paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / J&J Performance Edge Barrel / J&J Performance Edge Barrel / J&J Performance Edge Barrel

J&J Performance Edge Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount J&J Performance

Buy J&J Performance Edge Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


J&J Performance Edge Barrel
[ View Photos (8) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 83
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Edge is a 2 Piece barrel that includes 5 backs: .682 .685 .688 .691 and .693.
Product Availability 
The J&J Performance Edge Barrel is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (9):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
mckevern Thursday, June 29th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
J&J Cermanic Barrel back in 98.
Marker Setup: A-5
LPK with Palmer Stab
HPA
Polished Internals
Strengths: Very Accurate. Not as expensive as other barrel kits. Looks good.
Weaknesses: None found yet.
Review: Back in 97 or 98 I purchased a J&J Ceramic barrel because the sales person really pushed it hard. I was told it was accurate and it would shoot break clear after a few shots. So I purchased the barrel and found that, well for me, it didn't perform as I was told it would.
I ended up trading the barrel off and not giving J&J barrels another thought. Then a few years ago I got back into stock class and one person I played with swore up and down on the Edge kit for the Phantom. I did my research and found that it was well thought of. But put off purchasing one till I got my own Phantom. Unfortunately I found that the Micro-Shot barrel that came with mine and the stock barrel with the rings worked wonders for me.
So I purchased a A-5 and eventually purchased the Edge barrel for it when I decided the Flatline was just to heavy for me. I didn't get a chance to test it before my first game with it but I liked how it looked. So I was somewhat happy.
At the game I became completely sold as I continually hit targets at range of 50 to 60 feet on the first three rounds I'd shoot. My friends with their flatlines were wasting a lot of paint to hit one guy and I would get them in three shots. WOW.
Maybe I re-learned to shoot better since going back to Stock Class .... learned once more to make my shots count ..... Who knows .... But when I play semi I take a three round burst to judge the range and then I zero in with more three round bursts .... But I was hitting my targets with my ranging shot ... not one ... not two ... but all three ..
Conclusion: Either way ... though I was a little worried about buying this barrel system due to my past experience, I'm glad I took the plunge and I now have total and complete faith in J&J's products.
It looks good .... isn't as expensive as others ... and performs to my level of expectation. What more can I say.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

foughtwolf Sunday, June 25th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
AA
UL
Freak
Pipe
boomstick
Marker Setup: ion/CP reg/ CP Roller Trigger/ Dead on three inch on/off drop forward/Hybrid Clamp neck/J&J Edge kit/ Contract Killer grips(One with guy with gun in hand).

Promaster #477, CP Reg, CP flame drop, CP on/off ASA, Timmi stock feedneck, J$J barrel kit.

Shocker 05 vision #13772, CP Reg, CP drop, CP on/off ASA. Contract Killer grips (Same as Ions) HE bolt, Q-lock feedneck, all Amreican.
Recommended
Paintballs:
just about anything really, its a good system for all paint.
Strengths: Self cleaning.
Mirco-honed very well.
Colors.
Shoots darts.
Weaknesses: Maybe the fact that they stopped making the gloss black ones...
Review: ok, well we first got two backs and one front for my Ion, we didnt want to buy a full set and it be crap. Well, it worked great so we got a 'cocker kit for the Promaster. Shoots darts to the max. I've bumped it one the ground, wooden bunkers, all sorts of stuff and theres only minimal scratching on it. Its much better then the pipe or Boomsticks, and lighter. the self cleaning thing has saved my in games a few times(we have a few ferrets and the get to the paintballs sometimes and nick one open) I've had one barrel break from the whole lot of around 15 cases or paint.
Conclusion: Buy it, buy it, buy it!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Ebonclaw Thursday, June 22nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
J&J Ceramic, CP one piece
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion, 45/4500 Air America High Output HPA, HALO-B, SP 360 QEV, NDZ Roller trigger, Trinity Slim Body blue/black fade, CP Razor drop and CP on/off ASA
Recommended
Paintballs:
Anything fresh. Having 6 different bores means this doesn't really matter anymore.
Strengths: Strong, lightweight, affordable, attractive, very versatile, relativly quiet.
Comes with carrying case.
Weaknesses: No .689 back.
Review: Recieved as a gift and is currently operating on my Ion. I have the full bore set (6 backs, 3 fronts). Very impressed with quality and build. Extremely lightweight barrel, and I prefer having solid backs, the FREAK's sleeves always seemed a bit vulnerable when not in the case. Very good price for the full bore set, and excellent alternative for someone who doesn't want to plunk down $200 but still wants a barrel kit.
Powedercoating on the black is uniform and very well done. Porting is smooth and effective at reducing sound. Shoot darts as long as your paint is good. Only surprise was no .689 back. Oh well, the .688 back works pretty darn well in its place. Comes in a nice little carrying case. Overall, very satisfied. J&J makes another quality product.
Conclusion: Arguably the best kit for your money. Looks good (at least IMO), shoots good, lots of options (create 12", 14", or 16" with any back at will), and is lightweight yet tough and won't scratch easily. Shoots through braks nicely as well. Strongly reccomend.
I give it a 9 for not including the .689 back.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

shotput Tuesday, June 6th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Ion barrel
Marker Setup: Blue Ion
Clippard QEV
Lucky Stages 1, 2, and 3
J&J Edge Elite barrel kit
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any that are not oblong
Strengths: Great accuracy
Different Bores
Different Tips
Looks Great
Cheap
Weaknesses: Case is cheap
Review: When I first ordered this product I was sceptical because I was getting 5 bores and three different tips for only $77 and I thought it was too good to be true. After testing the barrel I was amazed at how accurate it was with even the cheapest paint I was smoking a 2 by 2 archery target from about 150 ft with every ball The barrels look great and all came with o-rings inside the barrel
Conclusion: This barrel system is amazing and for $77 there is not another kit that can compete with the j&j edge barrel kit
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

teamthundercats Sunday, June 4th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Freak Kit (a nice alterative because of buying multiple backs for multiple guns, but a but more expensive for the inserts)
Stiffi Kit (pretty much same performance)
Hammerhead Kit (pretty much same performance)
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion with Halo B Rip Drive Loader, J&J Edge Elite Kit, 360 QEV, TechT L6 Bolt
Tippmann 98 Custom with Qloader System and J+J 16" Ceramic Barrel
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any EXCEPT smaller than .682, as that is smallest back size
Strengths: Accuracy (very nice), Interchangable Fronts, and Low Cost
Weaknesses: Only five bore sizes (I don't like the case but thats just me)
Review: I got the barrel kit at my local pro shop and gassed up my tank. It comes in a soft black case that isn't very sturdy, so be careful with it even when it's in the bag. I went home and bore sized some sucky white box I had from two weeks ago (dropped it in so the ball went into the back but got stuck = correct back size) and went out back to test it. Ball on ball accuracy, even with the deformed paint. I then went to my local field (shout out to East Coast!) and tested it out in some games. Nailed a bunch of guns and arms and got a few gogs when people poped out to check. My kill count went up a lot. The one thing to think about before you get the J&J is will you want a barrel kit that works on multiple guns. If so, I recommend the Freak Kit instead because you only need to buy one new back, not new inserts. However, I like the J&J a lot better than the Freak and balls do not break in between pieces of the barrel on the J&J, a disadvantage of the Freak. All in all, a really good barrel at a pretty decent price.
Conclusion: If you're looking for a cheaper alternative to the Sly, Hammerhead, or Stiffi Kits, the J&J Edge is just what you're looking for.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Dreamvillian Sunday, May 28th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
J&J ceramic 14"
stock spyder and cocker barrels
16" sniper barrel
Marker Setup: 02 stock cocker (needs a new reg)
supafly bolt
custom drop
This barrel kit
Pure energy 72/3000
Recommended
Paintballs:
any, thats the point of getting a kit so you can use any paint.
Strengths: customizable, Good price, nice ceramic coating
Weaknesses: Can be hard to install/remove on autocockers
Review: I got the 4 peice edge kit for about $70 and an 8 inch front and 10 front for 15 each. One thing to remember about ordering fronts, the length you see is counting the 5.5 inch back. so my 8 inch front only sticks out 1.5 inches past my pneumatics, Which is cool in some situations (playing front) I used this barrel with blaze and wild streak paintballs. My velocity was all over 220-302 because my reg was acting up not because of the barrel. I noticed a couple things; when using crappy paint try all of your backs until you find one that shoots straight, i ended up using .691 back with the wild streak paintballs it shot more consistently even though balls could roll right out of the barrel (they had some slim on them, tight bore caused them to hook badly).

I will update this review once i get my new sidewinder reg. and spring kit.
Conclusion: Not a bad kit. It shot better what my J&j 14" ceramic, which is also not bad. My experience was marred by a bad reg. I was still able to see improvements when using this barrel.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

HowieD521 Tuesday, April 25th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion with JJ Edge Allstar Kit, CP Drop Foreward, Quick Disconnect Feed Neck, and soon a Black Heart Board
Recommended
Paintballs:
Anything, its a kit...
Strengths: Looks, kit ablility, quiet, lightweight, affordable
Weaknesses: Paint
Review: Very helpful with the bore sizes to match up to your paint sizes. Very accurate leaving no stray balls going out from your shooting. I'm not going to tell you how big of any area, but I kept up with the rest of my friends with Freak Barrel kits which seems to be around the standard on the market for kits. My gun is the more quiet type, but this barrel does help silence the gun even more. The barrel is lightweight but holds up well. The looks are great with different size lengths, 12" and 14". No chops, quiet, clean, great looking, affordable, and most of all, its a kit.

The paint on my tip, which is probably my fault, came a little off when I hit something. I didn't notice it until one of my friends (Freak barrel user) scrutinized my gun and barrel kit. Its going to happen eventually though if you play paintball. Barrel still runs excellent.
Conclusion: All and all this barrel is worth the money. It is cheaper than most of the other kits and still holds up to my heavy abuse. I'm happy with my investment and plan to be putting this barrel kit to full use.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

zWarlord Wednesday, April 12th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Stock barrels, yea doesnt realy compare
Marker Setup: WGP Tactical Trilogy
-Halo LCD TSA Backman
-J&J Edge Elite barrel Kit
-WORR Gas 70/4500
-ANS Mini Ram
-Benchmark side drop
-Shocktech Superfly bolt
-WGP Ergo Reg
-JCS folding combat stock
-JCS weaver offset
-ADCO hotshot
-CCM delrin back block
-NcStar weaver mount bipod
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any, thats the point
Strengths: 5 Bore sizes, 3 fronts, ceramic coating
Weaknesses: Scratches easily(but that adds character)
Review: This is a very accurate barrel kit. I have only come across one paint it wouldn't shoot reliably(shrapnel), but thats 'cause it was closer to oval than round. Choice of the three different front is good gives 12", 14", and 16" lenghts, though i would like to have seen a 10 inch, but no big deal really. The matching is excellent between the fronts and backs, as long as you have it tightened down it is almost seamless. As far a o-rings, it only came with five so i needed to ges some more for the rest. NOTE**#35 O-rings are what you need if anyone is curious.
Conclusion: Excelent kit a great product, super accurate
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, August 24th, 2006 at 5:48 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

+Shadow+ Monday, April 10th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
terminater barel
Marker Setup: 05' Smart Parts Ion- QEV,CP blade trigger, Empire nano drop, ShockTech On/Off ASA, J&J edge kit
Recommended
Paintballs:
doesn't matter
Strengths: Price
Light
Comes with carrying case
Weaknesses: Only 4 bore sizes
Review: well this is a very nice kit though it only come with 4 bore sizes but for eighty bucks you cant really complain, i have not had the privlage to shot nice paint out of it yet, but even the Extremly cheap stuff shot strait. it is also very light the 14" 2 peice, weighs less than the 10" stock barrel
Conclusion: Great product for the price
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

TBaller Wednesday, April 5th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: halo drop forward clamping feedneck roller trigger
Recommended
Paintballs:
evil paintballs
Strengths: The key strengths are it's lightness and it is cheap.





Weaknesses: None that I've found.
Review: I love this barrel it is fantastic for people that can't buy a freak barrel. I have shot Evil, Proto, Xball, RPS and Chronic paint through it with great results. The threads could be cut better but that is a small problem. This is the cheapest barrel that gives you quality results. This barrel is the best barrel for the least cash.
Conclusion: Well made barrel kit for the money. Definately worthwhile investment for the novice player or your tournement player. Your money will be well spent.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, April 6th, 2006 at 7:55 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (9):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media