill hurt you...must be original) and its fast right outta the box. Get a fast hopper or ill shoot you with mine.

By the way,im givign it a 10 cause this site is opinionated and in my opinion,my gun is better than yours.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
11 Comments - Add Comment

CrazyIvan02093 Thursday, July 1st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
All timmys, martixs, angles, shocker, cockers
Marker Setup: Timmy Dragon, 16 ultra light, halo B rip, 68/45 crossfire, ss hose, cp striaght rail, 32degrees on/off
Recommended
Upgrades:
DYE ultra light barrel
Strengths: Speed-man this baby can rip,
Accuracy-with good barrel
Gas Efficiancy-
Looks
Weaknesses: None i can think of
Review: Wow, i got this new beast not too long ago, its been my hero since, this thing can spray paint at yout targets and accuratly though. the stock barrel is pretty bad for the price they ask for this thing, the gun itself looks great. super gas efficiant, put the same tank on most guns and you get like 200 shots less, (same with most timmys). i havent had any probs with it yet, just make sure you keep the bolt clean, the gun ant that great for front pay if theres a lot of dirt around cuase it gets in the bolt, but all you have to do s keep it clean.
Conclusion: Great gun, definatly a better barrel, bit pricy and they are getting hard to find too. If you can get your hands on one of these buy it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

twistedsoldier Thursday, June 24th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
LoL havent shot anything close to a timmy
Marker Setup: yellow to black fade dragon timmy ~ Torp reg ~ CP vol ~ UNI mount ~ 12'' Stiffie ~ WAS 2.7 ~ WAS eye ~ WAS Switch ~ 92 4500 tank ~
Recommended
Upgrades:
this thing is perfect stock unless you got 140 bone burnin in yer pocket get a frenzied board
Strengths: FAST ~ Light ~ Consistant ~ Easy to clean internals ~ easy break down ~ Did i mention Fast.
Weaknesses: HI FLOW BARBS ::sigh:: i always break them when i mesS with them...
Review: All in all this gun ripps its accurate and im havent had a single problem other them the barbs which is my own fault. this marker has never give me any problems and its funny watching these people with all these DM4s around me go down just plain out funny. just stock up on spare parts and youll go problem free. I cant STRESS enough to keep it clean and lubed......
Conclusion: if you got the money buy it but u got another 200 bones them get the alias :) ...
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

J-Dogg182 Saturday, May 8th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Speed
Matrix
2k2 timmy
Marker Setup: speed
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel
Strengths: MILLING
speed is incredible
low pressure
consistent
out of box
Weaknesses: price
price
price
Review: This thing is amzing, no tuning or timing needed at all, pull it out of the box, put gas and paint in it, and play. amzing, hats off to bob long fo that. plus this gun shoots balls right on top of eachother. very consistent even with the stock reg, will be amazingly accurate if upgraded to another reg. halo or an egg is a must. this thing shoots ropes of paint. very low pressure and great gas mileage. the milling on this gun is out of this world. only better looking milling i think is out there there is the alias, or the dynasty shocker. GREAT GUN
Conclusion: if you have the money, theres no question you should spend it on a dragon or another top of the line timmy, such as an alias, empire, etc.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

One Bad Mutha Wednesday, March 31st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98C, Black Magic Cocker, Impulse
Marker Setup: Dragon Timmy
45/4500 Crossfire
Phyco Balllistics Bullet Drop
Freak Barrel System
Shocktech Superfly Bolt
Shocktech Adj. Ram Cap
Dye Stickies 3
W.A.S 2.4
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel
Adj. Ram Cap
Strengths: Fast
Beautiful
Fast
Light
Fast
Accurate
Fast
Weaknesses: Could be lighter, but an all around great marker.
Review: I first got my dragon about a year ago. I was prone to buying it because I wanted a timmy for a while, and it just looked so awesome. I finally get the thing, and gas it up, and put paint through it. It is so great. Very fast. The stock trigger pull is nice, but if you really want to rip you will need to adjust it a litte bit. It is also one of the most accuate markers I've ever used. Besides a cocker. Everyone seems to think that timmies are high maintnence, but they're not. All you need to do is lube the regs after every 5000 or so shots and you'll be fine. It's very reliable. I havn't had many problems at all. I didn't chop a ball for my first 10,000 shots. With the eye on forced.
Conclusion: Best marker I have ever used. Go out and buy it now...
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

EvilLost Wednesday, March 24th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Few Angels
Eblade Cocker
Bunch of mech cockers
Marker Setup: Dragon Timmy
68/3k MaxFlo
Halo B
thats the basic jist of it...
Recommended
Upgrades:
Eggy 2 or Halo B is a must.
Strengths: FAST, Looks, Balanced, Great eyes
Weaknesses: little pricy, trigger has left/right slop, standard grips are a bit cheesy
Review: This has quickly grown to be my favorite marker for speedball play. It is disgustingly fast, with a very nice crisp trigger which can be adjusted (duh? :)

My only complaint is that it does have a bit of left to right play on the trigger, which is a bit annoying and can also cause accidental firing at times. Also, the standard grips that come with it aren't the best they could be

Overall, I love it for speedball but there is just something a little sloppy on that trigger that prevents it from completely gettin to me, though I'm sure this can be fixed I haven't had time to do research on that yet....
Conclusion: If you are looking for a fast killer speedball marker, this is a great way to go. However, as with most all high end markers, it will come down to personal preference so try to shoot one before you buy.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

ahowle Thursday, March 4th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
My Angel
Marker Setup: Blue-Black fade Bob Long Dragon Intimidator
68ci 4500psi Air America Armageddon adjustable nitrogen tank
Full freak barrel kit
14' DYE titanium boomstick barrel
WAS Equalizer board
Adjustable ram cap
Volumizer
Stick trigger
DYE Mini-drop
DYE sticky 3 grip
Recommended
Upgrades:
Adjustable ram cap, MUST have HPA (even though it says that it can run on CO2 in the manual)
Strengths: FAST, quiet, FAST, gas-efficient, FAST, accurate, reliable, lightweight, and did I mention FAST?
Weaknesses: High-maintainance, adjustable ram cap necessary for optimum performance
Review: I've owned mine for three or four months now. All I can say is wow. This thing shoots amazingly fast, it is truly easier to fire an Intimidator faster than it is for any other marker out there. I have hit 24bps in semi with no paint. The trigger is the easiest to adjust out there. Three externally-adjustable screws. One adjusts the total travel, one adjust the spot in the travel that the switch is hit, and the other adjusts the spring-tension. I have mine easily at 1mm. One of the reasons that the Intimidator is so easy to shoot so quickly is that they're so easy to adjust to one's personal preference. The WAS board helps, too. That's a great board. Mine tells me my highest ROF, total shots fired, has a game timer, tells me if the eyes are working properly, tells me my current battery voltage, and tells me the current temperature outside. The cool thing about the LCD is that it's not on the grip itself, so you can still put those cool DYE sticky-3's on there without having to cut them. REALLY good on air as well. I get 1500 shots off a 3800psi fill in a 68ci tank. Most guns would barely get 1000. Takes cocker barels, which is another plus, since they're so available and easy-to-find.

The only bad thing is the maintainance required. I pretty much take mine apart and put it together between every time I gas it up. It's not difficult or tedious, or really even that time consuming, but it's 100% necessary. You can tell how well you maintained your marker this week by how well it performs that day on the field. I use DOW-55 grease on everything but the bolt, on which I use Tri-flo (light oil). Works well. The only other thing of which I can think would be the necessary adjustable ram-cap replacement. You pretty much need one of these. They're only like $20, but the bolt usually does not allign properly in the breech if you don't have one, and this can cause chopping.
Conclusion: Great gun, perfect gun for anyone who wants to have the edge over the competition. The $1300 price tag is quite steep, but if you're in for one of the best guns money can buy, it's worth it in my opinion. You'd better have enough left over for a nice nitro system, because it should be a punishable offense to run CO2 through an Intimidator. The solenoid can't handle pressures over 100psi, so if you got ANY liquid in there and had a velocity spike, you're gonna be sending it in for repairs. You'll also need a really fast loader, because that's really the only thing that holds it back. Awesome gun, pics of mine at http://www.angelfire.com/ms/wormburner/mydragontimmy.html
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, March 4th, 2004 at 9:30 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media