paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Avalon GT Commando 2 / Avalon GT Commando 2 / Avalon GT Commando 2 / Avalon GT Commando 2

Avalon GT Commando 2 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Avalon

Buy Avalon GT Commando 2

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Avalon GT Commando 2
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 149
Average Rating: 7.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $140

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Features: Micro-honed 13" barrel, High grade aluminum body, Barrel guard, Shoulder Stock, U-One (low pressure system & adaptor), Sub zero Ex-chambers, Shark sight rail, Stainless steel valve, High fashion 45 grip, DM double trigger, Light trigger action, Rapid Recoil, Designer Venturi bolt, Dual connect bottom line, and a Circular rubber grip cover.
Product Availability 
The Avalon GT Commando 2 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (15):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
kLavier Friday, April 8th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyders- any of them are better than this crap
ACI- better than spyders
Marker Setup: ACI Hornet
Palmer Stabilizer (regulated @ 350psi)
9oz co≤
Viewloader 100rd hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
it's like a really cheap copy of a spyder, so if you really did want to upgrade it, anything from a spyder should be compatible on it.
Strengths: Fairly accurate stock
Looks so cool
Looks so cool!
Weaknesses: Chops every ~10 balls
Gas leak
Impossible to field strip
Review: i bought this as my first gun when i first started paintballing. obviously, i had no idea about performance or what good brands to buy, so i bought the coolest looking gun i saw. this gun really is the coolest looking gun i've ever seen, and i got several "nice gun" comments when i took it to the field. but dont be tricked- this gun is only comparable to a brass eagle! i was constantly having problems with this gun, from the bolt knob falling off (if you screw the knob in too tight, then the gun wont cock right and it pinches the spring, if you dont screw it in enough it works its way out and falls out on the field.), air leaks at the ASA where the expansion chamber screwed in, air leaks in the 1/8" gas line, and chops every time i even shot it a few times. this brings me to another thing- the gun is a NIGHTMARE to take apart! forget ever doing it anywhere but a workbench, you need to undo 4 screws with an allen wrench just to get the bolt out. the parts are very cheaply made and scrape and wear themselves down from just shooting the gun. i paid $140 for this gun and spent probably half that in just repairs for it. a year later, after gettign frustrated enough, i sold it to a newbie that thought it looked cool for $100. i consider myself lucky i was able to get any money out of selling it.

a second note, yes this gun looks very intimidating with a stock on it, but a stock on a paintball gun has the be the most useless idea ever. the purpose of a stock is to control your recoil while shooting rapidly. here's a radical concept- air guns that just shoot at 280fps have feather light recoil compared to black powder rifles. the recoil is comparable to less than that of a .22 rifle. if you really want something similar to a stock, you can tuck the air tank up against your shoulder. forget even considering buying this worthless gun.
Conclusion: This gun is a waste of money. With the money you could spend on this gun, you could buy a spyder and maybe even an upgrade or 2 on it. If you want a piece of crap gun (like this) but you dont want to waste your money, just get a brass eagle from wal mart.
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

GrimreaperII Thursday, February 24th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder E99 (much better gun)
Marker Setup: I use a Tippman A-5 with a Flatline Barrell, Egrip, 4 position collapsable carbine stock, and a 20oz Co2.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Buy a new barrell. Immediately. Or rather, while the gun is still being shipped.
Strengths: Looks, Accuracy, Intimidating sound, Comfy stock, Fair Co2 life even on a 9oz
Weaknesses: Stock barrell
Open bolt clogs.
Difficult maintenance
Prone to breaking.
Parts.
Breaks ball easily
Review: Let me please put an end to all this argument and discussion finally and expose the truth:
The gun does look incredibly nice. It is very accurate with an upgraded barrell. However, it's only that accurate should you be lucky enough to not break the ball in the chamber. The Co2 has a good life though. Unfortunately, it's too hard to maintain it. The sound of it is very intimidating and so is the look, however its performance doesn't even come close to measuring up to those two factors. The parts are very poorly manufactured, some don't even fit right and can come loose. Nothing except Avalon's parts fit it internally, so if you break a cupseal, which is very likely to happen within a week or two, you have to go find one of theirs. Fortunately, I'll be nice and give anyone who buys this a link where they can order replacement pars: http://www.diamondgt.com/ The gravity feed is horrible, can't come close to keeping up with the guns possible ROF (Rate of Fire for you noobs). The bolt, unfortunately like most guns, is open, leaving it very prone to paint, dirt, ball shards, and anything else that might get in there. Good luck even getting this thing apart to try and fix what's wrong.
Conclusion: Get this gun if you're a noob who doesn't mind ordering tons of replacement parts. If you're a noob looking for a cheap package gun, go for it, but only if you plan on using it for a very short period of time or can't afford better. Otherwise, I'd definately suggest going for a Tippman A-5, or a 98 Custom if you can't afford the A-5. I'll give it credit for its accuracy WITH AN UPGRADED BARRELL (ONLY), its nice look, and very intimidating sound, but that's about it.
This thing is nowhere near what it's cracked up to be. It's like the infamously flawed Chaut Chaut of World War I. You should probably avoid it at all costs if possible.
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Demondmaster Saturday, February 19th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
its a spyder clone
Marker Setup: Kingman Shutter with a All American 14 inch, Check It 15 Degrees Assault Block, Pmi Inline Regulator, Ricochet 2K, two psi gauges, 32 Degrees rubber Grip, AND Evil Omen with a Extreme Rage Clamping Feed Neck, Viewloader eVLution II Y board, 32 Degrees NightStick 14 inch, and a Dead on Paintball drop forward and Crossfire 92ci4500psi high Pressure
Recommended
Upgrades:
any you feel like doing the shock barrel is not the best
Strengths: Range
Looks
Parts
Weaknesses: Its not light
Not to Accurate
chops (get a 12v hopper does wonders)
Review: I've played with this marker for a few months I sold it to my friend and he loves it not saying I didn't like it it was a good marker it had a leak at the expansion chamber but that was no biggy its not hard to change o-rings and it do have some good qulaty parts in to it, the marker is durable so thats a plus i'm not downing the gun its nice and looks sharp and good for the money, its not the marker its the player
Conclusion: I recomment this marker to any new player that wants a marker to learn with
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Alex98 Wednesday, February 2nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
My tippy with lapco big shot, spyder e-99, genisis surge, A-5
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98C
Flatline and lapco big shot
Folding stock
Expansion chamber
preformance power tube and bolt
mad man spring kit
tac strap
tasco red dot site 1X
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel, all spyder theads work on this gun
Strengths: LOOKS, it can use a scope, cheap, overall good woodsball gun
Weaknesses: Certain parts break easily, ball latch(just keep a spare)
Review: I have tested this gun may times and for the price it is a good gun for woodsball.

My cousin has this gun and he loves it. I like it too because of all the upgrades it comes with stock(venturi bolt, stock, raised site rail, double trigger, ect.) Although the gun has its bad rep of reliability it is really not all that bad becuase the only problem I have ever had with it is the ball latch.

The gun stock may have bad accuracy stock but dont most low end markers. All you need is a new barrel. I recamend a lapco if you got some money to spend other wise get a $19 tru flight barrel.

I have fired this gun about 500 times before the ball latch broke and I never broke a single ball.

I gave this gun a 9 becuase of its quality for the price. -1 becoase the tippy is cheaper and better.
Conclusion: This is a great gun. If you dont like tippmanns.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Fatty59 Wednesday, August 25th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
None.
Strengths: It's fairly accurate.
Weaknesses: It is a very loud and heavy marker.
Review: I got this gun about a year ago for Christmas. I was very exited for this was my first marker and all, but when i tried it out i was disappointed. this is a very loud marker and allows anyone to find you just by the noise. It is also very heavy. But not all is bad. This gun is fairly accurate and very fun to use but i would not recommend this marker to anyone of any age with any amount of experience in paintball.
Conclusion: Don't buy it.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ltjones Thursday, July 15th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98, Tippmann A5 w/ flatline
Marker Setup: A hopper and a co 2 tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
better barrel. i haven't seen one, but a better grip.
Strengths: It's a good noob gun, but not for ppl who r good.
Weaknesses: Innaccurate, huge trigger drawback (though it is soft), stock is annoying after a while
Review: This gun is a ood noob gun. Anyone with experience should not buy it. huge trigger drawback sucks. And dude, this is no sniper gun- it shoots like 70 feet, and it is really innacurate. And the customer service sucks bad. If it breaks, take it to your local paintball store, dont send it back to taiwan or whatever.
Conclusion: I kinda like it, but i wish i had tested it before i bought it, so i would have bought a much better gun for 10 bucks more.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Migz Sunday, July 4th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder, tippman, Brasseagle,Viewloader
Marker Setup: Stock Commando GT 2 with VL 200 hopper, 20oz tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Maybe a New new barrel, Electric hopper, E-trigger, but not really necessary. Definite upgrades remote line setup and raise the site rail (Feed tube in the way).
Strengths: Accurate, Good looks, Good on CO2, Tough.
Weaknesses: Heavy with 20oz bottle. Stock in the way at times. The stock site is usless.
Review: Well I bought this used on ebay and got a chance to use it I have to say it's a great gun. All these other people who say the guns crap make me want to wonder if there even talking about the same gun. Mine was used and sat for a while all that I did was oil it up attached the CO2 and it rocked. Didn't chop any balls and I mean ANY! I used field, evil and some cheap $10 dollar a bag 32 degree paint and I didn't break any of them. The only down part is with the 20oz tank it hard to use the stock, makes it kind of long and is a little heavy if your a small guy (I'm not @ 6'2" and strong like bull) but wasn't a problem for me. It did great in 100 in degree California weather using CO2 went from 12:00 to 6:00 and still had plenty of CO2 left let my friend use the rest after I left. The looks are great people kept asking me all day what it was, I also think the intimidation value is worth something it just looks mean. One more thing with the stock barrel I had no problem keeping a good shoot grouping and was able to hit people pretty accurately form across the field.
Conclusion: I have not hesitation about recommending this product. It's a good gun I got if for a good price ($60 used), works good looks good. Don't believe these friend of friend of a friend let me use their's review. The only thing that's crap is their useless reviews. I give it a 9 out of 10 because mine was used.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, July 4th, 2004 at 1:04 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

supersniper505 Saturday, April 24th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
most spyders are the same
Marker Setup: commando 2, revolution X12 electronic hopper, electronic trigger, 20 oz Co2
Recommended
Upgrades:
get the electronic upgrade!
Strengths: this gun has awesome range! i can get 100 yds with just the stock barrel.
Weaknesses: the stock trigger is really annoying. good thing avalon makes an electronic kit for it.
Review: this gun rocks! its worth it , and not just another spyder clone, buy it. i have never gotten shot with it, but everyone who has been shot by my gun hates me. also, the shoulder stock is no gimmick. it holds all the weight and is very comfortable.and the cocking pin falls off. glue it or something
Conclusion: BUY IT
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

PBplaya001 Sunday, April 18th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
My Spyder Electra DX
Marker Setup: Black 2003 Dragunfly mechanical Cocker
47/3000 crossfire n2
jj 16inch ceramic barrel
xboard revy 12v
Recommended
Upgrades:
Don't waste the money on it.
Strengths: -Maybe the stock
-Weight
Weaknesses: Everything else (and i'm not a spoiled baller)
Review: This gun is a piece of JUNK. My (former) teamate had this laying around the house (his first gun a long time ago) and loaned it to a friend. First, the co2 tank wouldn't fit properly obviously because this only takes certain tanks. Then the bolt would jam up. Also, this gun is horribly inaccurate. Do not waste your money get a spyder e99 avant or electra at least. Now I might have only tested this gun and not given it much of a chance, but my teamate uses it and absoutely hates it. It is unreliable.
Conclusion: Don't get this. I will give it a 2 just because I have not had it like my teamate had (even though I cut him and it was like his first gun)
Rating:
2 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, June 1st, 2004 at 10:51 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

KevonPaintballa Monday, April 12th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
i have used an avalon gt commando 3 and a Pirahna STS 2k3 G-force
Marker Setup: right now, i am still using the avalon GT commando 2 because it shoots so straight and it is so nice when you shoot it.
Recommended
Upgrades:
i would upgrade from the stock barrel to maybe a 21"barrel that may be $30 and it works much much better with mine.
Strengths: this gun shoots straight, and hard ive never had a better 1
Weaknesses: the stock barrel
Review: i have paintballed for 7 years, and thsi is 1 of the best, cheapest gun i have used. i would reccomend using this gun because it shoots so nice and accurate. you can upgrade many parts on this gun too, it is one of the best guns i have used, i have had it for 2 years, and it almost never chops a ball.
Conclusion: i would deffinitley reccomend buying this product because of how good it is for the price.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (15):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media