paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Odyssey HALO B / Odyssey HALO B / Odyssey HALO B

Odyssey HALO B Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Odyssey

Buy Odyssey HALO B

Paintball Hoppers / Loaders

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Odyssey HALO B
[ View Photos (29) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 417
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: N/A
Suggested Retail Price: $140

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The ultimate in loader technology. The newly designed HALO-B.
Product Availability 
The Odyssey HALO B is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (42):  First  |  37  |  38  |  39  |  40  |  41  |  42
        Next Page
matn1 Thursday, April 10th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
12v rev (if you call that similar)
Marker Setup: 2k3 Cocker with Eclipse Eblade
Freak barrel kit, THOR reg with PMI 68/4500.
Halo-B
A good load of Diablo paintballs.
Strengths: Fast - Reasonable weight - CUSTOMER SERVICE ROCKS
Weaknesses: Ball breaks are a mess. Lower capacity than other loaders.
Review: I'm not going to rant about how fast this loader is. Everyone pretty much has a good idea now. Let's just say it made a big difference going from a 12v rev to the Halo on my Eblade setup.

Shell looks like it's sturdy. People are reporting shell breaks, but I guess it happens. I've has the anti-jam bead plastic rod break yesterday, resulting in one helluva of a mess. Basically, the plastic beads fell in the force feeder, and resulted in me having a brand new flame(paint)-thrower. The idea is that ball breaks in the HALO, when they happen, are quite horrible to clean up. I used to pour water in my 12v without fear of the electric components, but I'm a bit more conservative on a 130$ loader.

Aside that, the folks at Odyssey are outstanding in their customer service. I just got the replacement part (the anti-jam beads) shipped to me, no questions asked. I believe that everyone agrees their customer service is excellent. Their product could use a bit more thinking on the engineering side (the anti-jam beads could be held by a stronger yet flexible rubberish material).
Conclusion: Very good loader. I've got no clue as to how the Evo 2 performs, but I've taken a look at it, and the feeding system looks somewhat less evolved than the one on the Halo.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

magsrule Monday, March 31st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year15 of 22 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
revvys, ricos, warpfeeds
Marker Setup: gloss black Xmag w/ black Smart Parts all American 14", Black Halo B, AGD flatline with black tank cover
Strengths: FAST (20+ bps)
Weaknesses: sucks on some guns (read review body)
heavy
Review: These things are great. with brand new batteries, they will feed around 23 bps. even with almost dead batteries, they can feed around 20 bps. If I want to outrun it, I have to try at it.

On some guns (especially closed bolts) these things are blenders. Since it has downward pressure on the ball stack into the breech, the bolt will sometimes knick the second ball if the balls are small bore so when it's loaded into the breech, it's damaged and is likely to break. This is also a problem with powerfeeds, because there is so much pressure on the balls, it doesn't have room to drop out of the feed neck and into the breech. thats all that keeps this thing from getting a 10.


of course, a center feed mag with lvl 10 will alleviate these problems easily.
Conclusion: by this if your revvy is no longer cutting it.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, May 3rd, 2003 at 1:50 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

tippmann>angel Friday, March 28th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
12 volt revvy ricochet ak and a normal hopper
Marker Setup: 98 custom rt trigger double trigger 14 inch tear drop remote line 12 volt revvy soon to have low preusre and hpa
Strengths: FASTer then a bat out of hell lol
Weaknesses: really heavy it is consistan when you have low balls but hey wat is
Review: this is a great hopper if you are a back player and need the fir power front players get a 2k or a AK those are light and feed faster then a revvy evo 2s are nicee to but they cant touch 22 bps the halo is heavy but it is fast the neck may need some sanding down or if ur lie my friend alot fo sanding down A WHOLE LOT but odsey is a greata coimpany you can send back ur halo to get updated for only 10 bucks and its worht it its great sutomer service
Conclusion: if youtr gun can shoot 20 bps get this hopper its worth it and dont get a revvy no matter wat they have gone to crap im veyr disapointed in mine
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

CockerDude02 Saturday, March 8th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Halo A, TurboRev, Richochet 2k, 12vlt W/ xboard
Marker Setup: Tricked out GZ Intimidator w/ Equalizer board
Strengths: Keeps up with MOST markers unless you have a timmy with an equalizer board. Never outshot it with my freeflow cocker with race frame, impulse, or angel.FAST, up to 23 bps anyways.
Weaknesses: I OUTSHOT IT!! I chop every now and then when I'm playin rec ball, but in tourny's i can only shoot about 20 bps and havent outshot it in a tourny yet. I thought nothing could outshoot this loader? Don't use any paint with black on it.
Conclusion: Unless you have a gun with an equalizer board get it! Well worth the money.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Playa70 Thursday, March 6th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month24 of 33 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
VL Revy w/ x-board and vortex impeller
Marker Setup: Green/ Silver Reverse Fade Splash EM1 (8-dip Model)
14" Boomstick
N-Bolt
68/3000 PMI fiber tank w/ lok socs and mountain dew wrapping (really looks cool)
Green to Clear Fade HALO B
Gladiator Reg
Micro Rock
Chrome Kapp DZIII w/ on/off
Check It Reg Adaptor
Angel low-rise
Angel Frame
Gold valve
Double detents
LPR Mod
Strengths: Ok, I just got this today and this baby is FAAASSSTTT!!!! I did a drop test and it beat a revy easily. Here are the good things:
1) really fast
2) looks awesome, a whole lot better than an egg looks
3) really fast
4) lid stays on securely
5) available in many colors, and you can dye them
6) awesome customer service, although I hope I never have to use them
7) feedback is too big so you can sand it for that perfect fit
8) did I mention that it is really fast??
Weaknesses: there are very very few bad things about this loader:
1) expensive but hey, you get what you pay for
2) batteries are a lil pain
3) only holds 180 balls
4) does't perforn 100%% w/ low balls
Conclusion: My conclusion is that this hopper is worth every penny. I haven't tested a egg II yet but I hear it is really fast. I prefer the Halo though because: looks better, is a lil faster but not much, and it's sleek design is better. But hey, everyone has their own opinion and this is mine. Later
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

2theMaxx21 Friday, February 28th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
12V Revvy, Ego 2
Marker Setup: Angel Impact IR3 black to silver dust fade, Cobra bolt, fang grip, Halo B, SP drop, 45/68 Max Flo, SS Freak back w/ 14" AA tip, SS buttons.

2k2 blue dust Fly LCD Angel, with basically all the same mods as my Impact IR3
Strengths: This thing is made well, and loads fast! I like the sleek shape of it. The shell appears to be made of lexan, which is very durable. I own 2 Halo B's, one for each of my Angels, and they both perform flawlessly if you perform a couple simple mods. These loaders are known for pushing pretty hard, so on Angels it's recomended that you put a little grease on the belt to let it slip a little. And get a stronger detent like the Cobra Indestruct. This might not be necessary on some markers. Just give it a try and see what happens. Odyssey also has some helpful tips on their website for getting the Halo B to perform well. Odyssey is a great company and has good customer service. I hope that they continue to stay in business and keep making great products, dispite the lawsuit from stupid Brass Eagle.
Weaknesses: It's a little heavy, but that usually means that it's well made. Be prepared to sand down the feedneck. It was easy with a dremmel tool and sanding drum bit. SOme guys complain about having to sand down the oversized neck, but this lets you customize it for a tight fit in your feedneck without having to put tape or something on it to make it fit tight.

Note: if you sand off too much you can spread on some Super Glue gel on the neck and let it dry. This will be like adding plastic back on the neck.
Conclusion: I got my brand new Smoke Halo B's for $100 each on Ebay. I've seen them sell on a couple websites for $110.

The Halo B is my #1 choice so far. But the Ego2 comes in a close 2nd.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, October 6th, 2004 at 1:25 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

AK47 Saturday, February 22nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
12v xboard revy
Marker Setup: PE 68 4500, Halo B, classic timmy
Strengths: Feeds consistanly, strong shells and a clear lid. When it jams it will not break paint messing up the day. I was looking for a faster feeding hopper since my revy was too slow so I got this.
Weaknesses: Loaded on my gun makes everything real heavy. It takes 6AA batteries and the cost is alot but you get what you pay for. Only holds 170 and on ocassion jams.
Conclusion: There are more bad then good but the bad are minor in comparison to the good. If you plan on or can shoot faster then 17bps then this is the hopper for you
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

keithrig Wednesday, February 19th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
View loader 12V revy, Evolution II, standard viewloader
Marker Setup: M3 Black Dragun Sniper LCD, Halo B (smoke), Dead X ex chamber, delrin bolt, teardrop 14"
Strengths: 22+ BPS-Fastest available bps loader available. Comes in many cool colors, sophisticated electronics/motor. Solid look/feel. Looks good on a marker. WILL catch up when set on full auto 20bps! I know, I tried it!!
Weaknesses: Switch is kinda tricky at first. Not adjustable speed. Can't gravity drop unless you get that attachment from oddyessey. A bit on the heavy side. Be nice if It could hold a few more balls.
Conclusion: This is the best hopper you can buy. However, keep in mind that Halo's are only intended to work in high-end markers. If you put it in your low end spyder or brass eagle marker, it might double feed since they're not suppose to go that fast. The evoultion II might be more versatile since you can set it at 4 bps for the slower pump and semi markers. Why get a bulky ass warp feed when you could just get a Halo B.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

shotinpaint Saturday, February 15th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
12v revy- not as fast but lighter.

Ricochet 2k- not as fast, but lighter. and not as good looking.
Marker Setup: I have an airgun designs e-mag with a dye ultrilite barrel, HALO B, 68ci nitro, and shocktech drop forward.

My other gun is a diablo LED matrix with the alligator trigger, shocktech front reg, a bee-hive reg, a pbc mid rise with smoke Halo B, and a shocktech dropforward.
Strengths: This is the fastest hopper available. I have never used a hopper as nice as this one. I will never use another haopper after useing this one. its really that good.
Weaknesses: The only bad thing is that the batteries dont come with it and isnt the lightest hopper but that wont affect the performance.
Conclusion: In conclusion this is the nicest hopper in looks and performance and plan to shoot this as long as I play.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ReTro Boy Wednesday, January 22nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
VL200
Revvy
Revvy w/ x-board
Ricochet 2K
Evolution I

Halo is by far the fastest loader....
Marker Setup: Toxic Vision Impulse
I-Frame with Blue Dye Stickies
Jackhammer II LPR
Eclipse DART Valve, DART Bolt, SS Hammer, Valve Cap, Fangz
ND Slik-Shot Ram Shaft, Bolt Pin
Full Freak
Strengths: Where do you start...oh yeah, the speed. Dang this thing feeds extremely fast. Short fast bursts! Long fast strings...it doesn't matter, you will not skip a shot.

It has a nice big lid, easy for loading quickly and easily.

Odyssey has AWESOME customer support. They believe that their product should never break under any circumstances and they fix it free of charge. Quite possibly the best company for support EVER.
Weaknesses: It is the heaviest hopper on the market, but if you are that big of a weenie...

Being the fastest loader also means that it feeds the balls with more force than any other hopper. Here's the problem...it may push the balls past your ball detents if your detents are weak. The Eclipse Fangz detents are worthless if you have a Halo B! It will also push past the PTP side detent. We have had it push past autococker detents, automag barrel detents, Pirahna detents...it just pushes really hard. That seems to be the biggest problem.

Takes 6 AA batteries...thus the weight problem. The batteries also don't last as long as 2 9v in a revvy so you are replacing more batteries more often. That can be costly.
Conclusion: I haven't shot the Evolution II, so that being said, the Halo B is the best loader on the market. I know it is the fastest! If you chop paint because you outshoot your hopper, then get a Halo. You won't outshoot it...
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (42):  First  |  37  |  38  |  39  |  40  |  41  |  42
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media