paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Avalon GT Commando 2 / Avalon GT Commando 2 / Avalon GT Commando 2 / Avalon GT Commando 2

Avalon GT Commando 2 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Avalon

Buy Avalon GT Commando 2

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Avalon GT Commando 2
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 149
Average Rating: 7.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $140

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Features: Micro-honed 13" barrel, High grade aluminum body, Barrel guard, Shoulder Stock, U-One (low pressure system & adaptor), Sub zero Ex-chambers, Shark sight rail, Stainless steel valve, High fashion 45 grip, DM double trigger, Light trigger action, Rapid Recoil, Designer Venturi bolt, Dual connect bottom line, and a Circular rubber grip cover.
Product Availability 
The Avalon GT Commando 2 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (15):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
Death-Jolly Saturday, July 5th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
I've Owned:
-Avenger (really good beginner gun)
-Piranha EXT G3 Pro (current gun I own and use, I love it to death)

I've Used:
-Spyder AMG (good gun, but you need to charge it, which can get annoying, but you need to expect that from a electro gun)
-Spyder TL + (good gun as well, but i've used better)
-Prolite (1st gun I used, rental, can't remember much bout it... except being durable)
-Impulse standard, with regulator chamber (accurate and fast, but heavy, and alittle on the expensive side)
-Impulse worth around $1200 (won't chop a ball ever with vision eye, extremly fast firing, acurrate but heavy and very expensive)
-98 custom(kinda complicated with the tons of little parts, really durable though.)
model 98 (step up from 98 custom, pretty good gun)
Marker Setup: Piranha EXT Pro G3
12v View Loader hopper
5000psi 68cu Pure Energy Hopper
Freak Jr 14inch Barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
whew, I've tried just about everything posible, and they didn't seem to work.
maybe a chainsaw? or maybe at the bottom of the ocean where no one can get really pissed off when using it.
Strengths: -Best lookin gun out there
-Cool adjustable stock
-Really Nice Expansion chamber
Weaknesses: -Barrel
-Bolt
-Loud
-Trigger is very stiff
Review: Just like the person before me, this is as honest as they come. I'm not exagerating anything about it.
I don't know if it was just me that had these problems, but man, did it have problems.
It just plain out, didn't work for me.

-It did have a really cool adjustable stock
-the gun looked reeeally cool in my opinion
-the expansion chamber was great
-LOOKED intimidating

- I dunno if that has anything to do with the problems I had with it.
-The place where you hook up the co2, was completly screwed up. It would destroy my -co2 canisters. I took it somewhere, and they supposedly fixed it, but I dont think they did, bc they same problem occured.
-it would cut almost every paintball. I even tried a few different barrels on it, and it still cut every, so it had to have been the bolt.
-I tried taking it apart, and it was just impossible. The parts were in there soooo tight, not even the "Strongest man" off of Espn could take it apart with out breaking it even more than it already was.
-The trigger was really stiff and you could maybe get 2 paintballs per second, if it wasnt cutting paintballs.
-It was a very loud gun. If you shot it, it was almost as loud as a real one... lol.

I gave it a 3 for the minor good things about it...
Conclusion: I sold it to someone on ebay. They replyed saying it worked great for them, so I guess it was just cursed for me or something?? or maybe they havent experienced the problems yet. Like I said earlier, I don't know if I was one of the rare people who got a messed up Gt Commando 2, all I know is that, if you were to go by what I experienced with this gun, the bad out weighs the few good qualities by tons.
Rating:
3 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, August 5th, 2004 at 4:04 pm PST
I found this review  
8 Comments - Add Comment

PaintMeyster Sunday, June 22nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
friend's Rebel BTB
friend's 98c
Marker Setup: Avalon GT Commando 2 black with a 20 oz.
Recommended
Upgrades:
20 in. Boomstick, better trigger frame.
Remote, anodize a fade color onto it.
HI-RISE sight rail (no point in low rail if it's powerfeed)
new duckbill and LPC (low pressure chamber)
basically PIMP-ready out of the box!!!!!
Strengths: VERRRY accurate to the point, sounds like a CANNON at high velocity.
Weaknesses: feels loose, almost too loud...
Also doublefires occasionally.
Review: THIS IS THE GUN. I was soiled when I first heard it shoot. So were 10 other people.
YOU ARE &^%# IF YOU THINK IT IS &^%#.
You can be a pro with this gun. Nice barrel, noce stock, nice cocking, SWEET SOUND,
chopless! Big pin on duckbill, causes some 12 oz. tanks to leak endlessly thru barrel.
I used 200 balls on high velocity and used a COMPLETE 12 oz. on 1st day.
There is NO purpose in a low sight rail when you have PowerFeed.
I started paintball with this and love it. It is sooo powerful that it shoots 317 ft. per sec.
Not the best in speed shooting, I've gotten to 4 bps. It says 7 but...???
See my reviews on Brass Eagle balls and have yoself a laugh.
If a ball breaks, prepare to be wetted. Comes out the nameplate, feed, barrel FLOWS WITH PAINT, hopper is instantly transformed. Also it gets 1000+shots on 20 oz. and 600+on 12 oz. It shoots balls back into hopper when you're low on ammo. If you're a sniper, this gun is perfect except for when at max velocity (315+fps) IT SCREAMS LIKE A CANNON!!!, but it still sounds PIMP! CAUTION: it shreds cheap paint to no end! Get GAP or RPS. Don't recommend big nitrous tanks, would waste it like heck. Mine goes about 18 bps. with a pro finger set. CHOPLESS! This is a really INTIMIDATING ANGEL of a gun!!!! Check my coming soon website: darksportz.com or darksidesportz.com. REP!

Y'know that shirt that says:
You bought a $1400 gun, you shoot 14bps., you carry a 114 tank, you carry 1140 rds. of
paint and you still can't hit me. AND YOUR BATTERIES JUST DIED.
SHOULDA HAD YOUR
___________-*Commando*-___________
(some names changed out of sheer politeness)
Conclusion: If you don't have it, GET YOUR LAZY *_*_*_* UP AND GET ONE!
It blows the wings off of Angels and that intimidating look off the faces of
those Intimidators.
GET THIS GUN!!!!!!!
If you say its a waste you are bull**** and should be stuffed into the feed and shot out a few times!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, June 23rd, 2003 at 1:23 pm PST
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

Baz154 Sunday, May 4th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98 Custom and Carbines
Marker Setup: GT Commando 2, 14 inch All American Barrel, 9v hopper (soon to be a ricochet), planning on buying an electronic trigger frame, new springs and bolt.
Recommended
Upgrades:
....everything you possibly can....
Strengths: -cheap
-adjustable stock
-decent fire rate
-comes with an expansion chamber
Weaknesses: -hopper blocks your view
-constantly breaking down
-stock barrel is aweful
-many pieces come loose
Review: Ok... i recieved this as a christmas gift so i haven't actually paid for any of it, but still, its been a loosy experiance, sure it looks hot, feels good when you're holding it, and could scare the crap out of newbies... but that's about all it has going for it. First time i brought it to a field it just gushed CO2 out of the barrel, I then had to pay extra to purchase a rental for that day after wasting an hour taking it apart and seeing what was wrong. I've sense fiddled with it and somehow got it to work alright, but then it started chopping every ball I shot. However I'm stuck with what i have and my parents are anal about me buying a new gun, so I've decided, to waste time and money to gut this entire piece of trash and replace almost everything with Spyder parts, new springs, new trigger frame (the old trigger pull is about an inch long...), new barrel, and possibly a better bolt if i can find one that will work. Hopefully a decent gun will come out of all this but still, don't waste the time or the tons of money it will take to make this gun competitive, the only good thing i can say about it is i got the marker and the new barrel for free, so i can't really claim i lost anything out of it, just my patience. Do NOT buy this marker, 'if looks could kill' then this gun is the exception to that cliche.
Conclusion: Don't get it, it's a waste, sure you can gut the thing with new spyder parts but WHY?, just go out there, spend maybe 20 more bucks and buy a better Spyder... I'm giving it a 4 just because it might actually work well with all the new upgrades, but without them it's a 1-2
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Ubel Monday, April 14th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
tippman 98c
Marker Setup: av gt commando 2 with a 16" 32 deg night stikk
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel, stock is not good at all
Strengths: it has very easy pressure adjust, the stock is nice for balance,
Weaknesses: the stock barrel will chop balls
Review: this is a well balanced gun, its good for woods ball and you should get this gun if you are going to play a sniper roll. any newbies out there should get this gun, it is cheep but a good gun, I even like this gun over the 98c. but I'm not saying this is the best gun if you can I would get a A-5
Conclusion: this is a good marker for 2 reasons, its very easy for newbies and its a good marker at a cheep price
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, October 4th, 2004 at 4:09 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

g_splat Wednesday, April 9th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months9 of 17 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder TL
Spyder SE
PMI Piranha
Marker Setup: Armotech SIM-4 Elite, Armotech Zeus Semi-Auto Pistol, PGP Pump Pistol, Spyder AMG Electric, Spartan Pump, Pure Energy HPA 3000, 12v Revolution, Raven Paintball Nuvis-1 1.0, Ronin Gear 5 pack, COPS 911 Scenario Vest & Military A.L.I.C.E Gear
Recommended
Upgrades:
Nothing. Get rid of the marker as fast as you can! I can sum up this marker in one word, GARBAGE!
Strengths: None.
Weaknesses: Jams
Accuracy is non-existant.
It goes thru both air & CO2 like mad.
Review: One word, GARBAGE! I bought this marker on it's looks and reputation as being the same if not better than Spyder. I was sorely wrong. The markers trigger broke litterally on it's third shot. In getting the trigger fixed, I had to pay for shipping both ways! The company was originally billed on thier site as a "AMERICAN COMPANY, WITH AMERICAN MADE MARKERS". True, they have a office in Texas, but their factories are in Korea. No one, NO ONE in their office spoke english except one rep who spoke broken english. She was rude, abrasive, and uncaring about the situation. At one point I was literally told, "Oh well, we have you money now so there's nothing you can do". Seriously. Once I got the marker back, it was scratched, dented in one area, & had a huge scratch down the inside of the barrel.

NEVER (I CAN'T STRESS THIS ENOUGH) NEVER BUY A AVALON PRODUCT!
Conclusion: I'd be thrilled to see Avalon as a whole go out of business. They lie, treat thier customers like crap, and take your money for the cheapest product they can give you.

STAY AWAY FROM THESE MAKRERS AT ALL COST!!!

My Rating: F - - - - (If there was anything below a F-, I'd give it to them)
Rating:
1 out of 10Last edited on Friday, December 30th, 2005 at 9:45 am PST
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

Mastersat4500 Saturday, March 22nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: Imagine
Teardrop
REvy
HPA
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel the stock barrel sucks
Strengths: Spyder Product
Weaknesses: Barrel (Like usual)
Review: THis was the first marker i owned. I loved it. I owned it for 1 yr. I had not one problem with it. I had a 16" Thunder pig on it. I was takeing out my friend with it at 30yrds easily. I gave it up for an electronic. It was fun while i lasted. With the experance i have now i prob wouldn't of got it again, but it was enjoyable
Conclusion: Nice gun. Kinda like a tippmann but more like a spyder. Don't think this company is around anymore.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, January 31st, 2006 at 8:00 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Hman769 Tuesday, March 11th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder TL +, E-99, M98, System X Cocker
TL + is 2X better
M98 is 2X better also
E-99 has full auto and is a spyder not an off brand so its 3X better
The Cocker is a whole different world
Marker Setup: Texas Storm Timmy
Evil Pipe/Empire 7 piece
Alias LPR, Front Block, and Volumizer
Shocktech Bolt
Shocktech Ram
Hybrid Ram Cap
CP roller
W.A.S. 2.7
Halo B
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Air
Strengths: Spyder Compatable
looks cool
has a stock
Weaknesses: Cheap
breaks easily
dosen't live up to what Avalon says
Review: Spyder compatible can get great upgrades (but waste the money get a spyder) Looks sweet, all metal, it is kinda cheap, works ok in hot weather, can keep up with spyders and all other guns in the price range on a good day. It was a good learning experience for me. Ok accuracy nothing like a cocker but its not in that price range either.
After about 1/2 a year the stock bolt went to $hit as well as the rest of the internals ( I cleaned and oiled the gun before and after every use ). It sucks in cold weather unlike what the company says, the expansion chamber leaks around were it connects to the gun, the new bolt i got from Avalon was really different from the original it was grooved to miss the detent which was a smart move but the bolt was all scratched up and mangled I would recommend this gun to someone who doesn't have enough for a spyder they are really just about the same price so don't be cheap spend the extra 10-20 bucks on a spyder. If it is really what you want then go for it but be prepared for a rough ride.
Conclusion: I would recommend this gun to someone who doesn't have enough for a spyder they are really just about the same price so don't be cheap spend the extra 10-20 bucks on a spyder. If it is really what you want then go for it but be prepared for a rough ride. It served me fine till i got enough for a cocker and oh yeah also that part when it went retarded for about 3 weeks
Rating:
4 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, October 17th, 2007 at 12:22 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Super Sniper Tuesday, February 25th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
2 years18 of 23 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyders and I once upgraded I can realte it to my cocker!
Marker Setup: 1998 STO Mini coker with 12" Freak system, Chrome Plated flame drop froward, Cross fire minibolt, 45 electro frame, and a remote with nitro set up.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Mako Storm, A good drop forward, 9 or 19 exspansion chamber, I will give people credit it does look sweet with the 21"barrel on it.
Strengths: This is a good honest review of this gun.



Ok these are the people who are full of baloney and just plain hate the commando 2 for no reason. Well I am not sure about flammable I think he might be telling the truth.

Deehrhead- More like deer with no head if you ask me. Heís full of baloney. If it started leaking like the titanic all you need to do is buy a new b/l or expansion chamber. And if that was true thatís why your gone doesnít shoot right.

Gtcommandohater- hmm the name says it all. Hey you wouldnít happened to be related to ClamChowda now would you?

ClamChowda- as he stated about a million times in forums he hates the design of the gt commando 2 because itís a hybrid of a spyder. He says ďThere are no upgrades for this piece of sh-tĒ Well sir you are obviously wrong. Itís a spyder marker. There for what ever you can upgrade on a spyder you can upgrade on the gt commando 2. That includes the Spyder Storm trigger and a spyder threaded barrel. Next time buy it and donít just make accusations.

Flammable- He might be telling the truth. There are lemons out there. But those are only the GT version. And the lemons can easily be repaired.



This gun is perfectly fine. I have never had any trouble with it once I broke it in. At first if gave me a hard time not shooting right but thatís because the factory put the detent pin in backwards. Then it wasnít accurate so I polished the all ready Micro Honed barrel and it made it shoot as good as any other barrel.

Its easily upgradeable with spyder parts. I find the Mako Storm trigger and a tactical drop go along well with it. Once I bough that not only did I have an gun that looked awesome but preformed awesome. Full Auto baby! And at 125.00 how is that too expensive? Oh yeah and they say the stock is just a gimmick well its not. I use it all the time.
Weaknesses: The horizontal feed does go the wrong way. It gets in front of your sight. You need to buy a sight rail raiser for around $13.00 and that takes care of the problem. For people who say that the gun is to heavy. Well define heavy? Tournament play heavy or tippmann flat-line heavy? Well if you consider the tippmann flat-line to be heavy than yes this gun is heavy. If you never had held either one its like holding a pellet rifle with a wood stock.
If you ever due have trouble with it you can always e-mail a professional user of the marker. I find that Matthew_Fulton18@hotmail.com helps a lot of people with questions. Or you can e-mail me at manner212@yahoo.com and I will try to answer your questions as best as possible.
Conclusion: Donít listen to the people who say my friend had one or has one. Only listen to the people who actually own one. If you listen to the people who say that have tested it. Come on who is actually going to test it? In order to test it they need to either buy it new (witch is what they should do) or barrow it from a former friend (witch would be labeled under the condition of used). You have to take good care of this marker. You have to respect it. When I first got mine I threw as hard as I could on the cement because it kept breaking balls. Then I found out that the dentin pin was put in backwards. So I fixed the problem and it was smashed and working fine. I completely demented my pressure chamber to wear the barrel guard wouldnít even fit on the gun. The expansion chamber wound u looking like a banana clip.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, October 6th, 2004 at 1:26 am PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

gtcommandohater Saturday, February 22nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyders and Tippmans
Marker Setup: GT Commando2, lots of duct tape
Recommended
Upgrades:
You couldn't find anything that could upgrade this piece of JUNK!
Strengths: ABSOLUTELY NOTHING. Well on second thought the only good thing was I only threw a hundred or so bucks away instead of 200 or more.
Weaknesses: This is absolutely the worst piece of trash I could ever imagine a marker could be. The thing has fallen apart. Been sent back to the manufacturer which claimed they repaired it. Think they just loosened more stuff to fall off though. It's been used 3 times and it has literally spit hundereds of paintballs out of the barrel and only succesfully launched a handfull. I've tried different paint, different speed, changed springs etc... to no avail. This sport is too expensive to waste my time any more on this JUNK. I don't have a choice really since the feeder weld broke and the tube is no longer attached to the gun. When purchasing a marker do your research and go ahead and buy quality. You'll find out the marker is the not where all the money goes after a year or so. Your going to spend a heck of a lot more on paint and field fees. THIS HAS TO BE THE WORST MARKER (being generous calling it a marker) ON THE PLANET. Would give it a minus 10 but can only go as low as a 1.
Conclusion: Obvious what my conclusion is but I want to address another area. Check out the ratings but don't believe them. I posted a review of this marker (oops, there I go again) and it was removed. I was very careful not to use profanity or attack another user but apparently some self righteous person who feels only their opinion and those who see as they do should be able to post a review. Expect this one not to last long either. I scan this site often and have seen many other reviews removed. The true rating of this junk is MUCH, MUCH less than the mid 7 it's showing. I emailed the site operators for an explanation of why my review was removed and NOT to my surprise they didn't have the guts to reply.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

ClamChowda Tuesday, January 28th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
*Spyder TL Plus- much better in performance STOCK than the Commando. Still, when both are upgraded, the spyder is still better.
*Old School Automag- Annihilates the commando in terms of performance stock also. The commando doesn't compare at all to either of these markers.
Marker Setup: Automag Powerfeed, Old School 12" All American, Shocktech Stubby Drop forward, PE 68/3000 HPA tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Don't waste any time or money with it, but if you must, upgrade to a better barrel.
Strengths: It shot alright when it wasn't clogged with paint. Comfortable with the stock.
Weaknesses: Loud, hungry for paintballs, crappy trigger pull
Review: My bud michael had one of these and let me use it once. I made sure it was cleaned, oiled, and the tank had full pressure. I air it up, take it into the woods, and my third shot, I have a chop. This annoyed me. I cleaned it again, and I did not have to wait much longer until the same thing happened. I was using fresh marbalizers, whcich are pure quality paintballs. I don't know if the gun I was using was defective, but overall, I completely did not like it.
Conclusion: Overall, pure crap. No, this is not a sniper marker, nothing in paintball is "sniper" unless you find something that shoots over 100 yds. accurately. Do not get it if you've read other reviews saying it is a "sniper" gun, because once again, that term does not exsist in the sport of paintball. It is detrimental to the sport if anything. Back to the gun- fortunately, I've never had to give a product less than a 5 before, but this deserves what I give it, which is a-
Rating:
4 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, April 22nd, 2003 at 12:31 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (15):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media