paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Arrow Precision Sterling STP / Arrow Precision Sterling STP / Arrow Precision Sterling STP / Arrow Precision Sterling STP

Arrow Precision Sterling STP Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Arrow Precision

Buy Arrow Precision Sterling STP

Paintball Pump / Stock-Class Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Arrow Precision Sterling STP
[ View Photos (3) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 24
Average Rating: 9.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Available in six high polished anodized metallic colors. Stain- less Steel internals (mirror polished and matched). 2-piece wood grip. 13" micro honed removable aluminum barrel. Bottom line. Stainless steel braided hose. Each valve individually set for optimum performance.
Product Availability 
The Arrow Precision Sterling STP is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Barracuda26 Friday, March 28th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
SL 68 II, Phantom Pump
Marker Setup: Smarts Parts Sterling Pump w/ Red dot Sight
Recommended
Upgrades:
Get a nice Barrel and a sight. Also i would add a spring between the pump handle and gun body to avoid double pumping
Strengths: Extremely accurate.
Very Smooth pump action
Weaknesses: Adjusting velocity is semi complicated.
Not very upgradeable
Hard to find parts
Review: If you are in the market for a high end pump i would look into a sterling or a phantom. It is accurate, quiet and actually quite simple internally. It is good out of the box or with the upgrades I mentioned above. If this is your first pump gun, like it was for me then you will get hooked on the style of play.
Conclusion: Buy it if you can find one
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Protocol Saturday, February 3rd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Sniper 2
Phantom
Marker Setup: Sterling STP
ION, QEV, NDZ trigger, freak barrel
Sniper II
Phantom

Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel (and that's all)
Strengths: Accurate
Light weight
Smooth pump stroke
Reliable
Weaknesses: Maybe having to take the barrel off to adjust velocity
Review: This marker is truly a dream. I've played pump for years now and could never find the perfect marker. I tried sniper 2's which I like very much. I tried phantoms also. My new sterling fits me to a T.

-Accuracy = Equal to my sniper and better than my phantom
-Reliability = All equal. sniper, phantom & sterling are all well made markers
-Weight = Lighter than sniper and a little heavier than phantom but closer to phantom
-Pump stroke = Equal to sniper and much better than phantom
-Fit & finish = Better than both. Phantoms are known for high quality and the sterling is even better than my phantom which surprised me.
-Cons = You don't have to take the barrel off to adjust velocity but it makes it a lot easier and it is still a small pain but is easier than my phantom which always seemed to bounce around a lot before I would be able to get it tuned to 280.
-Plus - It has an auto trigger feature built in and is really slick. I am able to easily shoot 5 to 6 balls per second when needed.
This marker also comes with parts to change it from vertical stock class to vertical feed and bottom line.

This marker is everything I've been looking for in a pump marker. I can probably extend the handle on the velocity adjustment tool and then I won't have to remove to barrel to make the adjustment. The stock barrel is a little loud because it's not ported and is a heavy but I haven't had a marker yet that didn't need a new barrel. Other than that this marker is perfect and brings a smile to my face every time I use it. It's off to ebay for my other pump guns.
Conclusion: As close to a perfect marker as I've found. Could not be happier with my decision to get one of these. 10 out of 10 and would rate it higher if I could.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Chaffers Sunday, July 23rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Fieldmaster, Bushmaster, Razorback, Black Widow, Bud Orr Sniper, Phantom, Apex Elite
Marker Setup: STP Silver with MDS bolt, Pred upgrades, MPM stock, J+J 14" and wrap around wooden grips.
Recommended
Upgrades:
I'd recommend a stock to get the best out of a Sterling, other than that just make sure you run on liquid and that the marker stays on liquid during the game (a few mods to the external hosing can help with this). Still a beauty straight out of the box though.
Strengths: Short, smooth pump stroke.
Ergonomics
Consistency
Reliability.
Rate of fire.
Accuracy.
Balance.
Weaknesses: Cost.
Temptation to bait phantom / sniper owners as second class citizens.
Review: My Sterling is more than 16 years old, older than many players around today, though it hardly has a mark on it. I used to happily carry it into tournaments of a decent level against tricked out Autocockers and Automags, the only time I felt as though I was at a disadvantage was in the rough where one handed operation and rate of fire are important. Whilst few would dial their markers above 290 I'd be happy if I was hitting 297 on the chrono.

Against other pumps nothing even came close to the Sterling. I owned a phantom for a couple of years and though nice I missed more games than I can remember with broken power stems. A bit like driving something nice but then upgrading to a Rolls Royce. It was after all just another nelspot.

Sniper's were the closest in terms of consistency but you could slam them off the field. Had a lot of respect for sniper players who could keep up without slamfire kits though, there were some good skillful players out there. Maintenance wasn't anywhere near as easy on the snipers. Good quality kit, just not quite as well designed as the Sterling.
Conclusion: If you can afford it, you should buy one.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Fenix_Wylde Thursday, June 8th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tracer, Phantom
Marker Setup: GT 2000
14" Twister, 16" Tiller, 16" Nightstick
VL 200 Mag
-----------------
Sterling STP
12" DAC
Recommended
Upgrades:
Grip
Small hopper
Barrel
Strengths: Accuracy
Reliability
Trigger
Weaknesses: Smaller balls rolls out the barrel
No anti-doublefeed
Hard velocity change
Review: The Sterling STP (mine is nicknamed the Green Hazard) is a very accurate pump marker with a smooth stroke. Mine is very old and is still very accurate when shooting across an outdoor speedball field.
A barrel upgrade isn't that important, as it will shoot just about any paintball straight, as long as it has the correct diameter for the barrel. If not, it will be terribly inaccurate.

The stock trigger is very comfortable, but the stock grip can be a bit uncomfortable after an extended period of use, so a better grip is a good upgrade.
I've slamfired a few times (holding the trigger down and pump like mad) and it does perform rather well.

The thumb screws tend to unscrew themselves so be sure to check them before playing.

When comparing it to the Phantom it has the disadvantage of not having an abundance of upgrades etc. but the trigger on the Phantom can't be compared to the Sterling. The Phantom is also much cheaper than a new Sterling.

Photo: http://piggelin.mine.nu/bildarkiv/paintball/greenhazard00.jp
g
Conclusion: It is the Rolls-Royce of pump markers for a reason. A new Sterling STP will cost you 300 € so a Phantom is a better choice if you don't want to spend alot of money on a pump. The Sterling however is the best pump around.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, June 8th, 2006 at 9:57 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

oldskool Wednesday, March 8th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Sterling Bronze
PMI Tracer
Marker Setup: Sterling STP (silver)
J&J Edge Barrel System
Viewloader Revolution
Air America Apocalypse 45/4500
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrels are hard to come by, so the only kit I found out there was the J&J Edge Kit.
Adjustable Air System
Strengths: Light, durability, consistency, accuracy
Weaknesses: Hard to find aftermarket parts
Review: Been playing for about 12 years, and always wanted a Sterling, but never could justify getting one. I didn't play pump a whole lot until now. There's nothing like shooting out a player with a Sterling, or even a pump, when playing against a semi or electro gun.

Extremely accurate and consistent for it's size. Build quality is top notch. Pumps are great because it requires a player to be a smarter player, when going up against semis and electro guns. If you can find a Sterling STP either used or new, you should just buy one. They are so hard to come by, and I was very lucky to get a hold of a brand new one that was probably made 8 years ago, but was never used. You'll never be disappointed with a Sterling.
Conclusion: When you get your first kill against someone shooting at you with a DM5, Timmy, Angel or Shocker, you'll understand.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Rob Ryan Wednesday, February 22nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
PGP-
Marker Setup: Sterling STP 20oz Co2 Gravity hopper
PMI Black Maxx 9oz Co2 Grav hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
none
Strengths: Light, Accurate, Fun to shoot, Made in UK instead of china better quality than chinastuff
Weaknesses: The hose can chafe your wrist little bit but no big deal
Review: I orderd this from xpaintball and when i got it i was suprised at how small this marker is from the pictures ive seen it looks the size of a pump autococker but its extremly small weighs maybe 2 lbs its light some features are-

13 inch barrel
.45 grips
trigger shoe
very light trigger pull
short pump stroke
Conclusion: Overall very good marker sturdy and durable
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

cabrown Sunday, January 8th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman C3 propane
Marker Setup: Imangine, J&J Ceramic, Remote, 9V Hopper, Flex 8 Goggles
Strengths: VERY ACURATE, fun to shoot
Weaknesses: Not any that i could see
Review: Well I was exited when i first went out to play paintball, because i was going to get to try out my new Spyder. I came out and chopped so many balls that i was considering renting. My friend then suggested that i use his sterling that he had brought as a backup. I knew it was a pump, but i didn't want to rent so i agreed. He set it up for me and i began to play. On the third shot i took i took someone out from fifty yards up a hill with only his leg sticking out from behind a bunker. I was then hooked. I had a blast. I was sneaking around and making shots that i had never made before. I always used to make fun of him for using that pump while we were using semi's, but i then realized why. It will totally change your play style. You will try to MAKE shots, instead of just taking them. I would recommend this marker to anyone. A great buy for anyone that wants to have some fun, while making fun of his friends at the same time for getting beat by a pump.
Conclusion: Buy this gun, it is alot of fun.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ptle Saturday, November 19th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
CCI Phantom
PMI Traccer
Sheridan PGP
Marker Setup: Black Arrow-Precision Sterling
- last 100 produced
- spyder threaded
- Winchester 48 round hopper
- 3.5oz tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
A small hopper
A small tank (3.5oz or 9oz)
Strengths: SMOOTHEST PUMP STROKE OF ANY PUMP
balanced weight
no upgraded needed
regulated
cheap price
Weaknesses: None
Review: The Sterling has the smoothest pump stroke of any pump there is. Period. To cock the gun takes little effort at all. I've seen trigger pulls that are harder then the pump action of this gun. I can just hold the gun up by the pump, and the gun will already pump 3/4 of the way. If I had to guess the pump stroke is only about 8 pounds.

The accuracy on this thing is awesome. I have one of the last 100 made so they are spyder threaded, but the stock barrel is dead on accurate. .689 bore makes it compatible with most of the paint out there. This thing is sick in accuracy.

It comes stock with hogue grips (very comfortable), a trigger shoe, bottomline, and its regulated! At first the velocity will go everwhere, but once the reg gets broken in, you can use CO2 in the winter and still get +-4 FPS over the chrono. It's unbelieveable.

The body is milled from a solid block of aluminum so you don't have to worry about low quality parts. The only thing plastic on this gun is the pump arm, and thats not gonna ever break.

This thing is also quite since it's regulated at a lowe pressure, its very accurate too.
Conclusion: Overall, this is a sick paintball gun. The price is so cheap, only at 220. This thing is much better than the phantom. I'd even say the pump stroke is 3x smoother than the phantom. Thats the best quality of the Sterling, the pump stroke...

If your look for a pump, look no further. Go out there and get this pump now.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

predator23 Friday, June 10th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months11 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Phantom, Pirahna long barrel, Trracer, virtually every pump ever made
Marker Setup: Phantom
Strengths: Accurate, dependable.
Weaknesses: Uh . Is there one?
Review: I remember when semi's were a complete luxury and the few who had PMI3's or Icons or Tippman Pro-lites or the first mag's were considered babies because they couldn't hit other players with a pump and had to "go semi".

During this time, the sterling and the phantom reigned supreme. Sterling guys and phantom guys would eye each other warily in the staging area, neither wanting to grudgingly admit that the other's gun was great.

I was a phantom guy, but I had a sterling because I just had to see what the other half lived like. Damn, the sterling is good. Accurate, quiet, efficient, what else can you want? You're not gonna shoot 15 bps with it or any pump.

I still like the feel and design of the CCI phantom, which is for my money the greatest marker ever made, but the sterling is the like the "ice man" to the phantom's "maverick".

Both are great and either could be my wingman any day of the week.
Conclusion: Great pump, second best of all time.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jimmyjam010 Sunday, August 29th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann 98 custom, spyder e99, tippmann A5, Mars Lt, Zeus G2, Mercury G2, walmart guns(they suck, go figure)
Marker Setup: i use a Zeus G2 running off 12 grams and clips in a holster on my side always, and then i use a sterling pump or my other zeus with hopper adapter and bottom line on it.
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrels(not neccesary cause it shoots damn accurate with the stock barrel)
Strengths: Accurate
Tend not to shoot lots of balls
reliable
good on gas
Weaknesses: Slow, but go figure its a pump.
Hard velocity changing
Review: It can take a licken and keep on ticken. The pump is actually my freinds and he never cleans it, and he has never changed anything out of it(no new parts) and it always works. it is unbelievable. we have played in the rain, shot sunflower seeds out of it, shot lip-sol out of it. basically we beat the hell out of it, but it wont seem to break, im thinking of buying my own cause i love his gun so much. it really is unbelievable how it works so great when he treats it so badly.

Can shoot more than one ball at a time by pumping more than once then shooting(although ball speed does go down using this, but shooting at 280 or 300 it shoots two balls really good)

I really don't have a lot of experience under my belt, but i have to agree with all these other reviewers...this really is the best pump you can buy.

Hold down the trigger and pump it as fast as you can and you can get it going pretty good. It helps if you practice pumping things, and you have a strong forearm
Conclusion: If your gonna buy a pump, buy a sterling, you cant go wrong. It is a perfect ten. Reliability, accuracy, durability, efficiency, and just the fact that it is a pump make this a worth while edition to anyones arsenal.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media