paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Odyssey HALO B / Odyssey HALO B / Odyssey HALO B

Odyssey HALO B Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Odyssey

Buy Odyssey HALO B

Paintball Hoppers / Loaders

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Odyssey HALO B
[ View Photos (29) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 417
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: N/A
Suggested Retail Price: $140

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The ultimate in loader technology. The newly designed HALO-B.
Product Availability 
The Odyssey HALO B is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (42):  First  |  38  |  39  |  40  |  41  |  42
        Next Page
KaosNMU Tuesday, January 21st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
9v Revvy - Um, yea... This thing was GREAT when spyders were considered fast..
12v Revvy w/xboard - Great hopper for mid ROF guns such as non-electro cockers and mags, shot well for me... Just couldnt keep up in a pinch with my faster guns.
Marker Setup: Nasty Vision Impulse - Red to Silver Polish Fade
- Matching Freak
- 68/4500 Raptor Rex
- Kapp Drop Zone Red Cradle
- Magno Trigger
- Vision
- Vert Max Flo
- ND Slik Shot
- Soon to be Evil Respirator to replace tapeworm
- Halo B
Strengths: The Halo B does just as advertised, it feeds FAST! I was astonished at the rate actually. The looks are the best available for a hopper in my opinion. The shells are relatively tough, and the feedneck although a pain to sand down does offer the custom fit for everygun.
Weaknesses: 1) Weight - Heavier than other hoppers, but not a problem really unless your a woman (no offense to the lady ballerz)
2) If you run low on paint, it feeds worse than a revvy 12v/xboard... The spring force feed concept relies on a steady feed of balls, so if you let it run low on balls say 20 or so then it starts to skip feeds and leads to a chop.
3) Mega battery hog, 6AA to run this tank, but its worth the speed!
Conclusion: Overall the best hopper I have used. If you have a high ROF gun and don't want to spend a fortune to retrofit it with a WARP then definitely get the Halo B, its a dead sexy loader and is fast as anyone can shoot anyways.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

trox14 Wednesday, January 8th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
16v revy
Marker Setup: Automag RT pro w/ Halo B and 68 Ci 3000psi pure energy tank
Strengths: This thing feeds insanely fast! I just loaded the paint back into the bag so I could see how fast it fed and it was a rope of paint coming out.
Weaknesses: A bit heavy, uses 6AA bateries, and I don't like the fact that it isn't a constant feed it goes for a bit and stops, then goes again.
Conclusion: If you need a hopper to keep up with a high end gun, get this you can shoot all day with no chopping.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sscocker505 Tuesday, December 24th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Evolution II, 12V Revy, Ricochet 2K, 9V Revy
Marker Setup: Red 2002 Vertical Feed Cocker, 20 Oz Co2, Chrome WGP Hinge Trigger, 8" Smart Parts Venturi Barrel, Red Psycho Ballistic Pro Drop, Black EvoII, Polished Front Reg and Vertical Reg.
Strengths: This thing is nuts, it can outfeed my Evo II by about 3 BPS. I have my EVO set at 18 BPS and i never break balls, but im getting an Eclipse EBlade Frame, so im gonna need a faster hopper, and this is it. Ive only tested it on my friends Black Dragun, we were having fun and set his frame to full auto at 20 BPS and the hopper kept up, no breaks in the feeding, just constant balls. This thing is nuts. If you dont need a crazy feed rate this thing puts out, id recomend an Evolution II if you cant pull the trigger that fast.
Weaknesses: I thought it was a little heavy for a loader, but that thing can put out. the feed neck needs to be sanded to fit a vertical feed, but nothing more.
Conclusion: 9V Revy: 200 Rounds-19.75 seconds
12V Revy: 200 Rounds-13.90 seconds
Ricochet 2K: 170 Rounds-14.40 seconds
Evolution II: 200 Rounds-9.5 seconds
Halo B: 170 Rounds-8.5 seconds
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mullet Thursday, November 21st, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
normal revy
Marker Setup: Kapp Bonebrake Autococker
68 3000 Crossfire
Longbow Barrel
Halo Belt Drive
WGP Hinge Trigger
Gladiator reg
Shocktech Bolt
CP Drop Forward w/ On / Off Valve
Strengths: EXTREMELY FAST FEED easy to turn on
Weaknesses: a little on the heavy side, cant sense black / half black balls takes 6 AA batteries needs a lot of sanding to fit in feed needs some force to open lid
Conclusion: i would highly recommend this hopper to anyone playing paintball it feeds extremely fast and is pretty damn cool lookin the belt drive does help when feeding when you have half black balls it sometimes senses them and stop trying to feed them but when it doesnt sense them it continues to try and feed and could cause some trouble when playing a game all and all this is an extremely good hopper and should help you a lot on the playing field
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bkarow Saturday, November 16th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
View loader 12 volt clear shell, View loader 12 volt black shell X-board
Marker Setup: custom autococker- black w/red splash
2002 Intimidator- black to grey fade
Angel LED- black
Strengths: This loader is by far the best loader on the market. Paint capcity is 170. Viewloader is 180. You could sqeeze five extra paintballs in the HALO if you really wanted to. The loader is well built with a reinforced neck that is built to last. This loader rips every other loader on the market hands down.
Weaknesses: The only thing I have to say not really bad about this loader is the wieght. Once you put the batteries in and load the paint, the loader is quite heavy but you totally forget about it once you start playing. Also the neck also needs to be sanded down to fit you gun. But other than that, it's all good.
Conclusion: I did a test between the HALO B and my Revy 12volt X-board to see how fast the loaders emptied the paint. The results are as follows.

HALO B- 175 capacity- 8.65 seconds

Revolution 12volt X-board- 185 capacity- 13.15 seconds

This is the only loader that can keep up with todays electro guns. Instead of buying a revy, just save a little extra money and buy a HALO B. You won't regret it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

thomas976 Thursday, October 31st, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Ricochet 2K Doesn't even compare...
Marker Setup: PMI Piranha
Dye sticky grip
J&J ceramic barrel
PE regulator
venturi bolt
Halo B loader
Strengths: This loader is awesome! I used to chop balls when using gravity fed hoppers, now I can just buzz the trigger and never chop a ball. This loader actually puts spring tension feeding the balls in instead of just agitating and letting gravity do the rest. Weight is not a problem, very well balanced. Also Odyssey claims that the batteries last for 20,000 shots, haven't needed to change batteries yet so I can't confirm that... Overall an excellent product... Oh yeah, It's made in USA by Americans! (unlike brass eagle)
Weaknesses: The only bad about it is that you have to sand a fair amount off the neck to fit the gun, other than that it's perfect.
Conclusion: I definitely reccomend the Halo to anyone, it made my el cheapo gun into a thrashing machine. Buy one of these right after you upgrade your barrel. It's worth the extra money, every penny of it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

CaustikSpecies Monday, October 21st, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
12v revvi
Ricochet AK, Ricochet 2k
Eggy 2
Marker Setup: m3 pariot series stars and stripes(stock) w/ACI Graffiti Series Flag Barrel 12.5"
Odyssey H.A.L.O. Belt Driven Loader(black)
=]
Strengths: --Great looks
--Very fast feeding up to 20+ bps. Fastest loader on the market
--Not 2 expensive..lol if uve got the money
--Not heavy at all that people say, not saying ut weak to those people but it really isnt that heavy
umm
simply the greatest hopper ever
Weaknesses: --Nothing, except the feed neck is very very wide. you have to sand it down yo fit ur guns size, meaning that if you get a new gun in the future it could unfortunetly be to small and you could have to use it for the same gun forever. Its possible
--To some people mayb the price im 14 and i really dont have that much money either, but i get money from mowing lawns, saving my unch money, and my b-day just passed so i saved and got this. This prce is quite pricey but if your willing to spend the money its the best 109-114 dollars you can ever spend on a loader
Conclusion: This s the greatest loader ever invented. If you've got the money go buy it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Impulse_Cowboy Sunday, October 20th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Revolution 9V, Revolution 12V w/x-board
Marker Setup: Blue 2002 Nasty Impulse Vision, Vertical Reg., Magnetic Trigger, Blue Halo B, Stainless Freak Back, Blue All American Front, Tapeworm, Kapp Chrome Drop Forward With On/Off, Blue Smart Parts Grips, Voodoo Delrin Bolt.
Strengths: As soon as I opened the box I was amazed at how Clear blue and Shiny it was. I put it on my tippmann 98 custom first so I didn't have to sand the neck down right away. I have the response tirgger on my tippmann and I was amazed at how fast I could shoot without breaking a ball. I took my dremel after that and then sanded the neck down to fit my Impulse. Once I had the perfect fit, I ran outside to test my Impy. I couldn't believe the Speed!!! Although I never have ball Chopping problems, I know everytime I pul the trigger now it will fire.(Vision) People say that it is akward but I think it looks cool and don't have any prolems with it being a little heavy. The good looks and Excellent performance makes up 100 percent for it being bulky and heavier than my Revy. I also like the push button feature. I don't know how many times My revy accidently turned on in my bag and batteries ran low. A+++++ to Odyssey for they're talented engineers...
Weaknesses: I had a hard time getting my hands on a clear blue halo b so the wait was very patience testing. I finaly found some instock and got it for $121 Shipped! Great Price considering that the Retail is $140 plus S&H (Thats Good). Back to the bad. When I opened the package I pulled the Halo out and two of the long Screws fell out. The Halo is held together by long screws with nuts at the other side. While that was a nice feature, it took awhile to get the two nuts seated properly so that the end of the screws could reach them (DON'T ODYSSEY HAVE A QUALITY INSPECTION)? Other than that The Product was awsome and deserve more than 10/10.
Conclusion: In conclusion, I believe over the course of the next couple of years you will see a Halo B on every marker setup. This Hopper is very fast and well worth the retail price. People will catch on and realize this is the loader to have...
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 29th, 2005 at 12:48 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

C]-[iLDe Wednesday, October 16th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year162 of 172 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Halo A
Evo 2
Revvy
Marker Setup: Champagne Fly iR3
Silver/Champagne/Bronze Fade Dark iR3
Smoke Halo B
68/45 Pure Energy OR 45/45 Nitro Duck Mega Reg
J&J Edge Barrels
Strengths: - PERFORMANCE
The Halo will feed in excess of 22 balls per second. I did some impromptu testing of my own; Over 10 attempts, the Halo emptied 100 rounds in an average of 4.2 seconds (23.8 bps). It is simply the fastest loader available today. It is not humanly possible to outshoot this loader with any gun in semi-auto mode; There will ALWAYS be a ball chambered and ready to fire when you pull the trigger. End your chopping woes FOREVER!

- CUSTOMER SERVICE
Odyssey goes above and beyond the call of duty in supporting their customers. After a customer's initial purchase, they will correct any problem or replace any damaged shells free of charge. Whats more, they are available thru email and telephone to answer questions and address concerns. Odyssey will NEVER leave you without product support.

- BATTERY EFFICIENCY
I shot about 8-10 cases through my Halo B before the batteries needed to be replaced. A word of caution, when the Halo's low battery light comes on, replace the batteries IMMEDIATELY!

- UPGRADES from 'A' VERSION
The Halo B is now easier [than the Halo A] to turn on and off, its easier on paint, its quieter, faster and comes in a variety of colored shells. The battery drainage problem also seems to have been remedied in the B version.
Weaknesses: - WEIGHT
While not very heavy in itself, the Halo B is heavier than any other loader available, due in part to the complexity of the force-feed mechanisms.

- PRICE
When I first bought my Halo B, it was about $140, although now they can be found for $100 or lower.

- LARGE FEED NECK
While its a good idea to allow players to size their feed necks to their individual markers, its quite bothersome to sand/melt/grind down the Halo neck to the correct size. I was forced to purchase a Dremel ($65) to properly sand mine down - I wasn't about to use sandpaper by hand.

- BROKEN SHELLS
I encountered an issue with my Halo shells cracking for apparently no reason. On several occasions, I observed damage to the loader even though it hadn't been hit, banged up or anything. However, Albert from Odyssey was MORE than helpful in getting my shells replaced and getting me up and running again. This seems to be an isolated occurrence; I haven't heard of many other people complaining about it.
Conclusion: The Halo is the fastest loader in the world. Odyssey's customer service is second to none. If you are serious about maximizing your ROF while eliminating chopped paint, get the Halo B. You won't be sorry; there simply is no other choice.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
68 Comments - Add Comment

pmburn Wednesday, September 25th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Only used a non-motorized hopper and tested a 12-volt revvy
Marker Setup: 2002 Vertical Autococker
Shocktech Drop Forward
Smart Parts Tear Drop Barrel
Strengths: This hopper is simply amazing. I knew that it would be amazing, but I was not expecting it to be good to the degree that it is. Even right out of the box I was impressed with its looks (I got it in smoke), I had heard that it was huge, but it isn't. Go to www. warpig.com/paintball/technical/loaders/halo/review/shtml to see a size comparison of the Revvy, Halo, and Richochet. It is a review of the original Halo, but you can find a review of the new laoder at warpig anyways. All I can say is that it is simply amazing how good this loader is. A lot of planning went into it's development. When I filled it with paintballs and just emptied it back into the back of paintballs, it emptied in less than 9 seconds!! All 180 paintballs in 9 seconds! Also the Halo-B(according to the manufacturer) feeds faster than a Warp Feed, without all the bulk.
Weaknesses: Only holds 180 paintballs, but if you have a harness and pods then that's fine.
You are supposed to not use black or half-black shelled paint, but it feeds fine for me. I emptied the entire hopper of HALF-BLACK paintballs in 9 second, so I noticed no difference, but I have no clue about all black shelled paint.
Conclusion: I am totally impressed with the Halo-B, it is amazing. If you want a faster loader, go with the Halo-B. You can't go wrong with it, it's faster than both the 12-Volt Revvy and the Richochet, even a Warp Feed!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (42):  First  |  38  |  39  |  40  |  41  |  42
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media