paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Avalon GT Commando 2 / Avalon GT Commando 2 / Avalon GT Commando 2 / Avalon GT Commando 2

Avalon GT Commando 2 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Avalon

Buy Avalon GT Commando 2

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Avalon GT Commando 2
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 149
Average Rating: 7.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $140

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Features: Micro-honed 13" barrel, High grade aluminum body, Barrel guard, Shoulder Stock, U-One (low pressure system & adaptor), Sub zero Ex-chambers, Shark sight rail, Stainless steel valve, High fashion 45 grip, DM double trigger, Light trigger action, Rapid Recoil, Designer Venturi bolt, Dual connect bottom line, and a Circular rubber grip cover.
Product Availability 
The Avalon GT Commando 2 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (15):  First  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  13  |  Last
        Next Page
Unregistered User Thursday, December 6th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
tippman custom 98
Marker Setup: Gt commando 2 w/14" CP barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, you can't find any more for the gun
Strengths: Looks good,
Weaknesses: stock barrel breaks balls, Porting has burrs in the inside of barrel. Leaks out of box, Xchamber, valve o rings, and braided line connection to xchamber. Gt cammondo paint an the gun will peel off easy. you won't know what this gun is after a month of use. Company Does't have 800 # and don't return email for long periods of time if a all.
Conclusion: Not a good gun for the money, lot's of burr on the inside will keep the 0 ring company's in buisness. hard to field strip, no reliable. spend your hard earned money on better product. Remember it's what is on the inside that counts. Not how good it looks.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, December 4th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Strengths: There is not a whole lot that I can honestly say is good about this gun. The stock barrel is not too bad for a beginner stock barrel (although it is completley useless in a speedball game with 30-35 people who all have autocockers and electro guns). The expansion chamber is probably the only sure good thing on the gun. The gun also looks pretty cool.
Weaknesses: Where to start? I'll start with the obvious. The trigger pull is way too hard and is easily miss-fired. The stock that comes with the gun looks good, but is extremely cheap. This gun will leak, I repeat, this gun will leak. Not long after using the gun where the braided-steel hose connects to the Co2 adapter and the expansion chamber will leak. Although this is easily fixed with some teflon tape it is rather unassuring. This gun does not run on compressed air. For $200 this gun should run on compressed air. Other lower-end guns that are less expensive than this run on compressed air.
The gun that I used worked fine for a while. Over a short time, however, it started to miss-fire more frequently. Finally it lost the capacity to be a semi-auto gun. After firing the bolt would not re-cock correctly. I found a way to rig it up with a rubberband so it would work as a semi-auto gun. After doing this it worked fine again. This is not the way a $200 gun should be working.
Conclusion: This gun is a horrible waste of time, money, and effort. Do not buy this gun. Even though I've only been playing paintball now for about three and a half to four months, I've found alot out about paintball, and in my opinion you should skip the middle man, meaning that you should not worry about beginner guns. Wait until you know you're hooked to the game and then save and invest in a good electro or autococker. Until then use rental guns. Even though rental guns are not the greatest guns in the world, it will be worth it when you finally get your good gun and not have wasted money on a low end one. As far as this gun is concerned, I'm rating it at a 3. It's not as bad as a Brass Eagle, but it is truly not worth anything more.
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sergeantslauter Wednesday, November 28th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Viewloader Revelation, Tippman model 98 and 98 custom
Marker Setup: Avalon GT Commando 2, completely out of the box. 20oz tank and regular 200 round hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
a new barrel would be nice but is definately not needed.
Strengths: I love this gun i have only tried it out in my backyard but, i am going to play over the weekend. I shot over 500 paintballs through this barrel with no breaks although the balls might have had something to do with it( RPS all stars) the gun is extremely fast and accurate. I think this gun is better than a 98 and it costs around the same. The gun fires faster than the 98 and just as accurate. It will fire as fast as you can pull the trigger. The engineering of the gun looks like a modified spyder in my opinion. This gun also fits all spyder barrels.
Weaknesses: I have heard people tell me this gun is heavy this is because they are holding it wrong they put the sholder stock on their shoulder then support it with the hand on the expansion chamber. Of coarse this would make it feel heavy try holding your gun with one hand and see if it gets a little heavy. I have no problem with the weight because i am not a whimp. I also heard it won't fit a 20oz tank i have a 20 on it and it fits fine even with the shoulder brace on.
Conclusion: I love this gun for the money the only thing that might possibly compare to it is the 98 custom, although the customs i used curved before this does. Overall i would recommend this gun to anyone wishing to go amature or just playing for fun. If you want a gun for pro i would go with an electronic gun but for the non-electronic field this will compete against anything if you have a little skill. This is worth the money you pay i would pay 250 for this gun it is worth it.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 29th, 2005 at 6:30 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

staf_elite Monday, November 26th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Compact 2000 with the stone cold big stick 2... 20' cant compare yet...
Recommended
Upgrades:
stock blows get a new barrel
Strengths: nice look
affordable
nice 6stage exp. chamber
doesnt break paint often at all in less your a newbie to paintball and mess it up somehow
its gonna make me a good sniper gun when i get some upgrades...
Weaknesses: well heres my problem and i like a owner of this gun that uses a stone cold 2 big stick by taso on there commando 2 ... cause the one i have is spyder fittable but yet when i try to screw it into the commando 2 it wont go all the way it gets stuck and if i were to twist harder it would strip the inside so if any one knows the problem or have a suggest it would be much appreciated that i recieve some info before saturday thx
Conclusion: Get a new barrel , replace trigger spring with a pen spring , then must need a revy , then it becomes a really a great gun and btw shoulder stock is not bad doesnt feel comfortable with large tank behind it I recommend the remote and a harness for this gun
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Friday, November 23rd, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 custom, Sheridan XTSE, VL Genisis, Stingray 2, Tiger Shark, Tippmann Pro/Carbine, Scorpion, Bruizer Outlaw
all stock expcept Pro/Carbine had a carbon fiber barrel
Marker Setup: stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel
Strengths: The gun is light weight, good price for all that comes with it, comfortable, looks cool.
Weaknesses: Chops balls, no real upgrades, the barrel, AMC is a piss poor company, as soon as I used my gun for the first time it had a leak where the bottom line elbow and bottle adapter meet. So far they have not contacted me, this is a manufacturer's error, they need to replace this part and have still not told me what I need to do to get this done after repeated email.
Conclusion: There are much better guns for much less. I reccomend the M98 custom. Mine is all stock and i have not busted a single ball, no problems with that one what so ever. Plus you can actually get upgrades for the 98. The company mainly affects my rating. Paintball is too expensive for a gun to not work the first time.
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SeriaLThriLLa Tuesday, November 20th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Compact 2000, the commando is a lot better than this I just got the spyder because a friend was selling it really cheap with a 32* x-chamber.
Marker Setup: AMC GT Commando 2, custom drop forward made in my basement, 14" CP barrel, custom aluminum barrel guard, 16 oz "stubby" tank (it fits perfectly inbetween the stock and the grip without getting in the way of the stock motion, with other thanks you have to extend the stock quite a bit before it would fit.) WPP barrel extension/silencer
Recommended
Upgrades:
Drop forward if you don't use a 16 oz "stubby" tank, new barrel, and take your barrel guard to machine shop and get it milled out a bit so other barrels can fit.
Strengths: Extremely accurate and fast, way less recoil than any spyders I have fired. I comes with a true-venturi bolt, which kicks ass. Grip covers are nice, x-champer could be a little lighter but its not bad, and of course it looks so nice. Whenever I got to the field and a bunch of newbies are there they always follow me around asking about it. With the stock barrel its loud as a b**** which = big intimidation factor to newbies.
Weaknesses: Loud unless you get a new barrel or silencer, heavy, confusing to disasemble at first, thats it!
Conclusion: I have used this product since for 7-8 months now non-stop and have never had a problem. All of my friend's spyders have developped leaks and chop balls at the first sign of something foreign in the gun. If you like sniping, or having a sick looking gun, then get this one.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Friday, November 16th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
Stingray...and used a tippman 98 once..
Marker Setup: Gt Commando 2...im gonna get a new barrel tho...a nice long 16" one.....i hope..
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel....i guess...thats what everyone says
Strengths: its a great gun...i like how it looks and how it feels.......when i play on a field (i just play in brushy area with my friends....no special rules or anything...) i like to strafe alot....i dont usually get shot but i just run and shoot so it doesnt take much accuracy...i havent had a paintball break in my gun yet....i guess u guys expect too much from it...
Weaknesses: the barrel i guess....since all u "experts" dislike it...and the cost...i think it costs more because of the look...it looks cool with that silver shine to it..
Conclusion: i dont get most of u....i mean....woopdy doo...just because the gun without a super special barrel isnt the best doesnt mean u should give it a 3...just because your customized guns are awsome doesnt mean a normal one that isnt upgraded one sucks...
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, November 15th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
I own a Tippmann Custom 98, my gun is much more upgradable, and even though it is a less expensive gun, I haven't had a barrel break in a game ever.
Marker Setup: I have a Stock right now
Strengths: It is a great price for a gun that comes with expansion chamber, low pressure, stock, 13' barrel, and even with these upgrades the gun is still fairly light in weight.
Weaknesses: This gun chops paint like no other, and once the paint break it keeps breaking until you squegee it completely and clean it. It could be the hammer, but I would not recommend this gun if you want to acctaully shoot the paint.
Conclusion: I would not buy this gun, for the same price you could get a Pirahna STS or a Spyder EXT, these guns don't chop paint anywhere near the GT. But Pirahnas do blow alot of o-rings, but o-rings are alot less expensive then paint.
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

kman Sunday, November 11th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
spyder java purple
Marker Setup: gt commando 2 stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel
Strengths: i bought the gun for the looks
being new to paintball i read the reviews listed here and thought i had made
a good purchase 8.4 out of 10 sounds good to me
could not wait to get the marker and try it and check the accuracy and cannot wait to try it in a game

Weaknesses: accurracy and breaks paint
paintballs hooks after about 25 feet
tried it in the backyard with a friend who just bought a spyder java purple all stock. we could see the balls go straight out of the barrel then hook to the left or right . some even hit the ground before the target only 50 ft away
i even missed the 3 foot wide board we were aiming at once or twice.
the spyder performed with great accuracy and very consistant groups
we tried the cheap paint that came in the package deal in both guns
and i bought some diablo blaze paint from a nearby shop
same result the commando repeatedly hooked almost every shoot and the spyder was straight shot after shot . the spyder had problems with only one ball the commando broke a couple in the barrel
Conclusion: the gun looks sharp
accuracy leaves much to be desired
i could probably hit someone behind a tree
being new i have not been in a game yet and maybe doing something wrong
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, November 4th, 2001
Strengths: This gun is my first, and i am happy with how it looks. How it works however is a different story. It looks cool and does, in fact looks like an assault rifle on the feild. It is light and the stock helps to steady aiming. A Major head turner.
Weaknesses: Its shooting is a very large problem. The stock barrel sucks to high heaven. I shot 10 shots in my back yard and 8 out of 10 balls were shreded after initial firing. REPLACE THE BARREL, other wise, it should be fine.
Conclusion: This gun has an optimal performance, as long as the barrel is not the stock version. It looks good, shoots well, and is a light gun to carry around. Good gun for newbies with lots of money.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (15):  First  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  13  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media