paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Old Shocker / Smart Parts Old Shocker / Smart Parts Old Shocker / Smart Parts Old Shocker

Smart Parts Old Shocker Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Old Shocker

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Old Shocker
[ View Photos (3) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 39
Average Rating: 9.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $695

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The new Shocker is faster, smaller, lighter and better looking than the previous Shocker style. It still has the accuracy, flat trajectory and extremely low ball breakage due to the low pressure operating system. In addition, they have upgraded the electronics, wiring and grounding to make the Shocker far more reliable.
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Old Shocker is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
esplodingseal Friday, May 12th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
4 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
angel LED
Marker Setup: 2K2 Shocker 4X4
68/3000 pmi comp. air tank
14" AA barrel (stock)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Blade Trigger
Freak Back (good idea)
if yours is not a Vert. feed GET one
Fast Hopper
Strengths: Fairly Fast
Stock Barrel is an AA
ACCURATE

very nice trigger pull
Weaknesses: the MAX FLO REGULATOR the one that came with my shocker is terrible
Review: ok first time i played with it i was able to hit guys on the break at a rec ball field (it was pretty far away) i hit every one i was aiming at basicly if they didnt get out of the way in time(which was the case most of the time) they were hit. loved this gun its also VERY quiet ull love it if u get one and u should get one ther pretty cheap now days on ebay...
Conclusion: Buy it
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

hellion360 Sunday, December 4th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
All electro's
All closed bolts (except sovereign)
Marker Setup: PBX Excalibur
F Smart Parts Viking
Palmer Super Stocker
Palmer Blazer
Recommended
Upgrades:
Clamping Neck
Blade Trigger
Compressed air tank
Strengths: Accuracy
Current Cost
Noise signature low
Stable
Weaknesses: Air efficiency is poor, very poor
Big
rectangular
Review: The 2002 Shocker is a nice marker, especially at the price you can get them at used.
200 bucks for a complete setup is not uncommon. Recently I saw an eclipse shocker go for 225. These markers were one of the earliest successful electro's.

They are reliable and very accurate. Lube them up and take care of your regs and they will work like champs. Also it is not difficult to lube them, just unscrew your bolt, apply dow 33 and screw it back in.

Even though they are kinda big they are not unreasonable and generally they are well balanced.

Some people might take issue with the 12bps max rof. But for rec play who really cares? The Shocker's of old may not "mow faces straight off" but they are real tack drivers. Who cares if you hit someone fifteen times? One in the face will do it and the shockers really delivered on accuracy.

There is one major flaw in the shocker plan and that is the air efficiency. It is really pretty dismal. These suckers blow through air like crazy. (So do the new shockers but that is another story.) Back in the day players were using 114 cubic inch back mounted tanks to feed these monsters. In tournament play nowadays the efficiency is a killer. But for rec play with all day air, it is no big deal.

If you are the sort of player who likes to sneak around then the shocker is a great choice. They are just silent. Sort of a dull thump sound when fired. Hard to pinpoint, it just whispers the balls down the field.
Conclusion: I really enjoy playing with 2k2 shockers. They have a great feel and are super quiet.
The accuracy is outstanding and the sound is minimal.
Efficiency is terrible but for rec play I don't care.

Get one used and enjoy, an excellent, reliable, low cost electro
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, December 4th, 2005 at 9:56 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Reflexingbrick Wednesday, August 31st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
......
Marker Setup: 2001-2002 Shocker mix (Spare Parts)Different colors : P
-14" Freak
-Evil Part
-NewDesignz Bolt
-NewDesignz on/off with mount
-Under Barrel Maxflo Mount
-Gadget Grip
-Eclipse Trigger
-Twist Lock Feed Neck
Dye Reflex Autococker
-Gen x Reg
-Boomstick
-Evil on/off
Phantom
-Its a phantom what do you want me to say i put a hydromatic cunoodle on it...
Recommended
Upgrades:
Delrin bolt tip
Fast loader...ill explain later
Evil Part
Strengths: Accurate as an autococker. little kick or recoil and very flat trajectory like the autococker.
Weaknesses: Air hog...only if you dont upgrade
Review: Ok let me start by stating that for all you stupid nubs that just started playing that since you weren't around when this came out. This was probably the most revolutionary marker ever created in the paintball business. This or the angel are arguably the first electro pneumatic guns to ever come out in paintball and since angels where british this marker started the electro pneumatic craze in america. For all you stupid kids that like bounce this gun started all the controversy with that with a little thing called turbo. Whether that's a good thing or a bad thing....

Pros
-DEADLY ACCURATE
-Ridiculously consistent for its time considering you where comparing it to spiders and old cockers not knocking cockers or anything i mean i got one
-Very upgradeable ...not anymore cause its pretty much vased out as a popular marker
-Ultra low impact bolt i will stick my little pinky finger in it and shoot all day and not feel a thing
-Doesn't break paint i mean its nearly impossible unless its your fault by bad paint (i.e Heat)
-Probably one of the quitest guns ever made
Cons
-GAS HOG but is easily fixed if you buy the delrin tip with a combination of evil part you will get 1000 shots from a 68/45 which is pretty good even for today's standards
-I wont be the first to admit it but this is one big boy of a paintball gun i mean large
-People may not believe me but if you want to get the full potential out of this gun you need a halo even if it can only cycle 14 bps the bolt cycles to fast for an egg at full bolt speed
-Timing and maintenance can be complicated if your not competent and good mechanically and kinda electronically competent
Conclusion: To conclude this im giving it a 9 even though when it came out it deserved a 10 but do to it becoming older and older everyday and the fact thats its getting harder and harder to find aftermarket parts its will be bumped down to a 9.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, August 31st, 2005 at 10:48 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

homernukem Friday, June 17th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann, A-5, carbine, 98, 98 custom
Automag, Classic, 68, minimag, E-mag
PMI Piranha EVO
Spyder
They all suck compared to this but the E-mag is the only one id compare this with
Marker Setup: I have a 2002 shocker
with an adjustible drop forward
use macro line
have max flo ( I hear this is the only reg that can keep up to air demand)
I use a empire 2 hopper (don't buy one of these spend the extra money on a halo B or at least an egg)
It has an aftermarket trigger so everything is adjustible
stock board though
47 cu inch nitro
Recommended
Upgrades:
The trigger is a must it rails how light I have it set
if I could find one I'd put a power-feed on it or a vertical feed body
Strengths: Shoots pretty fast
Extremely accurate
Closed bolt so it's pretty quiet 200psi helps too
Weaknesses: There isn't any ball detent
It's heavy
Review: I am very impressed with this gun. I don't think I'll ever buy a different gun.
When you shoot this thing it doesn't kick at all. Most people don't think of a kick when you shoot paintballs, but once you shoot one of these you cant go back. The only real problem is it doesn't have a ball detent so you are forced to use the right sized barrel or the paint falls out the end and you shoot and nothing comes out. You can shoot as fast as you can and hit the same spot time after time. I use to have an Tippmann A-5 with a 16" barrel and I thought that was pretty good pretty accurate. But after this gun I cant go back. I also have a mag it is pretty accurate but this gun puts that to shame. my friend has an e-mag so the trigger on that is just as easy to pull but I can't stand to shoot that after this gun. this gun as long as the hopper can keep up it woln't chop the only thing I've seen better is my friends e-mag it has a level 10 and woln't chop even crappy paint but they still brake in the barrel.
Conclusion: If you can afford one get a shocker it will be the last gun you ever get. Heck I got one off e-bay for $220 it puts all other guns to shame. NOTE I say this but I've never owned a very high end marker like an angel. but if you are going to get a very high end marker make sure it has an anti chop mechanism like eyes and PMI Piranha EVO doesn't count the eyes suck only work half the time even if they are clean as they can be
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jedunnigan Sunday, January 30th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Vision Impulse
2003 Shocker
Marker Setup: 2002 model Shocker V-Sport serial 24556 (Recently purchased from ydna).
Upgrades include: SP Voodoo bolt tip, Eclipse rokit piston, NDZ Halo no-rise, NDZ Blade trigger, IPB NDZ ball detents, SP Gadget grip, KM2 Morlock board, Beam-break anti-chop eyes with internal wire mounting, Rear-mounted power switch, Custom fire/reloading LEDs installed into the frame, Horizontal Max-Flo regulator with quick-disconnect fitting, Freak back with 14" All American Front
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Bolt
New Trigger
Foregrip ( I dont know why it didnt come with one)
Strengths: Very reliable
Never chops paint
Consistant
Easy maintanance
Weaknesses: Gas hog
Review: I love this gun. I have put probably 4 or so cases of paint through this gun and I have NEVER broken paint. It may not shoot that fast but it does the job. I love the feel of it, although it may be heavy it makes up in accuracy because of it. I play front and have no problem lugging it around when I play. It is VERY easy to maintain and should only take you a few minutes to do, if that much.
Conclusion: If you like a very realiable gun and dont feel the need to shoot that fast, I would highly reccomend this gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

clecko54 Wednesday, November 24th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Any gun currently on the market i've tried it. Matricies, Intimidators, Impulses, new shockers, old, tons of cockers, you name it.
Marker Setup: 2002 Black Shocker Sport
NDZ Blade trigger
Dye sticky grips
Gadget grip
16 inch AA and 14 inch freak kit
68/45k maxflow tank system

96 right feed mini evolution cocker
all the evolution parts..the best stuff for cockers
palmer inline reg, ans vert reg
68/45 Air America Apocalypse system
ANS e frame
Recommended
Upgrades:
Blade trigger is a must first of all...the stock trigger is terrible. New grips are good too, since the stock ones are uncomfortable. New rise, barrel, and front grip, either gas thru or maxflow reg depending on the tank setup
Strengths: Accuracy and distance....can't be beat.
Weaknesses: Slow and heavy...doesn't bother me, but might bother you.
Review: The shocker is quite a unique gun. Out of every paintball gun i've ever used, this is my personal favorite. The first time i played with one, I was shooting the tips of people barrels from 30 feet away. So I new one was for me. They are capped at 13 bps, but since the balls fly straight as a lazer to whatever you are shooting at, 13 is all you'll need. Not only that, but you'll never have to lift the barrel more than 10 degrees off the horizon to reach anyone. The distance is amazing. When i was out playing outdoors, i would be shooting right at someone while they have their balls break on branches trying to arc their balls to reach me. It was astounding. The gun needs dow 33 like an addict needs crack, but lubing the gun up is easy and take 2 minutes. you can get 2 ounces for 10 bucks anywhere. The gun certainly is a gas hog too. on a 68/45k tank, i got off about 5 pods and a hopper before running out of air. I'm going to get an 88 or 92ci stubby so that problem will be taken care of. If you want a gun that will hit any exposed part of someone's body or gear no matter how small, and no matter how far away, this gun is for you. It can shoot a fly's wings off at 100 yards. (Well, not really, but you get my drift)
Conclusion: This gun is the culmination of accuracy and distance. The smart parts shocker is king. You want fast? get a timmy. You want to hit what you are shooting at without emptying a loader jsut to hit it, get a Shocker. You won't regret it.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, August 21st, 2005 at 11:04 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

LUAP Wednesday, November 17th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
nothing
Marker Setup: '02 shocker, vert feed, teflon bolt (i made myself), gadget grip, turbo board, magno blade trig, Halo B, 71ci 4500psi tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Gadget Grip
Delrin Bolt
ANY other trigger than stock!!!
A BIG TANK
Strengths: ACCURATE! ACCURATE! ACCURATE!
if this were ANY more accurate, it should be illegal! j/k
Weaknesses: gas hog
doesn't come with a foregrip
heavier than most markers
limited ROF (13bps)
Review: I LOVE this marker! i have been using it for 2 years, and despite the market growing and surpassing me, i still bring awe to the field when i play with this bad boy. even though it is kind of slow, and a huge gas hog, it shoots SOOO accurate. this thing would be a VERY good sniper type of marker in a scenario game. VERY LITTLE KICK!!! in fact, the kick is almost non-existant!

i would HIGHLY recommend this marker, though it will be hard to find for sale, you could try pbnation.com or shockerowners.com.

it is a very good marker for the "one shot, one kill" players. and for the players that don't mind having a limited rate of fire.
Conclusion: I think the shocker deserves a higher rating, but the restrict me to only 10/10, so I guess I'll put that. If you want a good reliable marker at a reasonable price, get this!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, December 18th, 2004 at 4:42 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

asere2004 Saturday, October 16th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
timmy's, impy's, cockers
Marker Setup: 2k3 VF cocker, shocktech supafly, orracle tickler, evolution 3-way, evlution ram, red CP reg, 16'' freak, cam adjuster, z-board eggy, and PMI 68ci/3000

I was using a 2002 shocker all stock except delrin bolt
Recommended
Upgrades:
Better trigger, a gas thru grip and possibly a barrel kit
Strengths: Fast
Accurate
preety light
simple
easy to maintain
Weaknesses: Right feed
Preety long
no eyes
no gas thru grip
Review: I recieved this gun to help my friend try to sell it cuz he has a better gun now. i had heard so many things about this gun being that it was humongous and heavy , hence why they call it a shoebox. however, when i got the gun i was suprised that it was as tall and as wide as any impulse except just a bit longer. this gun shoot amazinly fast. i could probably get 16-18bps. and it has cocker accuracy making it real good for a backman. one thing bad about it is that it doesn't have any eyes , but its ok cuz i know it won't out shoot my eggy. it also has a right feed. i'm more used to a center feed but its perfect if you want to put on a warpfeed or a q-loader. this gun is easy to maintain and super simple. all you have to do is unscrew the bolt, wipe it, lube it, and screw it back in.
Conclusion: This gun is awesome don't listen to anybody that criticizes the gun for being heavy. if you want good speed awesome accuracy, and simplicity, then the shocker is for you.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

DragunJ2 Tuesday, August 10th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
None compare to the accuracy and utter perfectness
Marker Setup: 2000 WGP Autococker, 114ci nitro duck carbon fiber tank, john doe drop, mammoth trigger job, evo hopper
going to get a 2002 shocker in a week or two
Recommended
Upgrades:
Turbo board and blade adjustable trigger mabey a new barrel for speedball I am a frontman
Strengths: The accuracy of the barrel right out of the box.
Weaknesses: It does not come with a front grip.
Review: Ok heres my review I was able to use my little brothers gun his 2002 vert feed Shocker at a local course called Diamonds edge. Against the kind of people who have a case to their backup case to use on their timmys and 2003 Shockers that shoot 20 bps. I just shot at the guy at the back of the field like he was 3 feet away and nailed his bunker almost every time it was sweet.
Conclusion: This gun is insainly accurate and reliable it is truly a well built machine
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Winter Friday, August 6th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Impulse, Angel LCD, Angel Speed
Marker Setup: Angel Speed
AA Raptor Rex 68/4500
Empire gladiator cradle
Strengths: Accurecy, easy to use, cheap(used), fairly silent.
Weaknesses: Heavy, bulky, compared with other markers this thing is hugh.
Review: I bought a used Shocker sport to use as a backup. The marker performed great, it is very accurate, and and easy to maintain. Comes with a max flow regulator witch worked excellent. The only problem i had with it was the size, i am used to smaller markers and when i started to use this one the size took a while to get used to, I found myself leaning out to far several times, with the big stock barrel its a behemoth. Still the gun is fairly silent and accurate at great distances, the weight also makes it very steady.
For a back player this gun would work well.
Conclusion: Because of the introduction of the 2003 Shocker these markers can be found really cheap, this is still a good marker and a good first step in to the expensive world of electro's. The size, weight is to its disadvantage, but thats about it.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media