paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Odyssey HALO B / Odyssey HALO B / Odyssey HALO B

Odyssey HALO B Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Odyssey

Buy Odyssey HALO B

Paintball Hoppers / Loaders

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Odyssey HALO B
[ View Photos (29) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 417
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: N/A
Suggested Retail Price: $140

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The ultimate in loader technology. The newly designed HALO-B.
Product Availability 
The Odyssey HALO B is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (42):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  Last
        Next Page
NickBizzar Tuesday, May 8th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: Ion
Q-Lock
Virtue Eyes
Progressive Barrel
Hybrid Grips
CP Rake Trigger
XSV Rail
360 QEV
S.P. On off
and T-board to come
Strengths: Feeds pretty fast, not $140 anymore, just about 120.
Weaknesses: Occasional Jam. Lid sometimes hard to get off.
Review: The HALO is a very nice hopper, and it feeds a good amount in a short amount of time. There's not a whole lot to say about this. I've had one jam in using this hopper and all I had to do was stick my fingers in the hopper and just move all the paintballs around and it unjammed itself. So that worked out fine. Battery life is fine. I replace after about two full days of playing just to be on the safe side. Easy to turn on and off, and after looking at it you are already a pro at using it since it's pretty easy and there's only one button that you can push, so that's not too complicated. The lid sometimes is hard to get off at first, but once you use it a good amount and open and close it, it's fine after a while, but I'm still going to get a speed feed for it. They make a good amount of upgrades for the HALO so if you want to get those 4 extra b.p.s. feedrate in you can buy a rip drive or a new cone or whatever. Bodies are pretty sweet, but I'll never get one since they're just kind of a waste of money and just for looks. But yeah, this is a good product and I reccomend it.
Conclusion: Nice hopper. Feeds fast enough, and there are the upgrades for it if you want them.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Schnauze Saturday, April 28th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
None really... but I notice a lot of people with eggs taping the heck out of their gun for durability, while the halo is fine on its own.
Marker Setup: Ion with stock barrel, 3000psi airtank, super low pull on trigger, halo hopper
Strengths: Feeds fast
Durable
Good on batteries
Weaknesses: A little over $100
Weighty
Get clamp feed or you'll be sanding your halo
Review: The hopper lets you shoot ungodly fast and can be customized and upgraded in quite a few ways. If you have a slow gun don't buy this because its a high price and you wont need it. But if you have a fast gun this is a must-buy in my opinion. I have the smoke colored one which is a low profile colour that still lets you see how many paintballs you have left in the hopper. The lid opens very easily and quickly. If you ask me this hopper blows the egg out of the water because it is more durable 'n' such.
Conclusion: Buy this hopper if your a tourney player or you have a fast shooting gun. This hopper "in my opinion" (don't dispute my review for this) is the best one you can get right now.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

C4ndyM4n Monday, April 23rd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock 98 loader?
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion-

New Designs Bolt, Q-lock
New Designs Roller Trigger
Virtue Board
Smart Parts ASA on/off
Smart Parts S rail
Evil Detonator Reg
Smart Parts QEV
Blue HaloB w/ Rip Drive
72/4500 Empire LP Fuel Tank
Strengths: Sweet looking, Capacity, Ease of Use
Weaknesses: Shell is a pain in the ass to get off.
Review: Before I got into speedball I always saw the vets, at my pro shop playing with these loaders on their Angels and Matrices, so I decided I'd get one for myself when I got a good gun. I picked mine up for I think around 100ish, w/ no rip drive or V35 board. This hopper is a beast I have a Virtue board in my Ion, and I have yet to out shoot my stock Halo. Being able to pump out 25+ balls a second is great and all but since tournaments cap at 15 bps, whats the point? Sure being able to impress your friends and put the hurting on people at scenario games and stuff, but I just never really felt the need to shoot more than 15 bps. Battery Life is a good factor also, I've had my Halo for a year and I've only replaced the batteries once, and I play every sunday usually.They have good capacity also, you can fill em up with a single Dye Locklid pod. The only downside is that dissasembly of the shell on this thing can be a pain in the ass, having to unscrew and push out a bunch of little screws, and sometimes it dosent fit back into place over everything just right, so it can be a little tricky to put back together.This is a great hopper if your looking to go high end electronic loaders. I picked it over the egg becase it has a way lower profile, the egg seems to stick up out over your marker a lot more than it should
Conclusion: Pick up a Halo. They look awesome and are great to use.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

RollTideFan Monday, April 9th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Extreme Rage (I forget the actual name it was my first loader)
Vlocity
Gravity feeds
Egg
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion
Q-lock
S-rail
SP on/off
Freak JR. barrel
Strengths: Battery life
Speed
Capacity is decent but still good
Weaknesses: The feed neck is quite big for most feed necks
Can get jammed
Review: When I first got this loader from my local shop I was very excited about it because I have always wanted to own a Halo b. Right out of the box thsi thing was awsome. I was shooting about 17 bps that day and this thing kept up fine. this is a great loader for anyone who has a fast marker. GET IT YOU WILL LOVE IT!
Conclusion: All in all this loader is great and i reccommend it to anyone.
I give this loader a nine because it does have a large feed neck and I have gotten a few jams here and there but like I said it might just be the paint im using.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

angrysasquatch Sunday, April 8th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
2 years0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
gravity hoppers, halo tsa, evolution 2 w/ z-board, revvys. And none of these hoppers touch it.
Marker Setup: Used on a DM4 for 6 months, getting a ULE mag soon
Strengths: Speed, upgradability, common (your field will have parts), breaks very few paintballs.
Weaknesses: Weight (not really for me), kinda becomming outdated
Review: I think one of the best things about the Halo B is the upgrasdability. You can pick one up for dirt cheap used, then use it till you need more paint fed. Then you can go upgrade it. There must be 50 or so upgrades for it. You can make it faster (board, batteries, motor if you really need it), more reliable (drivecone, rip drive), lighter (battery pack). The possibilities are endless.
All types of egg suck, I've personally seen a z-boarded egg 2 break an entire hopper of paint. Of the other high end hoppers, Pulses are way - overpriced modified halos. People have been intelifeedng their halos for years, but oohhh the pulse doesnt have a wire going to the hopper, agggggg. I've never seen anything good from viewloader since k2 took over. Not really one for the velocity's looks (still). The reloader b might as well just be a halo modification IMO.
Conclusion: Anyway, thats my take on halos and other hoppers, my halo has always treated me right when I treated it right.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Slammed0 Tuesday, March 27th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Veiwloader Evolution II
Halo TSA Backman
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Epiphany
Halo B Hopper
DXS 48/4500 HPA tank
Strengths: Looks
Speed
Quiet
Upgradable
Weaknesses: Shell can crack
Dark paint can confuse sensor
Takes ALOT of batteries
Review: I like this loader. It has never done me wrong. It is fast and I don't think I have ever came even close to out shooting it. It is quiet and upgradable. I have an even faster board I haven't put in it yet. I haven't needed to yet. Still, this loader is excellent. I have always been very happy with my purchase of it.

Some Cons: It does take 6 AA batteries which I thought was alot. And I have gone through 1 outside case already. I don't know how it cracked. Could have been my own fault. Last weekend the loader was acting funny and I think it had to do with some darker paint I was using. I have heard that the sensor has a problem with darker paint and I may have experienced that. Hard to say though.
Conclusion: Awesome loader!! It does have some weaknesses, but then again what doesn't?
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

epygit Tuesday, March 27th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
empire b
Marker Setup: Ion
Halo B
Q-Lock
Strengths: Fast
Cool Looking
Weaknesses: Intermitant
Review: This is a great hopper... A+++... it is good looking, and it is fast (23 bps). The only problem i hav with it is that it can be, "intermitent", if you will... I do not know if it is just me, but it feeds really fast, then takes like a 1 second break, then starts feeding again. In a full hopper, I have it stop feeding for about a total of 3 or 4 seconds. But other than that, it is great. Besides, it's not like I shoot 23 bps constantly.

Conclusion: This is a definite buy
A+
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

reaper7 Tuesday, March 27th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
friends empire egg
Marker Setup: ion stock right now but goin to have cp trigger cp reg trinity body black heart board empire grips
Strengths: It is very durable, light feeds good
Weaknesses: Just don't get the eyes dirty see review
Review: It is a very good hopper it is light on my gun when ever i shut the door on my hopper it doesn't open only when it want to its good for the money like i said don't get the eyes dirty i was playing at a field one time and some how i got dirt in there and it kinda stop working i just had to turn it on and off a couple of times when i was playin other then that it is a very good hopper its worth the money
Conclusion: I would buy this hopper its good for the money this is probably the only hopper im ever gonna have its that good
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, April 2nd, 2007 at 6:30 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

(SpC)ace448 Sunday, March 25th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
A variety of Eggs, Stock grav hoppers
Marker Setup: Ion, Halo B, 68ci 3000psi
Strengths: Its a fast feeding hopper, lid opens easy
Weaknesses: Heavy like a mother, drains batteries like no other.
Review: I got a Halo B for my new sexy Ion. Pulling it out of the box i mut say i was impressed. I was so sleek and pretty looking i fell in love. I put my new feed neck on my Ion plopped her and in and shot a hopper through my gun. I was impressed at how well she feed my balls.
However was i tore though my bag of balls i found a couple of down sides. The halo B wieghs a a ton. With out a 9v conversion it takes 6 AA batteries and littlerly doubled the weight of my marker. Also the button is a pain to turn on, and is very fickle, meaning it turns on then off becuase i pushed to hard, or refuses to trun on right away, untill i play with it. The most important defect is that the screws are coming loose on mine and after a hard day of playin i usually have to screw them all the way back in. I have yet to figure out why.
Conclusion: I would get this product. My personal probluems aside this is a quality product. But i would get a rip drive for it as well. Ive had two games where the batteries have died mid game in a cluch.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

MFrymus Sunday, March 18th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Haven't used any others
Marker Setup: Epiphany (Black)
Halo B (Smoke)
47/3000 Pure Energy Tank (Well havent got my own yet)
Strengths: Fast
Easily pop open lid
Lid is secure
Does not break paint
Weaknesses: Heavy
Price
Shell cracks
Feed necks big
Slow on low batteries (But fast enough)
Review: Well actually I haven't used my gun and hopper in a game yet because i got it 3 days ago but i tested it out on my gun and it was very fast. On low batteries i was going a bit slower than usual but it was still fast enough for me to use.

The shell of my halo cracked in several placed near the screws and lid but they were ver minor. The only advice is if you ever open up th hopper Do Not tighten the screws on tightly.

The batteries for the Halo definitely is a problem. It uses up to 6 AA batteries. What i figured out was i threw out the 6 AA batteries an thew in a 9v square battery and it worked fine. The weight definitely lost threw those batteries so you should try it out.

The feed neck of the hopper is a bit to big for my new Epiphany. I havent changed the feedneck on the epiphany because its not a clamping feedneck just a normal one with 2 o rings. I recommend sanding it down to the proper size or just spend a little cash on that.

I have not used and paintballs that are black or very dark but i heard from people and on reviews that the eyes on the Halo cant detect the paint but i have no idea if it is ture.
Conclusion: This is one of the most popular and best inexpensive hoppers out there. It may be a bit pricey for some people but if you get a used hopper you definitely save a lot. All that is necessary to do is to sand down the feedneck and try to replace batteries for one 9v square battery

PLEASE RATE MY REVIEW!!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, March 18th, 2007 at 5:46 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (42):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media