paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / J&J Performance Edge Barrel / J&J Performance Edge Barrel / J&J Performance Edge Barrel

J&J Performance Edge Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount J&J Performance

Buy J&J Performance Edge Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


J&J Performance Edge Barrel
[ View Photos (8) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 83
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Edge is a 2 Piece barrel that includes 5 backs: .682 .685 .688 .691 and .693.
Product Availability 
The J&J Performance Edge Barrel is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (9):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
70times7 Thursday, March 15th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock barrels - 98C, A5 (this only means I know what crap is like)
Dye Boomstick - 14"
98C Flatline
A5 Flatline
Marker Setup: A5
E-Grip w/ APE Rampage board
APE Double trigger
Palmer QEV
Vortex mod
Ricochet Hopper
Lapco offset
BSA Red Dot
DOP Power Tube
J&J Elite Edge kit (5 bases + 10", 12" & 16" tips)
Recommended
Paintballs:
Almost any - I don't recommend buying garbage, but I have not tested this kit with anything less than fresh good quality paint. I will be curious to see how it does with old low end field paint.
Strengths: Price
Flexibility (base sizes & barrel lengths)
Accuracy
Weaknesses: I would have preferred a zippered case
( I'm struggling for a negative here)
Review: Picked this up online for less than $100 including shipping. The seller gave me a deal because it was missing the 14" tip - the most popular size - no biggie to me. I had used the 98C Flatline before and (in spite of those who don't like them) I was very pleased with the performance. Not so when I stepped up to an A5 and stuck a flatline on it. I found that the A5 flatline has an insufficient length to obtain the necessary amount of spin. Instead of a flat trajectory it was curved, just as with any other barrel. There was, however, enough spin to send the paint in odd directions - accuracy was very poor for me. So I ditched the flatline barrel and picked up the J&J Elite Edge kit. Accuracy improved dramatically. Curved trajectory was there, of course, but now it was predictable. I was also able to provide a second player with a barrel if necessary - sure, it wasn't perfectly fit to his paint (I got first choice - go figure) but it was a HUGE step up from a stock barrel. In normal play I have never broken a ball. When testing I did try going w/ a base that was one size too small and rammed through ~25 round @ full auto. After 7 shots or so I saw the cloud of paint when I broke a ball. The next shot tailed way off to one side. The second shot was closer. The third shot and all thereafter hit the tree right where the first seven hit.
Conclusion: Once you are ready to ditch the stock barrel this system is a great value. Do not waste your money on a Flatline for an A5. For the same money or less you can pick up an Edge kit.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

dyebpoy Wednesday, February 21st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 53 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Cp barrel, empire kit, freak kit
Marker Setup: Dye Dmc with Virtue chip cp barrel kit and cp reg, Halo B, and crossfire 68/3000 carbon fiber tank
"back up gun"
Smart parts ion, with mushie board, cp barrel kit, cp reg, hybrid feed neck, hybrid grips, cp rail and on off
Recommended
Paintballs:
Pretty much anything its a kit
Strengths: Looks cool
Weaknesses: Back are to short,
Breaks paint
inaccurate
Review: This is a really bad barrel kit! it is pretty inaccurate compared to lots of other barrel + it breaks paint and is just not really a good kit and is not close to worth the money! there isn't really much to say but this is a really bad kit DON'T BUY IT!!!!!!!!!!!
Conclusion: Don't buy this kit
please tell me if you think this review was helpful or not
Rating:
3 out of 10Last edited on Monday, March 19th, 2007 at 5:22 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

jfarabee Tuesday, February 6th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Kaner Kits
Odyssey Kits
Marker Setup: 2006 WGP Autococker Black Magic
CP Reg
Empire Reloader B
J&J All-Star Elite Ceramic
Recommended
Paintballs:
Xball
Draxxus
Diablo
RPS
..insert favorite paint here
Strengths: Light, accurate, cleans very well, kinda quiet.
Weaknesses: Louder than 1-piece ceramic
Review: This barrel kit rocks. Extremely accurate, every ball follows the one before. If you ever break a ball in the barrel (not likely) or chop, it will clean in about 10 shots or so. The ceramic coating means your ano will not give you away, and makes it light and pretty quiet. I also have a 1-piece J&J barrel that is quieter, but less accurate. There is really nothing bad you can say about this, I would put it up against any barrel kit.
Conclusion: The Best Kit for the money. Normally I don't give 10's, but this one earned it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Bronx Friday, January 26th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
SP Freak kit
Stiffi Switch kit
Empire 7 piece barrel Kit
Marker Setup: Bob Long Lasoya Timmy
Edge Barrel Kit
Nitroduck HPA
Halo B
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any will do.
Strengths: Weight
Accuracy
Backs-not inserts
Shoot through
Porting
Weaknesses: Only available in black which is a color that can show scratches.
Review: This is a great kit. I ordered the full set (5 backs, 3 tips) and am very happy with my purchase. I own the stiffi switch, the freak kit, and the empire 7 piece barrel sets and I have to say that while this set was not the most expensive, it is my favorite

Looks:
Straight badass. I like the no gloss black look. Porting is nice as well.

Weight:
Very light. Not as light at the switch, but not as heavy as my freak. Its actually a perfect balance (IMO).

Performance:
The thing is very very accurate. Ball on ball. I find it to be my most accurate set. The shoot-through on breaks/chops (which dont happen often, by the way) is great. 3-4 shots and Im good. I find that I break more with my freak than with this kit, the the shoot through w/ my freak is not as good. The switch has a very similar performace to my edge set.

Backs:
The backs are much better than inserts (IMO). They are not as fragile or as easy to lose track of. the 5 backs provided in the full set make it easy to match almost any type/brand of paintball.
Conclusion: As I said above, this is my #1 barrel kit. It is far cheaper than the switch and freak and performs better...again IMO. I like the weight and the looks of this set and would recommend it to anyone thinking about upgrading.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

cjpomeroy Friday, December 29th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
J&J Ceramic 16"
Flatline Barrel
Stock A-5 Barrel
Lapco Big shot 8"
12' Boomstick
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
WAS Egrip
J&J Edge Barrel Kit
Flatline Barrel Kit
88ci/4500psi Carbon Fiber Pure Energy HPA
My rating scale defined
10- Oh my god this thing is awsome, drop what every you are doing and go buy one
7 - Good piece of gear
5 - Does what it is suppose to do
3 - Doesn't live up to advertised features
1- If you insist on buying this item, you should just send it to my paypal account either way your are waisting your money
Recommended
Paintballs:
Just about anything due to multiple backs
Strengths: Accuracy
Flexibility
Price
Quiter
Weaknesses: Kit doesn't include a ball sizer
May be hard to find
Review: I bought mine off Ebay after searching around trying to find the Full kit (12", 14", 16" with 5 backs). I wanted the full kit so it took me a while to find. Enough about buying it on to the results. Oh one other thing I need to mention is that I spent 8 years in the Marine Corps and was my units Primary Marksmenship Instructor. So my testing was based upon some experience.

Test setup:
Marker Tippman A5 with HPA FPS 285 14" barrel.

I setup a target the size of a mans torso (1 1/2' x 2 1/2") and marked off distances of 75', 90', 120'. Using a red dot scope it dialed it is so that I had 3 shots in a row on overlapping each other exactly where I expected them to be. The paint I was using was some older field paint I had and it wasn't very good paint. I would expect the results to be better with better paint.

Results
Slow fire 1 shot every 10 secs
75' 10 out of 10 in a 12" group (most of top of each other)
90' 10 out of 10 somewhere on target
120' 7 out of 10 somewhere on target

Rapid fire 10 shots in 10 seconds
75' 9 out of 10 somewhere on target
90' 8 out of 10 somewhere on target
120' 5 out of 10 somewhere on target

This has been by far the best results of any barrel for my A5. Even with crap paint, this barrel system dramatically increases the accuracy of you A5. With good paint, this could turn you A5 into a bonified Sniper Rifle, with the exception that the A5 is still too loud for this purpose.

The accuracy compared to price that this barrel provides make this barrel a must have for the A5.

Now for the bad....

I seem to break alot of paint in this barrel (more than normal). I recently played at Stallingrad II at CPX in Joliet and had a lot of problems with breaking paint. Having said that I need to clarify that everyone was having problems with breaking paint. It was so bad that they had to replace everyone's paint. However, when I switched to other paint (which was Marbelizer), I still had some breakage. The temp outside was about 45 degrees so I have a feeling it was more due to the weather and the paint than the barrel. So when it warms up some I will comeback and report if this gets better.

One good thing about all the breakage, I got to test how well it cleans itself. And the answer is NO. At least not with the type of breaks I was getting. I had to remove the barrel completely and run a squeegy through it.



Conclusion: Despite the problems with breakage (which is most likely due to other factors). This is a must have item. It will increase your accuracy, quiet down the beast of the A-5, provides alot of flexibility and is priced right. The truth of the matter is that I would rather you not buy this barrel because that will take away my advantage when I meet you on the field. So just as long as you and I don't play against each other.... Drop whatever you are doing and find you one of these kits. If you you play anywhere in Central Illinois, you should probably stick with your Flatline or stock barrel. :-)

With the exception of Switching from C02 to HPA, this is the only MOD that will get a 10 (see rating scale).
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Yomillio Sunday, November 12th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
No kits... just different stock barrels as well as a SP Progressive.
Marker Setup: 98 Custom
Egg 2
J&J Ceramic Edge Kit
Polished Internals
RT
Ported Feedneck
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any. Its a kit, so bore dosent matter.
Strengths: Shoots through breaks easily
Accurate
Quiet
Good Looks
Light
Price
Weaknesses: Tip only avalible in ceramic now
Only 4 backs but 4 is enough
Review: I just bought this barrel in spring and it has treated me well. When i first opened the kit, I was in awe. The porting looks great, and I like the double texture/color or the ceramic tip and the gloss black back. As I put in the weakness area, the tips now are only avalible in the black ceramic finish. This is not nessasarily a bad thing, but if you want a different color you can't get it ano'ed or anything. The ceramic finish is nice, because its less "sticky" than aluminum for when you get a break. I could typically shoot through a break in a few shots. The barrel is very accurate as long as you have a decent paint and a good paint / bore match. It is more quiet than most that I have used. What makes this barrel shine is that you payed only $100 (or less) for a barrel that works as good if not better than the more expensive kits out there today. This, however, is limited to the fact that you only have 4 backs. Its really not a big deal as it has the most popular bore sizes.
Conclusion: If you are in the market for a barrel kit and money is tight, this is the kit for you.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

nismo050 Monday, August 21st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
redz pepper stick. empire
Marker Setup: Black Wrath, Alamo City delrin bolt, and pin. Redz Pepper stick barrel kit. Every thing is black, just like my soul. Cross Fire 68/3000 hp with Diablo tank cover, black Egg with z board also mod. black System X drop with red macro line, FBM power angle, Haters board, trigger magnet mod. added 2k5 bob long
Recommended
Paintballs:
upper end paint, empire fuel .scorched
Strengths: There are a lot of bores and fronts.
Weaknesses: You must add O-rings or they will loosen
Review: I got the edge elite,they are the lightest barrels I own. 5 black backs, 3 red fronts. the backs are 5" long and the bores are .682" .685" .688" .691" .693" / the fronts are 10" 12" and14" total inch long. these are not the best barrels that money can buy so keep that in mind. with good paint these are very nice. for less then $100. they will fit your needs
Conclusion: If you go to diffrent fields and have to use field paint these will work very well.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Friday, January 12th, 2007 at 3:18 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

onyoursix7 Saturday, August 12th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart parts progressive 14" (couldn't shoot thru breaks) BT Apex (IS NOT A CHEATER BARREL)
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98C, cyclone, RT, Rear cocker, dye stikkees, double trigger, J&J edge kit 14", BT apex, PMI 72/3000, Ricochet R5, PSI coiled remote, Java 4+1, PMI 68/4500, empire tank cover, dead on pro seal and powertube.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Anything with a .689 bore and halfway resembles round
Strengths: It's a kit, price, accuracy with standard sized balls
Weaknesses: Smallest breach is .685
Review: Well this barrel has been very good to me in every time i've used it, but yesterday i encountered a problem, it doesn't have a breach for the very small paints. I was using diablo heat, so the box said, and the things rolled right out of the .685 back. Other than that, this is a great barrel
Conclusion: Need one more small breach in a .683 size. Other than that, this is a very competetive barrel for an even more competitive price
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

dlrash Thursday, August 3rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
UL
Kaner
Whatever
Marker Setup: Platinum Ego
Blue Accents kit
DART and Cut Stock Bolt w/ Delrin Pin
CP Rail
Edge Kit
70/4500 Adj. Worr Gas
Halo
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any high-end paintballs
Strengths: Good Quality
Good Looks
Good Internal Finish
Weaknesses: I Dunno its not really "high-end" but thats fine
Review: I got this barrel kit a while ago off the nation for $65 used. I was a bit uncertain at first because after all, its $65... Anyway I got it and was pretty impressed right out of the box. A few days later i took it out and with my Ego and Nelson Hemorhage paintballs I am proud to say I was getting results of +/- 1 with the barrel. Very smooth and straight shooting when properly matched. I love it!
Conclusion: Buy one if you want a great quality barrel for a cheap price!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SamRG Tuesday, July 11th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Marker Setup: ICD ProMaster, J&J Edge Elite barrel kit, Halo B, Redz ASA (torpedo style), soon to come-custom bolt
Recommended
Paintballs:
Stinger, Polar Ice, and Evil----only paint I have used so far and it works great
Strengths: *3 fronts in your choice of 8", 10", 12", 14", and 16" barrel lenght
*Build
Weaknesses: *The sound the barrels make against each other (makes you shiver like foam on foam)
Review: Build--------
Strong tips and backs. They do not dent easily nor scratch and scuff. Some aluminum barrels dent easily and are thin. The J&J kits is built very well ad is very light. The threads on the gun are also nicely made. Some threads are made loose, where the barrel shakes off the gun and the tip and back come loose. Without the included o-rings, they did not loosen and where snug. The tip and back are easy to separate, so WGP owners, the fron will come off with the back attached, will not have to fight to get the back off.I have held a Evil Pipe kit before, it felt flimsy, thin, and weak. The Evil Pipe kit i looked at was used and it had some scuff marks and chips on the tip and scratches on the back.

Looks--------
They are not as shiny as the freak, nor as colorful as the pipe kit----but they have a sleek and stealthy black design. I like the black dust finish, but some people like the polish shine. They come in only one color (black) but that is nothing to me, black goes with anything.

Performance--------
DEAD ON ACCURATE. I was shooting some Walmart paint (Scorch and Monster Ball)40 yards from the tree we were shooting and it was shooting in a circle grouping of about 1 foot in diameter with the .682 back and a barrel length of 10". My gun was set for a 400 psi output tank and we had a 850 psi output tank on the gun, I am thinking it was shooting a little over the 280 i last chronoed it at. Now if I wold have had some Evil paint to shoot, that pocket would be smaller.

Value--------
For $77, you cannot beat this kit. This kit comes with your choice of three tips to make a total barrel length of 8", 10", 12", 14", and 16" -- and 5 backs. The basic Freak Jr. Kit has only one front, one back, and three inserts for $79. Now the Freak does have the Smart Parts name on it, but it is not built as well as the J&J barrel kit or the WGP kit. With the J&J kit you are getting the same thing as some of the more expensive kits with that fad brand name.
Conclusion: This is a great kit. Very accurate, light, strong, sleek, and not so hard on the pocket.

Solution to the times when you had a shot on the guy down the field but that dang stock or overrated barrel would not give you the accuracy but give you that 5 foot pocket of fire.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (9):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media