paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Avalon GT Commando 2 / Avalon GT Commando 2 / Avalon GT Commando 2 / Avalon GT Commando 2

Avalon GT Commando 2 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Avalon

Buy Avalon GT Commando 2

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Avalon GT Commando 2
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 149
Average Rating: 7.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $140

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Features: Micro-honed 13" barrel, High grade aluminum body, Barrel guard, Shoulder Stock, U-One (low pressure system & adaptor), Sub zero Ex-chambers, Shark sight rail, Stainless steel valve, High fashion 45 grip, DM double trigger, Light trigger action, Rapid Recoil, Designer Venturi bolt, Dual connect bottom line, and a Circular rubber grip cover.
Product Availability 
The Avalon GT Commando 2 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (15):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
sasquatch13 Sunday, May 2nd, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyders of all shapes and sizes, PMI GTI 07, the other markers that I have used are much too good to compare to this one.
Marker Setup: Drop forward, unknown barrel, dead on paintball expansion chamber,vl200
Recommended
Upgrades:
Just replace the dang thing
Strengths: Milsim look, venturi bolt, expansion chamber, stock barrel isn't bad.
Weaknesses: Unreliable, SUPER loud, annoying to work on, annoying to repair proprietary screw sizes
Review: My friends and I all three bought this marker, and all three of them broke super quickly. My first friend's broke in two days, and it was not repairable. Mine broke about a year after we got them, and my last friend played with his through about 6 days worth of play. I loved this gun when i got it, but was quickly disappointed when it broke on me in nearly every game i played. On the games that I got to finish, usually my elbow would break off of the powerfeed, so i would recommend buying a gun with a vertical feed rather than a powerfeed.
Conclusion: Horrible marker overall. Tough to repair it because the screws that are everywhere, and whats worse, the screws are proprietary sized (must be custom cut because they aren't standard sized). Please learn from my mistake and don't buy this gun. It gets a 2 only because the barrel was impressive for the gun.
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

D-Paint Wednesday, May 30th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
ICD Promaster
Marker Setup: black ICD Promaster, smart parts s-rail and on/off asa, 68/45 fiber tank, halo b w/ rip and v35, vents avatar mask
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel (like any other gun)
Strengths: Shoulder stock
Good on air
"Sniper" gun
Looks
Weaknesses: Not that sturdy
Trigger speed
Loud
Review: Well were to begin, this is an ok gun for woods ball. I play both woods and speed and its not a great speed ball gun but a GREAT woods ball gun. If you want it can be a sniper gun, it already has the stock and i used it a few times and it helps in long ranges but not that great in tight corners. It is great on air, i shot through 1000 paintballs on a single 20oz tank and i still was going strong on air! I love the way it looks, i reversed the bottom line to make the tank be under the gun and it looks sweat and the tank is out of the way. When i first got it, the cocking knob fell off but i just put a small bolt in it and it works better than the knob! You also got to watch out, the gun does loosen up a bet easily but that's not a big prob if you keep everything tight. It is kind of loud but a new barrel should fix that a bit.
Conclusion: All and all it is a great beginner gun if you like woods a lot. I would recommend it to any one who wants a good cheap gun. But if you play both speed and woods like me, i would go for a speed ball gun, they hold up in both cases. Hope this helps.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, May 30th, 2007 at 11:06 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

shadow31 Monday, May 14th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder victor
JT tac-5
Smart-parts Ion
Sheridan...something er other
Marker Setup: Spyder Electra(stock)
20 oz CO2
Revvy hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel
Electric hopper
Strengths: Cool looking
Weaknesses: Stock barrel is bad
Trigger moves side to side too much
Review: I got this gun 2 years ago and I haven't used it since that first month. I put my tank on grabbed some paint and tried it out. The first shot flew pretty straight. The second shot broke. The third shot broke. The fourth shot broke. The fifth shot broke. See where I'm going here? Now the gun is made pretty sturdy but about a week later I tried it at a local field and the cocking handle broke right off the gun. Now mine may have just been defective but for that much money I should have gone with a more well know proved brand. Go with a more reliable brand that you know you can trust.
Conclusion: Don't buy this gun. For that much money you can buy a nicer gun that you know will work.
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

The Big T-Man Sunday, March 18th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
32 Degrees Rebel
Marker Setup: Black GT Commando 2
20" JJ Ceramic Barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Sniper barrel
Strengths: -Good as a sniper rife
-Spyder compatible
Weaknesses: -Certain parts break easily
Review: A lot of paintball players will say that this gun is not worth buying and would have you buy one running 200 dollars more. Bottom line here is that this gun is a good buy for the money, especially for outdoors. With nothing more than a JJ Ceramic barrel I have been able to pick people with single shots before they can even see me. I don't fire very quickly but I probably would not want this gun if I were more of a "spray a pray" type player. Also, if you think this gun is heavy you desperately need to lift some weights. I'm only docking a couple points due to its rate of fire, other than that this gun is a great buy.
Conclusion: If you like picking people off without hardly wasting any ammo, you want this gun and a cheap JJ Ceramic barrel.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Evil_gunner Friday, April 21st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyders
Marker Setup: Commando 2 Electronic series with a 9oz
Recommended
Upgrades:
probably a barrel
faster hopper
Strengths: Looks
Shoulder stock
Snipping possibiliy
Accuracy
Price
Weaknesses: Loud
Accuracy
Review: What to say about this gun?

well, i know i put accuracy under strength and weekness and this is because when i was testing mine one day, had the vonocity all the way up, and the ball would seriously sudenly curve , which would work to shoot over a bunker, but not much else. so, when i turned it down, it was fairly accurate.

The cocking knob fell out of mine, so i had to make a new one.

As for breaking paint, out of 100, i broke 1 with no adverse effects. Other times ive had dozens break, making a mess. If you dont try to out shoot the hopper, you should be good.

This gun is fairly loud, so, shoot when you know when you have a shot, make the kill and move.

If you know where to look, you can get the gun for a good price.
Conclusion: If you want something that isnt a tippmann, and looks cool, and want something for woodsball, yeah, this gun would work. There are better guns, that cost more, and there are worst guns. this gun could be worst, but its not. So, think if yopu want a siffy looking gun or a gun that is worst and looks that same as everyone elses.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

AlbinoDingo Wednesday, February 8th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Assorted spiders, Tippman A-5 custom (assorted mods), assorted ions.
Marker Setup: GT Commando 2, 22" barrel, Offset red dot site.
Recommended
Upgrades:
NEW BARREL
Replace bolt once a year.
Off set sighting
Strengths: Velocity, Upgradability, Easy Mechanics
Weaknesses: Stock parts are pretty crappy, chops more balls than a midget hooker. SHREDS CHEAP PAINT.
Review: Alright out of the box this was my first paintball gun. It looked pretty as all heaven, but I was young and inexperienced. This gun can be a bit of a pain in the ass if you are NEW. If you dont understand the mechanics of a gun it is downright horrible. However if you learn how to use the weapon it is one of the sexiest ladies you will ever hold. I use this marker as a woodsball sniper rifle for the simple reason that it kicks ass in that roll, but only cause i fixed it. Here are some tips for all you folks who dog this gun.

IF your paint chops- Go buy marbilizers, not the bargain bag, if you use cheap paint your balls are gonna chop. 2nd turn down your velocity, this loud SOB can pump 380 if you tighten the velocity bolt all the way down. Loosen your spring that way your paint doesnt explode when the bolt hits it. Your gun will

If your accuracy sucks- Get a new barrel, the stock barrel isnt that great, i upgraded to a 22" that if you turn up the velocity a little will send the ball flying. But carry your squeegy just in case.

Buy a sight raise for the unit because the hopper is crossed the wrong way and does get in the way, also buy and off sight. It will do wonders.

So for all the people who hate this gun, go buy a speedball weapon because its the only thing this gun isnt good at. Compared to the tippman A5 with flatline this gun has the potential to be better with a little TLC, but it can also be garbage if you don't know what you are doing.
Conclusion: If you are a speed baller spend a little extra on a spyder rodeo. If you are a Woodsball player snag this and if you have the cash give it a nice barrel and learn to adjust you velocity to compensate for distance and remember higher doesnt always mean better. Take care of her and she will take care of you. She's and easy 8
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

rockpunk914 Wednesday, November 16th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spider Rodeo
98 Custom
Marker Setup: Avalon Comando 2
Smart Parts Tear Drop Barrel
PMI elbow
PMI Hopper
20oz CO2
Recommended
Upgrades:
BARREL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! ASAP
Strengths: Powerful- shoots over 300 fps on full velocity
Uses CO2 wisely
Durable
External Velocity ajuster
Weaknesses: Not field strippable
Chops alot of balls on stock barrel
Review: I just got it two weeks ago. I took it out on the field once and it dominates in scenario play. On a full tank of CO2 it can go over 300 fps. It is now $60 on xpaintball.com. On other websites it is $200 dollars. Get a new barrel immedietly. when i first got it a took 3 shots it chopped 1 of them. I bought a smartparts Tear drop barrel that is incredible. The whole day out on thefield it only chopped 1 out of 1000 balls fired. This gun works on all spider parts. AKA if you are an amatuer and dont want to spend alot of money get this. It is also fairly accurate. It makes it even more accurate with a new barrel. I love this gun better than my 98 custom.
Conclusion: Get this gun. But be willing to pay $50 dollars for a new barrel
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, December 7th, 2005 at 10:00 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Tony Montana 2 Tuesday, November 15th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Jt Excellorator 5.0 (about equal)
VL Orion (No wear near as good)
Spyder Victor (not as good)
Marker Setup: Psychoballistic Super Bolt Cocker
Reg.
Deadonpaintball Drop forward with on/off
12V Rev
68/3000 Pure Energy fiber wrap hpa tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Scope or Red dot sight
Strengths: Accurate
Looks Great
Weaknesses: Slightly Heavy
Loud
Hard to take apart
can't field strip
Review: I use this gun as my main gun in woods ball and it's great I don't know about the people who say that the stock barrel needs to be replaced I've tryed using a J&J and it was no where near as accurate. I get people wanting to know what it is and where I got it every where I got with it. Also the people who are saying that they can't use there 20 oz. CO2 tank with the stock you just need to adjust the stock it fits my 68/3 fine and it is much bigger than a 20 oz tank.

Conclusion: Last thing I don't take care of this gun at all I keep frogeting to clean and oil it and it works great its a tank that wont stop. Buy it and use it in woods ball or as a back up. It hasn't failed me when I needed it.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

garafatt Thursday, October 27th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
4 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ive used various types of spyders,tippmans, and brass eagles.
Marker Setup: I use a gt Commando 2 with 16 inch nyte stikk sniper barrel,bipod, viewloader electric hopper, red dot sight.
Recommended
Upgrades:
None for a new user stickwith stock till yea get how the gun works.
Strengths: Sounds beefy looks beefy .
Weaknesses: Some times it seems to me like it chops balls on occasion.
Review: It works good if u treat it good clean it replace orings and use lube Then you will probobly kick a's. It is very reliable and good for long duration games. I get quite a bit of good comments about the gt commando 2, if your a real warrior you'll like this gun. Nov 20th canobie paintball new england 800 player big game.
Conclusion: Buy it use it then customise it to your type of playing .
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

IvanBarker Friday, April 8th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: Avalon Commando 2
32 Degrees Quiet Riot Barrel, 32 degrees spring set, 12 oz CO2
Crappy 200rnd hopper, Shoulder Sling
R-2000 Regulator, Flashlight and laser mod
Dye grips
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel.. thats about all that can be upgraded, CANT upgrade bolt, hammer, grips, valve, vertical adaptor
Strengths: Looks, shoulder stock, accuracy, upgraded stock parts
Weaknesses: Poor machining, useless sight, cant upgrade, trigger, barrel guard, noise
Review: I got this gun about a year ago, last summer. Me and my brother ordered one each on pressure from my brother. His friend has a commando 1, and he seemed happy with it, so we figured that we would get the upgraded version. Tell you the truth, I was a huge noob at the time, so I fell to the cool looks of the gun, and the nice description and bought it. I bought it for $130 american, before taxes, shipping and customs. After all the costs were added together, it was a small fortune I shelled out. I bought the quiet riot barrel at the same time as well.

I have never used the stock barrel. My brother uses the stock barrel though, and he seems to have an okay time with it. And he can shoot me with the stock barrel, so nothing wrong with that. As soon as I received the gun, I put the quiet riot on... or tried. The barrel guard was too small to put on the new barrel. So what did I do? I took a pair of plyers and pryed the barrel guard until it was wide enough. The problem now is, the guard is still too small, and everytime I put on my barrel, the guard scratches up the end of the barrel; the part closest to the gun. So much for guarding my barrel... It does look good though.

I guess thats another thing. While the gun is a nice colour (I got silver), it isnt a traditional silver. Its a chrome, off silver colour. So I bought a silver barrel hoping it'd match... it doesnt.

The gun shoots pretty well. I dont know what all these guys are talking about, chopping balls? I can go through a case of 2000 paintballs and break 1 or 2. Thats pretty good in my mind. It shoots the balls fairly well. Could be better though, there is a drop off of the ball fairly fast, but that could be from the barrel (I hear the barrel bore size is too big). The gun shoots pretty fast, Id say maybe 10 bps. Which isnt fast compared to Eguns... But Id rather play woodsball, so I dont really need to shoot uber fast, and I dont think this gun is meant for speedball.

The noise is way too loud for this to be a woodsball gun. When I play woodsball, I like to sneak up beside people and nail them. Well I try, until their buddies can hear me wailing away. The noise is a very large "THUM THUM THUM". I have it narrowed down to being the hammer. Even without the CO2 installed its very loud. The noise is intimidating, but only for small 12 year old kids, not the experienced paintball player.

The looks of the gun are nice. The gun itself is very scary and people ask a lot of times what kind of gun is it. When I say its an Avalon they usually ask if it really does chop tons of balls... Anyways, the looks are nice, the length of the gun is good for me and I think the shoulder stock is great. I use the shoulder stock all the time. It makes it feel more like a real gun in my mind. I wouldnt mind getting a remote line though, because the CO2 tank gets in the way, and Id feel cooler with it lol. The stock makes it feel like its stabilizing my shots, but Im not too sure if it does. The sight on the gun is practically useless. The ball feed is soddered on so a right handed person has the hopper right in the way. I need to add that it's very poorly soddered on. The dovetail mounting is nice, and I could mount a red dot sight on it.

The front air volumizer thing, for an LP setup can't be screwed off, which sucks cause I want to replace it. I think I want to get a CiP 15 degrees assault block, but I somehow doubt that it will fit in the gun.

Im gonna talk about the internals now. I have cleaned and oiled my gun after everytime Ive played. But my gun is still being scratched to crap on the inside. More namely, the hammer/striker is scratching up everything. The hammer is fairly heavy and ugly as heck. Its not smooth at all and doesnt seem to be the most efficient with the flat face. The flat face possibly leads to the amount of noise the gun has, dont quote me on that. The bad finish on the hammer may have lead to the scratching on the inside. So I decided to replace the Orings and polish it. That didnt do anything at all and it still scratches. The venturi bolt is nice, other then its been badly manufactured. There are, what i beleive, to be heat scars across the top of the bolt, and thats not nice. Its just poor making of the bolt, and Im sure I got a bad one, but my brothers has the same scarring. I have no complaints about the front valve, other then the airflow through the valve isnt the best.

So what have I done about these messed up parts? Not a danged thing! Dont get me wrong, Ive tried. My first step was polishing the internals and replacing the seals. That didnt do too much. Next I thought Id replace the internals. Contrary to what some people say THIS IS NOT SPYDER COMPATIBLE, out side of the barrel threads. I first ordered up a nice bolt. I tried to put it into my gun, and the bolt pin wouldnt fit into my hammer. So I forced it in. I then put the bolt into my gun and it was too long! The bolt covered up a quarter of the the area where the ball drops. So Im like ok, maybe the bolt is just too long... and I ordered up a 32 degrees spyder bolt. Its 32 degrees, how can you go wrong? Well... It was too long once again! So I think this gun just doesnt accept spyder bolts, I spent money on 2 perfect bolts and they dont fit. Then I tried replacing the stock valve with a 32 degrees magnaport valve. Well the stock valve is longer then the new valve. This means that I cant screw in my trigger assembly because the screw goes right up into the valves Orings. Not to mention that theres another useless hole right beside the screw hole that the replacement valve leaks out. So basically your stuck with the stock valve cause the gun body physically wont accept a new one. I also ordered a new polished stock hammer/striker from an actual spyder. I doubt this will fit, but ill post when I get it and try. I also bought a 32 degrees spring set, and this works just as planned. Although I did get a soft and hard velocity spring with the gun, I still use the 32 degrees ones. So judging from the lack of bolts I can install and the not being able to install a new valve, the commando ISNT SPYDER COMPATIBLE. The spyder barrel fit though...

After using this gun for a year I have noticed some warpage in the body. Where the cocking nob slides all the way in, there is warping of frame. I mean in the horizontal cocking hole. Whats happening is the body is not built for the hammer, and the cocking nob hits the body after it shoots. Now there is a lot of pressure, and after the nob hits the body it causes it to warp. This is annoying as crap, and I cant make the cocking hole any longer because I dont have access to a machine shop to drill out a larger hole.

The trigger sucks. The trigger has a very long pull. I dont mind the long pull, I actually kind of enjoy it, giving it a more realistic feel. What annoys me though, is that the trigger is loose. Ive tried to tighten it, but its still loose. I think ill have to buy a new trigger... If it can fit.

The gun isnt too hard to take apart, once you get use to it. Its defiantly not a pullpin, feild strip gun. Ive taken the whole thing apart many times. Ive also taken apart the expansion chamber, which I dont recommend, because its a punk to line it up right afterwards.

I like the open bolt, side cocking, but I can see it being a problem with dirt getting in it.

The guns weight is fine.

The included carry backpack is great for holding the gun.

*Edit:
I tried to add a stock hammer from a normal spyder, that didnt work out too well.... I also added some dye grips. The grips wouldnt fit so I had to alter the holes on the grips so they would fit. Who woulda thought that the trigger frame is a different size for this gun. AND then today, I got a 32 degrees vertical adaptor. (Because the U-one vertical adaptor has horrible air flow through it compared to the 32 degrees vertical adaptor, and you cant take off the volumizer) So I put on my P.I.M.P volumizer onto the 32 degrees VA and tried to put it on the commando 2... no dice. Of course the U-One VA has to be like 1/4 of an inch longer than a normal VA, so the screw holes dont line up. So heres whats messed up in the commando: the valve isnt compatible, the VA isnt compatible, the grips arent compatible, the bolt isnt compatible, the hammer isnt compatible. I think the expansion chamber is compatible, but Im not too sure about that.

Meh I think Im might quit this sport, this gun is costing me way too much and not getting any better.
Conclusion: Ok so I guess I ripped my gun to shreads with this review and after writing it, I think I'm going to try to sell this gun and buy maybe a tippman, or maybe a cheap spyder. The gun has it's big time flaws, with it's internal failures. But it does have its nice looks going for it. What pissed me off most was the lack of being able to upgrade. I thought this was spyder compatible? No its just the barrel. I was hoping to write a nice review after I upgraded, so I could be like "It takes a little work, but this gun is nice." Looks like I cant write that. I wont give this gun a terrible rating, because it has served me decently for the past year, and my brother does seem to enjoy his. I wont give it a good rating either due to its manifacturing flaws, lack of spyder compatibilty and other major drawbacks.

Damn, thats enough of this essay. Hope you find this helpful! Yeah I could use the money so I think Im going to sell this.
Rating:
1 out of 10Last edited on Monday, July 4th, 2005 at 1:51 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (15):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media