paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Action Markers Sentinel TS / Action Markers Sentinel TS / Action Markers Sentinel TS / Action Markers Sentinel TS

Action Markers Sentinel TS Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Action Markers

Buy Action Markers Sentinel TS

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Action Markers Sentinel TS
[ View Photos (2) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 47
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $219

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The newly redesigned Sentinel TS '04 include all our latest updates and performance options. This includes the options that made the Sentinel TS an instant classic such as Action Markers' trademark Vari-Grip feed-tube, the performance speed sear, the original straight Blade style trigger, and now also includes the AM Rip Bolt. The new AM Rip Bolt retains your link pin for easy fieldstripping without the fear of losing the pin.

On top of the incredible features offered throughout the Sentinel, the Sentinel TS includes a few new upgrade options. By adding in features that are normally "upgrades" on other guns, the Tournament Series in the Sentinel Line was born.


The Sentinel TS offers the same features as the Sentinel, as well as these other great stock features:

Beautifully anodized patterns including the Sunburst red-to-black satin finish
New Redesigned CNC milled body
Matching anodized and ported barrels
Balanced drop forward
Hogue grips
Ported barrel
New Performance Sear
Matching anodized Barrel, Valve Chamber, and Lock Bolt
The new AM Rip-Bolt
The signature series Vari-Grip feed Tube (Now available in high-rise and no-rise)
The original Dual Ball Detent system
Product Availability 
The Action Markers Sentinel TS is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (5):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
                            
camo geek Tuesday, December 31st, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month7 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
m98 with 32 degrees flame drop forward
Marker Setup: sentinal 1s, pmi multimetal x-chamber, JJ full tilt ceramic barrel, 20 oz on/off anti siphon tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
x-chamber new barrel
Strengths: Its a beautiful gun rock hard anodizing and sweet milling. And it doesn't feel cheep like other guns in its price range it feels good when you fire. It has a really nice short trigger pull and a 2x trigger. It has a real drop forward not cheap like those ones on spyders and piranhas. It is "sinchy" to field strip you pull out the cocking knob slide out the bolt and walah; if you break a ball just run your squegee through it. The gun is very simple a very strate forward designe. This gun can not break, its even more durable than a tippy. it has a nice large trigger gaurd too. People wil come up to you and say "Hey what kind of gun is that?"
"Its a sentinal by Action Markers"
"Cool I've never seen one before is it good?"
"Yup"
"I bet it was expensive like $300"
Weaknesses: I wont lie it has a beast of a trigger pull its really heavy, but its a good thing its short. And when you put on a longer x-chamber like the ACI 6-stage you will need a new bottom line, the ones that have the hose come out of the side, cause theres no room at all for the hose to bend. There are also not many upgrades for it but AM says that they will becoming out with some (lets how a new trigger frame.) They say they are also coming out with an electro version of it. An this is annoying but the feed tube unscrews some times when you take off the hopper not when you play though ok? The feed tube is suposed to come off. Oh and if you arne't careful you can loose the cocking knob
Conclusion: This is a sweet gun apart from the bad things but those are just a bit annoying nothing to keep you from buying this gun. My final words are just get it you wont regret.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, January 28th, 2005 at 5:03 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

ej_paint_man Sunday, December 29th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
M98 Sniper, and a friends A-5
Marker Setup: Setinal TS Stock, with a remote and stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
If you like to lay down that paint you will need a Agitated loader, stock barrell is very nice, so I don't plan on replacing it anytime soon
Strengths: This is the best sub 200$ gun you can get! I got it for Chirstmas, and have been shooting it in cold weather, it shoots great, without a Reg!

Stock barrel is great, I am used to just throwing out the barrel that comes with a stock gun, but not the Sentinal!

Very easy to clean, one pin and everything is out!

So far two of my teamates ordered them since they have seen mine!
Weaknesses: Nothing, you will hear about this gun in the future!
Conclusion: Great gun for the money, I got mine for a gift, what a sweet present from my wife!

Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Alexi1337 Saturday, December 28th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
- Spyders [ Similar feel, less accurate, more problem prone ]
- Tippy 98 [ Less accurate, ugly , doesn't really compare except for price range ]
- Tippy A5 [ The TS has the A5 beat for 100$ less. ]
- Cockers [ Not really similar guns, but the TS has about the same accuracy as a stock cocker ]
- ACI F4 Illustrator [ TS is superior ]
Marker Setup: Action Markers Sentinel TS Red/Black fade
12 v Revolution with X-board
16oz Chrome Moly tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
- Expansion chamber [ bought and installed cheap at any pro-shop ]
- Regulator [ get a Palmer Stabilizer, they are great ]
- You will need an agitated hopper for this gun
Strengths: - This gun looks great. The anodizing is superb, very difficult to scratch.

- This gun feels great. It doesn't have that 'cheap' feel of other guns under 200$

- Bolt doesn't freeze. I put the better half of a 16 oz through this gun in 40 degree weather without an expansion chamber or reg. Throwing snow all over, but the gun stayed pretty consistent.

- Nice trigger. Very big trigger guard, easily fits gloves of fat fingers

- Easily field stripped. Break a ball? Pull the pin, slide out the top bolt, run your squeegee through and you'r good to go.

- The vert feed can be changed with aftermarkets.

- Dual ball detents

- Great accuracy right out of the box. It shot great in low 40 degree weather on Co2 with really old marbs. About the same as a stock autococker.

- Simple and High quality construction. This baby is built to last.

- Autococker threads.

Weaknesses: - Action markers isn't very well known, so if something goes bad, not many people know about your gun. Fortunately its very simple.

- Its considered a low end gun

- Louder than my 98c
Conclusion: Over all this is a great gun. High end looks, feel, and performance at a low end price. This is by far the best open bolt/blow back semi-auto on the market. Maybe not as fast as guns with electronic trigger frames, but more durable and better looking. The accuracy is great, the gun stays consistent, it works wonderful on Co2.

If you need a good marker for under 200 that's built solid, easy on the eyes, and will compete with the big boys, go for this one.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pondpond Thursday, December 26th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmanns, Spyders, and Viper M-1
Marker Setup: I have a few, Tippmann A-5 with RT, Automag loaded up, Viper M-1 VXT, Phantom, and a Dye Cocker
Recommended
Upgrades:
A barrell will help, but stock barrell isn't too bad for the price. If you hammer you will need a motor-loader
Strengths: Great cold weather gun, loves CO2, you can't freeze the valve! I played a few weeks ago in 20 degree weather, and it didn't skip a beat, try and do that with a spyder!

Consistent, +/- 3 fps at the chrono. Make is very fun to shoot, consistency means accuracy.

Very well built, all parts are machined excellent and the Ano job is incredible! The red to black fade is awesome!

Great gun for $$, our local field is going to replace there M98 with these makers for rental, they are that solid!

Accurate, the stock barrell isn't bad, I also use a Smart Parts AA and a Armson Stealth, both are great on this marker. The Autococker means there are a ton of options for it.

Trigger feel is a bit different than traditional sear-semi markers. It is much smoother, and will take a bit to get used to, but it can really pound out the paint when you get your rhythm down!

Light, I mean really light
Weaknesses: Nothing bad in my eyes, I am not sure what the guy below is talking about, a great gun for the $$$
Conclusion: If you are looking for an entry marker, or maybe a little better, and don't want to look like everyone else on the field, or don't have time playing around with a maker, get a SENTINEL!

You will not regret it!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Ohio5Star Tuesday, December 17th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Autococker: same distance and accuracy
Spyder: same style double tube stack but none of the headaches
Marker Setup: Sentinel TS: Custom Annodizing made by actionmarkers (green to black fade) (email4pic),CNC gas-through grip and on/off drop forward with macroline setup.
Recommended
Upgrades:
gas-through grip/ drop-forward and if you use Co2 a expansion chamber.
*A 12v rev is a must. this marker will throw paint fast and needs the electro-loader to help the gravity feed.
Strengths: 1.The price $200!
2.the bolt is unfreezable!( I saw it take a 20 co2 anti-siphon tank pointed down and go through the whole thing without freezing the bolt!)
3.Easy field cleaning: take out the silver pin in the above picture and the bolt slides out the back, then insert squeegee and replace bolt and pin! (it takes only 15-30 seconds in a game Max!
4.Double ball detent: most markers only have one!, two ball bearing detents makes the ball centered in the barrel and you get better accuracy.
5.Weight: the Sentinel TS is made out of high impact aluminum and is Cut and colored.
6.Barrel: Autococker threads!
7.Feed neck: Angel threaded/ Custom three rubber o-rings keep your hopper from coming loose.
8.Easy to sight,good feeling for quick acquisition of the target.


Weaknesses: I have ran 5 cases of paint through the Sentinel TS and only three breaks,
one was paint related (dryball-to big for the bore size) and the other two were when I was at the world record game in PA. I Used Co2 because it was cheaper for the weekend and i was really rapping off the shots fast.
The Co2 did not have enough time to expand and chopped a ball in the feedneck. I Cleaned out the hopper and Marker and used HPA and did not have any problems with it since. * use Expansion chamber with Co2 if you shoot fast.
Conclusion: I have owned many types of markers over the past 10yrs. and Sold 3 of them to deck-out 2 Sentinel TS' (they are worth it)
they have it all (RANGE /ACCURACY/ DUABILITY / PRICE and LOOKS)
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Benson Saturday, December 14th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
-Spyder SE-My very first marker and I've used several since, not nearly the same level of quality as AM products.
-Guns owned but not similar...a Cockers, a Blazer, Vision Impulse, a lot of pumps
Marker Setup: Sentinel TS with a lot of trigger work
-AA Vigilante
-JnJ Barrel+Stock
-68/4500 Pure energy tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
You really don't need a vig or other reg on there. It's already a pretty consistent gun by design, but it would do you good if you have the cash.

-Decent small bore barrel
Strengths: I've been around a number of these markers, and there's a good reason so many people I know have them. They do very well on Co2 or air, This gun will shot a siphoned 20 oz co2 dry without freezing or skipping a shot, not as much can be said for other guns in the price range.

It doesn't have the annoying sear click other blowbacks do!!! (spyders ect, have a really light pull, then you feel the sear, then it fires once the sear drops,It makes these guns much harder to get a rhythm on) The pull on the sentinel is smooth an the same pressure throughout the pull (Much easier to dump paint once used to it), and if you have a couple small pieces of tape you can shorten the pull by 2-3 mm, from it's original 6-7mm.

The anodizing on these guns is top notch, I've played front in tourneys with it a number of times and only managed small scratches on the ball detentes (because it's a different batch of anno thats not as tough as the main body)

They are very accurate even with the stock barrels, as long as you don't shoot small bore alot you could go without buying another barrel.

The hammer and sear don't wear like I have seen on so many other blowbacks.

The bolt is Delrin, and lightweight reducing the kick (to do so further get a reg and some springs and set you input pressure to 450 or so)

They are very easy to strip down and clean, It shouldn't take you more than a few seconds to pull the pin on the bolt and slid out the hammer and bolt. It usually doesn't need much more than a few drops of oil and a wipe down when you're done playing.
Weaknesses: If you don't pull you bolt back to cock the gun when you air it up you'll more than likely leak a bunch of gas down the barrel.

It is a mechanical blowback, and though it is a very good one, it still is harder to toss mass amounts of paint than an electro (wait until Jan for the AM Diadem to come out)
Conclusion: This is a really solid feeling and straight shooting gun that reeks of high tolerances and quality construction. With 5 minutes and tape you can have a 4 mm pull on it. All in all I would have to say it isn't the best gun out there, it IS, however, the best gun in it's class, and whether you want a nice maingun, or a backup that's actually good, and won't let you down, you can't go wrong for the money.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

nbregin Saturday, August 17th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Autococker - nice marker
Spyder SE - good marker
Tippmann 98 - ok marker
Brass Eagle Avenger - belive it or not, ok marker
Marker Setup: Sentinel TS with a gas thru fore-grip/ 88cu. 4500psi. Carbon Fiber N2 tank"/ Ricochet 2k hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
A gas thru fore-grip or reg. will make it more comefortable.
Strengths: COSMETIC - The marker looks awsome. It looks allot better than the pic above. There are also countless ways to get it anodized. Action Markers does custom work.
BALANCE - you can balance the marker on your finger just behind the grip, whn there is a hopper and a tank on it. It is more balanced than most autocockers.
SHOT RATE - I have never been able to get the marker to chop a ball. You can fire at least 10 bps after you get used to the trigger. It is really smooth and has sort of a snappy feel to it. Not a dead feel like most other guns.
INTERNAL - The bolt is not aluminum. It is a plasticy type. This makes it light and takes down the wear and tear. The gun is blow-back but still maintanes a good consistency and efficiency.
MAINTANANCE - Just a couple drops of gun oil every use, oil the bolt and hammer every once and a while. The marker is very easy to take apart and reasemle. only tool needed to get to completely dissasemble is a hex wrench to take off the grip frame. The bolt and hammer and others can be taken out by hand.
PRICE - You get what you pay for. A very nice marker. Tourny Quality.

Weaknesses: The only thing I found bad, really it's not bad just kind of an annoience, is that when you take out the hammer, the trigger sticks up into the chamber where the bolt goes. This does not allow you to slide the bolt back in without either taking the grip frame off, or pushing the trigger down with something. This is not a serious problem and would not let it cause you to not get the gun.
Conclusion: High quality marker. Well worth the money. Compares to a stock autococker.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (5):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
                            
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media