paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Airgun Designs Automag RT / Airgun Designs Automag RT / Airgun Designs Automag RT / Airgun Designs Automag RT

Airgun Designs Automag RT Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Airgun Designs

Buy Airgun Designs Automag RT

Paintball High-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Airgun Designs Automag RT
[ View Photos (6) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 65
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $799

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Partial List of Features: Reactive Trigger™ (RT) technology capable of an astounding 25+ rounds/sec without measurable shootdown,designed exclusively for use with high performance compressed gases, all new RT valve recharges 5 times faster than the 68AUTOMAG valve, the RT valve features a stainless valve body with a lightweight hard anodized aluminum regulator body laser-cut, precision located, roller bearing, carbide tipped Sear Assembly, stainless steel hard line - no bulky braided hose, front grip with built in air passage for custom hookups, polished stainless steel mainbodies, new tapered barrel with polished stainless steel muzzle brake, and built in filter that prevents valve contamination and performance degradation.
Product Availability 
The Airgun Designs Automag RT is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
bigt4203 Monday, May 5th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Automag RT
Warp Feed
Richochet AK
Recommended
Upgrades:
Warp Feed
Level 10 Bolt
ULE Kit (if you can afford it)
Double Trigger
Powerfeed
Strengths: Accuracy
High ROF
Reliable
Easy maintainance
Consistant
Durability
Weaknesses: Weight (doesn't bother me much anymore)
Review: I bought my RT from a guy for $100 with the Warp Feed and hopper at the Paintball field I play at. I love this marker. Now for my main review.

The reliability of this marker is outstanding, as with all AGD markers. The RT is built like a tank, and it weighs like one too. The weight might bother some people, but I got use to it. I don't expect a marker whose body is made out of stainless steel to be featherlight. The stainless steel construction make it durable as heck as well, you can drop it, hit it against a tree, etc. and this marker will still perform the same. Not to forget that this thing, if you take care of it, will last you years. My friend's dad has has his Automag for 20 years and the thing looks like it is almost new despite how much he has used it. The ROF on this marker is great for the gun. Toss on a level 10 bolt and a double trigger and you'll be firing fast without chopping paint. The addition of a warpfeed lowers the profile so no more hopper shots. Maintainance on this marker is relatively easy, just unscrew a piece, turn the bolt, and the entire bolt comes out. Clean it off, oil it up, and slide back in. The consistancy of this marker is great too, shooting +/- 3 fps over the chrono doing single shots. Didn't test fps while shooting rapidly but I know that RT valve recycles fast enough to not have any worries about shoot down. As I said before, my only quall about this marker was the weight, but if it bothers you that much, find a different marker or get the ULE upgrade.
Conclusion: Great marker. I was extremely lucky to get this marker for $100 and for it to be in the condition it is in now. I do suggest that if you play woodsball to remove the colored frame on the marker, it serves no real purpose except cosmetic. If you find one, buy one and you won't be disappointed.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

rebel mp Thursday, May 31st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Auto Mag RT, Angel LCD, WGP E Orracle, Vengance 2.0 auto cocker, Smart Parts Epiphany, and an old Kingman Spyder.
Marker Setup: Im the worst to ask this question too because my moods change quickly and i have too much gear (cus im a pack rat) so i dont know what ill use any givin weekend
Recommended
Upgrades:
are upgrades even available for this gun anymore? but double trigger frame, barrel, and bolt are great upgrades for this gun.
Strengths: Its fast
Weaknesses: Barrel,
finding upgrades.
Review: Well back in the day this was one of the ultimate guns too own. Mine has the double trigger frame. I have a Dye Boomstick barrel for it . Unfortunately i haven't put a halo or a force feed loader on it but the revy i have for it works fine with it till i hit the sweet spot and it goes full auto. But i love mine and do use it once in a great while.
Conclusion: Its a good gun when it came out and for alittle while till the elctros came out.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

HellcatCommando Monday, April 2nd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
2 years2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Little to nothing at all. A league of its own.
Marker Setup: Spyder MR3 16" Double Rifled Barrel
Spyder Fasta Loader
Sig Sauer RAM 226 Pistol
Recommended
Upgrades:
Aftermarket barrel
Electric Hopper
Big Tank
Strengths: Accuracy
Noise
Weight
Weaknesses: None
Review: My Automag RT has been very good to me. The thing is laser straight at 50 feet and beyond. I have a longer barrel and the thing is quiet and really really accurate with it on. The cool thing is that since it is HPA Only (disadvantage to some) it maintains a good consistent shot. The gun is truly a league of its own. To me, the pricetag says $800, this gun is worth every penny of it. Any automag is good, but the RT is the best in my opinion. I have used it in both speedball, woodsball, and scenario and works well all around. Its a very reliable gun with minimal internal components, so it is very easy to clean. Parts are availible everywhere online or direct through the manufacturer. I would reccomend this not as a first gun, but to someone who is becoming very serious in the sport. It is excellent.
Conclusion: You will not be dissapointed if you decide to purchase this!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, April 2nd, 2007 at 5:50 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

NinjaOscarFish Sunday, December 17th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Mini Mag
Cocker
Shocker
Marker Setup: Rt Pro
Armson Barrel
Level 10
System X Drop Forward With On/Off
Intelli Frame
Recommended
Upgrades:
Level 10
Intelli Frame
Barrel
Fast Hopper
Strengths: Very Accurate, Fast Fast Fast, Compact, Easy To Dis-Assemble And Re-Assemble
Weaknesses: Weight, Needs Level 10 Bolt, New Barrel Is A Must, Short Stroking
Review: The Automag Rt stock was'nt to much fun stock. Chopped balls, short stroked, and was not accurate with stock barrel. As soon as I upgraded to the I-Frame, Lvl 10, and bought a freak barrel system for it, the Rt kicked some serious butt. It was extremely accurate and quick. Never chopped a single ball after purchasing the lvl 10. The gun is very compact and quite comfortable to play with after I installed the drop forward. The gun also had a very good feel to it when shooting.
Conclusion: I loved my Rt, It was my first marker ever and one of my favorites. I recently purchased and Emag and it still keeps up with most guns out there today. Cant go wrong with a mag
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Zedthephish Sunday, May 1st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Automag Classic(Nice, but not as nice)
Tippmanns, Spyders, Cockers, the usual suspects.
Marker Setup: OG RT
Warped Classic
Recommended
Upgrades:
Level 10, 'cause when it chops it hurts.
Strengths: Speed, Durability, Accuracy,Style
Weaknesses: Only takes N2, Gas Hog
Review: Bought my RT, all stock, off of ebay for a steal. I was already a huge Automag fan because of the Classic, but I decided to take the Plunge and picked it up, along with a 47ci Nitro Duck tank. It sat in my room for some time(i bought it in the midst of winter) and I anxiously awaited to try it out. When the time came, it preformed admirably. The reactivity took some time to get used to, which lead to a few short strokes here and there, but by the second or third game I got the hang of it. Once I got the hang of the trigger, my bps was good, not super-amazing, but good. I was able to lane pretty easily, and this came as a shock to my paintballing friends(we play exclusively woodsball (out of circumstance... our field closed :-( , and most shoot Tippmanns, etc.). It was an interesting experience, mostly because I don't shoot that much in terms of volume per volly. To have that sort of firepower on call was a great experience in a woodsball game. However, since I don't like spending huge amounts on anything, I have a 47ci tank. My tank was almost empty after four games, four long games to it's credit. And the couple times I chopped, any accuracy after about 50 ft was gone. A Level 10 is almost a neccesity, but on the other hand it makes the marker LESS gas efficient.
Conclusion: This marker has left an almost entirely positive mark on me. It's a fast, accurate, and sleek tank. Chopping was a minor problem, and the gas usage is not phenominal, but all in all, 9.7 out of 10, round up, that's a 10.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, June 22nd, 2005 at 8:14 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

InterNtlDelight Sunday, March 27th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smarts Parts Ion
Marker Setup: Spyder Xtra w/ VL Revolution 12 volt
Tippmann 98Costum w/ VL Quantum
Trilogy Sport w/ Evolution II Loader
Karnivor Autococker w/ Evolution II Loader
Recommended
Upgrades:
Response trigger
New barrel
Thats all
Strengths: Fast
Accurate
Weaknesses: Barrel needs a little help
Trigger slows it down a little
Review: I have only tested this marker. So i porbably cant say much. This gun is good for people who want a fast, accurate, and professional. Airgun designs have always made good markers, and this, obviously is one of them. It looks alot like a shocker ultimate. Put a Halo B loader on this baby and it'll be so fast you cant keep up with it.
Conclusion: This is a pretty good marker. I'd get it if I were you.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Mindjob Monday, November 22nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
X-mag, RT Pro, Mini-mag, Classic Mag. Angel LED, Various Autocockers, various other high end mech and electro markers
Marker Setup: LVL10
Intelliframe w/blade trigger
45/88 Centerflag hyperflow adjustable tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Lvl 10
Intelliframe
Adj air tank
Parabolic power feed plug
Halo B or equivilent
Strengths: FAST
reliable
zero shoot down at rapid fire
consistent velocity over the chrono
craftsmanship
accuracy
Weaknesses: banjo bolt difficult
lack of compatablity with other AGD products
learning curve with rapid fire
Review: I had to wait for 2 years after this gun came out to buy it because of my cash flow, (or lack there of). I am and have been an advid AGD shooter since buying my first mag somewhere around 1995, and I know the ins and outs pretty well.

The RT valve was designed to overcome the perceived shoot down on the older A.I.R. valves on the classic and min mags. One of the benafits of the new design was that the trigger rod actually 'pushed' the trigger back into firing position after each shot. Research discovered that the higher the input pressure, the more 'reactive' the trigger became. Once you became familiar with the gun, it actually became very easy to sweet-spot the trigger and rapid fire upwards of 15 bps.

The problems early on with the RT was that the very first batches of the high-rise main bodies were incorrectly manufactured, causing a feed problem and chopping reputation that AGD was never able to shake. I owned my RT for a few years before the LVL 10 came out, and rarely had chopping issues. But as people began to tinker with the gun and find ways to make it rapid fire even faster, the RT EASILY outshot the power feed Viewloaders of the time.

Enter the LVL 10.
I broke down and picked up a LVL 10 kit online for about $65. It took me a good month to really get it tweeked and working right. It also required me to replace the reg piston with one set for a higher vent pressure, since some lvl 10 configurations used a much heavier main spring, thus increasing the reg output pressure into the powertube to overcome it.

I also find that an adjustable output HPA tank is key if you really want to fine tune your rapid fire. I run 1000 psi into the gun, and it rapid fires like mad. The really scary part is that the velocity stays +/- 6 fps over the chrono while doing it. A good high flow tank is definately recomended, such as the Max-flo or Centerflag tanks.

Another small but annoying issue I ran into with the RT was when I tried to replace my X-boarded VL with a Halo B. Seems that for some reason, balls would hang up on the power feed plug. After a little research, I discovered AGD had already ran into this and corrected it with a $2 replacement plug called the "Parabolic P.F. plug. It just has a slightly different shaped curve to help promote faster ball loading.

Conclusion: My conclusion is that this is an awesome product, that was WAY ahead of its time. Would I recomentd it now? NO. AGD has updated the RT line with the RT Pro which incorporated all of its advances. These include the newer version of the RT valve which is called the X-valve, the ULE verticle feed aluminum bodies, and the ULE Trigger kits - which lowers the pressure required to pull the trigger down to near electo-trigger levels. It also eliminates the "Bounce/Rapid fire" that disqualifies the RT for tournament use.

I have seen fully tricked out "Classic RTs" (as they are now called) on E-bay in the $250-$400 range. For that money you can't go wrong. These things can blow away any mech and many electro guns out there.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

AGD_Richie Tuesday, October 19th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing really, maybe the Tac-one, but nothing really compares.
Marker Setup: Automag RT Nickel powerfeed left

16' SP progressive
12 volt revvi
freak jr black tip and crome back
freak all american black
clear elbow
48/3k
Recommended
Upgrades:
New foregrip
Revvi
barrel ( stock is crappo )
Strengths: Balenced out, its small, i can put it in the gun case.
Weaknesses: Exept maybe may be a bit heavey for a someone who just got it
Review: I love this gun, I mean i just got mine like a week ago and i just love it. It needs compressed air or nitro eaither works fine. Uhm well this may not be an issue for anyone, but if u are low on dough for a drop forward i would suggest the deadon, becus the tank isnt all up in ur face. You wil need a revvi hopper becus this thing will seriously outshoot ur grav hopper. And with the new hAir trigger frame its going to be able to rip madd!!.
Conclusion: BUY IT, BUY IT.... Have u bought it yet? lol, anyway, i think its a good buy, always ur back up gun to ur angel, i personally think this gun is ur next angel or the RT pro ule.

Still buy it.,
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Jupez Wednesday, May 19th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Speed Angel, Tippmann 98, Spyder Imagine, and a cocker
Marker Setup: Black RT Automag, 16" All American Barrel, Crossfire N2, and a Egg2.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
New Frame
Electronic Hopper
Many will say Level 10 upgrade kit but i've never chopped a ball and i've shot probably 10,000 rounds through it.
Strengths: Pretty fast.
Consistant.
Accurate!
Quiet.
Weaknesses: Heavy.
Gashog (sorta).
Review: Overall, I love this gun! I won it in a raffle and ever since, i've been hooked. The stock frame sucks but that's not too bad. It is totally accurate, me and a speed angel shot at a fence and the spread on mine was not much larger than his and he had an Angel & I had the stock barrel. Although it's heavy, you're arms will "strengthen" up and you will be able to manuever it well.
Conclusion: I would recommend this gun to anyone. It's probably one of the best non-electro markers you can get.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Insane Toad Friday, May 7th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
I haven't used (owned) anything other than, my RT and a piranha.
Marker Setup: AGD Automag RT Original
10" Smart Parts SS
Level 10 superbolt
Double Finger Trigger
Ricochet Apache
Crossfire 47/3000
Recommended
Upgrades:
Level 10
Fast Hopper
Double Finger Trigger
Adjustable Tank
An Electric Trigger Frame (you will loose the RT effect though)
New Barrel
Strengths: Fast
Accurate
Beasty lookin'
Old Skool Style Body
Weaknesses: Heavy
Limited for upgrades
Needs a level 10 to run well enough to play tourneys
Review: This gun is awsome, it is super fast with a hopper that can keep up with the trigger bounce (apache). You dont really need the adjustable tank as long as you have a level 10. But other than that its an amazing gun, with an amazing capabilities to stand up to today's standards
Conclusion: I would recommend this gun to anyone who likes vintage peices that haul A$$.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media