paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Avalon GT Commando 2 / Avalon GT Commando 2 / Avalon GT Commando 2 / Avalon GT Commando 2

Avalon GT Commando 2 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Avalon

Buy Avalon GT Commando 2

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Avalon GT Commando 2
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 149
Average Rating: 7.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $140

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Features: Micro-honed 13" barrel, High grade aluminum body, Barrel guard, Shoulder Stock, U-One (low pressure system & adaptor), Sub zero Ex-chambers, Shark sight rail, Stainless steel valve, High fashion 45 grip, DM double trigger, Light trigger action, Rapid Recoil, Designer Venturi bolt, Dual connect bottom line, and a Circular rubber grip cover.
Product Availability 
The Avalon GT Commando 2 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (15):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  Last
        Next Page
Flammable Wednesday, January 8th, 2003
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Spyders and Piranhas
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom w/ Flatline barrel and a folding stock.
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel, its the only upgrade that you can find.
Strengths: *Cheap
*Not plastic
*kinda cool looking
Weaknesses: *It is an off-brand
*Sight rail is useless
*Stock and double trigger are just gimmicks so you will buy it.
*You get what you pay for
*Stock barrel curves real bad.
*No upgrades that you can find.
Conclusion: I would not buy this gun. Plain and simple. My friend bought one as soon as he saw it on the internet. At least its better than the wal-mart brass-eagle marker he was looking at. For what you pay for it you can get a nice spyder or piranha for the same price. The commando gt 2 (unlike the spyder or piranha) is not easily upgradeable. The raised sight is useless because of the hopper. The stock barrel makes the balls curve real bad, more so than any other markers at the same price. The stock is just a gimmick, so you will buy this gun. Also, your local paintball store will not have parts for it because it is an off-brand. You will be much better off with a Spyder, Piranha, or even a Tippmann. They all are in the same price range and have much better reliability. The commando gt 2 will break more often than the other guns, because they don't have the experience of making markers that Kingman or PMI has. Trust me, you WILL be much better off with a Spyder or Piranha. I give it a 3 for effort.
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

GT_Commando2 Saturday, January 4th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: GT Command 2 Black with a iMP Red Dot Point sight
Recommended
Upgrades:
none
Strengths: I got a good deal for 139 in a package. But the gun can be beat to hell and it will still kick all the tippmann's butts. Its nice a light to me. i wish i could find some more upgrades but i guess you can buy 32 Degree's barrels for it.
Weaknesses: none for me
Conclusion: buy it. it will be the best gun you can find for its price
i wish i could give it a 15 but you can only go to 10.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

PaintMe2004 Sunday, December 22nd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98
Marker Setup: Gt Commando 2, with a 14" all-american freak barrel, 9v Revolution Hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel and Hopper
Strengths: The gun itself has a lot of great features. Once i put on my new barrel and hopper the gun runs like my friends autococker. Now i don't chop any balls.
Weaknesses: The only bad thing is that the barrel is not very good and you may chop alot of paint. And an occasional spring problem.
Conclusion: The gun is great for the price. It has an awesome look and great features. I don't care what anyone says, this is a great gun. Definitely worth the price.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jnall63 Tuesday, December 10th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Raptor Silver Eagle & Stingray 2 / Not as good as Commando 2.
Marker Setup: Avalon GT Commando 2 / Armason twist rifled barrell
Recommended
Upgrades:
Possiably a new barrell, Red Dot Sight, A laser will scare people into surrendering in a night game.
Strengths: All one size O-Rings for ease of changing,
Not many parts so easy cleaning at home,
Stock is cool, removiable, and adjustable,
Expansion Chamber is removiable for a vertical CO2 bottle and stock is removiabe for a CQB/Building gun.
Weaknesses: CO2 line going from constant air adapter to Expansion Chamber leaked when I got it but a little teflon tape fixed that,
It can be field stripped but takes a few minuits
Conclusion: Good gun, I lift weights so I dont see how people say its heavy, next gun I get will probably be a Tippmann Pro-Carbine, Modle 98 Custom, Armotec WG-65 Elite/Sniper, Armotec WG-75 RIS, or a RAM M4 with a M203 Grenade Launcher.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Fatman63 Sunday, December 8th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Fokus, Rebel LE
Marker Setup: Rebel LE with Ricochet 2K, and 10" Dye Ultralight (for speedball)
Fokus with 14" J&J ceramic (in the trees)
Recommended
Upgrades:
I like what the one guy suggested -- a slegehammer and a grabage can, this gun is junk, looks good, but that is all it has going for it.
Strengths: Nothing, it caught my son's eye because of the design, but once he used it we found out that looks aren't everything.
Weaknesses: breaks paint, breaks some more paint, and then breaks even more paint. Flat ou, this is the owrst gun we have purchased (at our field we have over fifty guns so the comparison here is quite broad). This gun is poorly designed, the screws strip, the internals may have been sandpapered but clearly the hone never touched them. You expect to buy a gun and have it built properly out of the box, with this gun you will essentially have to finish the work yourself, and pay for replacing the junk inside with good parts.
Conclusion: garbage
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Darkstarops Thursday, November 14th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 years3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Decked out stingray 2 with 16" spin free riffled sniper barrel- 3 stage expansion chamber, custom extra under barrel grip, ghillie cover and scope! Decked out Winchester Durango with 16" spin free projection rifled sniper barrel- bottom line adapter, a co2 gauge, and custom 6-color desert camouflage painted. Griffin B/L just now getting upgraded. Ordered a new silenced 14" barrel and a co2 gauge that both havenít arrived yet.
How do they compare with this product?
The answer
Everything stock sucks until upgraded!
This product is known for being crappy. I know believe me.
Marker Setup: SNIPER RIFLE! A fully decked out GT Commando 2 with the new 21" 3-piece thunder pig spin-free projection rifled barrel (Extremely Accurate), Co2 gauge, scope, hair trigger system, Polished internals, polished barrel, and ghillie covers. The barrel is actually rifled. You can look down it and see the straight grooves! I also own a 14" see through chrome plated razor barrel and the stock barrel thatís 13" long.
Recommended
Upgrades:
www.paintball-loco.com 21" IR Spyder Sniper barrel
Co2 gauge
Polish your internals. Learn how at www.stinggroup.addr.com
Polish your barrel.
Hair trigger system (a softer trigger spring)
Strengths: SNIPER RIFFLE!
A BIG TIM SNIPER RIFLE WITH SOME MODIFIACTIONS
Well nothing at first. As you know stock guns suck. Well most of them anyways. The good is that it comes upgraded with a 6-stage expansion chamber. You can turn it in to a sniper rifle big time. I bought an extremely soft trigger spring to give it a hair trigger. Its not as touchy as an electro though. I also polished my internals. You know the hammer, venturi bolt, sear, trigger, and even the valve pin and cup seal. I know I take it to the extreme.
Weaknesses: The bad
Well there are defective guns and there are non-defective guns. It is good ratios at 50/50 because people get bad ones and good ones. Unfortunately I go the bad one. No problem for me though. I fixed it up in no time. I am a really handy man once it comes to paintball markers. I know them all. Closed bolt, closed bolt pneumatics, blowback, blow forward electro ECT. I know just about everything. I prefer this gun over my auto cocker. Why because It is a lot more accurate and doesnít take batteries. Sorry getting off point! Well some of the guns have leaky bottom lines, barrels, defective detent pins, and very inaccurate. Well you see It is all on how you use the marker. You canít go all out trigger-happy and expect it will make up for accuracy. Its not a speedball tournament gun because itís to big and heavy. But it is a good playing around gun. When I go to the field I use it because I get respect for its looks. Let alone the accuracy helps a lot.

Conclusion: Conclusion
Buy it! Upgrade it to a sniper rifle. Oh and e-mail me for questions on anything about these guns matthew_fulton18@hotmail.com. Thanks

Matthew Fulton

Proud member of Silent Steel
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

iEl-Ricx! Tuesday, November 12th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
spyders
Marker Setup: Comando 2 stock & custom colored, scope, 16oz co2, 200VL hopper (i need a revvy)
Recommended
Upgrades:
-barrel (if u can recommend a good upgrade barrel for around $50 for this gun e-mail me plz)
-remove shoulder stock and get a drop forward if u play anything other then woods to make ur self more compact, or get a remote.
-new grip. (i have smaller fingers so the grooves aren't in the right place)
-Stronger springs. mybe mine where just compressed too long but it MAXED out at only 276 fps
Strengths: -looks bad @$$ got it in black and then custom colored some parts.
-great feel
-consistant (until u have a break and the paintb get into the gun, not just the barrel
-comes with its own carry case
-Takes most spyder/parhana parts.
Weaknesses: -it comes with it's own carry case (which is a good thing...if it came in like black instead of that cammo green. i'm not a big fan of cammo.)
-the gun works fine until u paint gets all in the internals
-can't really shoot through breaks with the stock barrel.
-customer service sucks.
-
Conclusion: the low down on this gun is that there where 2 versions, the GT Commando 2 and the Commando 2. most problems were experanced with the Gt Commando 2. the Commando 2 is the improved version. i give this gun a 9 bc it looks cool and i'm happy with it. but there is room for improvement. i work well with it and all it realyl needs is a better barrel. plz e-mail me if anyone can tell me about a good one. i'm looking at SP Teardrop, SP Progressive, Dye Xcel, J&J Ceramic, Taso Windforce, 32 degree Ice Cold.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

EasyE Friday, October 25th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Many spyders, phantom, tracer, stingray II, autococker
Marker Setup: Avalon GT Commando 2 with new Spyder wood grip, remote, 16" 32 Degrees Nyte Stik
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel...I think the nyte stik works perfectly, maybe another grip
Strengths: I love this gun even though immediately after i got i i hated it.....When u first start using it, it tends to break a lot of balls but all u have to do for that is find a new barrel which ive found that any 32 Degrees barrels work really nicely with it. the key is just to find the right paint to match the barrel. for instance, ive tried marbs, team colors, zap, and diablo and ive found that the diablos work great with the barrel even if they arent even the best on the market..the marbs sucked with the barrel and they even cost about 20 bucks more..in some other reviews i saw that they said the ball detent didnt work but all u have to do is just take the plastic detent cover off and bend the wire a little in one direction or another and then its fixed. my grip broke once but i just replaced it with a new wooden spyder grip which gives it a cool original look.
Weaknesses: The stock gun isnt so great but all it needs is just a couple upgrades and its perfect. I had a small leak but it was nothing a little teflon tape couldnt fix. some of the other reviews said it was a litte heavy but i think its absolutely perfect, just put a remote on and the gun feels balanced light.
Conclusion: In conclusion, i wouldnt recommend buying the gun if you arent willing to put a few upgrades and some more money into it. You can find the gun for about 175 now and once u upgrade it up to perfection it'll probably set u back to about 250 but its completely worth it. if any of u buyers have any questions feel free to email me with any questions because i feel i can answer just about anything about this gun. if played against autocockers, a5's, automags, lots of spyders, and i was able to outgun them all because this gun gets great range. i was hitting people while i was out of range to them, then when i got off the field i checked the speed at which i was shooting and i was only shooting about 240 which is pretty good when u think about how much farther i can make it shoot....So buy the gun, its worth it
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Super Sniper II Saturday, October 19th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
2 years2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Decked out Stingray II with a 16" IR internaly Rifled barrel, scope Co2 gauge and ghillie covers. Decked out Winchester Durango with 16" IR barrel, Scope and a Co2 gauge. Griffen B/L just getting upgraded.
Marker Setup: Sniper Rifle!!!!!!! Completley Decked out GT Commando 2 with the new 21" 3-Piece Rifled Barrel! With over size cocking and A scope with ghillie covers. This thing is so accurate its not even funy its scarry!
Recommended
Upgrades:
The new 21' 3-piece barrel. The store that has it all. I decked out mu stingray 2 also. Go to www.stinggroup.addr.com/gallery/gallery.html
You can see my guns and how cool they look.
Strengths: DONT GIVE UP ON THIS JUST YET!
MAKES ONE KCIK ASS SNIPER RIFLE!



Oh Nothing at first. It comes really crappy stock. But believe me this gun makes one kick ass sniper rifle! You Upgrade It Now! When I say riffled I donít mean little holes in it the side of the barrel! ITíS ACTUALLY RIFLED! You look down the barrel and see a whole bunch of little lines that allows the ball to leave your barrel. I can hit a 12" target at 30 yards away at extreme accuracy. I put a 20x scope just so I can see what I was hitting. I am not kidding you. If you have money than this is the sniper gun for you.

1.Buy the 21" 3 piece sniper barrel
2.By co2 gauge
3. Buy a spyder or piranha replacement spring for greater power
4.Buy a scope with raised sights
5.Buy a laser pointer to put on your barrel
6. Bye a tactical bi=pod for the AT 85 select fire

Optional
7. Buy a ghillie gun cover or make your own. Then you have a true sniper gun that not only looks deadly but also is deadly. I will put some pics of my guns on the web soon if anyone wants to see them. You can see my decked out stingray 2 at
http://www.stinggroup.addr.com/gallery/gallery.ht
ml
Be sure to type that in your address bar and not just go to www.stinggroup.addr.com other wise you wonít see the photos
Weaknesses: Nothing at first. But my god this thing is upgradeable to the best sh*t ever. I mean donít give up on it yet. I know when it was stock and brand new it was a piece of crap but that is no more. if you are buying this gun and donít have any money to upgrade it, DONT buy it. But if you do. UP GRADE IT. this is what I did. First I had a defective detent pen. So did everyone else. Trust me. Then my spring goes dead. It never shot straight anyways, and every time I took the co2 it sounded like I would lose half of the co2 tank. Do this.

1. First buy 12 new co2 seals
2. take apart your gun and replace all your seals DONT USE OIL. put the gun together with out any oil what so ever. Then oil your bolt through the cocking strip only
3. buy a true flight 21" 3 piece barrel at www.paintball-loco.co Its under spyder
4. buy a military tripod for the at85 select fire
5. Put together everything you have.
Buy a co2 gauge
6. put that on your gun.
7. Change your spring with the spring of a spyder tl or something
8. now you should have a completely working and accurate as f*ck sniper rifle.
If you have problems with your expansion chamber buy a sub zero 6 stage.
Everything is ok when you have upgraded everything. When you do that the gun last a lot longer, is a lot more acurate, and will be appreciated by you, and feared by other players.
Conclusion: BUY IT! UGRADE IT! AND GO SNIPE SOME ASS.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 29th, 2005 at 12:49 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SleeplessRonin Tuesday, August 13th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman Pro-carbine.
32 Degrees Rebel Extreme.

I'd take the Rebel over the Commando any day.
The Pro-carbines were renters, so I don't compare them. But they seemed sturdy enough to me.
Marker Setup: Avalon Command 2, Terminator 14" Barrel, V12 Revvy, 20oz CO2 remote setup.
Recommended
Upgrades:
A barrel is a must buy.
The stock barrel is so cheap and shoddy that it is an embarrassment to markers everywhere. How any company can actually sell that barrel with the marker I don't know.
Strengths: The Good...
- Looks mean.
- Hefty.
- comes with neat features like a collapsible stock.
Weaknesses: The Bad...
- Breaks enormous quantities of balls. Approximately 1 in 4 balls broke.
- Flimsy stock. The pictures look nice, but the reality is cheap.
- Cheap metal screws. Extremely easy to strip.
- Field stripping is an impossibility. Massive quantities of time must be invested in disassembling / reassembling marker.
- Barrel guard is cheap, too small for non-stock barrels, and loose.
- Ball drop preventer on the power-feeder will not turn at all. Therefore has no purpose.

The Ugly...
- The side Powerfeed is on the wrong side. A right handed person will get a nice big hopper right in the middle of their mask.
- The side powerfeed is also badly welded on.
- When a ball breaks, paint finds interesting and unique places to go. Anywhere and everywhere are the two most likely candidates.
Conclusion: I originally purchased this marker because of the relatively good reviews on this page. Of the bad reviews, they mainly seemed like rare lemons. The sad part is, I had placed my hopes in the 80%% (8.0) good rating of the gun, ignoring the other 20%% (2.0). I paid for it, and have now learned a valuable lesson. There are lemons out there, and this was a massive lemon.

Do yourself a favor and buy a better marker.
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (15):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media