paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Odyssey HALO B / Odyssey HALO B / Odyssey HALO B

Odyssey HALO B Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Odyssey

Buy Odyssey HALO B

Paintball Hoppers / Loaders

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Odyssey HALO B
[ View Photos (29) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 417
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: N/A
Suggested Retail Price: $140

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The ultimate in loader technology. The newly designed HALO-B.
Product Availability 
The Odyssey HALO B is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (42):  First  |  12  |  13  |  14  |  15  |  16  |  17  |  18  |  Last
        Next Page
Pigpen1116 Thursday, December 29th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
VL-egg w/ y-board, 12v revy
Marker Setup: Odyssey O3M, evil detonator, evil pneumatics, aim rods, ND on/off asa, ND rail.
Halo - B
Pure Energy 68-3k tank
Strengths: Ridiculously fast
Weaknesses: Battery life
Quite heavy even for an e-loader
Thick necks
Review: The HALO-B wasnt necessary for my mechanical cocker, but it does do its job. Normally, my HALO gets around 19 b.p.s. It is an essential loader to any high end marker or just any marker. It is a solid set up which doesnt break like the egg. There are a couple problems with this. The battery life is pretty bad (prepare to be using up a lot of AA batteries with this thing). It is also quite heavy. Lastly, the neck is unsanded, which doesnt fit all feednecks, but it fit mine... so whatever. All it takes is a little sanding, and you can get it to any size. Dont be fooled by all of these negatives, the fact this this mofo rips +- 20 bps is insane.
Conclusion: Absolutely hands down get this loader. Best product on the market.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

P-ballplaya1440 Thursday, December 29th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
viewloader evolution II
viewloader quantum (serious piece of crap)
Marker Setup: '05 Spyder Electra Stock (Comes With Rocking Trigger)
Black Halo B
48ci/3000psi Pure Energy Air Tank
Strengths: Fast
killer looks
long battery life
Weaknesses: Heavy
only holds like around 170 balls
Eye has trouble seeing Dark Shelled Paint
Review: I've only had this for about 2 weeks now and it seems to be fine. it's way better than a evo II so if you are thinking between the Halo and Evo ll get the halo, you wont regret it.

This thing is FAST! it's only rated for like 24 bps, but i was shooting like at least 26 bps
so i know it can go faster that it is rated for
Conclusion: if you want it get it, you won't be dissapointed--- Just make sure your gun can handle its speed
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, January 11th, 2006 at 4:13 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

The King Tuesday, December 27th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Eggy- Way less reliable, slower, holds more, back-heavy
Apache-Lighter, slower
Marker Setup: Ion
FBM Cage Shell
NDZ Roller
CCM No-Pro
Hybrid On/Off
Lucky Stage 1 & 2

Halo B
PMI 68/4500
Strengths: FAST
RELIABLE
Small Proflie
Weaknesses: 6 Batteries
Low capacity
Kinda Heavy
Review: Even though the halo is heavy and has a low capacity, it is by far the best hopper on the market. It can feed 22bps out of the box. That's all you will ever need from a hopper. If you buy the rip drive, it is even better, with the rip drive you can load even when you have a low battery.
Conclusion: Go out and buy one.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jonathanjt Wednesday, December 21st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Egg-decent
Revolution-alright pretty light
stock-ya
Marker Setup: Dynasty Shocker- H.E bolt, freak barrel
88-3000 P.E
Halo w/rip

used to have WGP superstock w/ titanium boomstick,eclipse ram+qev, ans gen-x2 reg. samurai trigger, worrblade kit
Strengths: Fast, consistant, looks cool
Weaknesses: Heavier than most
batteries
Review: This hopper is te one to get. Its fast and consistant which is what you want in a hopper. I've had mine for about a year and its worked fine. It has not failed me yet. My only complaint is that the battery life is not the best. It will last you a while but your gonna want to keep batteries handy at all times. Thats why i got the rip drive.
Conclusion: I'd buy it. All the pros use them and there reliable. Thats what you want.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

AznRevlAzn Tuesday, December 20th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
ViewLoader EvLution II
Kingmann Gravity Hopper
Marker Setup: Psychoballistics Super Bolt
Bob Long Torpedo Regulator Chrome
32 Degreees Macro Line twin right elbow kit
Halo B w/ Rip Drive and Z-Board
32 Degrees Carbon Fiber Barrel 14"
PMI PureEnergy HPA Tank 88ci 4500psi
Smart Parts Bottle Armor
Teflon to further seal the threads
New Designz Micro Rail Combo
Slik Lite Cocking Kit
CCM STO NoPro Chrome Feedneck
Strengths: Fast as hell
Rip Drive
Fast
Z-board
Fast
Stylish
Fast
Weaknesses: None
Review: I wish i could keep up with this hopper i really wish i could :P This is a very fast hopper and very reliable.

I ordered this with a Z-board and ripdrive already installed. If theres a Jam in the hopper it'll attempt to unjam it 3 times and if the 3rd attempt fails all mechanics stop so it won't go ahead and begin blending paint for your inconvenience. The Rip drive is also a very neat feature for the Halo. If for some reason the mechanics fail or if the batteries die out you can wind the rip drive and the spring will cycle it for you for maybe 10 shots and you'll have to rewind but it's better than nothingbecause the spring cycles the cone pretty fast, faster than the motor :P
Conclusion: I would recommend this ehopper for all electric framed guns with high rates of fire. A+ in my book.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, December 21st, 2005 at 6:03 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

xx47xx Tuesday, December 20th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Eggy-Yboard
Revvy
Q-loader
Marker Setup: Gold Smart Parts ION
CP Regulator
12" Dye Excel
Eclipse QEV
48/3000 Crossfire
Shocktech clamping feedneck
Strengths: Fast
Strong
Looks
Gets alot of oooo's and ahh's at the field
Weaknesses: Didn't fit real well in my ion, but i bought clamping feedneck:)
Review: I got the Halo B with the ION from my friend at school. I took it out a week later and it performed up to its name. I mean i can't really complain about anything thats wrong with it. The only problem was the feedneck not fitting into the ION's feedneck. Other than that, this is a great hopper.
Conclusion: Recommend this too anyone who owns a high-end marker. I was very pleased with mine, nothing to complain about.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

secshunayt Thursday, December 8th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Odyssey Halo TSA
Marker Setup: Evil Omen, with 1.5 up's
16" Pipe Barrel Kit
88 ci/4500 psi HP
Ricochet Apache
Strengths: Speed
Profile
Looks
Weaknesses: Large Feedneck
Weight
Compatibility
Review: I bought a Halo B along with my Omen, because I wanted a hopper that could keep up with the stated 25 bps. I ended up selling it though, because of compatibility issues.

Looks
First impressions of the Halo were good. It was nice looking, had a relatively low profile, and looked great on my Omen. This isn't an important category to some, but I don't want my gun setup to look like a hack job.

Speed
The Halo is obviously extremely fast, and should be able to keep up with most guns stock. High end gun owners may consider a board upgrade. I'm new to electronic triggers, so rolling isn't my area of expertise. The hopper easily empties when drop feeding in 7 or so seconds.

Compatibility
The Halo seems to be notorious for compatibility issues, and I had one also. I will not, however, take any points away for my issue, because it's my fault for not selecting the right loader for my gun. Because the Halo B is force feed, it jammed paintballs between the cam arms of my Omen, clogging things up. This is why I sold mine and have ordered an agitating hopper.
Another issue here was the size of the feedneck. It seemed extremely large, and required sanding. My main fear with this was structural integrity, and the uniformity of my sanding skills. I ended up buying a clamping feedneck, and the problem was solved.

Weight
The Halo B is hands down a heavy loader. Some players may not like this, say for longer games, unbalanced guns, etc. It wasn't a real problem in my case, because it balanced well with my heavy HP tank.
Conclusion: This Halo B is a great loader, but may not work for some players, ie. those who are concerned about weight or don't want to sand down their feed necks. Highly recommended, for the proper gun.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SoulJahofPress Sunday, December 4th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
revvys- slower
eggys- just barely slower, by like 4 bps but much lighter, slimmer, and have larger ball capacity
vl 200s- self-explanitory
Marker Setup: 2005 WGP Black Magic (black to silver)
freak barrel system
70/4500 crossfire stubby
halo B

2001 right feed wgp cocker
03 wgp pneus
03 wgp bolt
black magic cocking rod
Strengths: Very fast, especially with new boards.
ALOT of after-market shells.
Large amount of customization.
Weaknesses: See review
Review: Well, I had bought my halo B last year at NPPL San Diego, back when my 01 cocker was my main setup... With that single trigger cocker, my stubby, and the halo... I looked like a moron. Allow me to tell you a story.

I have used my halo exclusively for a little over a year, and I have always poked a bit of fun at my teammates for using eggys. I had never used an eggy in a game. I had held them and put them on my gun, but never played a game with them. A little over a month ago, we had a tourney. No big deal, local tourney fun to do, didn't really expect to do that well, seeing as we had always placed last or close to it =(. So we get there at about 6 a.m. while play starts at 9. It's always nice to get there early to get your stuff ready to play and then help the refs, stretch, pray, and relax before play starts. So when we get there, I immediately get my gearbag out and throw my setup together. I air up my Black Magic, throw some domination in my hopper and run to the chrono, expecting a line. There wasn't. Apparently I am the only one who would rather be "better safe than sorry". I turn on my halo, marker, and air. After hitting my halo button I hear the typical 'burrrr' of the drive cone, loading some nice brittle domination into my feedneck. I shoot, but nothing. I shoot again, and all I get is domination souuuuup! "Oh, no" I think, "It's going to be one of those days." I take off my loader thinking that I am chopping... But my bolt is fine, it isn't stuck in the closed position like what happens to most guns when they chop. Puzzled, I look in my halo... Little did I know the carnage that dwelt beneath my pearly shells. I look in and all I see is soup inside... "OH NOES!". I turn on my halo to feed through the mess and watch as ALL the balls that came in contact with the drive cone just break under the pressure. I take my gear back to our camp and talk to our newly acquired coach and ask him for a backup halo if he has one. He has no halo, but he does have a proto, 2 promasters, 4 e-cockers, and a matrix... helpful? haha, but he does have 3 eggys. So, reluctantly, I grab a nicely custom dyed red/blue accented eggy II with zboard and run back to the chrono. I flick the switch on and start shooting. It keeps up GREAT. Not one skip or dryfire, no starving of my black magic here! I shoot over the chrono, 279, 285, 280. I glance at my thermometer 45 degrees... rare for San Diego, the inconsistency is understandable. After watching a few hundred players at the chrono hurriedly try to fix problems with 10 minutes until their game, our game is scheduled to begin. But back to the review, I have noticed alot that when your halo flashes low battery... it doesnt mean low battery... it means "I'm dying now, and I dont feel like feeding anymore, yet I have enough power to flash this annoying freaking light again and again. Oh no, the batteries are dead, will I dream, dave? I'm scared dave! daaaaaaaave...." (light blinks out) So once they do another halo, I would like to see a low battery light that... lets you know BEFORE it stops feeding, not after.
Conclusion: Good for some, not so balanced on cockers. Try halos, eggys, and vlocitys to see which fits you more.
I'm switching over to eggy's or vlocity's once I test them both out. Because the halo is just too unbalanced for my cocker.

I give it a 9 for speed and reliability (most of the time, even though mine crapped out on me)


P.S. we got 1st in our tourney
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, December 4th, 2005 at 7:33 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

xPBPx Tuesday, November 22nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Marker Setup: Ion - Black
Dye Stickies - Blue
New Designz Roller Trigger - Blue
SP Q-Lock Feedneck - Blue
Halo B w/ Ripdrive - Blue
Short CP Reg - Blue
Blue front / Silver End 10" Dye Ultralite Barrel
Uni-Mount - Black
Dye Throttle Stubby
Dye Rhino Cover - Blue

Strengths: -Never Messes Up
-Very Fast
Weaknesses: -Bit Heavy
-Batteries
Review: Its great, i'm a frontman and alot of my teamates thought it would be too heavy and stuff but its not really and its perfect cause you never have any problems cept batteries. Another nice thing is, its ball chamber holds i think like 12.. So you can put ur gun upside down and the balls will still be snug in the chamber so you can shoot anyway you want.
Conclusion: Great, tottalllllly worth da money.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

TeamDeltaForce Tuesday, November 15th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
VL evo2
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion
VL Evo2
Nitro Duck 68/3000 N2 tank
Blue/White Body Kit
Smart Parts Smart Grips
Blue Drop and Macroline
14" All American w/ Red Freak Tip
Redz Clamping Feed
New Designz Roller Blade Trigger-Red
Strengths: Fast
Good weight displacement
Nice look
Sturdy
Weaknesses: Jams w/o rip drive
Review: This is a pretty good hopper. Its a nice and quick hopper. The weight is set up very evenly. It has a pretty sweet look to it. It has a very sturdy construcion. It opens up to load it really easily. This hopper jams easily if you don't have rip drive.
Conclusion: Don't get it without rip drive.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (42):  First  |  12  |  13  |  14  |  15  |  16  |  17  |  18  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media