paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Action Markers Sentinel / Action Markers Sentinel / Action Markers Sentinel / Action Markers Sentinel

Action Markers Sentinel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Action Markers

Buy Action Markers Sentinel

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Action Markers Sentinel
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 7
Average Rating: 9.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $159

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Sentinel performance paintball guns line is Action Markers' longest running product. The Sentinel paintball marker makes the ideal paintball marker for any beginner who will continue playing for a long time. The flat black finish and ability to use both compressed air and CO2 means that your customers can use the Sentinel in the woods, for Scenario, and for Big Games, and for Speedball style play.
With features not often found on base-line models, the Sentinel is easily upgradeable to meet any player’s style or preference of play. The Delrin Composite quick-strip upper bolt is both durable and light, with the added advantage of being a self-lubricating material.
The AM exclusive front-style “valve-limiting” velocity adjustment makes adjusting velocity easy and precise. By limiting the valve opening directly, rather than adjusting the drive-spring tension like other blowbacks, the Sentinel ensures that the velocity stays within +- 5 FPS of where it has been set.
Includes hardened steal hammer and sear, direct port upper bolt, and threaded feed tube.
Traditional “Tattoo Milling” on the side complements the look.


All Sentinels come stock with these features:

Action Markers patent pending All-weather Un-freezable Valve
Front velocity adjust
Dual ball detents
Threaded feed necks
3-second quick field strip
All CNC machined parts for superior fit and wear
Comfortable 45-style grip frame
Beautifully milled body
'Cocker compatible barrel threads
Hand honed and polished barrels
Product Availability 
The Action Markers Sentinel is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
rmdiablo Saturday, September 18th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyders, Model 98, rebels, all blow back markers, ive tried them all
Marker Setup: an icd bko with ups, I use the sentinel as my backup., and I absoloutly LOVE IT.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Nothing really, the barrel has decent accuracy. Just buy a drop and a palmer regulator for co2 and you are ready to blow everyone away
Strengths: Price, speed, accuracy, performance, consitency, adjustability, light.
Weaknesses: None at all, this gun is the best blow back marker I have ever used
Review: This gun is by far the best blowback marker I have ever used. It outperforms all of the others. I was amazed at how light and durable it was and the nice craftmanship. I was suprised that this good of a gun was so cheap. I bought mine for 80 and it is worth every penny. Heck, I would have bought it for 120 or even traded a custom 98 for it. The thing that makes it better than a 98 is the dual detents. I have to say they dramaticly increase accuracy. I also like the velocity adjustment., which is in the front of the gun instead of the back. Having the adjustment on that spring makes the guns opperation so much more better then a usual spyder clone. I love everything about this gun and will never get rid of it. I also find it very easy to pull of a string of paint, so don't worry about speed, its plenty fast, and it shoots very accurate. I would deffinetely have chosen this gun over my old 98 even with all of the upgrades I slapped onto my 98. The thing about the sentinel is that you dont need to put any upgrades on it. Just get a palmer reg and you are ready to play. I like the stock barrel, but I bought an aftermarket one to help a little more with the accuracy. Great gun, great buy. I've shot lots of blow backs, and this one by far, is the best out of the box.

3 months later...
I still have the gun, and let me tell you, I have just been waiting for a drop in electronic kit to come out for this bad boy. Now it HAS!!! I am going to jump at the opportunity and purchase one. People usually don't like their backup guns more than their primary, but the smoothness, the lack of chopping (hardly any chops unless its really warped paint), the accuracy, efficiency, uses c02 and compressed air, doesn't freeze up, the fast trigger and nice sear, and its super lightness. I use a super pimped bko as my primary, its got eyes, intellifeed warp feed, tons of other upgrades, and yet, my sentinel just seems more appealing. It fits like a glove. This may sound strange and twisted, but everyone needs to find their one gun out their that fits like a glove for them. I've found mine, action markers has moved to my #1.
Conclusion: Be different, get a sentinel, TS or just plain single trigger version. I love it, better then my old 98, great accuracy. Why are you still reading what Im typing, cant you tell I am just repeating myself????? Buy one NOW!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, September 27th, 2004 at 2:04 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

R3MY Sunday, September 14th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman, Spyder, Jt.. ne one of the higher end low price market guns
Marker Setup: AM sentinel, with System X Expansion Chamber, and custom drop forward. With custom trigger set-up.
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Drop, and a air through fore-grip or X chamber
Strengths: Very durible, Light, and pretty accurate.
Weaknesses: Hard trigger pull
Review: This is a very very nice lower end gun. Ive had it for about 5-6 months. And it works fine.. The only problem i had with it, was the 3rd time i played with it, the spring to push the trigger back into place fell out. But no problems other than that. The first time i ever used this gun in an actual play, I played Front and Middle/back. And from the front I took out 3 out of 8 players. And with the stock barrel playin middle/back, I sniped 2 guys. This isnt a snipe gun, but I could'nt tell, other than the body set-up.
Conclusion: This is a great gun. It comes with auto-cocker threads, so finding new barrles isnt hard, and the paint job on this thing is the koolest. Exccept a few spots where the annodizing didnt go. But yea, other than the spring *which was replaced witha lighter pull spring* and the minor minor flaw in the paint, this is an EXCELLET gun. I reccomend u get one. Cuz for the price, ur gettin way more than u pay for. Excellent Value.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

imitebelvis Wednesday, July 16th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Other misc. double stacked blow backs.
Marker Setup: Stock Sentinel, 20 oz CO2, Ergo reg with gauge, System X drop forward with on/off valve. I have the marker reg'd down to about 400psi. Modified valve pin and lighter spring.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Aftermarket barrel and mod's I have listed above. A lot of people don't like the heavy trigger pull. This set up makes it lighter. I am using the stock barrel. I tried a friend's freak and WOW! It was even better.
Strengths: Price, consistancy, easy to clean, easy to adjust, and accurate.
Weaknesses: Style. It could be a little more appealing. It is loud. Try another barrel.
Review: This marker kicks butt. With this set up, I have a marker that will compete with or exceed many on the market at higher prices! I have not broken any paint, so far. You cannot get a marker for this price that is this good. You can buy it direct for about $150. Most markers you get retail for that price are half plastic. Adding the Ergo reg made a huge difference. I would really recomend it. The marker works a little smother and is a little quieter than when it was stock.
Conclusion: Perfect for those just starting out. Great price. If you put a little money into it, you'll end up keeping it longer than you expected.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, July 16th, 2003 at 6:36 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

akaAssasyn Monday, June 30th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyders, bruizer
Marker Setup: action marker sentinel; Powerlyte piece barrel steel / alumin, bob long reg, 20 oz CO2, 12 volt revy w/ x board, AM advanced drop.
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel, electro
Strengths: short and light trigger pull, light weight, quick strip.
Weaknesses: stock barrel
Review: best blow back marker out. compact with all the upgrades included. great marker for a rec player and even good for tourney. i can't get over the trigger pull. my stock barrel was the most basic one you could get from action marker. so it had to go. since its threaded for cockers there are so many options.
Conclusion: its simple test one, love one, and buy one. plus not everyone has one so for now yours will stand out
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

cruisemissle141 Friday, June 20th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
spyders ...
Marker Setup: tippmann 98 custom w/ responce trigger ,flatline,REloader,lazer ,20 oz co2 cylinder....and a spyder compact deluxe java
Recommended
Upgrades:
expansion chamber and a barrel
Strengths: fast,great stock barrel,weight is even ,accurate
Weaknesses: it chops sometimes..isnt advertised well
Review: this gun is great built out of aircraft grade aluminum ....its gonna last you a long time its a really good gun ....has about the best stock barrel of any gun ive used 2 of the guys on my team use them their awsum guns ....and a head turner at feilds ...the best part of the gun is the accuracy its amazing what this gun can do
Conclusion: get this gun if its not good you can punch me ok its a great gun
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

cannondale Tuesday, February 11th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 custom, Pro carbine, 2k3 Piranha STS, ICD Ally Cat Limited, SPyder TL......Gets the same Performance as a Tippmann 98/procarbine It seems to compare to the Tippmanns with a little edge on accuracy and Field Strips Much easier
Marker Setup: 2000 SHocker Turbo Powerfeed Ect........Back up guns are Micromag and Alley Cat Limited.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, Venturi Bolt (if you can find one), Regulator and antisiphen Tank.
Strengths: Very Durable, Nice looking, Two ball detents and Price.
Weaknesses: Trigger very stiff about 5 pound pull it. Can't use a vertical Bottle.
Review: This Gun is Built Like a Tank, I recieved a video from the Factory and They ran over this gun with a Truck!!!! It still worked!!! It's made out of Air craft grade aluminum Very Well made Paintball gun, I'm sure it will last for Years. Kickback when Firing was light, you can also add a Vertical Regulator without any adapters but, you can't use a vertical Bottle because the small Nipple that depresses the Pin valve (c02 tank)on the Vertical Adapter is not present. The bolt cocking nob is on the top of the Gun Like the Impulse so getting paint inside your gun is cut down to a hardly nothing. I think the Trigger pull needs to be reduced but I'm sure you can find lighter springs. Consistancy at the chrono was not bad +- 10 Fps you adjust your velocity from the front of the Cupseal, not the rear spring like all Blowbacks do. Two autococker ball detents center the ball well and the vertical feed is nice. I shot about 1000 balls with a couple ball breaks thats to be expected I'm sure it was my balls they where kinda old.
Conclusion: Very well made, dependable Decent Product for the price. Remember I'm Reviewing the field model AMs lowest cost Semi Auto and it has a single trigger not the double.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, June 9th, 2003 at 5:07 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

AoSniper Saturday, January 11th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
None so far.
Marker Setup: Stock with 9 oz.
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel,fast hopper.
Strengths: The gun is very well priced at around $140.95.I did get some breaks though.Thats not the gun's fault but I really need some type of revy.The Sentinel is light,cheap,easy to clean marker.I defenitly recommend this marker for any starters.I would take this gun over a Tippmann,Spyder,or its clones any day.

Range-Its got a descent range.I do recommend a good barel.
Accuaracy-Use good balls and your gun should be fine.
Overall, the gun is good.
Weaknesses: I really wasn't to happy with me breaking balls but thats not the guns fault.I just need a fast hopper to keep up with me.
The range wasn't all the great either but a new barrel might fix it a little.
Conclusion: The Sentinel is a good gun.Just take care of your gun properly and you should be fine.All the bad things I put can easily be fixed.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media