paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Brass Eagle Marauder / Brass Eagle Marauder / Brass Eagle Marauder / Brass Eagle Marauder

Brass Eagle Marauder Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Brass Eagle

Buy Brass Eagle Marauder

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Brass Eagle Marauder
[ View Photos (8) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 375
Average Rating: 4.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $150

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Marauder sets the standard for value priced, polymer, semi-automatic markers with features that include a one step quick pull field strip pin for easy maintenance, metal internals, self-cocking velocity adjustment, right hand feed, custom designed trigger guard, double finger trigger, newly redesigned side cocking knob, and bottom line adaptor.
Product Availability 
The Brass Eagle Marauder is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (38):  First  |  28  |  29  |  30  |  31  |  32  |  33  |  34  |  Last
        Next Page
topdragon147 Wednesday, April 23rd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: Spyder E-99
12 volt revy with x-board
32* quiet riot barrel
Venturi bolt
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel, bolt, agitated hopper, anything really
Strengths: Its a good first time gun
Weaknesses: Made from plastic. The quick strip pins rust
Review: The first time I used this gun was at my friend's field. One thing about the gun is that the paintballs curve 5 to 10 feet from side to side so a new barrel is a must. I think the stock barrel was made not to shoot where you want to.
Conclusion: Either get a spyder or get some upgrades for this. Trust me.
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

planeman Tuesday, April 22nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
brass eagle blade (nothing like it) tippmann 98 custom (tested), brass eagle eractor and talon goast (tested)
Marker Setup: 9 oz co2
Recommended
Upgrades:
get a new barrel the stock one chops up every paintball
Strengths: lightweight

Weaknesses: not accuracy
bad barrel
Review: this is a good gun if you are just starting in paintball but stinks if your good. after the first 200 shot the gun would fire without pushing the triger. at first i thought the gun would be really great. but its not. if up want a cheap gun then get the tippmann 98 custom or the sypder victor
Conclusion: don't get it!!!! the gun is very bad it chops up every paintball that was put in. i returned the Marauder for the eractior but it was just as bad.
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

coolkid2007 Sunday, April 20th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months16 of 45 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
All Brass Eagle are the same....
Marker Setup: I use a Spyder Victor a great gun for the price u can buy it for $55 at actionvillage.com
Recommended
Upgrades:
Dont spend anymore money on this gun unless you have a money like Bill Gates. Other wise it is not worth spending the money on the gun. If u are gonning to spend money spend it on a cheaper spyder u can get all the upgrades that u want with those.
Strengths: hmmmm let me think.....looks pretty good,easy to take apart
Weaknesses: 1. Brass Eagle
2. Plastic
3. Breaks balls
4. Inaccurate
5. Co2 tank is awkward
Review: Gun is not worth the money even tho it may look like it since it is $50 but don't let looks fool you. It is Plastic which is really bad cause my friend has one and so do I and we have wars with them cause they were our first paintball guns and we don't have to worry about being hurt cause they have terrible accuracy and it isn't that powerful. The first day I got mine I took it out and went outside to shoot it. I shoot one paintball and cause I didn't know any better I thought it was the best paintball gun in the world. well the next shot it acted like it was fully automatic it just was like I had the trigger held in and the Co2 just kept on coming out and I had 50 balls in my hopper 5 came out and the rest broke inside the barrel man was that a mess to clean up and then I ran out of Co2 in 10 minutes. So I went and cleaned it and lubed it up and went and got my tank refilled. Well it didn't do the fully automatic thing anymore but it still chopped 7/10 balls that I shot. So i went over to my friends and his did the same stuff. So i took it back the store that I bought it from and said that it was normal for that to happen and he didn't replace it for me so I called up brass eagle and said they would send me a replacement one so they did and when i got it it still chopped 7/10 balls so I said the heck with this and I went over to my friends house and we just started playing with them for the heck of it.
Conclusion: I don't know how this thing has a 6 rating overall but I am gonna give it a 2 just cause u cant get hurt when u play with someone that has one. It is a crap gun along with all the other brass eagle guns although it may stop chopping as many paintballs if u buy brass eagle paintballs. The reason I think this is cause crappy paintballs with a crappy gun should work good. and brass eagle usually shoots its own paint the best. If you want to spend your money on a gun spend it on something that my actually do something like a spyder or tippman if you have the cash. If you want it to shoot better take off the barrel that decrease broken paintballs down to 3/10 and the ball has the really cool curve.
Rating:
2 out of 10Last edited on Monday, April 21st, 2003 at 3:47 pm PST
I found this review  
25 Comments - Add Comment

taperunner375 Sunday, April 20th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98 custom, spyder amg, spyder e-99, piranha sts
Marker Setup: Spyder AMG lcd
-12v revvy
-14 inch j&j ceramic [black]
-20oz c02
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel [what other upgrades are there?]
Strengths: doesnt put a dent in your wallet, lightweight, strips in seconds
Weaknesses: poor accuracy, loud, no foregrip, long trigger pull, all plastic except for the striker, chops
Review: this was my first ever gun. it was fun at first and got me into the sport. but after i got better, this gun could simply not meet my demands and i had constant problems with it. It chopped a lot of paint, the velocity ran really high (stock), and was very loud
Conclusion: If you are curius about paintball and want to give the sport a shot, this gun is a good idea. otherwise stay away
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Destroyer69 Saturday, April 19th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Zap zxs-500, Avenger
Marker Setup: Tippy 98C, Flatline, Remote, R/T
Recommended
Upgrades:
X-pansion Chamber, Maybe a New Barrel
Strengths: C-H-E-A-P!!!
Weaknesses: You NEED to modify it to make it work!
Review: I bought this marker because A- It was Cheap as dirt, B- looked cool, C- stands for CHEAP!
Now, out of the box, shooting brass eagle paint (its a brass eagle marker, right?) broke so many ball in the barrel and the hopper, I thought it was a total paint blender. Paint soup maker. Chopped balls. Get it?
After RESEARCHING! I found it had some flaws...no surprise, I only paid like 48 US for it. BUT! after doing the MODS! that were on the Maurader owner brotherhood site, NO MORE PROBLEMS! Its not an Angel or b2k2 or cocker... but it was 48 US and chucks paint fast, hard and straight.... what do you want for 48 bucks!?
Fired 600 rounds out of it today, NO ball breaks, and still had air in the 9 that was on it!
WHAT DO U WANT FROM IT! (other than working out of the box :) )
Conclusion: if you have only 50 bucks and want to play today, with a drill and a rubber washer, you're in business. If you can wait to save some coin, or its on your mommy's dime, pick up something hotter....
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

armycar01 Friday, April 18th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Marker Setup: stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
doesnt need any
Strengths: Cheap powerful
Weaknesses: no weeknesses for the price
Review: this gun is perfect for anyone who is in smaal competitions or just backyard shooting.
It doesnt bust balls bad. of course the gun will seem bad compared to the $200-$500 range. This is a good gun. it is all a person need to have fun. People are forgetting paintball is supposed to be a sport, not your life. lighten up. Sure ther are guns a lot better, but if your not a top contender in the big tournament, this gun is definitely worth your 50 bucks.

Conclusion: As the great Jamie kennedy once said " Don't be hatin'."
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Lurker Friday, April 18th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
some spyders
Marker Setup: 2001 autococker....bunch of stuff
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel, or acually a new gun
Strengths: Easy to strip, cheap
Weaknesses: Cheap, doesnt feel very sturdy
Review: First off, This is a Brass Eagles attemt at making a decent blowback. They could have done a better job with the internals, I mean that it is only plastic with bits of metal for the gas line. The only use I found with this gun is to teach you how to play better and choose your gun wisely afterword. Luckily I saved the receit and returned it before it was too late and got my money back. If you buy this gun to try to play this wonderful sport, you should save your money and buy a E-Spirit for $50 more.
And as for Brass Eagle, dont let them win you over to buy their products just because they include oil and a barrel plug.
Conclusion: DONT BUY THIS GUN AND GET A DIFFERENT ONE, you will have more fun with a better gun than this. The only reason I am giving this gun a 4 is because it does what it is supposed to do. shoot paint, even though it busts quite a few in the process
Rating:
4 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, April 13th, 2004 at 6:27 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

07nowlin Tuesday, April 15th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
victor - much better than this crap
Marker Setup: Victor basic
Recommended
Upgrades:
nothing throw it away now!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Strengths: it is fairly accurate and light
Weaknesses: not very durable and it is plastic
Review: ok.i have 3 friends who have this gun.wesess broke the first time he shot it,daniels broke later that same night.jareds broke after 3 matches!durable huh?
I wouldnt personally buy this,and i am not a BE basher.i started on BE and so did most others. BREAKS WAAAAAAAAAAYYYYYYYYYY TO EASILY
Conclusion: dont buy spend a little more for an avenger or go spyder
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Jayson Tuesday, April 8th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
original Talon, I liked the talon actually
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom with a 12 Volt Revolution hopper with X-board
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel
Strengths: inexpensive
easy to field strip
Weaknesses: uncomfortable to hold
breaks a lot of paintballs
not very accurate
awkward to hold
Review: I didn't really care for this marker because it chopped a lot of balls and was not very accurate. I did like how easy it was to field strip and its great price though. I really wouldn't recommend this marker to anyone but if you already have it its not like it completely terrible.
Conclusion: But something a little nicer unless you are unsure if you want to play paintball
Rating:
3 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, May 8th, 2003 at 1:29 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Rain Samuti Tuesday, April 8th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months142 of 170 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
No paintball guns of similar price.
Oh, a Brass Eagle Talon... Significantly more accurate than you'd expect, but sucks CO2 like it's going out of style.
Marker Setup: A Brass Eagle Eradicator - an identical gun to the Marauder, but in green, and sold as part of a package. It's all standard.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Possibly a new barrel... See the reasons below.
The electronic point sight (again from Brass Eagle) came with my gun, and it's spot-on. Get one.
Anti-syphon tube for your bottle.
New hopper. ANY new hopper.
Strengths: VERY cheap, but VERY tough. Nicely balanced. Strip it in a heartbeat. Easily available.
Weaknesses: Loud. Breaks the occasional ball. You get mocked for buying an from unfashionable manufacturer.
Review: Okay, let's get started.
This is the first paintball marker I've owned, but in no way the first I've used. It's nice looking, VERY cheap, and it's made by Brass Eagle.
If you've got some experience, you'll know that it's VERY fashionable, right now, to take the mickey out of Brass Eagle products. Being a limey, none of this reached my ears at the time I bought the gun while on holiday in Arizona (and trust me, I had fun getting it back through airport security). I think that this is mostly 'cause they're cheap, and typically something newbies like myself would buy.
Well, the Marauder/Eradicator (they're the same gun, just with a different name) IS cheap, and it IS something that newbies like myself would buy, and be very pleased with. 'cause let's face it, if we're new to the game, we're only gonna want a cheap gun for messing about in the woods; unless you take this game very, VERY seriously, most people wouldn't dream of any thousand-pound custom-made jobs.
So, here are the good points.
It's cheap, first of all. By that, I don't mean cheap and nasty, I mean well worth the pittance you pay for it. It's made out of some kind of polymer which is REALLY tough. Very hard to break indeed. And if you play in the woods, that's great, 'cause it reflects no light. It's an easy gun to lose, in England's terrain.
Despite being cheap, it feels very nicely put together. It has a couple of pins you can pull out on the side, in case you need to strip it down in a hurry. I've never needed to use them on the field, but it's nice having them right there for when it needs lubing up.
Every action on the gun is positive, solid, and tight. For thirty quid, I was blown away by the overall quality of the marker.
And on both accuracy and power, this thing behaves like it cost about a hundred quid more than it actually did. It fires FAR, and it fires STRAIGHT. No problems there.
And now, the bad points. Most of these are very petty, especially considering the price, but criticism is necessary in any review.
It feels a bit of an awkward size - not big enough for a front grip, but too big to use like a pistol, so I find myself unconsciously holding on to the bottle.
The cheapness can show, here and there... Seams on the polymer, kinda thing.
The double-finger trigger is a godsend. However, if one day you find you only want to use one finger, you'll soon figure out that there's not enough room on the handle for your extra finger. The trigger guard gets in the way, y'see. Kinda petty, and I know for thirty quid I shouldn't be complaining, but you gotta show the rough with the smooth. What else...
Oh, yeah - the rings on the quick-pull pins, although very useful, can clatter when you move the gun. Not good if you're going for stealth, but easily corrected with rubber pads, or just replacing the rings with a different sort.
The grip, although it fits and feels right ergonimically, feels very cheap indeed. Another "What did you expect for thirty bob?" criticism.
My main problem with the gun... When you fire it, some little metal part inside goes "TWIIIIING!". That gets annoying.
The barrel you get with the gun is horrible. Going against pretty well every design principle of the rest of the gun, it's nice SHINY stainless steel that almost glows in the dark. Also, it's scored on the outside in those kinds of tight spirals that make your teeth itch if you run your finger along them. Don't wanna touch it. Put a camo sock over it.
The hopper you get with it is absolute pants. Made of the cheapest, nastiest, Chinese Quasi-Plastic you can buy, I managed to crimp the bottom of it putting it onto the elbow, which did nothing for the feed rate as you can imagine. Replace with any five-quid hopper and you're sorted.
I think that's about it.
And now, to dispel the myths arising around this gun.
The quick pull pins DON'T fall out. They have litle spring-loaded ball bearings to stop them from doing so, and you have to pull bloody hard to get them out anyway - don't know who posted that, or what he was doing to make them fall out. Maybe he ran them through a lathe and sprayed them with WD40.
The marker DOESN'T break balls. I thought mine did, at first - little flakes and droplets of silvery white stuff exploded from the muzzle every now and then, and I thought "Hey, bits of shell!". I watched one of the fragments flutter to the ground, where it promptly evapourated. I inspected my mate's painful hit, just to be certain, and sure enough, there was enough shell there to ascertain that the ball left the barrel intact, and sped straight and true towards my friend's crotch. That's liquid CO2, that is, mate. Didn't affect my accuracy or speed at all, but an anti-siphon tube would be useful to stop it from happening.
Well, to be fair, it does splatter one or two per few hundred. But for how hard it throws them, it's to be expected that the occasional ball just won't take it. Turn the velocity down and it's sorted.
Yes, the standard barrel is bloody useless, that's not a myth at all. Well, it IS a myth when it comes to chopping balls and making 'em curve. It just doesn't FEEL nice, that's all. If I run my hand along it, it makes a nasty shweeshing sound and get me all edgy.
As for falling apart - what? I don't know where that came from. Yeah, mine's been dropped, sometimes very hard. You'd have to be REALLY mistreating this thing to actually do any damage. It's built to last, man.
Accuracy - well, mine's okay. I don't know why so many people post saying they couldn't hit the broad side of a barn, 'cause it's just not true. For thirty quid it's a sight more accurate than I'd expected.
It's fashionable amongst so-called "professionals" to diss Brass Eagle. I have no idea why. Insecure personalities, perhaps? Get over it, guys. It was kinda amusing at first, but really it's just depressing.
Conclusion: If I'd have paid eighty or even a hundred pounds for this gun, I'd be satisfied. If I'd have paid two hundred for it, I'd be mildly disappointed by its petty flaws.
But, I didn't. I paid thirty quid. And for thirty quid - that's about fifty dollars - this thing's bloody fantastic. It's powerful, spot-on accurate (try the Brass Eagle electronic point sight) and built solidly, from very high-quality materials (except for the hopper you get with it, which are easy enough to replace). Invest in an anti-siphon tube (about a tenner) to fix that snow problem, and a barrel condom, and you've got yourself a really nice gun.
What's more, you have the satisfaction of knowing that you got a really great deal.
And, as a guilty little side-note, you also have the satisfaction of knowing that you were rewarded handsomely for being wise enough to give an unfashionable brand name the benefit of the doubt.
Anyone who rejects an offer like this because they're afraid of what people will think of the label on it, is a coward. And one with his priorities back to front, at that.
And anyone who writes a raging review of a fifty-dollar paintball gun as though they paid two grand for it, is an idiot.
And anyone who writes obvious lies in order to perpetuate existing ones - well, that's just sad.
The mark I give takes into account value for money, at fifty dollars for the gun. No points are deducted for being able to get hold of one easily (why? Kind of elitist to give a gun a higher mark because it's hard to find, isn't it?), because doing so would be silly.
Like I've already said - if this were a hundred pound gun, I'd have knocked off a couple of points. But it isn't - it's thirty quid, and it's an unbelievable bargain.
And that's all I have to say on the subject.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
73 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (38):  First  |  28  |  29  |  30  |  31  |  32  |  33  |  34  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media