paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / CMI International Thunder Pig Barrel / CMI International Thunder Pig Barrel / CMI International Thunder Pig Barrel

CMI International Thunder Pig Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount CMI International

Buy CMI International Thunder Pig Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


CMI International Thunder Pig Barrel
[ View Photos (5) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 93
Average Rating: 7.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
No Description Available
Product Availability 
The CMI International Thunder Pig Barrel is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (10):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
ShadowJedai Monday, September 13th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: PMI Piranha BL Powerfeed, CO2
Strengths: Intimidating, Fairly Accurate over stock barrel
Weaknesses: Can't operate at high pressure very well, very loud
Review: I bought this barrel to be a sniper. the gun i had at the time was used, and didn't shoot over 170fps. with that setup, i could hit pretty much anything i aimed at. however, when i bought my new Piranha EXT Pro, the accuracy dropped off like a fat kid at an all you can eat buffet. My friend used it with my old gun and it works like gold. great as a backup to a better gun/barrel combo. plus, it's a hassle to clean if you break paint.
Conclusion: ok if you're a beginner and are short on cash. it's pretty loud, and the Chrome doesn't help for stealth. i'd go with a J&J ceramic for a little more, but you get your money's worth
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

dshfro Tuesday, August 24th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
whisper barrel
Marker Setup: Spyder Xtra
14" CMI Rifled barrel
Psycho Ballistics Bullet Drop w/ on-off
ricochet 2k
Recommended
Paintballs:
anything but really cheap stuff (brass eagle, etc)
Strengths: Looks
Rifling
Price
Weaknesses: Kinda loud
Review: I got a 16" for my old raptor. It really increased the performance of that old gun! I was so impressed with it I got a 14" for my spyder xtra when i got it. The barrel is surprisingly accurate for $20 (ebay!) I think the rifling helps a ton with its performance. The muzzle break makes it look mean, but it also makes it loud.
Conclusion: Not the best barrel on the market, but for $20 a super deal. 7 for the barrel, 10 for the price, so I'll give it an 8
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

LiteEmuP69 Tuesday, August 17th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Marker Setup: A-5 with a RT and a red dot, and unfortunately a thunder pig
Strengths: A bit quieter than stock
Weaknesses: Unconsistant, a bit loud, and way to long
Review: About a year ago i wanted to be a "sniper" really bad and the old stock 8 incher was not working out for me. So instead of reading PBreviews i looked at the size and price of the thunder pig, which was a mistake. It is very inconsistent, not quiet at all, and is simply not very accurate. The good thing is that the 21 inches tends to be a little intimidating when playing your local nerds, while they are scared the good paint baller you are up against should be happy to see you and your broomstick. There have been numerous times i could not get shots of, not be able to hide well, and not be able to go places due to its length. From now on i highly recommend 16 inches.
Conclusion: Well if a VERY tight budget and you would like a broomstick then i guess get it. It is not the best barrel and i would spend the extra 5 to 10 dollars and get a much better one like the nyte stick, J&J ceramic which are all around $40. They say a rating of 5 is average and a 1 is worst, but its not the worst but by no means average i am going with a 3 right between
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

vicious666 Thursday, August 5th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
none (thank god!)
Marker Setup: procarbine, 14" bigshot, houge grips, polished internals, air tipps hammer, silenced and polished back bolt, extensive trigger work, madd man springs, custom dragunov style stock, vertical adaptor.
Recommended
Paintballs:
those that are blessed by god to not break (that is what it would take)
Strengths: None unless you hate accuracy and like a flame thrower affect
Weaknesses: Innaccurate, as long as a broom stick, zero balls make it wont take it back.
Review: ok, to start off dont think that the streight rifleing in this barrel works, IT DOSENT if you think im full of shat then put some two color shell paint in your gun turn down the fps so u can see and observe the obvious strobe affect imparted by the SPIN when u fire. this brings me to my next point the ridge down the center of most paint acts like the seam on a baseball it imparts drag on the air surrounding it if it spins your gun is throwing a CURVE BALL (a realy bad thing) and it always spins the ball. and that brings me to the next point it sprays paint like a air brush dont know why. we put it together in the right fashion in the right directions and it
spit every time I think it does with all the rough edges in the barrel and the made in mexico quality . Also 21" in a paintball gun is pointless all it does is cause more drag on the ball and a average pb gun does not spit enough gas out to fill the barrel completely so by the time the ball reaches the end of the barrel it actualy slows due to friction and a vacuum behind the ball (not a prob if the barrel is ported) 14" is the maximum usefull leghth also there are lots of burs in the barrel that throughly blends the ball before it exits. this barrel is a disgrace to the word sniper.
some say it is intimidateing but I think it makes u look like a paint spraying moron.
Conclusion: Get a barrel from brass eagle or something made in a sweat shop it would most likely perform much better. Too bad there is no minus rateings
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

BrycefmHurlburt Monday, August 2nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock spyder barrels
Marker Setup: Spyder Victor with Thunderpig barrel, rebel bottomline setup with psi reg
Recommended
Paintballs:
I have used everything from cheap zap seconds, to Marbalizers, with only 2 ball breaks, both on the same day in december playing in cold, cold, weather where the barrel iced up due to liquid co2 in the marker
Strengths: Inexpensive ($20.00-$30.00)
Ridiculously accurate
Just looks cool.
Weaknesses: None, unless you frequently play in extreme cold.
Review: This barrel is just flat out awesome. I bought it for my spyder victor to replace the stock 7.5 inch barrel. The model I have is a one piece, 12 inch with tru-flight rifling. The name is misleading since rifling is actually spiraled grooves put into the barrel of a firearm to spin the bullets. In paintball spinning causes the balls to zip off in one direction in mid flight. The thunder pig barrels have straight grooves running the full length of the barrel to remove spin from the paintball, causing a very accurate flight. When I say accurate I mean, accurate. I shot this side by side with my friend using a 98 custom w/ flatline and we both had groupings exactly the same size from 50 yards out. Nothing compares to the flatlines flat trajectory, but for pure shot on shot accuracy this comes pretty close, (at at least $100.00 less). If you have a tippman and money buy a flatline, but if you just want great accuracy at a great price, go with this barrel. You won't be disappointed. I don't know how people can be breaking paint in these, unless they have a two piece they are putting together backwards.
Conclusion: Buy it. You won't be disappointed. If you are, something is probably wrong with your marker, or you are shooting brass eagle paint.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pro_sniper Sunday, July 18th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder xtra stock,and other stock barrels
Marker Setup: spyder xtra, shocktech super fly bolt, universal T-stock, 21inch thunder pig barrel, red dot scope, clear flat panel grips,shock tech low preasure cell and a sling
Recommended
Paintballs:
anything as long as you shoow the gun slow enough for the paint to get out of the barrel
Strengths: Accurate
Quiter than stock barrel
Intimadating
Looks bad @ss
Weaknesses: Very long
Still preaty loud
Possible to thread backwards
Un-manueverable in thick cover
Review: This barrel rocks for sniping if anyone tells you different they have not used it enough to
sight in. if valosity is too high or low it will throw the shots off.

some very minor problems would be the length and noise but these are very minor compared to the accuracy that you get from this barrel.
Conclusion: Some people say it chops paint but they might have the middle of the barrel threaded backwards i did this once to check if that was the trust or not and it is.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

BackPlaya4Eva Wednesday, July 7th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock (HORRIBLE)
Empire Twist (just as tight pattern, but balls landed to the left ALOT)
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98c
Quantum hopper
expansion chamber
anti syphon kit
20oz tank
no creep/over travel trigger
double trigger
gun mounted in m40 rifle stock
silencer
Recommended
Paintballs:
Proballs
Worr paint
Strengths: VERY acurate
6" patterns at 105yd's
quiet
Weaknesses: To long for fast moving
Needs a higher velocity because of length
Review: This barrel is a vast inprovment over the stock m98c barrel. I can throw my marker up, and hit a telephone poll from 105 yards away, 9 out of 10 times. You will need to turn your velocity up more to acheive 300fps, because the length of the barrel with create drag. very quiet, and the muzzle break really does help ball turbulance. great for woods game back players, who do not move around alot, and stay prone.
Conclusion: Only get this if you are a back position player who is well concealed (ghille prefferably) and stays prone.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

GoodOldPenelope Monday, June 28th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
91/2" Stock Barrel(Sucked)
12" Viewloader VL Barrel(Sucked)
18" Thunder Pig Barrel(Semi-Good)
Marker Setup: Spyder Compact 2in1 Java Edition,
18" Thunder Pig Barrel,
Expantion Chamber,
E-Marker trigger frame
Recommended
Paintballs:
32 Degrees Team Colors,
Any PMI paint
Strengths: Not costly,
Better than stock barrel(Nice upgrade),
Looks nice
Weaknesses: It doesn't shoot that far,
breaks cheaper(Wal-mart) paint
Review: This is not the best barrel you can get but for 30$ it is well worth your money, that is if your a newbie. If you have been playing paintball for 3 or more years than I would not recommend this barrel. You can get a real nice Custom Products One Piece Barrel for about 50$, now thats a nice barrel.
Conclusion: I would recomend this barrel to anyone who is making there first barrel upgrade, but for 20$ more you can get a much nicer barrel
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

PhatDaddy3 Sunday, June 13th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye Boomstick 12"
Marker Setup: Stock Java w/ 16" Thunder Pig barrel
Recommended
Paintballs:
Blue Streak, Dusk, Super Swirl, any kind really
Strengths: Rifling, Many colors,
Weaknesses: Somewhat fragile, only fairly accurate
Review: Overall this barrel isn't too bad, considering the price. However, if you have the extra little bit to spend, I'd recommend something a little better. The barrel is accurate to a degree. At 100 ft or so you have about an 8" to 12" spread, so the balls aren't too well grouped. I might be a little over exaggerating i guess, might only be 6" to 8", but still....

Also i found that the barrel is somewhat fragile. When i bought mine I was lucky because i bought insurance on it. When it came in the back (part you screw in) had a little notch in it to the point that paintballs wouldnt feed through the barrel... a major problem. I did try to fix it and did by using pliers to bend it back to a straight (curved) surface and balls could feed in. However it chipped the paint, looked ugly, and would catch about 1 in 50 balls and break them in the barrel. So i sent it back and got a new one which was fine and has worked pretty good.
Conclusion: Basically, its an alright barrel for a beginner who just plays for fun, but not really designed to be accurate enought for serious or tourny play. I reccommend spending the extra $$$ on a better barrel that is more accurate. I'm getting a J&J Ceramic 12" for my new E99 and only paying $31 with shipping (off ebay) for it, a better barrel for only about $10 or $15 more. I give it a 7 because its price (i paid $20) reflects its quality.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

semaj113 Saturday, April 17th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: tippmann 98 custom 20oz 9oz this barrel
Recommended
Paintballs:
ne thing works good
Strengths: accuracy speed good for sniping
Weaknesses: kind of big
Review: i think this barrel is great. i mean when i first got it i had my doubts. but now its awesome. i sit in my back yard now and then and squrriels come by i usally hit 3/4. with my old barrel i never hit none. today i played paintball with this barrel for the first time. my friend was a little scared to play with me. i hit by taking only about 3 shots each new game we played and hit him 1 out of the three. he was about 40 yards away each time. he said it hurt bad and i could c that when he showed me the welts. this shoots amazing.
Conclusion: id say get this barrel its cheap and its really good for sniping and intimidation. and the accuaarcay is outstanding
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (10):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media