paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Arrow Precision Sterling STP / Arrow Precision Sterling STP / Arrow Precision Sterling STP / Arrow Precision Sterling STP

Arrow Precision Sterling STP Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Arrow Precision

Buy Arrow Precision Sterling STP

Paintball Pump / Stock-Class Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Arrow Precision Sterling STP
[ View Photos (3) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 24
Average Rating: 9.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Available in six high polished anodized metallic colors. Stain- less Steel internals (mirror polished and matched). 2-piece wood grip. 13" micro honed removable aluminum barrel. Bottom line. Stainless steel braided hose. Each valve individually set for optimum performance.
Product Availability 
The Arrow Precision Sterling STP is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
ariade Tuesday, May 25th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
VSC Phantom, Sniper 2, Sniper 03
Marker Setup: Phantom (stock and direct feed) with either a 4oz tank or a 9oz. Nothing else (it doesn't need it).
Tippmann Pro/Carbine (stock, needs nothing)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Doesn't need anything really...
Strengths: Ultra smooth pump stroke, accurate, and well built.
Weaknesses: Paint on the stock barrel wears off after time. Pricey.
Review: This is a wonderful pump gun, and take it from me, I've tried almost all of them... It has just about the smoothest and most wonderful pump stroke I've ever tried, plus stock it's amazingly accurate. I'm not a fan of the bottom line threads, but I replaced them on my friends, and now everything's fine. The only gripe I have is that the paint on the stock barrel gets worn away over time as you pump the gun, but nothing some Krylon or Tremclad won't fix. They're pricey, however, so if you want one but can't afford one new try ebay.
Conclusion: A great gun, rare, but great. A status symbol among pump players, that's for sure.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

scooterRshack Saturday, May 3rd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
phantom, carter
Marker Setup: gold phantom vsc- 11in barrel, 10rd mag, matching Tstock.
acid green vsc- 8 in barrel, 15 rd mag, matching Tstock.
urban camo vsc- 14in barrel, 15rd mag, black Tstock.
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel, unless you get it with a smart parts barrel. autococker ball detent. main spring from a spyder or similar installed on the cocking rod.
Strengths: nicely built. light. not verticaly fed (maybe not a strength to some)
Weaknesses: shims for vel adjustment, may need a cutdown spring for indoors
Review: i had this a few years back and was one of the few guns ive had that ill possibly purchase again. it wasnt a badassed speedball gun or anything but was one of those dependable guns that i could pull out at anytime and it was ready to rock.

i didnt have it for long( i bought it as a test gun when i was running a field) it was only sold because i got tired of someone begging me for it and finally caved in. ive got a few phantom stock guns right now but when i do buy a non stock class pump, itll more than likely be another sterling.

the only problem i had with it was the bottom line adaptor that came with it was junk. it would cut the o-ring every time the tank was unscrewed. a new BL adapter cured this.
Conclusion: if you want a pump for rec play and want something that isnt a POS, the sterling is a fine choice. its been around for quite a while and the price still reflects the quality of this gun. there isnt a whole lot (if any) upgrades, but then again, besides the stock barrel, theres nothing that really needs upgrading.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, May 3rd, 2003 at 4:28 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

acemav1 Tuesday, March 18th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Marker Setup: Red STP with diffuser bolt, 12V hopper
soon to have, red DYE IZON sight and a J&J Edge barrel system
Recommended
Upgrades:
a sight helps with the consistency
New barrel
Strengths: accuracy
feel
price, for what you get
build quality
Weaknesses: no anti-double feed
Review: This is the most accurate pump I have ever seen straight out of the box. A Phantom is up there as well but the Sterling beats it by feel and build quality. This is a drastic change from my previous gun, a PMI Piranha. I now have more range and pin point accuracy, coupled to a pump action that can be pumped nearly as fast as one can pull a trigger, without velocity drop off. I have only seen two guns more accurate, both of which have many upgrades, but still don't compare in the build quality
Conclusion: This is the best marker I have ever fired. You can feel its power when it kicks in your hand. I can't wait to get my hands on this sleeper, to make it king of all pumps.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Kylixz Thursday, March 6th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Phantom with a little tricks from Punisher's Customs.
Marker Setup: Well, as I have only had the gun for a while... not much.
Green Sterling STP from BunkerBoyzPaintball. Very nice.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Not much needed so far. You really should get a compressed air tank. Possibly a regulator
Strengths: Extremely smooth pump stroke. I can't stress this enough. I've held many different pumps... and this seems to be the smoothest of them all. Accuracy and efficiency compares to the Phantom.
Weaknesses: Slightly harder than a phantom to field strip. The bolt comes out easily for cleaning, but re-attaching the gripframe can be a little tricky.
Conclusion: Wow. I am amazed by this gun. I used to love my Phantom for stock class play, but this thing blows it out of the water because it is so smooth. I'm going to be getting some nice internal upgrades for it I hope... courtesy of Punisher.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

aidanb Monday, May 20th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Phantom, Thunderpig - Less accurate, not such a smooth, easy action.
Marker Setup: Sterling STP - No mods (11" brasslined barrel, syphon bottle).
Recommended
Upgrades:
Maybe a new barrel.
Strengths: I bought my Sterling about 8 years ago and use it 2 or 3 times a year for recreational ball.
-Constant velocity (haven't adjusted since I bought it).
-Reliable (no parts required since I bought it).
-Accurate
-Beautiful smooth action allows a volume of fire that will challenge a semi.
Can take the bolt out in the field and put a pull-through squeegee right through receiver and barrel.
Weaknesses: Difficult to adjust velocity.
Conclusion: I prefer playing with a pump than a semi because there's just a better feel to it. Pump play seems a more skillful and tactical game - you can't just sit and pepper them. Also the satisfaction of taking on semis with 'just a pump' and shooting them out is wonderful. So if you're going to play with a pump then it absolutely, positively has to be a Sterling. Accept no substitute.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, May 4th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Aci Traccer with a 12", ventury bolt and M16 style grip frame, but i really gets old compared witha sterling
Marker Setup: Sterling Stp Turbo with adjustable ventury bolt and 14" barrel / AGD Minimag with 12" teardrop, Ventury bolt, Hurricane valve, Fullflow.........
Recommended
Upgrades:
Get an adjudtable Ventury bolt and a very long barrel and prepare to be the king of speedball/ supairball
Strengths: The good... everythig.... easy to clean, easy to dismantle, very good acuracy, very resistant, indeed it's unbreakable. very good pump action, so smooth to arm. i use mine with a vl 2000 and it never broke a ball in it, very good slam.
Weaknesses: Nobody could dare saying a bad thing of it, it's the best pump action gun in the world. forget everything, even the phantom can't make it.
Conclusion: Oh my oh my, this is the British Rolls Royce of guns. nothing else is that good. Runs perfect even with co2 ( that's what i use )
If you like pump action playing go and get one, don't bother looking other markers.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

LordChaos Thursday, January 3rd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Marker Setup: Stock Sterling STP w/ Nitro
Recommended
Upgrades:
Ported Barrel
Strengths: Extreamly accurate.
Consistant.
Autotrigger.
Smooth pumping action.
All but unbreakable.
Weaknesses: Stock barrel is loud.
Difficult to adjust velocity.
Conclusion: Hands down the best pump out there. I'm consistantly taking on (and taking out) mid level semi's with it. Consistant performance even after serrious abuse (tripping, falling, and smacking it into a rock had no effect other then scuffing the finish). I'd give this one higher then a 10 if I could.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, December 25th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
2 years2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
everything...SL 2`s-phantoms-and alot of other ones in between.
Marker Setup: stp...milled body...moded valve(ported..400-450 psi......280-290fps)..boblong reg mounted on a taso remote system(20 oz)+-6fps on co2,polished internals,lightened bolt,cocker anti double feed,5 barrels ported brass ,6 inch brass,jacko infinity,barrel of a f2 illistrator(big bore)spring kits ect....
Recommended
Upgrades:
nitro..regulated co2..remote..aftermarket barrel only if u shoot big bore paint..
Strengths: short, light pump,.. next to no breaks probably 20 in 2 years (this is no word of a lie ..my team still dont beleive it ..I now work on there guns LOL)
Weaknesses: price..expecialy in australia ,lack of support from manafactures
Conclusion: this is the finest pump in the world and i have proved it many many times people drule over my gun all the time and are floored by the performance of it
i have done many mods including intellie feed that anyone can do..just take care of it oil it and clean it every now and then and it will be your friend too..... BUY IT IF YOU WANT THE BEST PUMP IN THEV WORLD.......
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 29th, 2005 at 6:18 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, November 26th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
2 years2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
I have a Sniper 3 (very old) and it's significantly heavier and much stiffer to pump.
Marker Setup: Most everything is stock. I primarily use the Smart-Parts All-American barrel because it's significantly quieter than the stock (unported barrel). Other than that, a drop-forward (Shocktech) and a 47/4500 preset tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Nothing really. Darned near perfect out of the box.
I did add a spring between the pump handle and the body to reduce the handle kicking back (and chopping paint).
Strengths: Quiet (with AA Barrel)
Consistent (+/- 5 psi on nitro)
Dead-On Accurate
Lightweight
Buttery-smooth Pump Action
Light Trigger
AutoTrigger
Weaknesses: Pump Arm Doesn't Lock, tends to jump back on shot (fixed with above-mentioned spring)
Very few aftermarket barrels (although DYE is making a BoomStick for me)
Replacement parts are difficult to find (ordered mine from Great Britain)
Conclusion: Certainly my favorite pump for indoor play (I prefer the black Sniper3 for outdoor). Might be expensive for some, but I feel it's worth every cent. Looks good, shoots good, what more can a guy ask for?!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, November 14th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
CCI Phantom - The Sterling is slightly better mostly because the phantom is (or was) less trustworthy in keeping the velocity. As a referee I've taken 2 or 3 phantoms out of play that chronoed ok in the begining of the game but in the middle chronoed in at 350 +/-5 fps. I have never seen a Sterling do that and usually it is the velocity adjustor that scews things up for the phantom.
PMI Trracer - No Match even my modified trracer (light pump, armson, valve tricked) cant come close in any aspect.
Marker Setup: I use my sterling STP. Armson internaly rifled barrel (the original one of the first batches). Some springkits and an 9V hopper (U need it with the Sterling ;-)and Tricked Valves, Lightened Hammer, Siphon (UK-style) 12oz CO2.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Siphon CO2 is a must for velocity consictency..
Springkits as well for a light pump action.
Strengths: When people write that their markers are accurate I usually just shake my head. I quote "I got 5 guys and 2 of them with headshots from 20 yrds". Well If I cant hit a lightbulb 9 out of 10 from 20m (50 yrds?) and 5 out of 10 from 30m (75 yrds?) I start cursing and stalk off to clean my marker. With the Autotrigger you can hold people down even if they do have semis, 3 accurate bps usually does that but 6 bps is my limit sustained allthough busts is faster then that.
Its a Pump so you will have to play "Pump-Style"
Weaknesses: Its a Pump so you will have to play "Pump-Style"
Its a Pump so you can´t shoot it one-handed.
The price.
Conclusion: You want the best you pay for the best, I can recomend this perfectly machineed state of the art Pump marker to any serious player our there. And as a tactical advise I would recomend this marker to any "Semi-only"-player out there as it will probably improve your game ;-)
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media