paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Odyssey HALO B / Odyssey HALO B / Odyssey HALO B

Odyssey HALO B Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Odyssey

Buy Odyssey HALO B

Paintball Hoppers / Loaders

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Odyssey HALO B
[ View Photos (29) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 417
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: N/A
Suggested Retail Price: $140

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The ultimate in loader technology. The newly designed HALO-B.
Product Availability 
The Odyssey HALO B is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (42):  First  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  13  |  14  |  15  |  16  |  Last
        Next Page
Phathed Thursday, April 13th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Marker Setup: Uped Smart Parts Ion
Halo B
Redz Envy pack
Strengths: See review
Weaknesses: See review
Review: I absolutly love this hopper, It is extreamly fast, very durable, and the feed rate is very fluent, it doesnt miss a beat. The only problems i have with this hopper is that it is a little on the heavy side, but its not that big of a deal. The only other problem i had with mine is that is squeaks a little bit, but it doesnt effect it at all.
Conclusion: Buy!!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pb4life2 Tuesday, April 11th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
empire, velocity
Marker Setup: NERVE, HALO B, 68ci 4500psi n2 tank v
Strengths: Price, speed, efficiency
Weaknesses: None
Review: I just bought this about a week ago and it works like a dream. I use it on my Smartparts Nerve and it is perfect in every way. I have gone out and used it in the field without any problems. No jams, breaks, or anything. I prefer it over the velocity and the empire because of the price issue and the fact of the upgradability. It is also a lot quiter than I would have thought. The Halo ways about as much as an Evolution 2 viewloader but is a whole lot faster. I would recomend to anyone who is looking for speed and greatness.



If you have any questions e-mail me at bucs925@msn.com
Conclusion: this is the best hopper on the market today for its decent price. Anyone who needs speed go with the halo.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

naughtydogpball Saturday, April 8th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Eggy, revolution, quantam, grav feed.
All slower...Obviously :P
Strengths: Fast, looks cool, upgrade options, durable.
Weaknesses: Weight
Review: This is a great loader, it loads fast and it has never jammed on me. The only problem i have with it is the weight. Six AA batteries plus hopper weight is just a little too much. Do yourself a favor and pick up a 9v mod which allows you to use 2x9volts instead. Its alot lighter. This thing can feed fast enough for any gun to rip, 22bps, but if you need it to load any faster, theres the cheetah board. Your drive cone faulty? Theres the shocktech cone. The halo has a nice line of aftermarket parts you can put on it incase you ever need more. It feeds perfectly fast enough for my ion and i like it. I will most likely trade guns and such but ill always be using a halo.
Conclusion: Get it if you want to step up from an eggy or revvy.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

wombizle Thursday, March 30th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Egg2 - works well, but not as good
revvy - not nearley as good
ricochet apache - ok not as good
reloader b - only used once very similer, a little better
Marker Setup: autococker prostock 04 with cp dropfoward, oricle bolt, and an all american barrel, viewloader egg 2, 68/4500 dye throttle

Smart parts ion egg 2, and 68/4500 dye throttle
Strengths: Fast
Durable
Size
Color options
Weaknesses: Weight
6 AA batteries
kind of complicated
Review: I normaly use eggs, because I cant afford a halo, but my friend quit paintballing, and gave me his halo for $25. My biggest problem was it needed AA batteries, a lot of them. as opposed to a couple of 9v, but AA are kinda cheam so whatever.

I took it to the that weekend, and it worked flawlessly. It is really fast. my ion can only shoot 17 bps, which is plenty, and my egg covers that, but having the 23 bps of the halo was really nice. there isn't much to say, because i had no problems with it, and it did what it was supposed to. I espically likr the cone as opposed to the propellers likt on all other hoppers. I am not sure it is more effictive, but it looks real sexy in there and is unique. the weight was not the best. it ws a little heavy compared to othere

The only thing that i don't like about the halo is it's lack of simplicity. like when something goes wrong with my egg. i can sit down with a screwdriver and fix it, but this is a little harder. i cant fix it on my own, but the feed rate and duribility are so good, that it doesn't matter that much
Conclusion: If you have the money abour $110-$120 get it is amazing it is one of the best hoppers i have tried, next to the empire reloader b, but if you don't have that much get an egg, because it works good too
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

sia_simba Wednesday, March 29th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
revy x-board, Empire reloader, Egg2 y-board, Egg2 z-board
Marker Setup: DM4 w/ Freak kit, 68/45 ANS, HaloB w/rip
Strengths: In review
Weaknesses: In review
Review: I have used almost all the different type of hoppers out there and let me start off by telling you one thing, I started out not really being a big fan of halo. However, over the years, i've upgraded from original sound activated 11bps empire reloader, tested viewloaders, then upgraded to egg yboard, and then zboard and now a halob. Okay... here it goes:

The design of a halo, personally, is pretty good. The contour of the body, material its made out of and the finish is by far the best in my opinion. The shell itself is very sturdy as I tried knocking it a few times myself. The feedneck is also very thick and seem like it can hold a lot of weight. Taking apart the halo and putting it back together is NOT as bad as what people say. If you have some mechanical knowledge, it would be a piece of cake. All you need to do is remove 5 screws or so and you can take apart the shell. The only tricky thing I do have to admit is putting in the spring for the lid.

The battery harness and battery compartment is not bad at all. People say the battery harness shake sometimes, but not much. I also find that 6 AA is a whole lot cheaper than two 9volts. The only thing I can complain about with the battery area, is the fact that the screw to hold the door in place is a bit small. If halo just made the screw a bit longer and the threads a bit better and tougher, might be good. Other than that, you'll just have to get use to putting the battery harness into the compartment a certain way so that the lid can close completely.

The weight of the halo is NOT BAD at all. I don't see what people are complaining about. I have it on my DM and it balances out very well. Maybe its just the gun, but putting it on other markers I have, I don't think so. If I really have to say, it weighs by a few more ounces, less than a handful, from an egg2.

The raceway is not as bad as some might think in cleaning wise. Just stick a napkin up or down the raceway and pull it in and out. It will clean that way. The back plate to push the on/off is not terrible, though I can see how people could damage it by accident or by pushing it one too many times. I still use the stock cone and its great. No breaks yet, and its light as hell. I have the rip drive on my halo and it works like a charm.

Though, when you do clean the inside and you unscrew the screw to remove the cone, make sure you put it back in the right position so that the rip drive work. =) Now, I know some people are paying $130 for this hopper. In my honest opinion, 130 is a bit too much for this hopper which feeds 22-24bps. You can purchase an egg2 zboard for half that price and feed just as fast. However, I got my for $70 shipped brand new so I can't complain. =)

I guess the very last drawback I found out was the capacity. They say you can load up to 180balls or so, but I only fill up 1 pod full everytime because I don't want to overspill. My pod holds about 150 balls. The pan where the ball falls into is pretty shallow, so if not careful, it can fall out easily as compared to the revy, empire, and egg.
Conclusion: If you can find a good deal on this hopper, get it. I wouldn't pay $100 or more for it though. You can easily purchase an EGG2 zboard for way less than that. But function and overall product wise, I do admit, it shocked me. I am satisfied with it totally. However, I got my for $70, so compared to $130 retail or more, its half the price. So overall, I would give it a 9/10 for product by itself... only because the capacity problem.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

BAD OLE!!! Monday, March 27th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Grav feed
Egg
Revy w/ x-board
Marker Setup: spyder flash
acs derlin bolt
t-board
eyes
14' night stick
halo hopper w/ rip drive
68c1 4500 psi tank
Ryno cover
sweet spot trigger
shocktech feed neck
Strengths: Speed
battery life
durability
Weaknesses: Light activated(can't see black paint)
Review: When i got this my expectations were high. They name of the halo hopper is well known. I got this hopper and first used black shelled paint. When i stoped shooting i noticed that my hopper kept going. I decided to use light shell paint and it worked like a champ. The 6 batteries worked well and the shell is very tough.
Conclusion: If you want to buy an electric hopper you need to save up and get this. It is expensive but it is worth it in the long run.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

BigNiko Thursday, March 23rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
EVO 2
Marker Setup: -Evil Pimp
-ION
-CP lock neck
-CP Drop Forward
-Halo B with victory board
-48 ci tank
-Dye Sticky gip (on the pimp)
Strengths: -Fast Load
-Easy to use
-Light
Weaknesses: -Annoying to take apart and put back together
-Some markers can't handle it
Review: This is the best hopper out there. It doesn't break down and if you put in a Victory Board then it will catch up to the rate of fire of any marker. If you think the EVO is better because it is cheaper then you are highly mistaken. The EVO 2 breaks all the time so it isn't very good.
Conclusion: Get this hopper and shoot fast
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

dyepaintball05 Friday, March 17th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
halo tsa
Marker Setup: Diablo Wrath (red)
72/3000 pmi
halo (smoke)
Smart Parts S-Rail Drop Forward (Silver)
Empire ASA On / Off (black)
Strengths: Fast
Weaknesses: None
Review: I bought this hopper for my wrath for about $103. I would have to agree with everyone else that this hopper is a bit heavy. Just the halo by itself is really light compared to other hoppers. But on my gun it is top heavy even with my heavy 72/3000 pmi it is still top heavy.
Conclusion: Best hopper out there get one.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ase Saturday, March 11th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Empire Reloader B
Marker Setup: Black w/ Green 06 Ego, Delrin Pin, Halo B, Crossfire 68/45
Green w/ Black 06 Ego, Delrin Pin, Reloader B, System X 68/45
Strengths: Fast
Good profile
Consistent
Cheap (compared to Empire B)
Doesn't break paint.
Weaknesses: Expensive (I consider $100 a lot)
Heavy
Battery life
Stock cone breaks
No Rip Drive.
Review: Well, after getting my Ego and using my Empire B on it, I noticed I was breaking a lot of paint. I read up on it on this site as well as PBN, and a lot of people were saying that Empires will break paint with Egos, because they basically slam the paint into the breech too hard. So I got a Halo, and haven't broke a ball in the breech in my last 3 cases (since I got my Halo).

Now, I've used my Empire on my old PM6, Ion, Impulse, Cocker, and other guns and couldn't have been happier with its performance. Only with the Ego is it crap.
Conclusion: If you have an Ego, this is your best bet. Other than that, it's basically just a toss-up between the Empire and the Halo. I give it a nine because the stock cones break and it doesn't come with a Rip Drive.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

protoman12 Tuesday, February 28th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
12 v Revvy

Eggy II

Halo TSA

Empire Reloader
Marker Setup: Black smart parts Ion

Halo B hopper

MaxFlo regulator

Q-Lock feedneck

Freak 12 in barrel

47-3000 tank

Cp trigger

Cp reg
Strengths: Fast, feeds quick, low profile, rip drive is good (not necessary)
Weaknesses: Kind of heavy, doesn't hold alot of paint (what are pods for)
Review: I use this hopper on my imagine and ion and I am very happy. It works great on my ion and feeds continually so if my eyes are down I still don't run out of paint.

I do not recommend using this product on a spyder or low end gun as it is both expensive and will make you chop. The force feed system will push so hard that you will stack paintball in your barrel and wear out your ball detents.

On my ion however it works excellent. The ion has good enough ball detents so that I don't stack paintballs. Support is excellent and most pro-shops carry them. Be careful that you bring extra batteries with you because if the halo has no batteries it will not work (unlike a revvy).

It is somewhat heavy, but if you can't carry a paintball gun then go join a gym (honestly they are not THAT HEAVY).
Conclusion: I would buy this hopper only if you are going to stay in the sport and have a fast gun with good ball detents.

If you did not meet the above qualifications then you should probably buy a revvy, eggy II, or empire reloader.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, March 1st, 2006 at 6:11 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (42):  First  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  13  |  14  |  15  |  16  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media