paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Avalon GT Commando 2 / Avalon GT Commando 2 / Avalon GT Commando 2 / Avalon GT Commando 2

Avalon GT Commando 2 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Avalon

Buy Avalon GT Commando 2

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Avalon GT Commando 2
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 149
Average Rating: 7.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $140

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Features: Micro-honed 13" barrel, High grade aluminum body, Barrel guard, Shoulder Stock, U-One (low pressure system & adaptor), Sub zero Ex-chambers, Shark sight rail, Stainless steel valve, High fashion 45 grip, DM double trigger, Light trigger action, Rapid Recoil, Designer Venturi bolt, Dual connect bottom line, and a Circular rubber grip cover.
Product Availability 
The Avalon GT Commando 2 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (15):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Hangr Monday, April 12th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Mostly Spyders
Marker Setup: Commando 2 w/ CMI "P" profile barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
1st would be the barrel
2nd would be a better expansion chamber
Strengths: Sturdy built
The stock is a nice extra
spyder compatible
Weaknesses: Has some issues "stock" from the box
Barrel is crap
Expansion chamber leaks on & off
Review: I bought this marker for the looks and boy did it get some!!
As for those people who hate the commando 2 let me just say - BLAH, BLAH, BLAH!!
Yes if you buy this marker be prepared to spend some money for upgrades, but in the long run your only gonna end up with a better marker. Those few that say spend more for a better marker ought to consider this: "If I spend more on a better marker, why not buy the commando 2 and then buy some upgrades for it too." That way I can customize it to meet my needs and not have just a stock marker!!!

At first I was unsure of the stock, but damn its great. Traded markers last time I played just for kicks, boy did i miss that stock. As for upgrades - the so called "micro honed barrel" translates into "useless piece o' crap". Get yourself a better barrel from the start. Look for something ported - like the CMI barrels. The expansion chamber has its problems too. Often needs to be adjusted to stop leakage but usually its just the start of the day and is fine the rest of the day. Watch the detent pin, the rubber breaks from time to time and caused a double feed or chopping paint.

**DO NOT USE Cheap thin shell paintballs - You will constantly break paint if you do!!!
It took me a little while to figure it out but cheap paint or thin shelled paint breaks easily in this marker. Buy quality paint that is known for a thick shell - I loved 32 Degrees Competition 2002 but cant get it anymore (damn them). If your a tight wad you probably won't buy this marker cause a spyder victor is like $70 bucks verses $130 for the commando - so it doesn't really maker.

I also lightly sanded the internals which did help - just don't over sand them.
Conclusion: Overall, the Commando 2 is a great marker that just needs some TLC and upgrades right from the box but the money, time, and energy spent are well worth it. I've taken out guys with full autos and electric hoppers. Would I buy it again?? YES I would!!

I give the Commando 2 a nice 9 of 10 only because i think the guys at Avalon could up the stock quality quite a bit and still keep prices where they are now.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, April 12th, 2004 at 9:48 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Gilly182 Thursday, April 1st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
BrassEagle talon, icon-e, spyder special edtion, 98c, spyder imagine
Marker Setup: Avalon GT Commando 2, gravity hopper, 9oz. C02
Recommended
Upgrades:
ELECTRIC HOPPER
Strengths: Accurate
Stock
Weaknesses: Trigger pull
Breaks balls without electric hopper when shooting fast
Almost impossible to take apart
Review: This is a pretty good beginner gun. I dont suggest going to a paint ball feild without an electric hopper. It is easy to shoot faster than a gravity hopper will feed even tho the trigger pull is terrible. In all honesty it chops balls like crazy which sucks considering that I still havnt figured out how to take it apart. The stock comes in handy. on the other hand this is considerably accuret even tho its stock. Be careful nothing seems to be screwed on too tight either.
Conclusion: This is an OK beginner gun. I wouldnt recomend this considering u can get a better fun for the same price i paid for this. But if u feel its necessary to get this gun or are mezmorised by its stock like my friends are please buy a gravity hopper and have alot of time on ur hands.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, April 24th, 2004 at 5:28 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Obese Tactics Friday, February 20th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
I've used many similar products,but i wouldnt waste your time telling them all to you.Only a couple were slightly better.
Marker Setup: I use a GT commando 2 and a Delta 68 pistal.Im currently getting a new barrel for my commando 2,a 32 degree, 16',Nyte Stickk barrel and i have a red dot sight on it also.
Recommended
Upgrades:
I recommend buying a larger barrel and a electronic hopper.
Strengths: The power that the GT commando 2 has is incredable.
Weaknesses: The paintballs explode in the hopper sometimes.
Review: Features:

Micro-honed 13" barrel
High grade aluminum body
Barrel guard
Shoulder Stock
U-One (low pressure system & adaptor)
Sub zero Ex-chamber
Shark sight rail
Stainless steel valve
High fashion 45 grip
DM double trigger
Light trigger action
Rapid Recoil
Designer Venturi bolt
Dual connect bottom line
Circular rubber grip cover
2 screw designer elbow
Designer gun case
Conclusion: Get out there... buy it! (or atleased one close to it,such as commando 3) and play piantball! Trust me...Great gun!
~GT Commando 3 by: Avolon piantball~
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Hothak Tuesday, February 3rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Pirahna
Marker Setup: Worr Games 03 cocker, 14" dye boomstick, 68/3000 ci, Richochet hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
new body, new barrel, new bolt...etc
Strengths: none really
Weaknesses: the whole gun is pretty much crap...
Review: I suggest this gun for anyone who wants some scrap parts...well most of the gun is actually not even worth usinfg for scrap parts. Hopefully you will take my advice below...this gun is wow...bad. If you really want a gun for around this price, or any semi decent semi-auto go look at the spyder rodeo.
Conclusion: Don't get this gun, it is horrible...even thought I've only tested it, testing is all i needed to tell.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SpyderPunk Monday, September 1st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
all commandos and all spyders
Marker Setup: Spyder E99 avant,12v revy, 16 and 13 inch J&J ceramics, 20oz CO2, Remote, and ACI 6 stage ex. chamber
Recommended
Upgrades:
A new bolt, barrel....how about u just get a new gun.
Strengths: Looks
Weaknesses: Cheep grip....the gas thru grip is HUGE....and the whole gun is pretty heavy
Review: When I first got this gun i was excited. The third time I shot it the gas thru grip leaked like crazy, the cocking knob flew off (couldn't find it) the hammer was chipped by the bolt and the three burst stopped working (even with new batteries). So now I'm just going to type because there is a word limit, and I couldn't reach the limit because I didn't even want to typr about this gun. The only reason I typed this is so I could warn you about this gun.
Conclusion: Looks good...but looks can be deceiving. I recommend you buy a Spyder E99 avant.
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Jackel68 Sunday, August 31st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stingray 2 (worse)
Armotech WG-65 (better)
Vengeance autococker (much better)
Marker Setup: System X baseline Vengeance Autococker with sx 10 drop foward, tear drop barrel, Vl revelotion 2 X-board hopper, Aci Bulldog 61 cu Nitrogen tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel (don't spend to much money on it)
An ebay account so you can sell it
Strengths: Only Spyder clone that has a stock
Gas Efficient (nice expansion chamber)
Looks Cool
Weaknesses: Chops
Deplorable Accuracy
Trigger pull is a whore
Heavy
Expensive replacement parts
Review: Here is the scoop on this gun, it is just another poorly mexican made spyder clone. Me and my friend ordered them together and he actually got a halfway decent gun that was fairly accurate (still chopped alot). I on the other hand got a P.O.S. with a mean left hook whenever it shot and tons of other problems. I say you got a 50% chance of getting a halfway decent commando 2 from the factory. Which is obsurd you are better of getting a different gun, don't take the chance.
Conclusion: Okay if your looking for a good gun under 200 bucks get real Kingman Spyder. They were the first to make the spyder and they are still in bussiness for a reason. If your looking at the commando 2 your probably want a gun in the 150 price range, so I reccomand getting a spyder e99 ( Electronic). If you are a n00b and dont want to spend that much get a spyder xtra. Don't listen to these retards the say the commando makes a good sniper gun because they are full of it. Please do not buy this marker because you will regret it, get the real thing!
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

qamca Wednesday, August 27th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Semi Markers, it's spyder based construction, so no great revolution here...
Marker Setup: Spyder Esprit
SP Teardrop 14"
Palmer's Female Stabilizer
Dead On Gas Thru Foregrip
VL Revolution 12v
Maddman Rocket Valve and Spring Kit
Samurai Sword as a Backup Weapon
Recommended
Upgrades:
Depends on your further plans for paintball and you requirements... maybe a regulator? it's pretty good stock as for it's class.
Strengths: Good stock equipped, spyder clone, good starting gun, parts availability.
Weaknesses: spyder CLONE! not the real thing! the price is beyond discussion
Review: Here goes.
I bought this gun together with my 2 other pals. It was our first gun, so we were pretty excited and stuff...
However now that I'm more experienced I can honestly say, that it is not worth the money, although it's a good marker.
Generally people hate it. Even in Europe (where I live), but the truth is, it's like most guns: if you put some time into it, will serve you very well. There are no miracles: the gun has to be stripped, cleaned and lubed every game. My Commando 2 works fine, rarely chops paint, never had any gas problems like shootin snowflakes or gun freezin. However it is sorta clumzy. In general it makes the impression of a massive gun as for a spyder clone. The trigger operation is not very... smooth or pleasant. This marker is also a bit loud. Also the price is way tooo high. It's around $120 in that case I think you would do much better thing buyng Spyder Xtra or Spyder Esprit (Under $100!!! and it's an e-marker!!). Also - s**t happens as they say. One of my friends who also got that marker Had nothing but troule with it. I know, coz I whitnessed and helped him with it. First the bolt simply broke and shot out the barrel which was a lucky it didn't penetrate somebody's skull or something. His gun generally freezes every game after some time, although CO2 bottles were swapped, the gun was strpped by him and double checked by me, and seemed fine. still - reckocking problems, strange behaviour generally. I guess it's bad luck, maybe even one in a million, but it could be me and I'd get pissed probably. Screws get loose during shooting, after one long game (whole day 8am till 8 pm) I discovered I was missing 2 scres holding the velocity screw piece. But that happens with most markers during long intense use I guess.
Conclusion: The gun is pretty good, I'd give it a 7.5, against the widely spred opinion it's a piece of crap, but unless it's been given to you as a present, or you got it very cheap, second hand or something, it's noit worth the $$ (that's why I give it a 6... or maybe it deserves only a 5?). Get something better and cheaper like I wrote above.
Rating:
6 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, July 21st, 2004 at 2:36 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pwnedyouzn00bs9 Friday, August 22nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Imagine and Elite. This is better totally stock than the other two but can easily be outgunned by anything that has a bit o cash put into it.
Marker Setup: My current set up is as follows-
Spyder Imagine
Dye SS Boomstick
eLVution II
3a 91 ci 4500 psi nitro tank.
Set up for Commando II-
Stock commando with 16 inch Thunder Pig.
Recommended
Upgrades:
I would recomend definetly a new barrel as with all guns.
Also a agitated hopper is recomended but not repuired.
Strengths: Pretty accurate for stock
Gas Efficient
Stock
Weaknesses: Long Trigger pull
Cocking Nob falls off
Barrel guard is only ascetics
Expensive replacement parts
Review: I took this gun out of the box and took it out to try it. It was my first gun so i was a little wowed at the fact that it waspretty good. It the best stock gun i had fired to the date and i was pleased. Then after about a week i took it into the feild and got down to playing. This gun was really preforming as it was extreamly accurate. I was getting many eliminations and was pleased with its preformance. now onto the bad. Despite its accuracy it was constantly choping balls. The guns absolutly chews through bad paint and i had many problems of the paint slicing when it went into the tube. Also the gun is non feildstripable so it takes like 5 min at least to clean any breaks. Needless to say if you chop in a game you done.
Conclusion: All in all desptie its problems i say that its a solid gun. It can pull you through games that you think are gone as long as you dont push it too hard. This gun works the best with Diablo Dusk balls.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

AngryMooseYo Sunday, July 20th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Black Spyder E-99 with Viewloader Revy w/x-board, 16" Thunderpig Ported Barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Trash Can
Strengths: Looks Cool At First.
Could be considered sniper gun because of stock.
Weaknesses: Heavy, Big, Inaccurate, Garbage Parts,Cheap Metal, Huge Trigger Pull, BREAKS PAINT, Stops Working Alot.
Review: This gun is trash. I bought it because it was my first gun and it looked good. The shop near me couldn't even repair it after it broke for the third time. The gun is bulky and heavy and breaks a ball every 8 shots or so. The internal parts are garbage and the customer service was AWFUL. Don't buy this gun. The trigger pull is seriously huge and paintballs curve so much there is absolutely no way that you can hit your target. PLEASE dont buy this gun.
Conclusion: Garbage, don't buy it. You will regret it. I would give it a zero but i cant so i give it a 1.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

NLS Saturday, July 12th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyders
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel
Strengths: the stock is great especially for people who are used to real guns
Weaknesses: the stock barrel sucks and the sight rail comes loose
Review: This is a real good gun especially for a beginner. Get your kicks out of this one and then upgrade. Never try to do a tourney with this gun. The gun is good for the first months of paintball then when you get enough money to buy a better gun get it.
Conclusion: Ever sense i have had this gun i have loved it and i always will
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (15):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media