paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Airgun Designs Automag RT / Airgun Designs Automag RT / Airgun Designs Automag RT / Airgun Designs Automag RT

Airgun Designs Automag RT Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Airgun Designs

Buy Airgun Designs Automag RT

Paintball High-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Airgun Designs Automag RT
[ View Photos (6) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 65
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $799

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Partial List of Features: Reactive Trigger™ (RT) technology capable of an astounding 25+ rounds/sec without measurable shootdown,designed exclusively for use with high performance compressed gases, all new RT valve recharges 5 times faster than the 68AUTOMAG valve, the RT valve features a stainless valve body with a lightweight hard anodized aluminum regulator body laser-cut, precision located, roller bearing, carbide tipped Sear Assembly, stainless steel hard line - no bulky braided hose, front grip with built in air passage for custom hookups, polished stainless steel mainbodies, new tapered barrel with polished stainless steel muzzle brake, and built in filter that prevents valve contamination and performance degradation.
Product Availability 
The Airgun Designs Automag RT is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (7):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7
        Next Page
Unregistered User Monday, February 18th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spider compact, tippman 98, autococker 2001
Marker Setup: Atuomag RT....flatline nitro, ans foamie, drop forward, double trigger set up....
Recommended
Upgrades:
get a good double trig, get the freak barrel set , and then get a super bolt from airgun designs....
Strengths: Dependable! Easy to work on especially compared to my autococker....
This gun is great and I feel secure when I step on a Sup Air feild with my team and I ball against the best guns made at least once a week....I son't worry about breaking paint unless I screw up and do a bad paint match to my barrel...other than that I shoot as much paint as the electros when I need to and I have great accuracey....not many of them out on the field...everyone wants to shoot it and I get a lot of "wierd" from it....but it's always a good wierd...also, sir gun designs has a great service department and it's more like a family to them.....
Weaknesses: Loud gun....I shoot a cannon now....not a snipper gun, no element of surprise here unless you can bunker......Not many upgrades available because the gun is so simple so I'm itching to work on guns and I usually end up working on my autococker which is a lot of work and pricey....so this gun will save you money also.....
Conclusion: Love it!....auto cocker is now back up and I play for keeps as a front man in tourneys....Can get this gun for under 600 bucks and I got mine for 650 with a drop forward, flatline nitro tank, trigger set up, and great paint job for 650 on an auction.... Need a dependable gun that you can do all the work on and hang with angels? RT is a good option to consider...
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, February 17th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
NO marker compares, unless you go electronic, and even then this gun blows them out of the water
Marker Setup: Automag Rt, 12inch taso pro series, 47ci nitro tank (looking for something bigger), 9v revy loader 5" drop forward
Recommended
Upgrades:
drop forward, new barrel, electronic loader, double trigger
Strengths: everything
-incredible rate of fire
-well balenced with a drop forward
-verrrry accurate
-drable, and easy to clean
-barrel cleans easier because the whole "chamber" is attached to the barrel
-double trigger will bounce of your finger with the right pressure and go full auto, for a period of time
Weaknesses: Nothing... Unless
-you buy the high rise body (can be sent to airgun designs and replaced for free


(Listen to the guy below me, he knows what he's talking about)
Conclusion: Buy this gun!!!!!! You wont be disapointed
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tb-303 Friday, January 25th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
std Automags and spyder andTippmanns
Marker Setup: Automag RT
3000psi i.9 pure energy air
16" boomstick,16" armson SSR, 12" smartparts stainless steel
12v Revvy
Z-grip
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrels always good upgrades. i love the boomstick(will get shorter one soon) so i would recomend that, also try a Z-Grip i Love them and make your playing stance pretty tight
Strengths: Very easy to maintain(as att AGD stuff is)
pretty good for overall size.
nice and tasty rate of fire.
it looks awsome.
Weaknesses: weight i guess could be a problem for some(i ain't that small so it isn't an issue for me)
if you want to add loads of shiny add-ons there isn't much to do(it's just so good straight out of the box)
some people have a chop problem but i've not found it a problem.
Conclusion: A fantastic gun. it's got some awsome rate of fire when needed. sooooo easy to maintain.even i can do it. its well built and will take the punishment a days play will throw at ya. annd a z-grip and you'll love it even more. mine is an early one with a high rise feed but i havent found this a problem. but it can be sorted through AGD.who incidently are really helpfull and offer great customer backup.
overall a great marker which is great fun to use and will give some of the bigger guys a run for their money.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, January 13th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
4 years
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Automag 68 - RT wins!
Autococker 96 - RT wins!
Spyder Shutter - RT wins!
Proteam Benchmark RT Pro - RT wins!
Minimag - RT wins!
Matrix - Well....
Angel - Well.........


Marker Setup: Automag RT
DYE SS '12
Lapco SS '12 Autospirit
Nitroduck 68/4500 Tuffskin
Benchmark Crossfire Cradle & Adaptor
AGD Intelliframe w/ 2X Blade & Intellifeed
Viewloader Revolution 2000 12V
Recommended
Upgrades:
I think the stock crown point barrel is rather loud. I would get another barrel.
Electro hopper is a must!
Intelliframe is a definate PLUS!! Or any 2X trigger is fine, as long as it's not Proteam Benchmark 'cause its way too sloppy unless you get a trigger job.
A nice air system and dropforward. Nitroduck is nice, for the value and the money.
Strengths: 1. High rate of fire - The RT valve is very capable of producing terrifying volume of paint as much as money you're willing to spent.

2. I have the chrome RT frame and its very pretty.

3. Very reliable and low maintence. I don't know what the others say about constant chopping and breaking down the barrel. My RT have been with me for over 4 years and I didn't encounter ball breakage 'till last summer due to the worn out sear which causes the "Run Away Mode". This is also the easist gun to clean 'cause I just rinse the whole gun with water (Aired up of course)

4. Looks Great! You bascially bought yourself some bragging rights on the field.
Weaknesses: 1. High rate of fire - Expensive to feed, but I don't mind.

2. This gun is on the heavier side 'cause it's stainless steel. But I dont mind.

3. Expensive, but I don't mind.

4. It can be a bit of a pain to chrono if you don't do it right, but I don't mind 'cause I do it right.
Conclusion: I love my RT of how it looks and performs. I never had any problem with the exception of wear and tear on certain moving parts. AGD serviced my RT for free and they're a great company that stand behind their product. If ball breakage is an issue, check the paint first, your paint & barrel match, then your gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, November 28th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
hmm, the RT Pro (Doesnt even compare), Shocktech SFL E-Mag (the only gun I have shot that I liked better). Freak Factory Impulse.
Marker Setup: RT with 12in boomstick. 10in total freak system with AA front and SS back. Inteleframe with blade trigger. 12vlt Revvy with intelefeed. Milled and painted mainbody with a ECLIPSE blue splash sight rail. KAPP drop zone with 88/45 Pure Energy tank. Soon to have Extreme body (my freak has cocker threads so I will have a barrel for it. Foamie bolt.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Inteleframe. Xtreme body. Foamie bolt. barrel (Freak or boom)
Strengths: I recently bought this gun from a friend who has gone pro. He got his whole set up for free because he works for and is sponsored by AGD. They gave him an SFL E-Mag so he sold me this. This is one of the best guns that has been in my hands (other than his SFL E-mag) and it always shoots great. The valve is faster than I need. Has amazing accuracy (xtreme bodys have cocker threads which increase accuracy) and the speed is mind blowing. A must for anyone who is into major tournys and wants a semi (I bet my gun would make you throw your angel in the trash). Instead of the air running directly to the bolt, the line is hooked up into a breech on the side of the gun. This means it is the only mag where the bolt can be taked out and cleaned without removing your air line.
Weaknesses: The Inteleframe takes a while to get used to, and chopping is normal for people new to mags. After you jump these hurdles you will never want to see another gun.
Conclusion: Like I said before, i have only shot 1 gun that I liked more. This gun beats the crap out of ANY RT PRO!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

a3skiba Monday, November 26th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
none.. last gun was a Kingman Spyder One which does not even compare..
Marker Setup: AGD Automag RT
-68 3000psi Pure Energy Nitro Tank
-14" DYE Boomstick
-KAPP Drop Zone Cradle
-9V Revy
-KA trigger job
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Nitro(required)
REVY (at least 12V, X BOARD is nice too though)
Cradle
Strengths: This is one of the fastest guns on the market, with a trigger job, my gun easily outshoots a standard electro-qwer-marker. Quite accurate, not amazing but still very accurate. AGD also has the best customer service in paintball so there are no worrys as to whether or not you are safe purchasing from them.
Weaknesses: definite air-hog. Automag barrels are usually a few dollars more than barrels for other companys guns. Not too many complaints.
Conclusion: A great tournament gun if your into the real power and not that electronic stuff. Although AGD has recently come out with an EMAG. One of the best guns on the market, tournament quality right out of the box.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Dark Rendition Saturday, November 24th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Strengths: The RT is a VERY accurate and reliable gun. Don't listen to any one who tells you that this guns breaks alot of paint, that is total bull sh*t and they don't know what they are talking about, if you own one or have used one and it broke alot of paint there is ussually a few things wrong that can easily be fixed.

1. The gun has highrise feed, this causes very bad feeding of the gun and can often brake paint (this is usually on the older RTs), if you have this type of gun feed then you can send your gun to AGD to have the body replaced for free. AGD has VERY good customer support.
2. The gun is using a bolt (usually ANS venturi) that requires and "foamie" and the "foamie" has fallen off of the bolt causing balls to sit too far back in the chamber. When the balls do this it can often let the first ball in the powerfeed feed half way into the chamber causing the bolt of the gun to break the ball. To fix this problem you must accuire a stock RT bolt which can be purchased from AGD for 20 or so dollars.
3. You are using a paint with a very brittle or thin shell. Marbs will break very easily in the RT becuase they are very brittle. The RTs bolt opperates a very high pressure. Paints that I would suggest are Proball (reg or platinum) and RPS All Star, the all star are very, very good. They are accurate, round, break on target, and consistent.

If you are looking at buying or trading for an RT you will most likley have to buy it used becuase AGD no longer produces these guns, they only make the RT PROs. Make sure you don't buy a highrise RT, if you do sent it to AGD to be fixed, they should do it for free.

If you have any more questions or would like to correct me on something I have written please e-mail me at :

darkrendition@hotmail.com

I will answer them as best I can or direct you to someone who can.
Weaknesses: -It is a little on the heavy side.
-Very high pressure, so it will break some of the more brittle paint.
-Must run on nitrogen or compressed air
-Tends to use more gas then other guns, this problem isn't a big deal, just don't buy a 47ci tank and expect 500 shots. This guns works best with a 88 or 114ci tank or a 68ci 4500psi tank.
Conclusion: Great gun for Newbie or Pro.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Friday, November 23rd, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
shocktech cocker with delrin bolt, spyders, stock angels, jt excellerator
Marker Setup: I have the oldskool teflon black rt pro with the bench 2x trigger and a benchmard df, 12 v rev, all american 16 in sm.parts barrel/ dye SS 10 in. I have the Air America 68 ci 4500 psi adj tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Do not know how the stock barrel performed, but dys SS works legit as well as any AA smart parts barrel. Try a short 10 in barrel on the Rt, because it shoots ballistic out the bunker. Definitely get an adjustable tank such but I heard nonadj work fine too. I have my tank set at 800psi output so it gives a harder kick on the trigger. I suppose Pre adj tanks such as Air america Melley should work with out a problem
Strengths: Little maintenace as well as little parts to tinker with, means less parts that would probably break.

Life time warranty (star system) Through allready kick ass agd company

Any dummy could operate this gun except for some one who cant handle heavy objects in their hands for long periods of play
If durty stick it in the water and fire it a few times, zero cleaning problems.
Shoots like darts and very stable in your hands. Good sounding gun not too loud but souds rather intimidating during play
Weaknesses: Heavy for some, but because its all steel
Have to develop into the gun to be good with.
Chops marbs (I got one case and it was chopping like crazy)

Conclusion: Fun gun to play with, little maintenance, kick ass warranty, looks like a sick ass gun and definitely performs like one. Everyone should at least shoot this gun once to know what the reaL gun shoots and sounds like. Only reason nota 10 because It is not perfect. Look for it on Ebay
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Friday, November 16th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Autococker, Spyder, Automag Classic P/F, Intimidator, Proteam Micromag.
Marker Setup: Intimidator, Gladiator Reg, dropforward, Nitroduck HPA.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Nice adjustable HPA system. BBL upgrade. I tried all of them, from S/S dye bbls to Taso Eliminators. The best weight, accuracy, combo was the PMI Ceramic Series (really!!!).

Dye Boomsticks were not out when I purchased this marker... So I can't compare it.
Strengths: Good, Solid gun. Made of Stainless Steel. Only gun that makes putting a total of over a $1000 into worth it. You can rebuild it w/simple hand tools and the RT Mag Rebuild kit ($25) in about 5 minutes. You can rebuild it from the back of your trunk with just allen wrenches and some superlube or other airgun oil.

Never let's you down. Solid performer. Fast reactive trigger if you get the hang of it. Never let your Revolution's batteries go low... you will chop balls. It relies on a steady stream of paintballs.

Accuracy can par with most high end markers out there. It's not an autococker... but better than spyders and other mid to high end guns.

I have an electronic marker and I love it. However, I am always weary about the day I drive 100+ miles to go and play and something breaks.. like say a solder joint breaks. How am I going to fix it from the trunk of my car?

With an RT, rest assured, it will always function.
Weaknesses: Reactive trigger is faster than most guns out there, but it won't par with the fastest of reliable electros such as an intimidator, angel, bushmaster eclipse, or Defiant.

It will outgun most cockers, spyders, automags or basically any gun under $500.00. The rate of fire is probably most comparable to an automag with a centerflag grip (when you get the hang of it).

3 years ago, this gun was the SH*T. Today, don't feel you are invincible and go head on with a high end electro. Use your tactics... you can still win.
Conclusion: Great solid gun. Will work 10 years from now. I have put 40 cases of paint through mine in the last 3 years and it is still flawless. The sear, believe it or not, is still "sharp".

If you are a wimp and can't hold a beefy gun, do not buy it. The RT can get a little on the weighty side when "decked out".

If you are a dork and always like to short stroke triggers. This will only become a blender for paintballs. It is easier to get the hang of than a regular Automag... but can still become a blender if you are a DORK and short stroke the trigger.

3 years ago, when I first bought it I would give it a 9.5.

Today, I still give it a high 8 to 9 just because it is the only gun that is really worth it's weight in steel. Very nice craftsmanship and SOLID.

Selling it was the hardest thing to do, but I could not justify such a nice weapon for a "backup" in the gear bag. I now have a Proteam Micromag as my backup for my Intimidator.

With an RT, you don't need a backup. Nothing you can't fix between games.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, September 19th, 2001
Strengths: This is a great gun. It is made from steel like no other gun on the market. It shoots extremely fast without any shootdown. It is accurate and consistent enough for snap shooting in the front bunker or from the back laying down cover for those in the front. Not much maintenance is necessary besides for some well deserved oil. I love the quick barrel removal system AGD uses to remove the barrel just incase of a break. It is one of the tightest guns out there, being half the size of Angels, Cockers, and Shockers, especially if you can get your hands on a Z-Grip. The reactive trigger does enable you to shoot much more paint each second.
Weaknesses: You definitley need to practice with the trigger before using it in games. You must not short stroke the trigger or you will break paint. This means if you do not have patience to learn the RT trigger do not get this gun. At first you will not be able to shoot a lot of bps until you understand that the trigger must be pulled all the way when firing and go all the way forward before shooting again. Once you have mastered this you will be able to shoot very fast. If you are a weeny do not get this gun because of the weight due to it being made of steel.
Conclusion: This gun needs no upgrading besides a Warp Feed, a revolution, and possibly a Lapco stainless 12" barrel. The gun does perform perfect with no upgrades needed or available. Never tweak with any size adjusting of internals with a dremel. Just leave it alone and you will be fine. It is not a cocker so it needs no upgrading. The RT was designed and functions perfectly. All you have to do is feed it oil, air, and paint and it will chew up the competition.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (7):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media