paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Avalon GT Commando 2 / Avalon GT Commando 2 / Avalon GT Commando 2 / Avalon GT Commando 2

Avalon GT Commando 2 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Avalon

Buy Avalon GT Commando 2

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Avalon GT Commando 2
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 149
Average Rating: 7.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $140

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Features: Micro-honed 13" barrel, High grade aluminum body, Barrel guard, Shoulder Stock, U-One (low pressure system & adaptor), Sub zero Ex-chambers, Shark sight rail, Stainless steel valve, High fashion 45 grip, DM double trigger, Light trigger action, Rapid Recoil, Designer Venturi bolt, Dual connect bottom line, and a Circular rubber grip cover.
Product Availability 
The Avalon GT Commando 2 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (15):  First  |  12  |  13  |  14  |  15
                            
Unregistered User Thursday, February 22nd, 2001
Strengths: This gun is the quietest I've heard. Especially when your talking stock barrel(which is 13" with a great muzzle break).The Sub-Zero Six Stages Expansion Chamber is great not only for CO2 use but also for a very comfortable foregrip. The stock is so comfortable that you can lay back in bushes or in a bunker and pick people off. The 45 Grip,trigger & trigger gaurd are so comfortable I never want to even think of replacing them.The designer case,elbow(made like a VL-BOW in purple) and barrel plug(AVALON in purple) included are fantastic. The accuracy is excellent, the wind throws balls off, but the barrel keeps them on or near the target regardless of the wind. More extras in the case with the gun than I even bothered to hope for. Handles and looks like a dream.It's apparently fully Spyder compatible.
Weaknesses: Mine had a stripped but easily replacable screw. Avalon is sending the replacement free of charge. It ain't ugly like most other guns, RATS!!! It doesn't work with small CO2 tanks, 20 Oz. is recommended in the manual. With a 20 Oz. though you won't be disappointed. It's not loud either, double RATS!!!
Conclusion: It performs so great with just stock parts that I would only replace the barrel if you want to add other colors to match camoflage or team colors. It's worth twice what it costs. Easily better than all competition, if you have a Spyder, visit diamondgt.com and order the stock for this gun if you love the look and feel of it like I do. If you replace the bolt, get the most upgraded version of the Spyder Force __ Cycone Bolts. I would recommend it to everyone over any other gun. I may be a bit bias, I LOVE THIS GUN!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

RaceFace Saturday, January 27th, 2001
Strengths: I've had this gun since Chrstmas and absolutely love it. In my oppinion it is very competitive, I shoots better than my buddy's raptor and Model 98. The velocity doesn't drop off when you get on the trigger like a Piranha I played with once. It also goes very easy on CO2, I played for 4-5 hours at the field and also shot about 30 balls testing it in my yard and I've still got gas in the 20oz cylinder.
Weaknesses: I don't especially like the length of this gun. Rec players who go out in the woods will love it's stock and longer barrel. However I found it a little difficult to get the gun over the tops of bunkers and felt a little exposed by leaning out far enough around the side to get the barrel on target. I'm about to go to a 12" barrel and a remote line which, I think, is the best way to solve the length problem. You can play with the stock alot shorter if you run a remote with the tank on your back. I also didn't like the "barrel guard" that came with the gun. Mine looks real cool but fell off if the gun if pointed at the ground for too long. It's not a big deal, I just don't use the barrel guard anymore.
Conclusion: I love it, the accuracy was so good on mine that the balls never swerved. I had to worry about aiming up to get the longer shots but never ever had them go off target after they left the barrel. Spyder compatibility makes this gun one of the most upgradable on the market. Being a newbie at paintball, I would recommend it to any newbie who wanted to show Spyder and Piranha owners a thing or two about paintball. Despite the length and the tendancy mine had to break paintballs (pretty much went away after I cleaned it and got the velocity under control) I belive this gun to be a very good choice.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, January 24th, 2001
Strengths: looks scary, comes with expansion chamber. great feel for big guys stock was a great addition.
Weaknesses: powerfeed plug fell out in 2 games and lost all my paint. my remote adapter didn't fit into the co2 port. will definately get a stone cold 2 barrel for it when i get the extra money. impossible to field strip.
would definately take extra gun when playing or only use very good paint
Conclusion: its a good gun will need some little touch ups but basically after 5 minutes of work it will work fine (i reccomend electrical taping the powerfeed on:) would still recommend to anyone. every paintball gun has a few problems to start with but once you get used to it they are easy to fix. also, please don't ask why i gave it such a high rating with so much in the bad column. i like the gun alot and just letting people know what they may possibly get
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, January 8th, 2001
Strengths: Great look, good price, good stock barrel, nice features (expansion chamber, stock, venturi bolt, etc). Easy to shoot. Uses Spyder barrels.
Weaknesses: The included case is pretty cheesy but I don't have to use it. Mine shipped with a leak where the hose connects to the bottom line - very annoying but easy to fix with some tape. Then a screw-in plug in front of the expansion chamber became loose enough to leak the second time I took it out - another couple minutes with a screw driver there. Now I think an O ring is going bad because I hear some gas escaping from the barrel - I still have to investigate that.
Conclusion: I'm disappointed with the leaks but I love the gun and it's not a big deal for me to take care of them even if I shouldn't have too. That's one reason to buy locally, I guess.

Anyway, I recommend the gun. My friends with Spyder's and Tippmans certainly respect this bad boy. In fact, one of my friends puts this stock barrel on his Shutter now that I've upgraded to a Armson Stealth. It's easy to shoot fast and accurately.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, January 7th, 2001
Strengths: I thought the gun had a very nice look to it with the stock and 13 inch barrel gave it a very military style look which could intimidate newbie players. Also enjoyed the 6 chamber expansion chamber on it and thought it was a nice touch to include a case even though its not very nice it still does its job.
Weaknesses: The barrel was nothing special but most stock barrels are not. It's hard to field strip and may pose a problem in a desperate situation. the guns quite heavy which is why i believe a remote would be a good buy for it and with the stcok on the back the gun is long which may pose a problem for people who are use to spyder compacts and stingrays. also it takes some time to get the velocity down right to prevent alot of ball breakage.
Conclusion: overall I believe the gun has some great parts such as the stock which can improve your aim greatly. however I believe that a new barrel is in order as well as a remote to help with the weight problem but I find that you should definetly try it out before you buy it or else you may be dissatisfied with what you get depending on what your looking for a gun
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, December 4th, 2000
Strengths: The stock has a nice pad to it along with the whole gun, I fire around 10 balls per sec which 9 hit the target. It is a Great gun. and i would recommend it to Anyone!
Weaknesses: With the stock in a slant downward if you have a large co2 or nitrogen then it will intefere, I recommend gettin a remote. With that this is a very ideal gun
Conclusion: This gun is alot like the pirahna models, this gun however has cheaper upgrades and a very easy break down of it to install new components. I recomend this gun to anyone
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, November 19th, 2000
Strengths: This gun definitely looks cool. It also has a good feel when the stock is off. The double trigger is nice, and though the pull is a lot longer than most mainstream guns, it pulls at more of a down angle than most, allowing for easy speedball shooting.
Weaknesses: Most of the major components of this gun seem really cheap. With a MSRP of only $200 dollars, either there is a massive demand on this gun or the parts would have to be cheap. On a decently warm day (50 - 60 degress F) it was shooting all over, and after messing with the velocity for a while longer, it would still not shoot consistently. Most people would need to throw on a drop forward to use the stock comfortably, otherwise it just adds to the length of the gun.
Conclusion: Buy it if you like the feel. I think it is made to compete with upgraded cheap semi-autos like the spyder shutter and such, but the parts are a little too cheap. The included case is nice, but also pretty cheap. Just make sure you try it before you buy it.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, November 14th, 2000
Strengths: I have had this gun for about a month now and no problems with it so far. With the right balls, it is dead accurate at 180 - 200 ft. The design is an eye catcher. I have put around 2500 shots through it on and off the paintball field and only had about 20 ball breaks. Its easy to clean and maintain. It has out performed shutters, sts and 98s in the field with accuracy and overall performance.
Weaknesses: Its one of the louder guns in the field, Be sure to use a bigger diameter of paintball, otherwise accuracy will be a problem. The designer case isnt that great.Also, there are hardly any after-market upgrades availible for this model. It is a little on the expensive side.
Conclusion: This is a very good gun, You wont see it in the top 10, but it is very competitive in the field. For long shots or pulling the trigger as fast as you can, this gun is a true performer. I would recommend this gun to anyone for all around sport. If you are on a budget, check into a tippman 98 or spyder shutter!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, November 1st, 2000
Strengths: Whats great about this gun first of all is the overall design. It is wicked looking and can turn heads fairly well for a gun of its class. The feel of the gun is also very good. The expansion chamber provides a very good grip together with the .45 grip that is also on the gun. It is easy to clean and maintain, it doesn't overshoot easily, and it is lightweight. The standard double trigger is also a great feature for giving tired fingers a rest. It is durable and has a solid frame that can withstand some good knocks.
Weaknesses: The stock trigger is a bit stiff, but this can be fixed easily with a trigger job that costs maybe $10. The barrel is not a standard size and it is a bit large, so the paint may drop more than expected or go off target. Most Spyder barrels will fit on this gun, so that problem too can be solved without having to replace the gun. The barrel is not ported, so the gun is a bit loud when fired.
Conclusion: This gun is great for a beginner and can be upgraded to compete on higher levels. There may be some better deals out there, but this gun is still a solid buy.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (15):  First  |  12  |  13  |  14  |  15
                            
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media