paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Kingman Spyder Esprit / Kingman Spyder Esprit / Kingman Spyder Esprit / Kingman Spyder Esprit

Kingman Spyder Esprit Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Kingman

Buy Kingman Spyder Esprit

Paintball Low-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Kingman Spyder Esprit
[ View Photos (5) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 149
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $190

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
No Description Available
Product Availability 
The Kingman Spyder Esprit is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (15):  First  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  13  |  14  |  15
        Next Page
landon2003 Friday, May 23rd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
maruader avenger raptor tippman 98 spyder E99
Marker Setup: nitro, new barrel, i got a reg. on it now bottomline adapt. and a electro hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
what i have for my setup
Strengths: its fast accurate dont chop paint i havent chopped a ball yet
Weaknesses: nothing really
Review: this is a great gun, very durable, its so fast, and you can contend with all the guys out there, this gun is good for newbies, and advanced players, its has a great price and doesnt chop paint. the stock barrel aint half bad either. The gun has great electro adju. its has the 3 shot bursts, but that doesnt matter that much cuz you cant use it on most fields. I really recomend this gun to anyone.
Conclusion: its great. get it for like $130 and you have yourself a great deal this is a real nice gun and worth about any price put on it
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tim88 Friday, May 23rd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippman 98 , spyd. E99, brass eagle silver raptor , maruader, avenger.
Marker Setup: nitro, new barrel, i got a reg. on it now bottomline adapt. electric hopper (definent)
Recommended
Upgrades:
what i got on mine
Strengths: fast trigger like 13 bps , can upgrade
many shots/charge, great $
Very fast charge
Weaknesses: nothing really maybe get a bottomline adapt.
Review: its got a great frame, nice durable, really light, its fast. great to bunker someone with. ITs definently a good deal. Its is really quick and its can play with the guys using their angels, its definently a top conteneder. this gun has a really fast trigger pull. it is a solid all around gun, and it doesnt lack in anything.
Conclusion: this gun is one of the best spyders made, that and the E99, spyder has really made some great guns, i think that this is one of their best guns.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, May 23rd, 2003 at 8:45 pm PST
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

PB__T_Havoc Wednesday, May 21st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Brass Eagle Marauder
Marker Setup: Spyder Esprit with java bottomline setup java hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
Get a revvy and a much better barrel the stock barrel shoots every which way and has no accuracy
Strengths: Very fast trigger response almost no trigger pull
Weaknesses: Does not come with rapid car charger and no bottomline setup making you add more
Review: The gun is over all a good beginner to intermediate player gun. It is user friendly and has the very nice push button system so you can easily change modes. It also comes with a tournament lock so when that is engaged changing modes is not possible I would reccomend this gun for anyone who is looking to buy their first E-Gun.
Conclusion: I reccomend this gun to anyone who would want their first e-gun because it is simple and easy to use.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintfreek777 Wednesday, May 21st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Brass eagle eradicator
Marker Setup: Spyder esprit with an expansion chamber and bottom-line CO2. Im getting a new 16 inch barrel, too
Recommended
Upgrades:
Definantly get the expansion chamber, bottom line and big barrel
Strengths: Shoots nice; has great rate of fire; electronic; Nice feel
Weaknesses: none, really, i have never broken a ball or anything
Review: Well, i haven't had this gun long, but it has been GREAT. Like i've said before, i have never broken a ball and that is without an electronic hopper. Gas never leaks. It is a very awesome marker. Get it, it rocks. It is WAY better than spending 400 - 1000$ for an auto-cocker. GET IT NOW!!!!!
Conclusion: Get it instead of buying an auto-cocker for 500$ This marker is soooo awesome!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Mac007 Wednesday, May 21st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month39 of 42 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Bruizer Fugitive
Recommended
Upgrades:
A bottomline, either an expansion chamber or a vertical gas thru grip, a 13 ball per second capable electronic hopper.
Strengths: Good features and value for money.
Weaknesses: Marker comes without screws and nuts for attaching a bottom line
Review: Both my 16 year old son and I are pretty impressed with this Kingman marker. I purchased it for my son as a gift. He already had a Spyder compatible Bruizer Fugitive (which was similar to the Spyder) and since electronic grip frames are as expensive as buying a new marker we decided to get a new paintball gun.

So far we have not been disappointed with our choice. You get a rechargable battery, battery charger, some spare o-rings and seals, allen keys, and a vertical clear plastic hopper adapter with the marker. It comes with a nice little manual.

We plugged in the battery, connected the charger and allowed the marker to fully charge overnight, 14+ hours.

Out of the box the marker is nice to look at. We simply moved our Nyte Stikk barrel, bottom line and gas through grip from the Spyder compatible Bruizer to the Esprit. The marker shot 245 fps with these additions so we changed to a stronger main spring from our chameleon spring kit. See what advantages there are to using a similar marker design and compatible parts!

We have a first generation VL Evolution hopper (Eggolution) so we added that and turned it up halfway. In testing my son did break one ball in the barrel in the default semi-automatic mode, high fire rate, at the hopper's half speed. Is that a mouthful! Not a too surprising result.

So, we decided to turn the hopper feed speed up all the way just to make sure that a ball would always be there. With the hopper turned up all the way the marker does not outstrip the ability of the hopper to feed to it. We found that the 13 bps hopper was able to keep up in all firing modes at the high fire rate, at the hoppers full speed, without breaking paint.

The Esprit is the first marker I've tried that feels as exciting as the old Tippmann SMG-60 in full auto mode (set to the Esprit's highest rate of fire) and it has a larger paint capacity hopper!

My impression is that the Esprit can rip out paint like crazy. I noticed it didnt' take long to empty the hopper. At 13 bps in one minute you have the capability to let loose 780 paintballs. Of course this far outstrips the actual capacity of any hopper. You could theoretically empty a 200 round hopper in 15.38 seconds. The Eggolution carries something less than 200 paintballs so you can see from this that the three shot burst and full auto modes need to be used with some thought and care. Of course if you carry lots and lots of paint your wallet is the only limiting factor - paint buying Dads and Moms everywhere beware! :-)

We had the opportunity to watch some other players at the chrono rip though paint with competing brands of electronic markers. Not every cycle of their markers produced a paintball going downrange. My son and I felt that the Esprit was much better in this respect when combined with the Eggolution hopper. Every trigger pull consistently produced a ball in all modes of firing.

We liked the simplicity of changing between the three firing modes and the push and hold for rate of fire settings. It is very simple to use and the directions were understandable. The three coloured lights used to indicate battery level, mode and fire rate were simple to understand.

Velocity adjustment is the same as usual in Spyders, compressing the mainspring.

It is my hope that my son will develop a sense of courtesy and be thoughtfull when using these fire modes in rec-ball situations, particularly when young players are present. He is planning to play some speedball with players his own age (16+) which tends to be somewhat more agressive at close quarters in terms of the volume of paint used. In this respect I am confident the Esprit will keep up.

The Esprit uses a ball and spring for its ball detent rather than a nubbin - this is new for Spyders. I'm hoping spares become available...

Field stripping for cleaning was typical for a Spyder, although to re-insert the assembly you have to remove the grip panel (3 screws) so that you can push the electronic coil-set forward and allow the action to move forward into the marker. Perhaps in future Kingman will drill a small hole in the grip so you could insert an allen key and push the coil-set forward without removing the grip.

One maintenance tip to be aware of: you also have to blow air through part of the coil-action to keep it clean after every use - something players will need for their tool kit.

My son, ever the planner (or is that a schemer?), began to comment on possible additions, grips and regulators, etc. for Dad to buy. In many respects the Esprit is complete and doesn't really need much in the way of accessories. Since we already had the Nyte Stikk barrel, gas through grip and bottomline these complemented the marker nicely but were not necessary for play.

I pointed out to my son that the grip is wider than those normally found on paintball markers and that it uses three screws. Also, if he tried to put on another grip he wouldn't be able to see the mode or fire rate indictor lights. That ended that discussion, and in case you were wondering the grip is comfortable - no real need to upgrade it.

We use CO2, its the most convenient, readily available at the fields we play on. The gas through grip is adequate for the level of play he is now involved in so no real need to make any changes there by using a regulator to limit the upward velocity. If the velocity is kept at a decent level (275 fps) I figure any climb in velocity due to the firing rates should keep the Esprit under the field speed limit. We'll have to test this theory to be sure.

My son does like the barrel that comes with the Esprit. Its a shortie but a goodie. It has a basic muzzle break at the end. I can see him using it more than the Nyte Stikk.

My only real complaint about the Esprit came when I needed to attach a bottom line. I soon found myself wishing the Esprit came with the nuts and bolts to attach the bottom line. The grip is not threaded so you can't simply screw on a bottom line. It has holes in the grip for nuts but you are limited to a particular "tiny" size. I would have used 6/32 nuts and bolts but a standard 6/32 nut will not fit in the grip. I spent some time looking for compatible square nuts to fit inside the grip, no easy task.

Also, the grip is set up for a Spyder style bottom line, with the opposed hole fittings, so you do need a Spyder compatible bottom line duckbill ASA.

There is a typo in the manual where in the re-assembly procedure it identifies the coil set by a particular part number. The actual part number for the coil set in the parts list and on the parts diagram is different. I had to consult the parts list under "coil-set" to identify the correct number to look for on the parts diagram so I could understand the re-assembly procedure properly.

June 1, 2003 - We charged the marker 14 hours and took it to the field two days later. The battery indicator light came on during the day, we played about 4 hours. We'd only put about 200 paint through the marker so we were a little surprised. The marker did not quit shooting at the field by the way even though the red battery low light came on. We discovered that the esprit will drain the 9.6V battery if it is left connected and the marker is left to sit for an extended period of time. We did a little test, charging the battery for an hour to its full voltage (just about 10 volts) and let the esprit sit with the switch off; 9.5 hours later the voltage had dropped to just over 9 volts. At 9 volts the red (battery low) indicator light will come on if the esprit is turned on. So, we're going to do a few more little tests and post the results here. At the moment it appears that we should charge the battery right before going to the field and disconnect it when not using the esprit for extended periods of time - but thats just our preliminary conclusion. It might also be worth having another 9.6 V battery for a spare.

June 4, 2003 We haven't actually played enough yet to see how long the battery will last, and continue to allow the Esprit to function. As far as I'm concerned this is the only real test of the battery function so I'm not concerned as yet about the battery. Out of curiosity we did test the 9.6V battery a little more at home. As with our previous test, we discovered that if the battery is left connected in the Esprit it will discharge, thats only normal. We disconected the esprit 9.6V battery and left it for 10 hours to see if it would stay charged. It lost about a 1/2 volt in that time. So we're going plan to put the esprit on the charger, for its 14 hour charge, right before we go to the field, and disconnect the battery until we need to use it. This way we should have good power for the day. I'll post more later when we have a complete day of play under our belt.
Conclusion: We're pretty happy so far. We'll certainly do more testing over the summer. The price is certainly unbeatable for the features this marker has.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, June 4th, 2003 at 7:38 am PST
I found this review  
35 Comments - Add Comment

Nügun Sunday, May 18th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
none really...
Marker Setup: Blue Esprit
2001 12" All American Barrel
Bob Long Torpedo Reg.
Macroline
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Regulator
Agitated hopper
Some type of bottomline
Strengths: Very Upgradeable. Reliable, runs on c02 very well. IPI system
Weaknesses: Stock barrel is crappy. Only comes in two colors as of now, red and blue.
Review: This is my favorite gun. It has never let me down, the one time that i chopped a ball was because i was shooting too fast for my normal, non-agitated, hopper. Cleaning was a breeze, and always is. It looks pretty nice in my opinion, and you can customize it anyway you want.The ipi frame is so much easier than the dip switches on the e-99 trigger frame. To change between the three fireing modes, semi, 3-round burst, and full auto, all you have to do is press a button.
Conclusion: Overall a very nice gun, you can do whatever you want with it. So far there have been no problems at all..i reccomend this gun to most anyone.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

surferman09 Saturday, May 17th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder imagine(basically same gun except with expansion chamber)
Marker Setup: spyder esprit w/java expansion chamber, cmi tru flight 14 inch barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
longer barrel
good expansion chamber
velocity adjuster
Strengths: accurate
full auto
3 ball burst
strong
Weaknesses: kind of heavy
Review: this is a great gun if u put a lil money into or even if u dont..i have used this gun for a year now and i think it is amazing for its price..it blows away my 98 custom.it has great strength and is wonderful with all teh options. this gun is accurate and definately worth spendin 100 dollars for
Conclusion: definately buy this gun..when i bouth it it was around 150 but now u can get one for under 100
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Esprit_4_life Thursday, May 15th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Compact 2000
Spyder Victor
Marker Setup: Spyder Esprit
Spyder 16" Sniper Barrel
20 oz. Co2 Tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel
12v Electronic Hopper (With a normal hopper, you can shoot about 10 balls til they bust)
Strengths: All stock on this gun works nice and fine
Different firing modes
It is electronic
Weaknesses: Nothing I can say
Review: It is a great gun for its price. I took it out all stock and shot a couple balls and was amazed. I was shooting brass eagle paintballs that were all soggy and they still shot perfectly accurate and fast. The different firing modes is awesome and it is electronic!! This gun is under $100 dollars and performs at tourney level!
Conclusion: I recommend this gun to anybody. It is truly worth hte price. Make sure you get a 12v hopper :)
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintballrules9 Thursday, May 8th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Rebel Extreme
Marker Setup: Spyder Esprit
J & J ceramic barrel
Java Bottom line kit
4500 psi nitrogen tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
J & J ceramic barrel
Strengths: Extremely fast and accurate. Very cheap. Doesn't chop paint.
Weaknesses: You need to get a new barrel.
Review: I have really enjoyed this gun. I would definately recommend this gun for everyone. It is very cheap and fast and accurate. It has 3 shot burst , semi-auto, full auto. An electronic trigger frame. The only thing is you should get a new barrel. Other than that you don't need to get anything else.
Conclusion: I would definately recommend this gun for everyone thats why I have given it a 10.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

RideorDie606 Friday, May 2nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year0 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
I have an old pirahna that i bought from my friend for 50 bucks and it is better than my espirit
Marker Setup: 02 WGP Autococker
CCM Bolt
Flame Drop
CCM One Piece Barrel
03 WGP Double Trigger Frame
Revy Half Clear Half Blue
48 CI 3000 psi Pure Energy Aluminum Tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
expansion chamber, new barrel( stock barrel is composite aka plastic) drop, new bolt, or you could just not buy this gun cuz it really sucks
Strengths: The only strength of this gun is the price
Weaknesses: It is a spyder
Review: This gun is a spyder and because most all spyders are exactly the same except for cosmetics and they all suck; then therefore this gun sucks as well. This gun's accuracy is horrible even with a new barrel. If you shoot evil or other paint that has a thicker shell it will not break on people. It is possibly the worst gun i have ever owned. I regret buying this gun so much. I'd rather have my old pirahna that i bought from my friend for 50 bucks. Notice that most everyone who gives this gun a good review has either only used spyder clones and tippmanns so they would not know whether this gun is good or not.
Conclusion: Do not buy this gun. It is only 80 dollars but still it is not worth the money. Save the 80 bucks (plus upgrades to make the gun not suck as horribly bad) and buy a cocker, bushy, etc. You can find older cockers on ebay for 200 bucks sometimes with compressed air systems.
Rating:
1 out of 10Last edited on Monday, March 29th, 2004 at 7:08 pm PST
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (15):  First  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  13  |  14  |  15
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media