paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Airgun Designs 68 Automag Power Feed / Airgun Designs 68 Automag Power Feed / Airgun Designs 68 Automag Power Feed / Airgun Designs 68 Automag Power Feed

Airgun Designs 68 Automag Power Feed Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Airgun Designs

Buy Airgun Designs 68 Automag Power Feed

Paintball High-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Airgun Designs 68 Automag Power Feed
[ View Photos (9) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 270
Average Rating: 9.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $499

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Its patented, all stainless, blow forward valve system has been designed for the demands of 1000+ round tournament games. The 68Automag's phenomenal rate of fire derives from its short trigger pull and Advanced Integrated Regulator. The 68Automag Power Feed is available in both Hopper Left and Hopper Right styles.
Product Availability 
The Airgun Designs 68 Automag Power Feed is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (27):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
DalekDYE Sunday, April 17th, 2011
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
I only own two markers. But it is far more accurate than most markers.
Marker Setup: 68Automag Power Feed Right
16 inch Custom Products Classic barrel
Co2/Compressed air depending
Clear Extreme Rage bent elbow
Stock condition otherwise
Cheap hopper
Sight rail
Red dot scope
Adjustable custom stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
Get the Intelliframe if you want to use it for speedball, and if not, get a stock for increased accuracy on the woodsball/scenario field. Get a good hopper so you don't chop too much, especially if you have a quick trigger finger, get a long barrel, only Custom Products and AGD sell them right now... As far as I know.
Strengths: Accurate, air efficient, moderately quiet (depending on barrel), light for era, durable, compact for era.
Weaknesses: Slower firing, bolt tricky to remove.
Review: Honestly this marker is great. I love it and it's in near stock condition! It fires amazing. My cousin gave it to me as a gift. He didn't even use it for almost 15 years before I got it. It's lighter than most markers of its era and is also fairly compact. It's only about a centimeter longer than my 09 Electra! The bolt is a bit hard to clean though... The line that runs from the regulator makes it hard to remove. The screw pin system can also be a bit irritating. The bolt itself once you get it out is easy to clean and perform maintenance on. I even heard that Greg Hastings owns and uses one! I am very proud of my 68Automag Powerfeed and actually out-played a guy with a BT TM-7. Then again I've played probably a bit more than him, either that or refined my form a bit more than him, but whatever. Not what matters. The longer barrel helps a lot.
Conclusion: If you find this marker on the market anywhere in working condition, buy it. It's worth a lot, it's a piece of paintball history and it's an all in all great marker. This marker is perfect for beginners or pros, it's easy to maintain, accurate and fun to shoot.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Dover Thursday, March 24th, 2011
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Invert Mini - electronic in-line version, albeit poppet and not blow-forward, uses DOW 33

Bob Long Closer - again another in-line poppet but this time needing DOW 55 lube

Nothing else compares to the mechanical AutoMag. Nothing.
Marker Setup: I'm a hardcore poor gun whore, lotsa markers and counting:
Orange County Bushwackers SL66
Sacramento XSV Ego 06
1 of 150 blue e-star camo Etek1
Bob Long Closer
DYE DM4 (dust black)
Proto Minion 2007
SP Ion (ShockTech body kit)
SP Ion XE
WDP Angel LED 1999
APS Angel A1
2 Invert MINI (gloss black, dust olive)
5 WGP Autocockers (Bob Long, 2 E-Cockers, pump Trilogy, E2)
6 AGD AutoMags
2 JT E-Excellerators
1 VL E-marker
1 Piranha/PCS USP pistol
1 Piranha EVO
Recommended
Upgrades:
Whatever you feel like; so many variations are possible. Very customizable marker that has dropped in price.

Strengths: Indestructible
Runs on CO2 or HPA
Low Maintenance
Weaknesses: Heavy
Review: Invert Mini - electronic in-line version, albeit poppet and not blow-forward, uses DOW 33

Bob Long Closer - again another in-line poppet but this time needing DOW 55 lube

Nothing else compares to the mechanical AutoMag. Nothing.

My first AutoMag was a grey powerfeed body with metal stock frame and i ran a vertical ASA on it, with a MiniMag 8" barrel.

The silver barrel totally gave me away in the woods, but the short barrel allowed for "tactical" moves.

I then acquired a 16" Smart Parts barrel and played sniper for a while, as well as back player. The length of the barrel didn't really let you swing around easily in woods and urban environments.

Now i own fours Mags in Penticton and another three in Vancouver, so seven in total?

What can i say, so many variations are possible. Very customizable marker that has dropped in price.

Electronic grip frames have even come out; i own the Boo-yah and CenterFlag Hyperframe.

Customer Service from Airgun Designs is superb. www.airgun.com

Also they have a huge online community: www.automags.org
Conclusion: Excellent mechanical marker that were once quite expensive, but now are easily affordable. Run as Rental Markers due to their low maintenance and durability, i would recommend the AutoMag to beginners as well as seasoned veterans.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

robander3 Saturday, May 17th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
4 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Automag RT [& Pro], WGP 03 Pro Stock [well the frame of one, every part upgraded]
Marker Setup: Chrome power feed body
lvl 10 bolt
Hurricane Valve
Dye 2 finger trigger frame
Fore grip
tournament lock
Dye ultralight
Smart Parts Freak System
Recommended
Upgrades:
NEED a level 10 bolt, a two finger trigger frame too [makes gun alot fast], if you can find a hurricane valve [really rare, its the back valve made out of aluminum and has the 8 holes drilled in it, makes it uber fast] and that all you really need to make it pure
Strengths: Speed
Accurate
Easy to Maintian
Weaknesses: Weight
Review: Amazing gun, really gun to shoot, accurate. Most people say you can't get the gun to shoot below 800psi, mine shoots @ 550psi, probably because of the hurricane valve. W/o the level ten its like a soup maker but w/it, the gun won't ever chop, I've had mine for about 1-2 years and i might of chopped 2 tops, but those balls were old 'n stuff. The gun is easy to work on and upgrade unlike the autococker were you need to deal w/timing. It can outperform a cocker in every way [speed accuracy upgrades etc]. I highly recommend this gun who wants a top of the line gun w/o having to deal with battery's. I have also gotten my trigger pull less than that of an electro spyder.
Conclusion: I highly recommend this gun to anyone who wants an excellent mechanical gun. It'll out shoot any other mechanical gun out there and some electros. Many up grades to make the gun as personal as you want, its very unlikely you'll see two of the same gun [unless the owners keep it completely stock]. I have been more than pleased with my gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

garbageman_705 Wednesday, October 3rd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts "Ion" (blow forward design but does not compare)
Automag "RT"
Automag "ULE" with "X Valve"
Marker Setup: 68 Automag Classic valve with standard bolt, hopper left power feed, Benchmark double trigger frame, PMI green bottomline with red macroline, air thru foregrip and 12 inch Dye Boomstick first generation.
Recommended
Upgrades:
In my opinion you do not really need any, if you like a double trigger get one, if you like a foregrip those are nice, but the gun performs wonderful stock, the rest is personal preference.
Strengths: Stainless steel construction, reliability, indestructible, can shoot underwater, AGD has great product support.
Weaknesses: It is a little heavy, twist lock can be a pain(see below)
Review: I highly recommend this marker to anyone and everyone. It always shoots, in the rain, covered in mud, full of broken paint, underwater, it shoots when you pull the trigger. When I got my first Automag I took it all apart not knowing anything about it. I was amazed at how simple everything was. To clean it you literally remove one screw, pull the trigger and the whole firing mechanism slides out the back of the gun, its that easy!

One thing that I find irritating about the Automag is the twist lock barrel, while I really like this type of barrel it can be a pain. For instance if you break a ball in the barrel in game you have to turn off your hopper, flip the gun upside down, shoot the last ball out of the breech, remove the barrel, swab and replace it all while keeping the gun upside down. If you don't do this, when you remove the barrel all your balls will come rolling out the end of your gun(the ball detents are in the barrel) and if you replace the barrel without turning the gun upside down and making sure the breech is clear you will break a ball upon reinsertion of the barrel. But even with the annoyance of the monkey dance you have to do with the twist lock I still prefer it over threaded barrels. If you do break a ball in the breech it gets all over the bolt and spring, kind of a pain takes about 1 minute to clean properly.

If something ever goes wrong with your Automag that can not be fixed with an O-Ring you can send the valve back to AGD for a rebuild with the redemption of a star(all new valves come with stars on the side)talk about product support!
Conclusion: Every true paintball enthusiast should own an Automag, if not just for a back up marker. If your Ion wont shoot you know your mag will, and even though they are mechanical they still shoot remarkably fast, you can get like 7-9 BPS with a stock trigger and no mod's.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Badd05 Monday, February 12th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
4 years
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
WGP 2K2 Autococker (Tricked)
Flatline Model 98 (Tricked)
2002 Bob Long Intimidator (Tricked)
Marker Setup: 68 Automag Powerfeed Left Powder Coated w/ Silver and Black splash
12" Dye Boomstick
Intelliframe w/ 12V Revy Connected
12V Revy
Nickel CP Micro Drop
Nickel CP ASA
Crossfire 68/3000
Recommended
Upgrades:
Electric Hopper
Possibly New Grip Frame (Not to important)
New Drop Forward
Strengths: *Best all round hyperball gun for under $250
*Very fast rate of fire
*Very Compact
Weaknesses: Slightly on the heavy side (If you are very weak)
Thats about it!
Review: Very good begginer and intermediate level gun with upgrades that can take it to a tourney level gun. Wouldn't suggest any other gun because the price is to low and the upgrades are to plentiful! The gun is so easy to field strip and even clean out at any given time. The main paint I would recommend is Diablo Blaze paintballs.
Conclusion: I recommend buying this gun and doing as much to it as you can and putting a pic up on this site so everyone can feast there eyes!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Aslan2005 Thursday, May 25th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Prodigy E-Grip
Spyder Model One
Rebel LE
Raptor Silver Eagle
Marker Setup: .68 Automag Classic w/Level 10 upgrade
KAPP Rhino Drop, Check-it ON/OFF, AGD gas-thru foregrip
Intelliframe with Intellifeed modification
Dye Aluminum 16" barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Level 10 superbolt
Intelliframe
HPA with Gas-thru foregrip
Strengths: Reliability
Affordable (used)
Upgradable
Excellent Customer Service and Forum
Weaknesses: Expensive (new)
inefficient with air
heavy
blender without Level 10
Review: This is the first high end marker I've ever owned. In my opinion, AGD makes the best markers on the market. If you can pick up one used for around $100...it will serve you much better in the long run than any new piece of junk off the rack.

It is highly upgradable and the forum automags.org is full of people who can help you with anything you need. The greatest thing about the parts and upgrades for this marker is that each part is quality. The valve is technologically superior to any paintball part I've ever seen and the Level 10 bolt is an amazing piece of technology.

This marker is solid...easy to maintain...shoots accurate...really nothing wrong when it's got the appropriate upgrades. BUT...I must warn that without a Level 10 bolt and HPA, a Mag can give you alot of problems. You can easily chop balls with the standard bolt...too easily. And the valve does not like CO2...so you will eaither need to use an antisyphon and expansion chamber or you really should switch to HPA (NOT LP!!!).
Conclusion: It's well built, reliable, shoots straight, can be bought used for little cost. The few drawbacks are perfectly fixable with a couple upgrades.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jtcass Wednesday, November 2nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
nothing really..... Tac-one
Marker Setup: right side power feed mag, lvl 10, 12"dye ss, 12" all american, classic valve (also have rt pro), Dye blade double trigger, duckbill asa, gas thru stock, Diablo frontman hopper, and NITRO
Recommended
Upgrades:
LEVEL 10 and a motorized hopper
Strengths: The accuracy is unmatched.
the lvl 10 doesn't chop a ball.
small and powerful
Weaknesses: Trigger pull is a load (3 lbs)
Review: i bought this gun after i had a tippmann 98C for about 3 years. it was good, but i was ready for a change. I looked at new and the prices pissed me off. i went on ebay and found a decent one for 175. when i got the thing, i thought it was a pistol. i put co2 on it and froze the valve, then i bought a nirto tank and i was amazed. the balls dont curve! That was one of the main problems with my tippy. I've put quite a bit of money into it, and i think it was worth it. this will be my last gun.........unless AGD has something else up their sleeves
Conclusion: Buy one! you will be happy for a long time
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tommy_hoen Saturday, October 1st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
cockers
Marker Setup: automag 68/w coiled remote line
halo b electro hopper
4800 psi tank
lvl. 10
Recommended
Upgrades:
the lvl. ten and a longer barrel
Strengths: Extremely accurate you wont miss,
with lvl. 10 you will never chop a ball never
Weaknesses: None yet just not the best for long range shooting
Review: Overall this gun is amazing you will smoke your friends in a little paintballin
dont use co2 only HpA cause if you do the gun will deffinately freeze up if you shoot too fast
you will kill any tippman or spyder or anything like that.
This is the best buy out there
buy this gun and you will not regret it
Conclusion: BUY this MARKER
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

spyderX297 Monday, July 25th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyders
Tippmanns
Angels
Cockers..
Marker Setup: Classic mag, Shocktech 8-hole mod, intelliframe, stock barrel.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Xvalve and ULT, and intelliframe.
Strengths: Reliable
Upgradable
Under-estimated(this guns a sleeper :P )
Accurate+Consistant
Simple
Quality
Lightweight
Weaknesses: Chopping
Short Stroking
Review: Ive owned a ton of automags. Ive had a minimag, 2 automags, an RT-Pro, and an emag. I still have 2 automags to this day, and plan on having them as long as I am on the field.

Everyone looks at the mag and think.. "Look at that 90's piece of junk." But really, ive shot so many other guns and nothing compares to the quality of the automag. AGD got it right the first time when they automag, and there still going strong with some new ideas to make it even better, like the xvalve, ULT, Level 10.. etc.
Conclusion: Next time you see an automag that someone is using.. ask if you can try it out. You would be amazed. Dont judge the book by its cover, because you will be surprised.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sonnemann Sunday, July 10th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Cockers: Well, I like cockers. They're cool and smooth and can really be quick with the right stuff. However, They've always struck me as rather bulky and heavy [aside from the roundbody Merlin I used to own] and thus Mags will score higher in my book.
Blowbacks: Don't deserve a dignified response.
Marker Setup: Well, my Mag setup at least.

PF 68 Mag
Level 10
PMI Perfect Charger
Diecast 1x frame
Green woodies
Green VL foregrip
14" Ultralite
45/45 Conquest
TurboRev
Recommended
Upgrades:
Level 10
Decent barrel
HPA
Strengths: Simplicity
Reliability
Size
Feel
Speed
Weaknesses: Relative weight
Relative inefficiency

Both are negligible.
Review: So, this is the second Mag I have ever owned and let me tell you, I still love them! AGD and Mags in general have always had that bad rap about them, but once you get to know the little one-tube wonders, they're really quite neat.

When rereading some of the most ancient reviews and product descriptions of the Mag, I remember chuckling at the text that said "Speed. Mags are ridiculously fast out of the box." Now, in this day and age, ridiculously fast means at least 20 bps, and I'd like to see anyone get over 10 with a Classic valved Mag. But, when I aired it up for the first time and shot a few Reballs through it...lo and behold: much, much faster than I had envisioned. The people that complain of a stiff pull are apparently all whiny little...whiners, because I found the Mag much easier to rip on than my cocker [which is saying something, considering the cocker has all Orracle pneus and an Eclipse hinge.]

Weight. Not an issue if you're playing correctly and have at least some rudiment of muscle on ye. Plus [and this ties into efficiency] you can use a 45/45 tank [because, despite the fact you'll get under 1k shots, most fields have refill stations readily available after every game.] Add to that a light and performance-oriented barrel like an Ultralite or a Bigshot, and the fact that you'll only ever need the superlight and venerable Revvy...in truth, not so heavy at all.

Reliability and Simplicity! All Mags boil down to is a tube with a reg on the back. Maintenance is pretty much nonexistent; apart from a few seals or drops of lube over the span of YEARS, Mags should never need any attention. SS parts means never having to worry about anything falling apart or getting stripped. You can literally throw this gun into your gearbag and it will always be there, ready to serve you with all its phut-phutting goodness.

That's another thing that I love about them: they're quiet, and have no kick. 1 oz of reciprocating mass, and you can barely feel any motion of the marker. With a decently ported barrel, all one hears is a slight 'shoof' out the barrel, as opposed to the usual 'crack' or 'pop.'
Conclusion: One of the bastions of modern paintball, and still a potent force on the recball scene. It will outlast you.

Buy one now, and always have something in the gear bag that you can haul out and play with if anything else goes down.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (27):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media